Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Lower Hyde Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts )

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Isle Of Wight > Shanklin > Lower Hyde Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts ) Reviews

Lower Hyde Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts )
Landguard Road
Shanklin
Isle Of Wight   (Browse area)
PO37 7LL
Tel: 0843 309 2591
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 71
Open: 15th March - 4th November

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 35 Reviews
                7/10 from 35 Reviews

Photos (12)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing 5 miles   Wild Swimming 1 mile   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  35 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: March 2019 Unit:  Static Rating:
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Ratty 196 reviews from this member

We booked this through the Sun Holidays deal and for the money this holiday was a real bargain. Booking was simply and all done online and we booked a basic pet friendly caravan. We also got a deal on the ferry through the Sun Holidays.

Check in was smooth and easy and the lady on reception showed us where to go on the map and where all the facilities are etc.

We arrived at the static and it was great, it had plenty of space and all the amenities you need, oven, microwave, crockery, cutlery, etc.

At this site you are allowed to use the facilities at Landguard, their sister site, so we wandered over for a look around. Nice bar are serving reasonably priced food and there was a large play ground, pools and a shop.

The facilities on this site were also great, the bar was nice and clean and the food was good. There is a large showbar where the usual holiday park activities take place, bingo, kids club, disco, etc.

There is a shop on site that is reasonably priced, outdoor pool with slide, kids playareas including football and basketball and more.

Off site the location is very close to Shanklin that has all that a seaside town offers including a large Morrisons for shopping and a lovey beach.

Walking from the site is in abundance and there are loads of footpaths offering all sorts of trails and tracks for all levels of fitness.

The IOW has plenty to offer and I would defo come back to this site and we enjoyed our stay very much.

Date of Visit: March 2019 Unit:  Static Rating:
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Webmaster 41 reviews from this member

Had an off peak visit to the IOW and stayed here in one of the static caravans. The caravan itself was great, clean and reasonably modern and well equipped. Only pain was having to park down the road which made loading / unloading slightly awkward.

The site is the usual Parkdean thing, nice bar which does food, swimming pool on site and playground, bingo and evening entertainment etc. Good shop on site which sold most things and wasn't too expensive.

Location is good, with great access to miles of walks direct from site. It's a short drive (or 15 minute walk) to Shanklin itself. Of course the IOW has masses to do and see, and I thoroughly enjoyed my visit!

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Percy on tour 49 reviews from this member

Lower Hyde Holiday Park is a large site comprising mostly static caravans, but with a touring field too. There is an entertainment complex with a cabaret theatre, indoor and outdoor swimming pools, and a gaming arcade. Campers can also use the facilities at the neighbouring Landguard Holiday Park, which is owned by the same company.

The touring field has wide grass pitches that are more than capable of accommodating caravan, awning and car. There is a shower and toilet block, as well as a friendly, dedicated reception office for tourers. There is wifi available for purchase, although the signal can be a bit hit-and-miss - even when you're parked right beside a transponder.

There is a Lidl supermarket next door to the site; and Shanklin town centre is about fifteen minutes walk away - together with its bus connections to the other towns and attractions on the island. The beach is about half-hour's walk away down a steep road (or five minutes in the car if you can find a spot on the seafront and stump up the cost of parking).

Lower Hyde is child-friendly - with a large playground by the main entertainment complex and children's entertainment shows on most nights. Consequently, it's a popular destination during school holidays - with noise to match. However, during term time it is much quieter if boisterous children are not your scene.

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Dartgirl81 23 reviews from this member

First. Do not go to the main reception at the entrance to the park, follow the signs to the tourer field. In the corner you'll find a dilapidated wooden hut surrounded by weeds and a rusty bbq which is where you book in. However, you won't find a warden, your details will be pinned to the door.

This could be a nice site, but lots of things let it down. The wooden hut for starters! The warden, when we eventually saw her stated that the touring section is a long way down Parkdeans budget list.

The toilets are a psychedelic mixture of tangerine and yellow tiles. There is a pervading odour of blocked drains. The showers were unusable as the temperature is pre-set and was so hot I couldn't stand under them. The key code security pads were broken on the ladies shower doors and the chemical disposal point door was jammed open as the bottom of it was kicked in. Complained several times to the warden and nothing was done, so I emailed the ceo's office and we're given the use of a static caravan to shower in!

No one, but no one sticks to the 10mph rule, especially the staff who drive about in beat up old vans at about 20mph, dogs are also not kept on leads, even when the warden is having a chat with the owner while the dog happily just wanders off.

This this a huge park with hundreds of static caravans.

Just a few things could make this a good site. A security barrier onto the touring field, sort the smelly old facilities out and get the wardens to enforce a few rules!

There is an entertainment club on site and 2 swimming pools. Plus a small shop, although lidls is just down the road.

They do good deals off season, but I would only use our own shower and toilets.

Not a brilliant review but truthful.

Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: MadNurseGaz 7 reviews from this member

We had to make a visit to the Isle of Wight for a weekend, and found that the most cost-effective way to do so was to stay in the cheapest accommodation we could find on a Parkdean site (not camping in March!)and take advantage of their 'ferry included' deal. Result! £79 inc. Ferry for 3 nights in a 'Seagull chalet'.

We arrived on Friday evening after a days' drive from the North-west of England, and were greeted by friendly, professional staff who gave us a map of the site, some leaflets about entertainment & activities, our entertainment passes, and directed us to our accommodation.

Unfortunately, we couldn't get to our chalet without either going down a muddy path or crossing a waterlogged muddy grass area. Our visit also coincided with a sudden cold snap and heavy snowfall (but that wasn't Parkdean's fault!).

The weather did mean that our accommodation remained cold throughout our stay, in spite of leaving heating on 24/7 during our stay. It was so cold that no-one in our party would use the shower(!) preferring to wash at the kitchen sink where it was less cold.

Apart from this issue, the chalet was fine as a base for a holiday. It was clean, comfortable and equipped with the necessities. We didn't visit the site shop, we used the LIDL supermarket literally just by the campsite gates. (If LIDL doesn't suit, there's a ALDI at the bottom of the road, and a Morrison's across the road from that!)

On the night we went to the clubhouse, there was a visiting artiste, a singer, who sang a wide repertoire of standards, popsongs and light rock. Bar prices seemed a little on the expensive side. Again, staff were friendly and courteous.

We will be returning regularly to the Isle of Wight, and will come back to Lower Hyde at some point. Until I find something better, Parkdean's 'ferry inclusive' deal seems unbeatable.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: AbWo 2 reviews from this member

We tend to go for quiet campsites but, although this might not be our cup of tea in high season, in September it was perfect! The facilities are excellent, clean and well maintained and the price was very reasonable so we felt under no obligation to use the entertainment etc in order to get our money’s worth! The site is attractively laid out and there is a lovely walk directly from it, as well as easy access to Shanklin and beyond.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Kazza75 1 review from this member

We had a great time at Lower Hyde. The welcome from reception was friendly & we checked in quickly, not much parking near reception though!

The caravan was relatively easy to find but however I think a few more signs would make it easier to find the section where you are staying.

The caravan itself was very clean and was just how it was described on the website.

Plenty of information of things to do on & off site.

Ferry travel was included in our stay and we had no problems with this.

Night time entertainment for the little ones was very good and all the children were engrossed in the Krew club.

All in all a good holiday

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: RussS 3 reviews from this member

On arrival at the site we went into the office, only to be redirected to a second office which deals with touring tents. The staff were very nice, but the office was not really sign posted, and after rain was behind a six inch deep lake.

All of the staff were very friendly and helpful, and we were taken to the non hook up camping field.

The field was very nice with good views and plenty of room. We did however feel that we were second class citizens on the site as we could not have been placed further away from the main entrance, facilities, water and loo block.

I counted 370 paces from our tent to the loo block, and it was the only one. The site was well kept and clean, but it was annoying to walk all that way to find a queue for the showers etc, and then have to go all the way back.

There were no hedgerow wind breaks on the field, and as we had a couple of very stormy days our tent was damaged several times due to unrelenting wind. I had to re-stitch several guy ropes over the week, and we did see a couple of tents be severely damaged. There was only one water point and that was about 250 paces away. We do not really want electrical hook up, but if we had have had it we would have been situated much closer to everything in more sheltered surroundings.

We would not expect to be going back to the site anytime again, but if we did I would book an electrical hook up pitch which would have been better.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Katycymru 8 reviews from this member

Stayed at this site for a long Bank Holiday weekend, and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.

After being told the maximum length of unit was 7 metres, I was a little apprehensive as to what awaited us, and although we went to the wrong reception (like everyone else), our allocated pitch was more than spacious enough for our car and trailer tent, which is well over 8 metres. My only gripe was that the grass was a little long, however this was cut the very next day! Although it can seem that static caravans are the be all and end all of Park Resorts, the warden took great pride in her park of the site, and was very pleasant and helpful.

Facilities are good, with a well-maintained and modern shower/wash block. I was pleasantly surprised to see a bowl and dish drainer per sink, which is very handy. Plenty of outdoor space for kids to play, with a fab play area just below the swimming pool, catering for all ages.

We only used the outdoor pool, which was quite small, and although we had the use of the pool at Landguard, we did not have a chance to use it so cannot comment.

We spent one night in the clubhouse, with the regular fix of bingo followed by an entertainment show which was 70's USA mixed with modern pop, which even I was struggling to get my head around, let alone my 9 y. O. Daughter. Bar prices I thought were OK.

For quite a lively site, it did get quiet quite quickly (save from one particular occupant), however would be happy to recommend this site to those who like large resorts. As a direct comparison with Whitecliff Bay (another Park Resort), I thought this had a better camping experience, however the entertainment/clubhouse were better at Whitecliff.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Keran30 14 reviews from this member

We spent five nights camping (with EHU) and I would not return here. There was a separate camping reception to the main check-in office and that was not clear. After being turned away we had to fuss about finding the camping reception, which was a makeshift hut! I could not fault the pitch size, although the post markers were at the side and not at the centre, so we weren’t sure which pitch was which! It was a large site and so a bit of a trek to all the facilities. I found the road around the pool quite dangerous for children and the lifeguards were particularly stern, unfriendly and whistle-happy. The toilet block was ok but on a key code entry and button exit, which was not great for small kids. There were not enough showers in peak season, I had to use the overflow portacabin. Both sets of showers were far too hot and did not have an adjustable temperature. I struggled to stand underneath them without burning - but it was the hottest week of the year. The shop was ok, but during the hot spell they completely ran out of everything chilled… and I mean EVERYTHING! This was a pain as it was too hot to store any food in our tent. We had to use the bar for all our meals and for breakfast or drive down to the local Lidl. The area was quite nice and there was plenty to keep the kids entertained. Pretty good value too, but not my cup of tea.

Previous     35 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Isle Of Wight

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4730 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019