Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Lower Hyde Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts )

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Isle Of Wight > Shanklin > Lower Hyde Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts ) Reviews

Lower Hyde Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts )
Landguard Road
Shanklin
Isle Of Wight   (Browse area)
PO37 7LL
Tel: 0330 123 4894
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 71
Open: 01/04/2022 to 31/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 39 Reviews
                7/10 from 39 Reviews

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  39 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: March 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Static
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Ratty 279 reviews from this member

 I love this site and the location, so decided on a return visit.

This time we were in a chalet rather than a staic, but all qas clean and tidy and well presented. It is not as large as a static, but did the job ok.

Not a lot to say, and you can read my previous review below for info on the island and the area.

We enjoyed the on site pub and they prepared for St Patricks Day celebrations and the food and drinks were of a good standard and we enjoyed using the facilities.

We did not venture in to the bingo or entertainment, nor the arcades or pool, however all looked good and would happily use when I come back with the family.

I loved the walking form this site and will use it again when looking at static sites on the island. 


Date of Visit: October 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Static
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Ratty 279 reviews from this member

 I stayed here a couple of years ago and decided on a return visit for 2021. The static was lovely and modern, although it was bit small, but we were fine. It was not the cleanest and we kept finidng white dog hairs on teh seats, etc. A bit annoying when they charge an extra £25 to bring a dog so they can deep clean, and they certainly did not deep clean this, however we gave it a good clean and the rest was well equipped and looked after.

The location to Shanklin is bang on, it is a one-mile walk to the end of the sea front where you will find the bottom entrance to Shanklin Chine and a few decent pubs. The promenade has the usual seaside stuff, arcades, chippies, etc.

Shanklin town itself has a good selection of shops and pubs and we enjoyed a few walks around the town and drinks in the pubs.

Walking from here is great and we did a circular walk from the site, up Luccombe Down and then into Shanklin, about 8 miles and offered stunning views.

Shanklin is in a good location for visiting the whole island, and we took in Yarmouth, Newtown, Newport, St Helens and so much more.

There is a pub and outdoor pool on site, and you can use the facilities at Landguard too which has a pub and indoor pool. We did not watch any of the evening entertainment. Shop on site with most you need, and there is a Lidl at the entrance of the site and all the large supermarkets, etc. Nearby.

I loved the walking form this site and will use it again when looking at static sites on the island. 


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 12 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Pfavai 1 review from this member

 The stay was amazing. The pitch sizes are very good and relatively quiet. They have waste drainages and individual water taps for each pitch which is very convenient.

The facilities were always very clean regardless of what time of day one used them. The showers and toilet cubicles were readily available in the mornings ( no queues).

The staff were very friendly and helpful. I will recommend Lower Hyde Park to family and friends.

We have other family members going there in August and they can’t wait to go because of the raving reviews we have for the place.

Site has easy access to amenities ( Lidl is just by the campsite boundary) and close to the beaches and places of interest eg: zoo and the garlic farm. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: March 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Static
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Ratty 279 reviews from this member

 We booked this through the Sun Holidays deal and for the money this holiday was a real bargain. Booking was simply and all done online and we booked a basic pet friendly caravan. We also got a deal on the ferry through the Sun Holidays.

Check in was smooth and easy and the lady on reception showed us where to go on the map and where all the facilities are etc.

We arrived at the static and it was great, it had plenty of space and all the amenities you need, oven, microwave, crockery, cutlery, etc.

At this site you are allowed to use the facilities at Landguard, their sister site, so we wandered over for a look around. Nice bar are serving reasonably priced food and there was a large play ground, pools and a shop.

The facilities on this site were also great, the bar was nice and clean and the food was good. There is a large showbar where the usual holiday park activities take place, bingo, kids club, disco, etc.

There is a shop on site that is reasonably priced, outdoor pool with slide, kids playareas including football and basketball and more.

Off site the location is very close to Shanklin that has all that a seaside town offers including a large Morrisons for shopping and a lovey beach.

Walking from the site is in abundance and there are loads of footpaths offering all sorts of trails and tracks for all levels of fitness.

The IOW has plenty to offer and I would defo come back to this site and we enjoyed our stay very much. 


Date of Visit: March 2019 Unit:  Static
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: VWBus 83 reviews from this member

 Had an off peak visit to the IOW and stayed here in one of the static caravans. The caravan itself was great, clean and reasonably modern and well equipped. Only pain was having to park down the road which made loading / unloading slightly awkward.

The site is the usual Parkdean thing, nice bar which does food, swimming pool on site and playground, bingo and evening entertainment etc. Good shop on site which sold most things and wasn't too expensive.

Location is good, with great access to miles of walks direct from site. It's a short drive (or 15 minute walk) to Shanklin itself. Of course the IOW has masses to do and see, and I thoroughly enjoyed my visit! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Percy on tour 49 reviews from this member

 Lower Hyde Holiday Park is a large site comprising mostly static caravans, but with a touring field too. There is an entertainment complex with a cabaret theatre, indoor and outdoor swimming pools, and a gaming arcade. Campers can also use the facilities at the neighbouring Landguard Holiday Park, which is owned by the same company.

The touring field has wide grass pitches that are more than capable of accommodating caravan, awning and car. There is a shower and toilet block, as well as a friendly, dedicated reception office for tourers. There is wifi available for purchase, although the signal can be a bit hit-and-miss - even when you're parked right beside a transponder.

There is a Lidl supermarket next door to the site; and Shanklin town centre is about fifteen minutes walk away - together with its bus connections to the other towns and attractions on the island. The beach is about half-hour's walk away down a steep road (or five minutes in the car if you can find a spot on the seafront and stump up the cost of parking).

Lower Hyde is child-friendly - with a large playground by the main entertainment complex and children's entertainment shows on most nights. Consequently, it's a popular destination during school holidays - with noise to match. However, during term time it is much quieter if boisterous children are not your scene. 


Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Dartgirl81 24 reviews from this member

 First. Do not go to the main reception at the entrance to the park, follow the signs to the tourer field. In the corner you'll find a dilapidated wooden hut surrounded by weeds and a rusty bbq which is where you book in. However, you won't find a warden, your details will be pinned to the door.

This could be a nice site, but lots of things let it down. The wooden hut for starters! The warden, when we eventually saw her stated that the touring section is a long way down Parkdeans budget list.

The toilets are a psychedelic mixture of tangerine and yellow tiles. There is a pervading odour of blocked drains. The showers were unusable as the temperature is pre-set and was so hot I couldn't stand under them. The key code security pads were broken on the ladies shower doors and the chemical disposal point door was jammed open as the bottom of it was kicked in. Complained several times to the warden and nothing was done, so I emailed the ceo's office and we're given the use of a static caravan to shower in!

No one, but no one sticks to the 10mph rule, especially the staff who drive about in beat up old vans at about 20mph, dogs are also not kept on leads, even when the warden is having a chat with the owner while the dog happily just wanders off.

This this a huge park with hundreds of static caravans.

Just a few things could make this a good site. A security barrier onto the touring field, sort the smelly old facilities out and get the wardens to enforce a few rules!

There is an entertainment club on site and 2 swimming pools. Plus a small shop, although lidls is just down the road.

They do good deals off season, but I would only use our own shower and toilets.

Not a brilliant review but truthful. 


Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: MadNurseGaz 9 reviews from this member

 We had to make a visit to the Isle of Wight for a weekend, and found that the most cost-effective way to do so was to stay in the cheapest accommodation we could find on a Parkdean site (not camping in March!)and take advantage of their 'ferry included' deal. Result! £79 inc. Ferry for 3 nights in a 'Seagull chalet'.

We arrived on Friday evening after a days' drive from the North-west of England, and were greeted by friendly, professional staff who gave us a map of the site, some leaflets about entertainment & activities, our entertainment passes, and directed us to our accommodation.

Unfortunately, we couldn't get to our chalet without either going down a muddy path or crossing a waterlogged muddy grass area. Our visit also coincided with a sudden cold snap and heavy snowfall (but that wasn't Parkdean's fault!).

The weather did mean that our accommodation remained cold throughout our stay, in spite of leaving heating on 24/7 during our stay. It was so cold that no-one in our party would use the shower(!) preferring to wash at the kitchen sink where it was less cold.

Apart from this issue, the chalet was fine as a base for a holiday. It was clean, comfortable and equipped with the necessities. We didn't visit the site shop, we used the LIDL supermarket literally just by the campsite gates. (If LIDL doesn't suit, there's a ALDI at the bottom of the road, and a Morrison's across the road from that!)

On the night we went to the clubhouse, there was a visiting artiste, a singer, who sang a wide repertoire of standards, popsongs and light rock. Bar prices seemed a little on the expensive side. Again, staff were friendly and courteous.

We will be returning regularly to the Isle of Wight, and will come back to Lower Hyde at some point. Until I find something better, Parkdean's 'ferry inclusive' deal seems unbeatable. 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: AbWo 4 reviews from this member

 We tend to go for quiet campsites but, although this might not be our cup of tea in high season, in September it was perfect! The facilities are excellent, clean and well maintained and the price was very reasonable so we felt under no obligation to use the entertainment etc in order to get our money’s worth! The site is attractively laid out and there is a lovely walk directly from it, as well as easy access to Shanklin and beyond. 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Kazza75 1 review from this member

 We had a great time at Lower Hyde. The welcome from reception was friendly & we checked in quickly, not much parking near reception though!

The caravan was relatively easy to find but however I think a few more signs would make it easier to find the section where you are staying.

The caravan itself was very clean and was just how it was described on the website.

Plenty of information of things to do on & off site.

Ferry travel was included in our stay and we had no problems with this.

Night time entertainment for the little ones was very good and all the children were engrossed in the Krew club.

All in all a good holiday 


Previous     39 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Lower Hyde Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts ) child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Lower Hyde Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts ) have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Lower Hyde Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts )?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Lower Hyde Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts ) dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Shanklin      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Isle Of Wight

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


855 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement