Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Tollymore Forest Park

Campsite Search > UK > Northern Ireland > County Down > Newcastle > Tollymore Forest Park Reviews

Tollymore Forest Park
Bryansford Road
Newcastle
County Down   (Browse area)
BT31 9BU
Tel: 028 43722428
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 110
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 24 Reviews
                7/10 from 24 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  24 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: William atchison0 1 review from this member

 This is the 4th year we have stayed at this site. Scenery and walks are fantastic.

The main town of Newcastle was just a short drive away with an abundance of shops, pubs and restaurants. With a tesco, SuperValu and a lidl for all our shopping needs.

Weather was exceptional this year so took a dip in the shimna river which runs through the middle of tollymore Forrest. There was a mobile coffee shop and ice cream van on site. What is really missing is a restaurant of some sort, or a fast food outlet within the site.

Tents were limited this year because of covid so there was plenty of space. My only gripe was that the caravan site is open to full capacity because the caravans are self contained, but still were using the kitchen facilities which meant to social distance we had to queue to do our dishes etc.

Toilet and shower area were old but very clean and an abundance of hot water.

Can't wait to book for next year. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Nbaide 1 review from this member

 Brilliant campsite. Great facilities, especially the hot power showers!

Short walk to the forest.

Quiet and clean. Absolutely loved it!

Would definitely recommend and look forward to going back. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Antisyzygy 3 reviews from this member

 Awful, awful, awful.

Toilets stink, site is bunged, trying to actually weave a caravan through the cars abandoned on the site whilst trying to find a vacant pitch is not a task for the faint hearted. We (eventually) found a lovely, level pitch, but there are no Wardens, or any visible staff on site whatsoever after 7pm.

The site is party central, noise is ridiculous, and that's not even taking into consideration the fights between members of the Travelling Community en-route to the shower block.

Only positive thing I can find to say about it is that there is an abundance of hot water & the forest park itself is beautiful. Come here as a day tripper, don't spend the night.

Will never be back. 


Date of Visit: December 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Melaniextwo 8 reviews from this member

 Always a busy site. Facilities very run down and rarely clean. Beautiful views over the mournes. Bus or car journey into newcastle. Good children's park. Lovely walks. Nice enough site but tired looking and can get rowdy on occasion. 


Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Millie2dogs 1 review from this member

 At the last minute we decided to try Tollymore Park for a weekend break in our motorhome! It is now our favourite wee get away. The walks were fantastic and our German Shepherd had a ball. Plenty of lovely picnic areas around the forest park. Just a short walk from the main gates there is a petrol station and small, well stocked supermarket. Newcastle is just a short drive and has a lovely beach and promenade, also Dundrum( great car boot sale on Sunday mornings) and Seaforde butterfly farm.

Lots of good sized hard standing pitches with electric hook up and plenty of water taps to fill up with fresh water. A good sized toilet and shower block was clean with plenty of hot water. Disabled facilities were good - used by my mum who uses a wheelchair! After years of avoiding going here because of bad publicity we had a brilliant time and have arranged our next break in a couple of weeks. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: McCs 2 reviews from this member

 This was our first family camping trip. So we didn't know what to expect.

Booking was easy and when we arrived the staff were very understanding that our 3 year old was not sure if she wanted to stay. So suggested we see how our first night went before booking the second night.

The amenities were basic but clean.

Location location location is all I can great view and awesome walks.

Some nice cafés in Newcastle and the normal amusements. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Perry44 3 reviews from this member

 We decided to choose Tollymore for our first camping holiday of the 2014 season.

This was our first camping experience in Tollymore, and I think we will be back.

The camping pitches were well maintained, although the ground is a bit stony, and not the most level.

We decided to pitch between two trees as it seemed the most level.

The toilet facilities were in expectations of an NI forest park campsite, clean but basic.

The camping site is well patrolled by a couple of security guards in a Peugeot.

The site is very family friendly and taking into account the frivolities of our neighbours, was quite quiet.

The walks along the river are pleasant, and if you are brave enough there are 1 or 2 spots, where you can swim.

We will use this site again in the future. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cat 2 2 reviews from this member

 This was my first camping holiday, went with my husband and two kids, , everyone was really friendly toilets and shower block clean but basic, nice for walks etc, but went in to Newcastle a lot as there wasn't much to keep the children entertain at the site. The site felt safe to let children run about, would probably go back but only for a weekend break. 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: MONTFORD 7 reviews from this member

 Well, returned! Site has suffered with the rain, and folk intent on off roading their units and vehicles! Still a good site, just wish that the Forestry, or Dept of Agriculture and Rural Development, would realise the potential of all of their sites and invest some money in them, even regular maintenance of he sites would be a step forward! Rant over!

We will return! BTW: Great Chinese in Newcastle, 'the Wok' cant recommend it enough. 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Flossi 3 reviews from this member

 Love the setting for the tents. Is spacious but not too big and open to feel exposed. Only annoying thing is difficult to get an even pitch as area slopes. So constantly felt as though I was rolling out of bed!

Basic amenities but quite a few cubicles with just a sink so could have a wash down rather than use showers. Didn't use dish washing room. Didn't mind shower block - very dated, mould on shower walls but general surfaces all looked clean.

No shop or cafe on site. I think the nearest is Newcastle about a 10 min drive away. Again Newcastle has all the shops and amusements you would expect.

Being a forest park at the foot of the mourn mountains of course there is fantastic walks and beautiful scenery.

I do like here and would choose the campsite here over castlewellen forest. 


Previous     24 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Tollymore Forest Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Tollymore Forest Park?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Tollymore Forest Park dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Newcastle      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in County Down

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3390 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement