Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Beamish Holiday Park ( Formerly Bobby Shafto Caravan Park )

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Co Durham > Beamish > Beamish Holiday Park ( Formerly Bobby Shafto Caravan Park ) Reviews

Beamish Holiday Park ( Formerly Bobby Shafto Caravan Park )
Money Hills
Beamish
Co Durham   (Browse area)
DH9 0RY
Tel: 0191 3701776
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 50
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           01/03/2022 to 31/10/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 81 Reviews
                7/10 from 81 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  81 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: J+JJ 15 reviews from this member

 Good location for visiting Beamish museum. Undergoing works to renovate shop/bar (should be good when completed).

Toilets/showers extremely clean. Some of pitches looked a bit steep.

Recommended. Will return 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Mobilemazza 1 review from this member

 First time camping this site is absolutely stunning and cleaned to the highest standards.

My experience was brilliant and thanks to the beautiful family that runs this site for a very pleasant and welcoming break. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Swindl 1 review from this member

 Van was kick off site but others were aloud to stay.

Other than that we had a fantastic weekend, shower block was clean

Parks were fantastic

Nice clean site 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Robbiejay1971 3 reviews from this member

 A nice site in an amazing location but sadly overrun with feral kids whose parents were nowhere to be seen, avoid if you're looking for a quiet site. 


Date of Visit: May 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: NicciMac 59 reviews from this member

 Very clean loo/shower block and big play area. There were loads of people who are clearly new to camping and it shows - someone tripped the EHU for the whole field by using their kettle and toaster and straighteners they’d brought from home! So maybe a little education is in order.

Expensive site (I paid 30 per night, awfully steep and I wouldn’t usually but it was the end of lockdown celebration).

Lovely helpful staff and beautiful location. Main criticism: the size of the pitches, they are tiny! Fine if you know your neighbours but really awkward if not.

They would do well to be less greedy and decrease the number of pitches by about a third. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Weddel 1 review from this member

 Pros- Lovely clean site, fab reception/shop, well organised for Covid, included temperature checking on arrival, social distancing in the lovely clean Shower/toilet facilities building.

The road leading to the site is narrow but not an issue, it is perfectly positioned for local attractions,

A good segregated area for kids ball games

Cons- the path to the shower/toilet building wasn’t defined, resulting in the pitch we were on was a thoroughfare For kids on their bikes, and general access, Which was quite annoying,

The road around the tourer area is Narrow and tight,

Great site for families where late nights and noise is not an issue 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Neil684 36 reviews from this member

 A large site, mostly statics or seasonal, very few touring pitches. Reasonably level hardstanding, tidy site Very busy at weekends, lots of children. During our stay, Thurs -Sat, wasn't too noisy. Facilities dated but new ones are planned. Site fee expensive, £23pn plus £1pn per dog.

Main attraction is nearness to Beamish and nice woodland walks. 


Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Krismcewan 12 reviews from this member

 Nice season and static pitches but for tourers not worth the premium it charges. One of the places that charges per child/dog/ awning etc so for family of 4 with a dog it’s cheaper to get a travelodge if it’s an overnight. That said the money is placed into the Site as it is clean and tidy and well maintained. Small on site pub was nice and staff friendly. Toilets are clean all be it small portacabin dressed up as a log cabin. Showers are tiny and cost extra to use(tokens only). Only tourer Access to site is along a really bad road(that’s not the site owners fault as 3 ways in and only 1 suitable for caravans). Site is on a hill and even use of ramps couldn’t get van level. Also very tight. There would be No way I could have got van parked if I hadn’t got a motor mover as space opposite was not enough. Signs up everywhere saying what is NOT allowed. A lot of season vans with their kids acting like they own the place with them running about in between vans.

I have stayed in better sites at half the price 


Date of Visit: January 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Tialusso 2 reviews from this member

 This site was a good site, hard to get to as you have to go under a bridge, the facilities were easy to get to and well lit, very friendly place and would go back to that site if there was another way to get there. 


Date of Visit: November 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: NEJane 26 reviews from this member

 I stayed on this site for two days so I could do walking and geo-caching with a friend, who lives only 10 minutes away. I myself am only 20 minutes drive from it but it seemed the best option to stay there so we could get the best of the very short days. I'm a lady travelling on my own so my first bitter pill to swallow was having to pay £23 pn, that being for two people and their unit. This really annoys me as I'm paying twice as much as a couple and using less water. The fella in the office thought he was cushioning the blow by saying a couple with three very young children would pay the same as the children would be free! So five people would be using five times as much water as me but still only paying £23 - yep, that REALLY made me feel better. Having got over that one, he then offered me shower tokens at 25p each. I could have told him where to stick them when I was told I would only get 6 minutes for that. Needless to say, I used my own shower!

The final blow was when my friend turned up, ready to take me out in his car, once I got my campervan set up on the expensive pitch. Apparently the rule is visitors have to pay £4 a day to bring their cars through the barrier. My friend wasn't happy about paying so, because the site was quiet, they said he could park in the visitors' car park and ignore the signs indicating the 15 minutes parking limit.

I only visited the facilities once and was even more gobsmacked to note that there weren't even privacy cubicles, in the ladies. I HAVE been on expensive sites before where I've paid around the same price but the facilities were excellent with no limitation on showers. And they were free!

The site isn't huge, there's nowt spectacular about it, the pitches are sloped - even the EDP was as basic as could be, and not particularly clean. Nope, local this may be and handy for Beamish Museum but I would rather do the 20 minute drive, day after day than spend that sort of money, on a money-grabbing site which couldn't even offer some sort of discount for a solo traveller during the off-season. 


Previous     81 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Beamish Holiday Park ( Formerly Bobby Shafto Caravan Park ) child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Beamish Holiday Park ( Formerly Bobby Shafto Caravan Park )?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Beamish Holiday Park ( Formerly Bobby Shafto Caravan Park ) dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Beamish      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Co Durham

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan / Motorhome Show 03/02 to 06/02
Compare and contrast the latest caravans and motorhomes from the country’s leading manufacturers ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3243 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £599 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth £1,999

Get a Reminder