Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of The Halfway House Inn Caravan & Camp Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Shropshire > Bridgnorth > The Halfway House Inn Caravan & Camp Site Reviews

The Halfway House Inn Caravan & Camp Site
Cleobury Road
Eardington
Bridgnorth
Shropshire   (Browse area)
WV16 5LS
Tel: 01746 762670
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 28
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 69 Reviews
                7/10 from 69 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (20)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   Wild Swimming 1 mile   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  69 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: November 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Treetrunk11 2 reviews from this member

Friendly, made more than welcome by all,

Beautiful food,

Location to town and Severn valley Railway perfect,

Coal fire blazing to keep everyone warm on a winterís day
via mobile

Date of Visit: November 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Chris6 1 review from this member

Great site for bridgenorth visit

Very quirky pub, food excellent home cooked, great service

The weather was poor but we enjoyed the site

The owners very friendly and chatty

Will return again
via mobile

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Melbrookes 12 reviews from this member

Spent August bank holiday there - 4 nights as I wasn't allowed to book less.

It was very expensive at £27. 50 per night and I made inquiries with other campers who seemed to be charged different rates with some tenters being charged per person and forced to eat in the expensive adjacent pub restaurant. Seemed to be a rip off to me.

On the good side, nice area, very quiet only a couple of miles from lovely Bridgnorth which is worth a visit

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Rarea 4 reviews from this member

So very disappointing, on trying to book was told that there was a minimum nights required, was not a problem so went ahead and booked. Really wished I hadn't, squashed us in between other vehicles, no room for your car next to van, couple in caravan had been told that their pitch was too boggy so it would be ok to encroach on next pitch leaving even less room for the poor people next door. Didn't seem to me that it would be safe if anyone had a fire

They then continued allowing more people on site(so much for minimum nights stay) took some pictures to show how overcrowded we were, then they went about unplugging people's electrics, without switching off inside vehicles, and crisscrossing wires all over people's pitches.

At the end away from us was a big tangle of crossed wires which could have been a trip hazard. There was one male and one female toilet, not enough for the number of people who were crammed on site. Profit before comfort, welfare and safety. Very poor customer service

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: The knobs 3 reviews from this member

Ignore the reviews from effete southerners who want to find fault with everything, and where anybody gets the idea that £22. 50 is expensive nowadays I don't know. We have had to pay £35 recently in the Peak District, for a campsite without a pub attached!

This is a great place, we came back this year for the second time having enjoyed ourselves here last year, and aim to come back every year. The food and drink was first class, especially considering the limitations of the size of the bar and kitchen, and even our vegetarian friends, usually very picky about their food, loved it.

They welcome musicians, and after dinner we had a singaround and some more beer, and so when we went back to our caravan we didn't notice the dogs particularly, although we had heard them odd times during the day.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Rlnorton 4 reviews from this member

Nice pub with a peculiar policy regarding opening hours. Good beer, average food, above average prices and well below average service. The owner does seem to have a strange attitude towards customers.

The site is cramped when full and the toilet/shower block is very poorly maintained in all respects. The washing up sink is uncovered and only has a cold water tap.

There is a barn with a pack of hounds adjacent to the property which frequently breaks out into a loud howling noise (during the night as well as day) and could be very intimidating for children.

Our hard standing pitch only had electric hookup and I didn't see anything that resembled a super pitch - as I understand it anyway.

Overpriced in my opinion, for the same price or less much better sites are available.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Robodell 2 reviews from this member

Advertised as a top quality site with super-pitches and a toilet and shower block. Although he charges top prices (£25. 00 per night), this is far from a quality site and the loo block is pathetic. 25 units on the site this Easter weekend, so 60-70 adults and children and one single toilet in the gents and one in the ladies, hopelessly inadequate. The site and pub owner was rude and for attempt to get any problem resolved his immediate response instead of trying to find a solution, is to say 'well if your not happy, leave'!

They are not super-pitches by any means, not all of them have a water supply and none of them have grey water disposal.

In short, there are other, cheaper, sites in the area, with better facilities.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Darkness258 6 reviews from this member

Booked the site via uk campsite, thought it seemed good, upon arrival shown couple of pitches, I asked which was a super pitch to be advised we don't have super pitches Ie, water, ehu, grey waste disposal. If I had known would not have booked it. Basic campsite top prices.

Only 1 male toilet only 1 female toilet, inadequate to say the least, as was the toilet paper supply, when requested, my wife was asked are you staying here? Ok then can you put two in the toilet and keep the rest in your van until needed!

I certainly didn't pay to be toilet monitor, no mention of the constant howling from the kennels either.

Date of Visit: March 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sarahl1a2 1 review from this member

Have just stayed here for two nights in our tourer. Its a nice little site which is situated behind a 16th century inn. The inn itself is lovely, very quaint and cosy, Matt one of the owners was very knowledgeable about the local area and gave us lots of advice about what pubs to go to in the town, he was a really friendly bloke. The only negative I could point out is the noise from the local kennels, we are both light sleepers and were disturbed by the dogs barking and howling both nights, this is obviously nothing to do with the caravan site though. I would go back to this site but think I would ask to be further away from the road. We had a drink in the inn but didn't eat there however the food smelt lovely and if we do go again we will try the meals.

Date of Visit: March 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: TheGiggleBus 1 review from this member

The Pub was very quaint and served good food. It was also dog friendly which is important for us. The food took a while to arrive but appeared to be freshly cooked so worth the wait. The pitches are a bit close together, the hard-standing was badly sloping on some of them too. The advert states well drained but the grassy areas felt boggy.

The grass had not been cut for a while which made the site look untidy, the owner said it was due to the weather. For a 12 pitch site it needs more than one toilet and shower for ladies and gents. The toilet block was heated nicely. They advertise super pitches which we asked for but all they had was a tap in addition to a EHU, no waste drainage or tv ariel so certainly not a super pitch. As others have mentioned the dogs howling in the nearby kennels are a nuisance, the noise started at 6am every morning. Not the owners fault but a warning would be useful. People would appreciate his honesty on this point when booking. Dish washing facilities need hot water. Overall I feel this site is over priced, a more realistic rate would be £15 per night

Previous     69 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Bridgnorth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Shropshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...





Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 16/01 to 19/01, Event City
Over 200 exhibitors with all the new 2020 models and biggest ever selection of accessories. Plus win tickets! ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5093 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar
Christmas Giveaway


Advent Calendar

A new prize every day til Christmas PLUS a grand Christmas Day Star Prize

Click to Play!