Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Bala Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Bala > Bala Camping And Caravanning Club Site Reviews

Bala Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Crynierth Caravan Park
Cefn Ddwysarn
Bala
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL23 7LN
Tel: 01678 530324
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 45
Open: 04/07/2020 to 02/11/2020
           01/04/2021 to 02/11/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 44 Reviews
                8/10 from 44 Reviews

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  44 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

We are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: LiquidLunch 11 reviews from this member

 This was our first visit to Bala Camping and Caravan site for many years and what a difference, the site is beautifully kept the grounds were immaculate. The facilities have had a recent upgrade and are some of the best we have come across. The site even with a lot of children on very peaceful and relaxing.

Previous review has complained about the staff but we found them to be nothing but brilliant, they are helpful, full of knowledge on the surrounding area and nothing was too much trouble for them.

We will definitely be back as this is now one of our favourite club sites. 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Group
Reviewer: Newbycaravaner 1 review from this member

 Good points:

• Site is clean, well-kept, excellent toilet/shower block and adequate pot washing and laundry area.

Bad points:

• Lacks drying room

• The 'dog walk’ is a complete misnomer. It is a section of grassed area about 10 paces by 40 paces. Only other place you could walk your dog is along the single track approach road.

• The members of staff (of which there seemed to be too many for such a small site) were rude, unhelpful and unwelcoming. The Site Manager, in particular, was rude and aggressive, appears to lack any customer service skills and is a deplorable representative of the Camping and Caravanning Club.

Unfortunately, for us caravanning is a social experience. This site delivered an exceedingly poor one which is why I have scored it so low for the overall rating. Even the Welsh member of our group, in a different unit, described the staff and general atmosphere as, ‘Totally unwelcoming’.

If this had been our first visit to a Camping and Caravanning Club Site we would have thought it reflective of what we would experience on all other Club Sites and we would think twice about going to another one. So far, this is the only Club site we have encountered that does not value its customers and we just won't return. It is with regret that, because of this, we would not recommend it to anyone. 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Truediamond 88 reviews from this member

 Surprising that no one has reviewed this Site for a couple of years but here goes. Its a classic C&CC Site but which has had some money spent on it in recent years. The toilet and amenity block has been renovated, recently by appearances and is now clean and fresh.

We had no problems pitching, staff were helpful and the Site is certainly quiet. However, Bala and its shops as well as the Lake are over 3 miles away along a busy road. There didn't seem to be an offroad path or at least one that the Site Team knew about. TV reception was a bit hit and miss, we could only get ITV channels.

We'd be happy to come back though. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mark1200 6 reviews from this member

 Nice small site, friendly and helpful staff. Facilities a tad dated but very clean and warm. Very expensive for what's on offer. We have dogs and In our opinion not suitable for anything but toy dogs as the dog walk is a tiny patch of grass, all walks we saw from the site are intensively farmed with sheep. Not for us so we don't plan to return. 


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Joe+2 3 reviews from this member

 Great site for the chance to do loads of activities, which are all close to the site, walking, cycling, white water rafting, to name just a few. Myself I cycled around four different lakes all within about 20 mile or less of the site. Wasn't very busy considering it was easter period. Great views all around. Total peace and quiet at night. For a bit more activity and pleasure, bala town and lake close by which cater for this. Quite a few pubs are doted around the area. All in all it is ideal for adults, young and old, as well as children. I heard nothing but laughter from the children whilst I was there. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Care Bear 5 reviews from this member

 The campsite was very soggy and rainy. There was a stream running by the side, which was pleasant. There was a small and basic play area with equipment for young, not yet disabled, children. Washing facilities were kept clean and there was a pay phone. There were issues with inconsiderate dog owners including the warden and with ableism. The WiFi worked, but not to the extent that it was usable for anything other than checking e-mail.

The surrounding area was not for me- spoilt by dogs taking up the pavements, making disabled people walk in the road and dogs on beaches, off leads, flouting the seasonal dog ban. Much ableism existed in the area e. G. Disabled people not being able to book the Snowdon Mountain Railway online, whilst not yet disabled people could.

Humans pay to camp, dogs do not. Some dog owners allowed their dogs to bark after 11pm and before 7am. Others allowed them to bark early, late and throughout the day. Dog owners took their dogs to walk around the site, meet and bark at each other, early in the morning. I disagree that dogs wanting to bark at 8. 10am should take priority over paying humans who would appreciate a lie in on holiday after working hard all year. I saw dogs being allowed to pee on pitches where people will pitch their tents. Even the warden walked his dog around the site allowing it to bark and left it outside of his caravan to bark at people when they walked past his caravan in order to gain access to the facilities block- he did not set a good example to dog owners staying on the site.

People with impairments are not treated as equal to those who are not yet disabled, even at Bala, where it is claimed that there are 'dedicated accessible facilities'. For example the facilities block at Bala. Disabled people are segregated, as opposed to the whole block having been designed taking their needs into account. This segregation can be embarrassing for people with conditions and impairments and lead people to consider disabled people as different and to then treat them differently i. E. Less favourably. The dishwashing and launderette rooms required going up a step and the sinks were all at the same height. The payphone cubicle was inaccessible. The washing lines provided were high and there was a notice requesting campers to only use those (although this was not enforced). The mother and baby room was in the women's toilets and showers and was therefore inaccessible to disabled parents. People's individual differences had not been taken into account. Disabled people pay the same as others to use the site but, depending on conditions(s) and impairment(s), would not have been able to access the same variety of facilities- everyone has to wash up don't they? 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dave n Luz 1 review from this member

 A good well kept friendly site.

Over the three nights we were there we found no fault at all. Shower and toilet block very clean.

Friendly helpful staff, and well kept grounds.

Will be back!

P. S Even our two dogs slept all night as was so quiet. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Phoebesgran 7 reviews from this member

 This is a follow up to my review from August of last year.

Granddaughter (aged 9) and I stayed at this fabulous site for 3 nights (Thursday to Sunday) in half term week.

We received a warm welcome on arrival and an apology for the lack of any choice of pitch - and were then shown to what must be the best pitch on the site! It was perfect for us being next to the stream at the far end of the site. A bit of a walk to the facilities for some but as it is quite a compact site that wasn't a problem for us.

In my previous review I commented that the grass was a little long. That wasn't the case on this visit, the grass was trimmed to perfection.

As before the toilets, showers, washing up area, etc were immaculate. The hand basins and taps are so clean and shiny I'm sure they must be polished every hour!

We chose Bala partly because it is within driving distance of Chester Zoo where we went on a lovely sunny day. It was very nice, plenty to do and see. I can't comment on value for money as we used our Gold Cards for Colchester Zoo to obtain free entry but I'd guess it isn't cheap.

On our other full day we visited Beddgelert where we walked to the Lake and on up across the hillside. It was quite a challenging walk, some steep rocky sections, but very rewarding with stunning views.

I cannot praise the Bala camp site highly enough, for us it is perfect. My granddaughter loves it and has asked if we can go again and stay longer next time and I'm more than happy to agree to that! 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Scottlo 1 review from this member

 We stayed in the Readycamp tents which we thought was fantastic especially camping with small children had everything you needed for a relaxing weekend. The site itself was beautiful well cared for and maintained.

Our critisim of this campsite was the inability to allow children to play ball games. We accepted the request to only play using a soft ball, then we were told this was not allowed. The whole idea of camping with the family was to mix and play outdoor games. The outdoor play area provided consisted on one swing, baby swing and a slide not something to keep children entertained for long periods of time. Also this area was located next to the dog walking area and chemical toilet disposal area which was open and could be accessed by the children.

A great place to stay for adults but wouldn't recommend for families. 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Nikko136 48 reviews from this member

 The site is in the countryside down a narrow lane a few miles outside Bala town and even further from the lake. The road into Bala isn’t suitable for pedestrians. The wardens were warm and welcoming and pitches were fine. After previously staying at Premier Parks sites the washing and shower facilities were quite a disappointment. Although clean, they were cold, old-fashioned and basic.

The grey-water dumping station was a strange design, really only suitable for either small campervans or motorhomes with a central valve and high ground clearance. We were told that this is due for revision, as the site was originally intended for caravans.

There is a small area for dogs’ essentials but this isn’t big enough for anything but that. There was no information on any sheep-free walks or footpaths for dog-owners.

Despite the members’ discount this is not particularly price-competitive.

We agree with the wardens’ recommendation of the Bryntirion Inn for the best food around, and it’s dog-friendly. It is, however, a few miles away cross-country. 


Previous     44 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Bala Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Is Bala Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bala      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1779 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement