Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Bala Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Site Reviews

Bala Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Crynierth Caravan Park
Cefn Ddwysarn
Bala
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL23 7LN
Tel: 01678 530324
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 45
Open: 01/04 to 03/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 41 Reviews
                8/10 from 41 Reviews

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 No Shop   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  41 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mark1200 2 reviews from this member

Nice small site, friendly and helpful staff. Facilities a tad dated but very clean and warm. Very expensive for what's on offer. We have dogs and In our opinion not suitable for anything but toy dogs as the dog walk is a tiny patch of grass, all walks we saw from the site are intensively farmed with sheep. Not for us so we don't plan to return.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Joe+2 3 reviews from this member

Great site for the chance to do loads of activities, which are all close to the site, walking, cycling, white water rafting, to name just a few. Myself I cycled around four different lakes all within about 20 mile or less of the site. Wasn't very busy considering it was easter period. Great views all around. Total peace and quiet at night. For a bit more activity and pleasure, bala town and lake close by which cater for this. Quite a few pubs are doted around the area. All in all it is ideal for adults, young and old, as well as children. I heard nothing but laughter from the children whilst I was there.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Care Bear 5 reviews from this member

The campsite was very soggy and rainy. There was a stream running by the side, which was pleasant. There was a small and basic play area with equipment for young, not yet disabled, children. Washing facilities were kept clean and there was a pay phone. There were issues with inconsiderate dog owners including the warden and with ableism. The WiFi worked, but not to the extent that it was usable for anything other than checking e-mail.

The surrounding area was not for me- spoilt by dogs taking up the pavements, making disabled people walk in the road and dogs on beaches, off leads, flouting the seasonal dog ban. Much ableism existed in the area e. G. Disabled people not being able to book the Snowdon Mountain Railway online, whilst not yet disabled people could.

Humans pay to camp, dogs do not. Some dog owners allowed their dogs to bark after 11pm and before 7am. Others allowed them to bark early, late and throughout the day. Dog owners took their dogs to walk around the site, meet and bark at each other, early in the morning. I disagree that dogs wanting to bark at 8. 10am should take priority over paying humans who would appreciate a lie in on holiday after working hard all year. I saw dogs being allowed to pee on pitches where people will pitch their tents. Even the warden walked his dog around the site allowing it to bark and left it outside of his caravan to bark at people when they walked past his caravan in order to gain access to the facilities block- he did not set a good example to dog owners staying on the site.

People with impairments are not treated as equal to those who are not yet disabled, even at Bala, where it is claimed that there are 'dedicated accessible facilities'. For example the facilities block at Bala. Disabled people are segregated, as opposed to the whole block having been designed taking their needs into account. This segregation can be embarrassing for people with conditions and impairments and lead people to consider disabled people as different and to then treat them differently i. E. Less favourably. The dishwashing and launderette rooms required going up a step and the sinks were all at the same height. The payphone cubicle was inaccessible. The washing lines provided were high and there was a notice requesting campers to only use those (although this was not enforced). The mother and baby room was in the women's toilets and showers and was therefore inaccessible to disabled parents. People's individual differences had not been taken into account. Disabled people pay the same as others to use the site but, depending on conditions(s) and impairment(s), would not have been able to access the same variety of facilities- everyone has to wash up don't they?

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dave n Luz 1 review from this member

A good well kept friendly site.

Over the three nights we were there we found no fault at all. Shower and toilet block very clean.

Friendly helpful staff, and well kept grounds.

Will be back!

P. S Even our two dogs slept all night as was so quiet.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Phoebesgran 7 reviews from this member

This is a follow up to my review from August of last year.

Granddaughter (aged 9) and I stayed at this fabulous site for 3 nights (Thursday to Sunday) in half term week.

We received a warm welcome on arrival and an apology for the lack of any choice of pitch - and were then shown to what must be the best pitch on the site! It was perfect for us being next to the stream at the far end of the site. A bit of a walk to the facilities for some but as it is quite a compact site that wasn't a problem for us.

In my previous review I commented that the grass was a little long. That wasn't the case on this visit, the grass was trimmed to perfection.

As before the toilets, showers, washing up area, etc were immaculate. The hand basins and taps are so clean and shiny I'm sure they must be polished every hour!

We chose Bala partly because it is within driving distance of Chester Zoo where we went on a lovely sunny day. It was very nice, plenty to do and see. I can't comment on value for money as we used our Gold Cards for Colchester Zoo to obtain free entry but I'd guess it isn't cheap.

On our other full day we visited Beddgelert where we walked to the Lake and on up across the hillside. It was quite a challenging walk, some steep rocky sections, but very rewarding with stunning views.

I cannot praise the Bala camp site highly enough, for us it is perfect. My granddaughter loves it and has asked if we can go again and stay longer next time and I'm more than happy to agree to that!

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Scottlo 1 review from this member

We stayed in the Readycamp tents which we thought was fantastic especially camping with small children had everything you needed for a relaxing weekend. The site itself was beautiful well cared for and maintained.

Our critisim of this campsite was the inability to allow children to play ball games. We accepted the request to only play using a soft ball, then we were told this was not allowed. The whole idea of camping with the family was to mix and play outdoor games. The outdoor play area provided consisted on one swing, baby swing and a slide not something to keep children entertained for long periods of time. Also this area was located next to the dog walking area and chemical toilet disposal area which was open and could be accessed by the children.

A great place to stay for adults but wouldn't recommend for families.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Nikko136 44 reviews from this member

The site is in the countryside down a narrow lane a few miles outside Bala town and even further from the lake. The road into Bala isnít suitable for pedestrians. The wardens were warm and welcoming and pitches were fine. After previously staying at Premier Parks sites the washing and shower facilities were quite a disappointment. Although clean, they were cold, old-fashioned and basic.

The grey-water dumping station was a strange design, really only suitable for either small campervans or motorhomes with a central valve and high ground clearance. We were told that this is due for revision, as the site was originally intended for caravans.

There is a small area for dogsí essentials but this isnít big enough for anything but that. There was no information on any sheep-free walks or footpaths for dog-owners.

Despite the membersí discount this is not particularly price-competitive.

We agree with the wardensí recommendation of the Bryntirion Inn for the best food around, and itís dog-friendly. It is, however, a few miles away cross-country.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Phoebesgran 7 reviews from this member

Lovely, flat site in a beautiful location. Wardens friendly and helpful. We were offered a choice of pitch but having started to set up realised the one chosen wasn't ideal for us. Not only did the wardens readily agree to us moving to another pitch but they helped us to take the kit that was out of the car over to the new location.

On arrival I was concerned that there wouldn't be enough showers for the amount of visitors but in the week we were there I never had to queue. Showers, toilets, washing up area etc are immaculate.

My only minor gripe is that the grass was a little longer than on some other sites. I would have preferred it shorter as it seemed to be permanently wet (and we didn't have much rain).

8 year old granddaughter was happy with the playground.

I'm guilty of seeing very little of the immediate area as we went out to places further afield. Snowdon, Caernarfon Castle, Portmeirion, Barmouth, Rhosneigr and Beaumaris are all lovely to visit.

The Co-op in Bala carries an excellent range of groceries.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mjlincs 26 reviews from this member

We loved the site and got the friendliest of welcomes and as much help as we asked for. The site is extremely clean, neat and tidy, the showers and other shared facilities were spotless. The whole site is well spaced and surrounded by trees with a fenced off stream to one side. There is a dog paddock for the usual doggy needs but sadly no really good walks nearby. The local pub is the The Bryntirion Inn where you will get the warmest of welcomes and a great meal at a reasonable price. Bala, like many small towns and has no big supermarket but the local shops are great, small cafes abound and we can highly recommend the butchers. The site is well located for local attractions being central to many but in Wales things are spread out so you can expect a 15 to 20 mile drive to get to many of them. Well worth a visit and we will return.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: MOWWD 6 reviews from this member

Lovely peaceful site set in countryside a few miles from Bala. Friendly and helpful Wardens. Toilets and showers not the most modern but spotlessly clean at all times and the rest of the site well kept. Tiny dog walk although public footpaths across farm land close by (unfortunately closed when we were there as electricity board were working)Two swings and slide set on safety rubber matting for younger children, probably not enough to keep older children entertained. Small supplies of groceries in site shop but that did include Milk, locally made sausages, bacon and eggs. We had a fair bit of rain when we were there but the pitches didn't flood although ground a bit soft but not a problem. Both electric and non-electric pitches. Caravan towing to site easy.

A reasonable sized CoOp and Spar in Bala plus various takeaways/eat in restaurants both Indian and Chinese. Good local pubs, the Eagles Inn and Bryntirion Inn (both tested-good food. Various watersports on Lake Bala and lots to do if you don't mind a drive. Black Rock sands beach-miles of sand and dunes. Black Rock Llamas-take them for a walk, over jumps and feed them-they were very well behaved(no spitting) and the owner was very interesting. Various steam railways in all areas. Llangollen-Aqueduct, Horseshoe Falls, Horse Drawn Canal Boat rides. Betws-y-Coed - Lots of Outdoor/Walking/Camping Shops and a few nice gift shops Lovely Walk along the river to Swallow Falls (waterfall) Snowdon (of course) walked up Llanberis path and back down Miners Track, pretty hard going, took us 7 hours with lunch break but good views at top. Precipice Walk (near Dolgellau)a lake and mountainside walk, good views out to coast. Portmeirion-interesting architecture, a seconds shop if you want to buy any crockery. Glassblobbery (near Bala)- fascinating watching a glass fish being made, lots of handmade glass items for sale. Lake Vyrnwy-pretty area to walk with nice picnic area, craft shop and a waterfall walk. There is lots more to do besides all this so a good area to visit

Previous     41 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Gwynedd   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 19th to 24th Feb, NEC
See the latest ranges of motorhomes, caravans, holiday homes, tents, awnings and accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2843 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019