Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Cheddar Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Somerset > Cheddar > Cheddar Caravan And Motorhome Club Site > Reviews

Cheddar Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Gas House
Off Draycott Road
Cheddar
Somerset   (Browse area)
BS27 3RL
Tel: 01342 327 490
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 68
Open: 02/03/2024 to 05/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 57 Reviews
                8/10 from 57 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

This is a club member only site - you may be able to join on site - please check direct with the site

Reviews:  57 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: March 2024  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Paul Arnold 1 review from this member

 What a smashing little site, friendly wardens, spotless facilities and only a five minute walk into town.

Wells was a great place to visit, lovely market and not forgetting the Cathedral.

A very pleasant walk around the reservoir.

If you are visiting the East Somerset Railway at Cranmore, the Strode Arms is a must for lunch and only a two minute walk away. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: November 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Kernow Camper 198 reviews from this member

 Brilliant out of season site (we stay next door during the main season as it's adults only!).

Love Cheddar and this site is excellent with everything on your doorstep.

Fantastic wardens and quick and easy check in.

Choose your own pitch (large hardstandings) and then go back and pay/collect barrier card.

Small toilet/shower block but very clean and up to CAMC standard (other than the shower cubicles being really small).

Information room (extensive), washing up area (indoor) and laundry.

Bins and water around the site, never too far away.

Easy walk into the village, supermarkets, quirky shops, pubs restaurants, takeaways, etc. All you could need.

We'll definitely be back again out of season. 


Date of Visit: August 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jonesy103 7 reviews from this member

 Great location 20 mins walk from the gorge attractions, and great local walking routes through country and riverside.

Immaculate site with well spaced pitches and a very friendly welcome.

A short walk takes you into Cheddar village where there are plenty of shops, pubs, cafes and restaurants to visit. You are given a map on arrival to help with directions but it is signposted.

We had a meal in the Riverside Inn one day, good food but beer was disappointing and another day we had a cream tea in the Gorge Cafe after completing the circular gorge walk.

Facilities block is more than adequate for the size of the site and kept immaculately clean. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Blinkie 65 reviews from this member

 The relief warden Fiona was so welcoming and had reserved me a pitch which was brilliant. We were on a hard standing and the pitch was big enough.

I can only comment on the disabled toilet/shower room and it was adequate although it could do with better ventilation as the inside of the door was always covered in condensation.

The motorhome point is after the exit barrier and is slightly awkward to position into, in a bigger motorhome, and leave room for exiting traffic.

The walk into Cheddar is not too far and we did visit the cheddar cheese experience and well worth a visit and ooh that cheese!

I did walk alone one day into Sainsburys, I am blind, and there is a left hand bend into Cheddar which is advisable to walk on the outside of whichever direction you are walking in. There is little or no pavement between the campsite and the bend.

All in all a very clean site and good locality and would return. 


Date of Visit: April 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Doulajulie 56 reviews from this member

 Great location 20 mins walk from. The gorge attractions.

Great local walking routes through country and Riverside.

Immaculate site with well spaced pitches and a friendly welcome.

Had a delicious plentiful curry from Spice cottage. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Trevor57 87 reviews from this member

 Access to the site is off the A371 Draycott Road then down a short narrow lane (Gas House Lane) to the entrance. Do not arrive before 1 PM or you will meet someone coming out!

The site is a mixture of 68 Standard hardstanding and grass pitches with electric and awning. There was only 2 non-awning pitches on grass. There is a Motorhome Service point located by the exit barrier but it should be noted larger units may block the exit. There is an amenities block but we noted the showers were very small but this is not a problem to us as we use the shower facilities in our motorhome.

A short walk takes you into Cheddar village where there are plenty of shops, pubs, cafes and restaurants to visit. You are given a map on arrival to help with directions but it is signposted. We had a meal in the Bath Arms one day and lunch in the Gorge Cafe the next we would highly recommend both.

A lot of things seemed to be closed in Cheddar during this visit eg the Costa Coffee, Edinburgh Woollen Mill (both permanently we found out) and several of the cafes and shops. A sign of the times we thought but there are still enough open to compensate. There is a Sainsbury's which is about a 10 mins walk away and also a small Tesco.

Cheddar FC ground is right next door so there may be a little noise on match day but hey this is not Wembley so it is minimal. Some campers even go and watch it only costs £5 so I heard.

We enjoyed our stay at this site and in Cheddar so would have no trouble in recommending both. 


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: LozzaS5 32 reviews from this member

 Medium sized CAMC SITE

Well laid out with mostly large hard standings-all level

Not the most modern facilities block but clean and serviceable if shower cubicles a little small.

Easy access to good walking and cycle routes

TV booster cable connection welcome.

Some noise for adjoining campsite and public pathway.

WiFi and mobile good.

Wardens very welcoming.

Great location in town and east to get to though limited space to queue on arrival and Motorhome point could be better positioned as traffic doesn’t flow if busy.

Riverside pub usual gastro affair and good for watching sport and sitting outside. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Pca1958 75 reviews from this member

 This was our first outing since early Dec 20, and it just so happened, we came back to Cheddar, the last site we had visited.

The weather this time was gorgeous, and the campsite had obviously not changed. Covid measures were in place, however not all members were taking them seriously in the facilities block.

Other than that, nice walks into Cheddar, some challenging walks up Jacobs ladder and beyond, some strong Cheddar Cheese purchased and a couple of drinks in the Riverside Inn in the sun.

All in all a great stay. 


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Gillwr 1 review from this member

 An excellent campsite in an excellent location, very close to the centre of Cheddar.

Wardens were very helpful and the campsite was immaculate.

We will definitely return. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Jadsett 52 reviews from this member

 Spent 2 nights on this site

Received a very warm welcome from enthusiastic staff

Cheddar as a village seems to be living on past glories and the site reflects that. The facilities are tired and clearly in need of an upgrade, which is a shame because the site has a lot going for it.

It is within easy walking distance of the village and the gorge, but a lot of the 'attractions' there have clearly seen better days, even though our visit was at the end of Bank Holiday week

We had lunch at the Riverside where the 'sharing ploughman's' represented something of a challenge 


Previous     57 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Cheddar Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Is Cheddar Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Cheddar      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Somerset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


49575 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement