Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Pencnwc Farm

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Haverfordwest > Pencnwc Farm Reviews

Pencnwc Farm
St Davids
Haverfordwest
Pembrokeshire   (Browse area)
SA62 6RS
Tel: 01437 720523
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 20
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 17 Reviews
                9/10 from 17 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  17 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Crepizoid 5 reviews from this member

We stayed recently at this camp site following reviews on here even though they were a bit out of date. We really enjoyed our stay for a couple of nights. The camp site was our type of site, chilled out and informal.

The toilets and showers could do with being cleaned at least daily as even though bleach was put down them one evening and the bins were emptied the toilet seats etc had not been cleaned and weren't during our stay.

The owners seem nice and again relaxed and helpful if you need them. The other campers were friendly and were all there for the same reasons as us, not to sit in a caravan with satellite TV and all the mod cons, nosing at everyone all day, but to enjoy being out doors and exploring a beautiful area.

Even though it hasn't a children's park etc this wasn't a bad thing, it felt safe and my 2 children (age 1 and 3) loved it, just running around and chatting to everyone.

To use the showers or the double burner you are asked to contribute 25p each time in a honesty box. Compared to many sites this site is very reasonable price per night.

The walk to the nearest cove is about 15-20mins along fields, it is a lovely walk and the cove is beautiful, but for those with mobility problems not easy.

Would definitely return to this site we all had a lovely time.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Clubm4n 3 reviews from this member

We booked this site as it looked promising from the website and we weren't disappointed. We like sites not to be too much like suburbia in tents and this fitted the bill nicely. Three fields (one small and certified) edged by dry stone walls and gorse.

Although it was August Bank Holiday we didn't have a problem booking just days before - we were in the least level of the fields but that is not a problem in a van. We turned up at 1am on Friday night - the owners were fine with that and were very friendly and helpful in the booking process and while we were there. Facilities were good, clean and well looked after.

The setting is stunning - short walks to the rugged coast and sheltered coves on both sides of the headland. We saw seals and explored rock pools for a whole morning. We walked into St David's on a couple of occasions - about 20 mins and no problem. There is no shortage of things to do within 30 mins drive but we stayed close to home and went bodyboarding at Whitesands Bay. Restaurant and pub in St David's in the evening and a campfire on return to site. Just remember the site is by the sea and so can get windy.

I have given the site 10/10 for child friendliness as my two are 9 and 11 and made their own fun - but if you are looking for playgrounds/kiddiclubs then this is not the site for you.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Booketta 12 reviews from this member

We stayed at Pencnwc Farm for the first time the first two weeks of the school holidays this year. We were in the area at Whitsun and took a look then, we were so impressed with the prices, view and in particular the welcoming friendliness of the owners. We stayed in the caravan field known as the 'Field of Tranquillity' and during our stay it really lived up to its name. There are two tent fields and fellow campers were really friendly. Most of them are regulars who return on an annual basis. This alone speaks for itself.

The site is relatively basic, it has two showers, 4 toilets, a row of 4 basins and two sinks for washing up, no particular laundry facilities but you can handwash in the sinks. There is a communal microwave and fridge/freezer plus a couple of gas burners for basic campers at no extra cost. There is no electric hook up but the owners offer a leisure battery charging service free and you can plug in mobiles, toothbrushes, hairdryers, straighteners etc too.

There are wonderful coastal walks along the Pembrokeshire coastline, 5-10 minute walk to the nearest beach and the city of St David's is in walking distance. Porthclais harbour is a 5 minute drive to launch a kayak, canoe or other boat or a walk just to watch or join in the coasteering adventures.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sunshine76 1 review from this member

This campsite is fabulous, had a great 2 week stay in one of the tents that you can hire. This was a sturdy spacious tent that had two pods, one we used to sleep in and the other we put all out clothes etc. The main area was big with a stove and rechargeable lantern. The gas lasted us for the whole two weeks, we had a full cooked breakfast every morning and a cooked tea. The outside area was great to with a table and two plastic chairs. The shower/toilet block was a short walk and these were always clean. As long as you don't mind the odd spider or moth these were great. The fridge was a good idea and the freezer to keep your ice packs in. We had a cool box so we just swapped the frozen ice packs over each day. We stayed at the end of July / beguining of August so it was quiet. It was getting busier as we left on the 5th August so I think we picked the best time. The owners were lovely and very helpful.

It was about a half hour walk into St Davids although we just went down on our bikes most of the time. St Davids is lovely, the supermarket is a little expensive but the pies and bread are to die for. There is a green grocers as well that have a very nice pasta sauce which is cheaper than the supermarket and the fruit and veg were good too. There is a butchers but we didn't try there, next time we will. The tourist information office has lots of leaflets on places to go to and a little bit further along the road there is a laundrette. The Farmers Arms pub is really good, the drinks are a little expensive but the beer garden is lovely in the sun or rain. The food is good to, hot food, hot plates. There are lots of things to do, the coast path is brilliant and we walked to Porthclais and Porthgain, although the walk to porthgain is long and a bit scary in places. A walk I would definitely do again though. Solva is lovely too. We also tried horse riding which was great, not far from the campsite either.

Would definitely recommend this campsite and the surrounding areas if you like walking, cycling and the beach then this is the place to come.

Definitely be going back next year, hopefully with our own tent.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Marj simpson 2 reviews from this member

We visited this campsite from the 1st July 2011, we couldn't have found a more perfect site. We went at the best time(not school holidays) and had perfect weather(wall to wall sunshine)

The site was quiet, we had fabulous views from our tent looking towards St Davids over the fields. A short walk, through well signposted fields, takes you to a little lake, then onto lovely cove.

Facilities on-site were fine for us. 2 showers, with lots of room, so clothes don't get wet as they do on most sites and 4 toilets. There are 2 washing up sinks and 4 hand sinks.

In all the years we have camped we have never been on a site with fridge freezer and microwave or great re-cycling facilities. The fridge was a brilliant thought. No melted butter ! and we could have fresh food for all our meals and milk. There is also a gaz cooker if it rains and you can't cook outdoors.

St Davids is a short distance away, but beware only 1 supermarket which is expensive but bakes fabulous bread and rolls daily, and only 1 pub also very expensive drinks. Parking isn't cheap either, cheapest is carpark for the Cathedrial, which is on the right on the way into St Davids.

The cliff walks are brilliant, and one, towards St Justinians (where you get the ferries to Ramsey Island) and then to Whitesands Bay. Fabulous length of perfect beach and surfing center. Starts from campsite.

I would certainly recommend this site, but the best time to go for a quiet time is in between school hols. We will certainly be going again.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: 3narf 9 reviews from this member

We have stayed twice at this lovely site, the first time with a campervan in 2007 and more recently with a hired caravan in 2009.

The site is situated at Treginnis Head, through St Davids & out the other side. The approach roads are predictably very narrow and can be quite busy; worth remembering if you're towing a 6 1/2 metre monster like the one we hired!

The turn into the site is fraught with hazard for a novice, especially after about 10hrs driving, and I managed to put the caravan into a ditch. It refused to budge so we spent the first night in the car. Not much fun with two small children and a baby!

The campsite owners, ever friendly and helpful, towed the van out of the ditch for us when the RAC were unable to shift it. They then proceeded to fill the ditch, so hopefully the hazard shouldn't exist now, but take a nice wide line to be on the safe side!

The rest of the holiday went without incident. It's a great site, with good facilities and great views. It gets windy so take a kite! Also, look out for snakes- I disturbed one quite early in the morning while retrieving a small polystyrene aeroplane from the bushes.

St Davids is a great place with plenty to do; it's not really walking distance from the site but cycling to the pub is no problem in the evening. Take decent lights- it gets very dark!

We'll definitely be back, probably next year.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Amanda Atkinson 10 reviews from this member

Have just returned from a two week stay at Pencnwc Farm. We were very pleased with the size of site, well spaced out pitches - plenty of room for teenagers to play (17 and 15 year old boys!) cricket, football etc.

The facilities were very good, 4 toilets and 2 showers which did get busy first thing but if you timed it when everyone else was having breakfast you didn't have to queue! Plenty of hand basins, 2 washing up sinks although a bit of a pain that they shared the same tap so you often had to wait for your neighbour to finish before you could wash up! but couldn't really complain as there always seemed to be a never ending supply of very hot water!

We were very impressed with the re-cycling facilities, also a fridge-freezer and microwave was provided so an added bonus. All the facility area was kept very clean, even after heavy rain during the night it never got too mucky!

The site itself was about 5 mins drive out of St Davids, so not too far to visit for shopping although only one supermarket, a better choice could be found in Haverfordwest i.E. Tesco and Morrisons about 30 mins drive (approx).

The views from the campsite were very impressive, the local beach was lovely - and when the tide was out easier to swim and play as more sand, lots of rockpools to explore. The coastal paths were lovely to walk along, and not too strenuous.

St Davids itself is a beautiful 'city' - the cathedral and Bishops Palace very spectacular, the shops etc very appealing. We had a lovely meal at the Grove Hotel, not too expensive and a good choice, very nicely presented - smart place, but you didn't have to dress up!

We probably won't be returning to this site as we like to visit a different area each year - but this is definitely worth staying at if you like a friendly family campsite with good but basic facilities, i.E. No bar, pool, entertainment, kids play area, etc!

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Campersi 1 review from this member

Visited over May bank holiday. The site is basic but lovely and peaceful. Set in a lovely location with views to the sea from the top of the field. St. Davids is a 30 minute walk through the lanes, which were not busy and very close to the coastal path.

Toilet facilities were basic but adequate and kept clean, but my wife didn't like the fact that the toilets were unisex. There was a fridge / freezer and microwave for use by campers and lots of re-cycling facilities.

Very nice and helpful owners. Will use again. Great value at £10 per night for 2 adults compared to some of the other sites.

Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Philo9 11 reviews from this member

The weatherman stated that it would be dry for the two days that we wanted to visit this site - they lied! It rained all the time we were there but it still didn't dampen our spirits.

The trip there was straight forward except when we reached St Davids. I was listening to my Sat Nav, which decided to take us past the Cathedral and over the ford that is there. That would have been a BIG mistake. The best thing to do is follow the websites' instructions upon entering St Davids and the drive is extremely straight forward.

The campsite itself is a small place consisting of three fields, each has a decent sized marked pitch. The toilets and showers are kept nice and clean, but what stood out for us was the 'extras' that were available. There was a fridge freezer, microwave, gas stove (camping type)and places for recycling. There was a large aerial map of this area of Pembrokeshire on the toilet block wall which was incredibly useful for someone who had never visited this place before.

The site is 10 minutes walk from the coastal path, 5 minutes drive from the 'city' of St Davids and there are loads of coves and beaches to see. Ramsey Island is close by and there are companies that will take you out on boat trips to see the sealife.

Overall a brill campsite, brill area and very friendly. This site stands out because of the extra little things the owners have given the camper. The thoughtful attention to detail attests to the quality of the site.

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Harrybob6 1 review from this member

We stayed at the site for a week late July with our two children and had a wonderful time.
If you are looking for a quiet site that takes you back to the good old days of camping then this is the place for you. The facilities are limited having only 2 showers and 4 toilets but we never had to wait more than 5 minutes in the morning for a shower. You will find that most people are very considerate and are as quick as possible when it comes to the showers, although there are always exceptions!

There are plenty of walks directly from the campsite and the roads are great for cycling since they are so quiet.
Flo and Ron the owners were very friendly and most welcoming and my children are still taking about the cats.

The nearest shops are in St Davids itself and the local supermarket was very well stocked. Some of the resturants in St Davids were a little pricey but the fish and chip shop behind the butchers was great and also the Cross Hotel served very good bar meals. The little harbour of St Justianans is a short drive away or a walk along the costal path. From the harbour you can take boat trips to Ramsey Island which we did and loved the place.

The only concern that we did have was the fact that if the wind gets up which it did while we were there the site has very little shelter and to make sure that you have strong pegs! Would we return? The resounding answer from the family is YES!

Previous     17 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Pembrokeshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4241 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019