Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Penrallt Coastal Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Pwllheli > Penrallt Coastal Campsite Reviews

Penrallt Coastal Campsite
Tudweiliog
Pwllheli
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL53 8PB
Tel: 01758 770654
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 40
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 39 Reviews
                9/10 from 39 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring 1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  39 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Conf 4 reviews from this member

Lovely site with very friendly owners. So close to the beach and the headland where we sat and watched seals swimming for hours, they were so fascinating. Lots of space and facilities are clean. Definitely go back there. Prices are very reasonable

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Hobbits 20 reviews from this member

We stayed here for 2 weeks in August 2016 and it was one of the most amazing camping holidays we have had.

Firstly, the location. The site is just outside the little village of Tudweiliog on the north coast of the stunning Llyn peninsula in north Wales. You wind down some country lanes to reach it, because it is right on the coastal path itself. From the site you simply go out through a gate and then decide to turn left or right. The 1st night we arrived we turned right and headed down to a little rocky cove where we saw a seal playing in the water. When we headed back we enjoyed the 1st of many wonderful sunsets over the sea. We were in the Seafield which is a lovely big field with pitches around the edge. This meant that the children on site (our own included) had loads of room for cricket, frisbee, cycling, kite flying and just running about in a gang! There is a playground of sorts - with an old speedboat and some rope swings, but the kids made their own entertainment.

The facilities are a little rustic (I definitely know friends who would find it too rustic!) but they were OK for us. There are a number of bathrooms with shower, toilet and basin, as well as separate toilets and basins. The campsite was pretty busy when we were there so there were queues occasionally but to be honest the pace of life on the Llyn is such that it just didn't seem to matter! There are washing up sinks and a room with individual fridges that can be hired, as well as microwaves and kettles. There is also a laundry.

You can buy firewood from Pete, and the nearest shop of any size is at a petrol station, but has a good local butchery at the back and we had some wonderful barbeques.

The Llyn peninsula is stunning, with such a range of beaches to explore depending on the weather and what sort of experience you are looking for. Go to Hell's Mouth for surf, to Whistling Sands for a lovely safe cove, or to Morfa Nefyn for stunning views. The fish and chips at Aberdaron are the best I have ever had and the small National Trust experience there called Porth y Swnt is well worth a visit. There is an art gallery at Llanbedrog that our kids loved as well, and if you need a bigger town head to Pwllheli. The mountains of Snowdonia are in easy reach and both Caernarfon and Harlech castles are stunning (we haven't made it to Beaumaris yet).

We will definitely go back to this lovely site. It might not be everyone's cup of team (too rustic and remote for some) but it's definitely ours!

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Beadles 2 reviews from this member

This is our third visit to penrallt and won`t be our last, the campsite is great, the kids love it and so do we. Its got everything you need for a campsite and Pete the owner couldn`t be more helpful. It was our first trip out with t5 campervan and teardrop trailer, Pete`s first words were 'WOW', he loved it, (likes quirky things, goes with the site). Site is flat, so good for van and trailer, site was full due to bank holiday weekend, but didn`t have to queue for showers, all facilities are clean and showers only 20p!, and site fees very reasonable. Owner good with kids, seen him fixing one of the kids bikes, close to coastal path were you can see the seals playing in the sea, awesome! Other campers friendly and have arranged to meet up next year back at penrallt with one by were we were who`s daughter made really good friends with ours, see you next year Pete :-)

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: UrbanHerne 1 review from this member

El Niño years will always bring mixed weather. The second night we had southwesterly gusts over 40mph. The exposed sea view pitch offered scant protection from the wind. Our tent being rather tall was acting more like a sail. The owner of the site, quite happily lent us his landrover to act as a rather expensive windbreak. This is what makes the campsite so attractive, no fuss, honest, facilities adequate, scenery perfect.

This campsite will appeal to those who really want to camp as it was meant to be. The facilities are perfectly adequate, the local knowledge is expertly and passionately passed on, and the marine environment is truly amazing. My three kids were never bored, the small play area was suitable, but the beaches and coves are the real attraction and kept them busy for days.

The car was hardly used, except to top up the liquid reserves from a local shop, as everything you could want (I. E. The environment) was/is within walking distance.

If you want luxury then there are other sites offering more, if you want heated swimming pools and extensive children's play areas then find somewhere else. If however, you prefer exploring fabulous and rich coastlines then this is a perfect base.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bkenneths5 1 review from this member

Very good campsite. A large field, that was flat and well cut, excellent for tents. Toilets and showers where not new, but they were clean. You could rent fridges and you could keep freeze your cooler ice blocks for free. The owner was very helpful, and the cost very reasonable. I did not walk to the beach, but I think you could

Reach the sea with a short walk. You could watch the sunset over the sea from the campsite

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Chrisnythclyd 1 review from this member

Lovely, friendly site, with green credentials in a beautiful coastal location. There is direct access to the cliffs and coastal path, the area is a haven for wildlife. This was our second visit and we will be returning. On this occasion we saw several seals, Skylarks, Chough and many butterflies. We also had a late dip and snorkel in the crystal clear sea a short walk along the cliffs.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Annylou 5 reviews from this member

We stayed at Penrallt because of the Cool Camping review and because of its coastal camping location. You can only glimpse the sea from one field, all we had a view of was a hedge, so for me this was very disappointing - we could have been in any campsite, anywhere, there was nothing special about it. The sustainability theme is nice, the toilets and showers were fine, and the proximity to the coastal walk is lovely. We walked to a beach which was about 20 minutes walk away. On the way we saw seals and a cormorant's nest. The beach was horrible grey sand with loads of seaweed. There was nothing wrong with the campsite, perhaps my expectations were too high. I would be unlikely to go back.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jill Weedon 8 reviews from this member

We love this site and think that it is as near to perfect as you can get. There are several level fields of different sizes and the pitches are generously spaced. The grass is kept in very good order and the higgledy piggledy service buildings are kept spotlessly clean by the owners, never running out of loo rolls or hand wash. £2 a day gets you a fridge, and you can freeze blocks and charge phones for free. The sea is a 5 minute walk away and 15 minutes gets you to a quiet rocky cove where the seals visit. Pete the owner is a dude, laid back, good natured and helpful. Showers are great (20p bargain) and the site is central for loads of fantastic walks and beaches on the beautiful Lleyn peninsula. We just can't understand why people are prepared to pay 4 times as much for pitches on crowded, over regulated stuffy sites near Abersoch with views of the next caravan.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: VictoriaRusty 1 review from this member

I camped here for a week with my husband and young son and we will be returning.

The owners are very friendly, and Pete helped my husband put the tent up and even parked his Landrover in front of it for two days as a wind break! I use an electric wheelchair and again they were very helpful, providing free battery charging for me.

The playground is great - an old hollowed out boat, buoys hung from a frame and tire and rope swings, plus a sandpit. The kids are also allowed (encouraged) to climb the trees, so my son loved it, as did the older children on the site.

The site itself is well cared for, grass is short and fields are separate so someone wanting a quiet weekend could camp away from the family field.

The facilities are basic but clean and plentiful - there are several showers and 6+ toilets so we never had to queue. They were cleaned regularly and yes, there are a few daddy long legs and moths, but this is a site that has won awards for WILDLIFE so I'm not sure what people expect!

With regards to wildlife, you can watch seals in the cove that is a few minutes walk along the coastal path that the campsite is on, and we often watched buzzards while sat outside the tent with a cup of tea.

Within walking distance are several beaches and if you drive there are numerous beaches and castles to visit. We stayed for a week and still have new things to see when we return.

If you want a Caravan Club 5* site, this isn't for you. It is a fairly basic site with no shops or arcades, but if you enjoy real camping and want to get away from it all then I highly recommend you give it a try.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Haven 2 reviews from this member

I love this site, its basic but brilliant. Everything is recycled and so different and unique. You can hire fridges which is great, charge you phones. Nice and quiet. Owners are wonderful and helpful. Lovely walk along the coast, the sunsets are amazing. Not overcrowded and very relaxing place to be. Plenty of space for the children to play and plenty of facilities for the size of the camp. Will definitely visit again.

Previous     39 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Pwllheli      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...





Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 16/01 to 19/01, Event City
Over 200 exhibitors with all the new 2020 models and biggest ever selection of accessories. Plus win tickets! ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3723 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar
Christmas Giveaway


Advent Calendar

A new prize every day til Christmas PLUS a grand Christmas Day Star Prize

Click to Play!