Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Penrallt Coastal Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Tudweiliog > Penrallt Coastal Campsite > Reviews

Penrallt Coastal Campsite
Penllech
Tudweiliog
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL53 8PB
Tel: 01758 770654
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 40
Open: 01/04/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 41 Reviews
                9/10 from 41 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  41 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Corinn 1 review from this member

 Penrallt campsite. Beautiful location, rural, lovely and quiet and basic amenities.

Stunning walks along the coastal path and 30minutes to walk to the beach. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Chaddite 18 reviews from this member

 This is the perfect site for me but perhaps not for you of course. What I like is seclusion, quiet and basic facilities, no kids play area, bar, shop etc. I enjoy walking, wildlife and scenery and this ticks all the boxes.

Only a 2 minute walk from the cliffs along which is the coastal footpath. The coast is rocky with numerous small bays and some larger with good expanses of sand. Because the area is relatively isolated and there are no "attractions" even in summer it is quiet and unspoiled.

The track leading from the road is narrow and has numerous blind bends but don't let put you off, Pete has arranged arrival and departure times to prevent head on's taking place.

Facilities are functional/basic and wont do for anyone who insists on pristine toilets and showers.

Nearby is the closest village Tudweiliog which has a shop and pub, the next place of any size is Morfa Nefyn, chip shop, garage, and a couple of shops.

That's about it a great area to go if you hate amusement arcades, noise and loads of people to trip over and I hope that's the way it stays. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Conf 4 reviews from this member

 Lovely site with very friendly owners. So close to the beach and the headland where we sat and watched seals swimming for hours, they were so fascinating. Lots of space and facilities are clean. Definitely go back there. Prices are very reasonable 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Hobbits 22 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for 2 weeks in August 2016 and it was one of the most amazing camping holidays we have had.

Firstly, the location. The site is just outside the little village of Tudweiliog on the north coast of the stunning Llyn peninsula in north Wales. You wind down some country lanes to reach it, because it is right on the coastal path itself. From the site you simply go out through a gate and then decide to turn left or right. The 1st night we arrived we turned right and headed down to a little rocky cove where we saw a seal playing in the water. When we headed back we enjoyed the 1st of many wonderful sunsets over the sea. We were in the Seafield which is a lovely big field with pitches around the edge. This meant that the children on site (our own included) had loads of room for cricket, frisbee, cycling, kite flying and just running about in a gang! There is a playground of sorts - with an old speedboat and some rope swings, but the kids made their own entertainment.

The facilities are a little rustic (I definitely know friends who would find it too rustic!) but they were OK for us. There are a number of bathrooms with shower, toilet and basin, as well as separate toilets and basins. The campsite was pretty busy when we were there so there were queues occasionally but to be honest the pace of life on the Llyn is such that it just didn't seem to matter! There are washing up sinks and a room with individual fridges that can be hired, as well as microwaves and kettles. There is also a laundry.

You can buy firewood from Pete, and the nearest shop of any size is at a petrol station, but has a good local butchery at the back and we had some wonderful barbeques.

The Llyn peninsula is stunning, with such a range of beaches to explore depending on the weather and what sort of experience you are looking for. Go to Hell's Mouth for surf, to Whistling Sands for a lovely safe cove, or to Morfa Nefyn for stunning views. The fish and chips at Aberdaron are the best I have ever had and the small National Trust experience there called Porth y Swnt is well worth a visit. There is an art gallery at Llanbedrog that our kids loved as well, and if you need a bigger town head to Pwllheli. The mountains of Snowdonia are in easy reach and both Caernarfon and Harlech castles are stunning (we haven't made it to Beaumaris yet).

We will definitely go back to this lovely site. It might not be everyone's cup of team (too rustic and remote for some) but it's definitely ours! 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Beadles 2 reviews from this member

 This is our third visit to penrallt and won`t be our last, the campsite is great, the kids love it and so do we. Its got everything you need for a campsite and Pete the owner couldn`t be more helpful. It was our first trip out with t5 campervan and teardrop trailer, Pete`s first words were 'WOW', he loved it, (likes quirky things, goes with the site). Site is flat, so good for van and trailer, site was full due to bank holiday weekend, but didn`t have to queue for showers, all facilities are clean and showers only 20p!, and site fees very reasonable. Owner good with kids, seen him fixing one of the kids bikes, close to coastal path were you can see the seals playing in the sea, awesome! Other campers friendly and have arranged to meet up next year back at penrallt with one by were we were who`s daughter made really good friends with ours, see you next year Pete :-) 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: UrbanHerne 1 review from this member

 El Niño years will always bring mixed weather. The second night we had southwesterly gusts over 40mph. The exposed sea view pitch offered scant protection from the wind. Our tent being rather tall was acting more like a sail. The owner of the site, quite happily lent us his landrover to act as a rather expensive windbreak. This is what makes the campsite so attractive, no fuss, honest, facilities adequate, scenery perfect.

This campsite will appeal to those who really want to camp as it was meant to be. The facilities are perfectly adequate, the local knowledge is expertly and passionately passed on, and the marine environment is truly amazing. My three kids were never bored, the small play area was suitable, but the beaches and coves are the real attraction and kept them busy for days.

The car was hardly used, except to top up the liquid reserves from a local shop, as everything you could want (I. E. The environment) was/is within walking distance.

If you want luxury then there are other sites offering more, if you want heated swimming pools and extensive children's play areas then find somewhere else. If however, you prefer exploring fabulous and rich coastlines then this is a perfect base. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bkenneths5 1 review from this member

 Very good campsite. A large field, that was flat and well cut, excellent for tents. Toilets and showers where not new, but they were clean. You could rent fridges and you could keep freeze your cooler ice blocks for free. The owner was very helpful, and the cost very reasonable. I did not walk to the beach, but I think you could

Reach the sea with a short walk. You could watch the sunset over the sea from the campsite 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Chrisnythclyd 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely, friendly site, with green credentials in a beautiful coastal location. There is direct access to the cliffs and coastal path, the area is a haven for wildlife. This was our second visit and we will be returning. On this occasion we saw several seals, Skylarks, Chough and many butterflies. We also had a late dip and snorkel in the crystal clear sea a short walk along the cliffs. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Annylou 5 reviews from this member

 We stayed at Penrallt because of the Cool Camping review and because of its coastal camping location. You can only glimpse the sea from one field, all we had a view of was a hedge, so for me this was very disappointing - we could have been in any campsite, anywhere, there was nothing special about it. The sustainability theme is nice, the toilets and showers were fine, and the proximity to the coastal walk is lovely. We walked to a beach which was about 20 minutes walk away. On the way we saw seals and a cormorant's nest. The beach was horrible grey sand with loads of seaweed. There was nothing wrong with the campsite, perhaps my expectations were too high. I would be unlikely to go back. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jill Weedon 8 reviews from this member

 We love this site and think that it is as near to perfect as you can get. There are several level fields of different sizes and the pitches are generously spaced. The grass is kept in very good order and the higgledy piggledy service buildings are kept spotlessly clean by the owners, never running out of loo rolls or hand wash. £2 a day gets you a fridge, and you can freeze blocks and charge phones for free. The sea is a 5 minute walk away and 15 minutes gets you to a quiet rocky cove where the seals visit. Pete the owner is a dude, laid back, good natured and helpful. Showers are great (20p bargain) and the site is central for loads of fantastic walks and beaches on the beautiful Lleyn peninsula. We just can't understand why people are prepared to pay 4 times as much for pitches on crowded, over regulated stuffy sites near Abersoch with views of the next caravan. 


Previous     41 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Penrallt Coastal Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Penrallt Coastal Campsite?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Penrallt Coastal Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Tudweiliog      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3434 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement