Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Clifden Camping And Caravan Park Shanaheever

Campsite Search > Europe > S Ireland > Co Galway > Clifden Camping And Caravan Park Shanaheever Reviews

Clifden Camping And Caravan Park Shanaheever
Clifden
Connemara
Co Galway
S Ireland   (Browse area)

Tel: 00353 095 22150
Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 42
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 10 Reviews
                8/10 from 10 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 1 mile   No Golf   Tennis 1 mile 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring 1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Dot P 597 reviews from this member

A couple of miles outside Clifden, a very quiet and peaceful site. Big hardstanding pitches with grass next to each. On the lower level where we stayed the grass was surrounded by enormous rocks so you couldn't pitch an awning next to a unit- not sure if the same on the higher tiers.

The site was well kept, pitches a decent size, plenty of water taps, a moho service point and a good campers kitchen.

Loos were old but had been refurbished, all immaculate. Showers also well kept, plenty of hot water, no push button and good pressure.

We only stayed overnight, so site was fine for that. For us a bit out as the road down to town was a bit too dangerous to walk.

The town itself has many tourist shops, also a Lidl and Aldi. A lovely harbour, some great walks and cycle routes makes it worth a few days visit.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jeanff 10 reviews from this member

Great site - laid out well and spaced out on different levels so you felt your pitch was more private. Good hot showers and all facilities included in price including WIFI. A good base for driving out around the Sky Road and other peninsula drives plus National Park Centre at Letterfrack just 10 minutes drive away. Not great roads for cycling or walking from the site itself into Clifden - better to take motorhome. Overall though one of the best sites we have stayed at across Southern Ireland.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Heleg 3 reviews from this member

We visited this site just outside of peak season with a tent and car. There was plenty of space and the owners were friendly.

The site is just 2km from the lovely town of Clifden, where you'll find a few lively pubs to eat and drink, as well as a couple of good supermarkets. There are some stunning walks and drives in the area, and it's a short drive to the Connemara National Park. It seemed that all of our fellow campers were French, and we found it a bit odd to be greeted in French at the showers each morning!

The star of the show here is definitely the facilities. Clean and modern with free, hot showers. There's also a free, spacious camping kitchen to use in bad weather and you can refreeze cool blocks for free.

The only drawback was the midges. They were horrendous when we arrived, but cleared up a bit by the second night. To be honest I think they were unusually bad due to the weather - the supermarket having sold out of fly spray was a tell-tale sign!

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Actiongirl 2 reviews from this member

This is a great site, with level pitches. We didn't use the electric hook up but there were plenty of points. We were visiting with our children 2 and 4 and it felt very safe for them with lots of space around the pitch.

The site has a great little shop with everything you might need at last minute, plus you can have a shelf in the fridge and freezer which is great for keeping meat etc if you don't have an electric cool box - this was at no charge.

The site doesn't have a washing machine, however if you ask for a basket, you can fill it and the owners will wash and tumble dry all your clothes and fold them for you! This is a godsend when you are travelling with children and there has been non-stop rain which means everything is covered in mud! This cost a few euros, very, very reasonable for such a service! It also means your washing is done and ready when you return from a day out!

The showers are super clean with loads of space to keep your things dry and nice and big to enable you to shower with the children. The toilets were very clean too and there was hand soap on the sinks.

Clifden is lovely, with loads of pubs and restaurants - caution, there is nowhere to eat in walking distance of the site. The weekend we visited was Irish Bank Holiday and we got to see the horse racing at Omey Beach which was amazing. The town felt vibrant and very much worth a visit.

Our only complaint was about the midges which appeared the moment the rain stopped and the sun came out! Take insect repellent and possibly hooded tops to cover your hair!

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Pat534 7 reviews from this member

This is a lovely site on a farm with brilliant views over the mountains.

The facilities were good and you could get your washing washed and dried for 10 euros. Showers were hot and free. The washing up room had a bucket for food waste which they fed to their pigs.

The town of Clifden was not far and there are wonderful scenic drives within a short distance either to the mountains of Connemara or to the coast.

Turning left from the site takes you along a quiet country lane past 2 lakes. Great place to walk dogs safely off the lead.

My only gripe about this site was the visiting dogs from next door who were a bit of a nuisance wanting to play with mine and marking their territory. They were friendly and the owner said some campers fed them so this obviously encouraged them.

Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: 3-6-6.com 16 reviews from this member

This is a great, affordable site 2kms outside Clifden (easily walkable) on the Westport Road. It is terraced and the roads to it (400m) and within it are very narrow, windy and climbing: but we made it in a 29 foot motorhome (admittedly unhooking the car from tow beforehand). Beware: the whole road from Galway is narrow with a bad surface and big bends, but if we can make it, anyone can. And it is SO worth it. The views and scenery is stunning, loads of history and this campsite is a great location from which to explore Connemara. The owner is very friendly and helpful, the prices are affordable, showers are FREE and there is a laundry service provided by the owners. We chose the very top terrace, with stunning views of the mountains and distant sea. There is electric hookup throughout and ample fresh water points. The dump station for both black and grey water is REALLY convenient and big, easy to turn in, being opposite the entrance to the camp. The toilets and free hot showers are kept spotless, there is a large communal eating area and wash up, plus a games room with pool table, games to borrow, book swap and both maps and essential items (eg fresh milk) for sale in the reception. The internet is very expensive: 2 euros per 30 mins, but the owners apologised at it is provided by someone else. There aren't any play facilities but the kids can cycle and explore the hills and heather in plenty of safe space. The site is quiet and you feel right out in the wilds. Clifden itself is a thriving town within 15-20 minutes walk, with three supermarkets, a huge range of restaurants and bars including Guys Bar which has free WiFi. All in all, excellent - very highly recommended.

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Amh61 5 reviews from this member

Very quiet site, a couple of miles outside Clifden. The facilities were excellent, and included an open-sided room with picnic tables for campers to cook and eat in - very handy in the notoriously rainy west of Ireland.

The ground is very peaty so can be soft when it's been raining, we abandoned a pair of straw mats we'd left outside our tent as door mats as they were so muddy. But there is a road marked around the camping field so no danger of getting the car stuck in the mud. The peat means the water is slightly discoloured but it's perfectly OK to drink.

The owner was very welcoming, and provided us with towels to wipe down our groundsheets as we were striking camp. They're obviously well used to having to deal with sodden campers in this area. She's French by birth and the site is featured in French guide books so most of the other campers seemed to be French while we were there.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Roni j 11 reviews from this member

Only stopped for one night but would have stopped for longer. Toilet block is fine. Shower block is unisex. Water not the hottest.

Very friendly reception. They had tv but aerial wasn't up and running so they lent us a perfectly adequate portable aerial. New hardstandings at top of site, more seem to be in the process of building. Drinking water is slightly discoloured, apparently ok to drink but we bought bottled water. There's a motorhome service point.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Quartz 10 reviews from this member

Nice site and well maintained. The owners were pleasant and helpful. The covered area is fantastic for cooking & eating and the small kids room is also quite useful when the rain comes. The showers and toilets were good.

The site is remote, but you don't go to rural Galway for anything else. Its a great place to base yourself and is close to great beaches and the National Park. Would certainly visit again.

Reviewer: Jana 15 reviews from this member

September 2003
Came across Shanaheever as it was getting dark on a wet night. As it was rainy we didn't really explore it too much but there was plenty of shelter. Toilets, showers and a covered area for people in tents to cook eat etc all looked after well. The only difficult part was a fairly tight turn to the pitches at the back of the house. We would visit again as there was everything needed for caravans, tents or motorhomes.


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

All Sites in S Ireland

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5026 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019