Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of York Rowntree Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > York > York Rowntree Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

York Rowntree Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Terry Avenue
York
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO23 1JQ
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 103
Open: 04/07/2020 to 31/12/2020
           01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 76 Reviews
                9/10 from 76 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  76 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

We are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: October 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Shazwi 1 review from this member

 We had a lovely stay at York Caravan Park, lovely spacious area for our Motorhome all with small hedges in between to give you a bit of privacy.

A fishing lake on site as well. Bus runs every half hour into York which stops right outside.

We will definitely use this park again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Johnn7 1 review from this member

 Very well situated. Excellent facilities and quiet.

Good for walking into York and all the main tourist areas.

Cycle friendly too with dog walks outside. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: January 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: T5mith 2 reviews from this member

 One of, if not the, very best sites we have ever visited in the UK.

On the pricey side as a non-member (£36) but from the friendly professional welcome, the pristine showers & WC facilities, pitches & layout,

It is a high quality experience especially being a 5 min walk to the city centre. 


Date of Visit: January 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Haynew 12 reviews from this member

 This site is in a fantastic location. As others have said purely functional with as many pitches crammed in as possible, glorified car park really.

We arrived early after travelling in very bad weather, as the site is in central York and traffic can be bad itís difficult to time the journey to arrive exactly on time. Be aware there is no movement at all with the 12 check in time.

Disappointed with the service on site, the wardens were so rude and poorly organised. They desperately need some customer service training. I understand itís a busy site but if customers annoy them just by being there maybe they need to work on a quieter one.

On the plus side the toilet block was clean, this is obviously where their strengths lie. As a fellow Yorkshire man Iím so disappointed that this is the welcome travellers will get when booking in here. 


Date of Visit: September 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Giuseppecocomazzi 1 review from this member

 We have a nice staying in York.

Site quiet and friendly people.

We are been accepted without booking the site.

My wife was wondered about friendly 🐿 squirrels 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: March 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Grumpyoldcamper 5 reviews from this member

 If you are looking for a short break to visit the tourist attractions in central York this site makes a good base. You can leave the car and walk/cycle for miles. It is rather like camping in a glorified car park, however people looking for a more rural setting will, hopefully have the sense to look elsewhere.

Trying to get out of the centre of York to venture further afield takes forever. And if you are thinking of going east on the A64, be prepared for long delays. Manoeuvring a caravan onto some of the pitches can be challenging. (Not all caravanners choose to have motor movers fitted).

The fact that many of the pitches do not follow the more common practise of parking cars on the opposite side of the van to the awning adds to the problems. Units backing onto each other are, at least separated by a low hedge. However, sitting outside, staring at the back of a motor home less than 3m away is not everyoneís cup of tea.

Booking a pitch can also also a problem. Like many Ďpopularí sites, weekends are booked up months in advance so anyone looking for a longer stay has little chance of success. At the time of writing there were no weekend pitches available at all. If you do decide to come here pick your arrival time and day carefully.

Departures have to be no later than 11. 15 to try to avoid congestion on the narrow approach road. But if too many vans arrive at the same time and anyone is trying to go in the opposite direction (there is a public car park next to the site), itís chaos. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: November 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Masham 3 reviews from this member

 Great site, all hard standing, almost in the very centre of the city. Pleasant riverside walks adjacent to the site.

Drive over grey waste for motorhomes, but only one, so thereís sometimes a queue for this.

Facilities are excellent, clean and warm and entry by key.

Barrier entry and exit to the site.

Usual exacting caravan club pitching guidance on decent size pitches.

Expensive but then it is almost in the city centre. Difficult to get booked in as people tend to block book ahead for this site.

Recommended. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Fortyfoot 6 reviews from this member

 We only had four nights here and enjoyed the central location. We approached from the south on the A19 as it is a little better than the other approaches.

Pitches without awning space are small, we had one of the larger ones. Well maintained and great staff.

There are building works next door but it did not bother us, my only concern was when I reported seeing two rats come onto the site from the direction of the river back and headed for the refuse area.

I told the office about this the following day and they did not seemed concerned, replying 'we are monitoring this' There were no signs of poison bait boxes in or around the refuse area. They did not bother me but I do know a lot of ladies who would not like coming across rats on the site.

Toilet block is not new and the amount of space for each shower varies along with the depth of the seat in the shower.

Well worth a visit. 


Date of Visit: February 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Speedmook 6 reviews from this member

 The best thing about this site is the location. Short walk into York city centre makes it perfect for a city break.

It's not most picturesque site and the pitches are tight, but who goes to York to sit outside their caravan!?

Wardens seemed less friendly than our last visit, but they were working flat out to cope with the Friday influx. 


Date of Visit: November 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Travla 4 reviews from this member

 Arrived at the site after the designated time as this site is always busy. The wardens dealt with the queue in a cheery and efficient matter.

We were told to pick our own pitch with a white peg which we did. We parked according to her instructions as this is for safety reasons according to fire regs. The site is all hard standing and I note that some people criticise the lack of grass.

Yes some of the pitches are a little smaller than others but so are vans. If you tell the site the size of your outfit they will, try to accommodate you. The site is brilliantly placed for access into York which is a short stroll along the rivers.

There is so much to do in York from shopping to sightseeing. If you are going to visit several museums it may be worth purchasing a York Pass as it will save you money. The toilet block was immaculate and warm.

At the moment there is some noise from the building site next door ( hotel being built) but where we were it was fine. We always thoroughly enjoy our time at the site and think the price paid was very reasonable due to its proximity to the town. 


Previous     76 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is York Rowntree Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to York Rowntree Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is York Rowntree Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near York      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1868 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement