Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of York Rowntree Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > North Yorkshire > York > York Rowntree Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site > Reviews

York Rowntree Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Terry Avenue
York
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO23 1JQ
Tel: 01342 327 490
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 103
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 91 Reviews
                9/10 from 91 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  91 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: December 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jonnypanic 17 reviews from this member

 Beautiful site, next to the river and a 10 min walk from York centre.

Site was very well maintained and toilets were exceptionally clean in the morning even before being serviced. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: February 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Blinkie 65 reviews from this member

 Warm welcome by warden and easy check-in. Off to motorhome point and then to find a pitch. We ended up on a pitch where our 25metre cable only just reached.

Very clean facilities although the accessible room was cold with a cold radiator.

Our first full day we walked into York and back. A very quiet time of the year which suited us.

Having a mini Sainsburys up the road through the back gate is great even better the pedestrian crossing were accessible which meant that as a blind pedestrian, I could go alone and cross the road easily.

Even better there was a traditional ironmonger's shop which sold absolutely everything. The Pig and Pastry was a treat and the breakfast burger was something else.

Our three night stay was too short and we certainly will be back.

All in all a very well maintained site and very organised. We have booked again. 


Date of Visit: August 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Trevor57 87 reviews from this member

 We have stayed at this site several times so thought we would complete a review. For access follow the directions in the CAMC book, the turning into Clementhorpe off Bishopthorpe Road has The White Swan pub on the corner.

We normally arrive about 1:45 - 2:15 so as to miss the mad 1:00 rush but our journey was a good one so unfortunately we arrived at 1:00. It was crazy with people not behaving very well towards the wardens and each other. Now we know why many people avoid arriving at this time! The wardens were excellent, worked hard and had the patience of saints.

The most important thing about this site is its lovely location right in the centre of York on the river Ouse and next to Rowntree Park. The many attractions in York along with the bars and restaurants are on your doorstep. The station is also very near if you want to travel further afield.

Despite it being a bit cramp the site has all you need, including an excellent facilities block and Motorhome Service Point. You also get a key to access through the back gate, here you will find the Bishopthorpe area with its coffee shops, pubs and cafe's. All pitches are hardstanding. The site is prone to flooding so heed the evacuation procedures just in case.

We had a great stay and will definitely go many more times so we have no hesitation in recommending this site.

NB: Some of the reviews below are about Beechwood Grange CAMC site just outside of York, wrong site! 


Date of Visit: July 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Yellotem 6 reviews from this member

 We stayed for a long weekend. Itís a nice site, if a little cramped.

Excellent location, just a short walk into the centre of York and all its attractions.

Thereís no play area on site, but next door thereís a large public park with tennis courts too.

Only downside is the price, £48 per night is a bit steep for us. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Shak 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely site nice and clean great location.

Very friendly.

Nice area and lots to do in York City.

Great place.

Nice and relaxed at night good clean showers and toilets 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Dukelow 5 reviews from this member

 We travel from N. Ireland every year to Rowantree caravan park

Best site we ever go to

A bit expensive for us but we save hard for it

We've never met such nice staff and they keep everything spotless

Just wish we were nearer

Thank you Frances ellison 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: W A Hollie 4 reviews from this member

 Site in excellent location for visiting York with good walks.

If visiting with a caravan most pitches are not easy to get into or out of due to hedges surrounding most pitches.

Nice flat site but no grass pitches due to frequent seasonal flooding. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: December 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pca1958 74 reviews from this member

 Always wanted to try this site, and what better time in the run up to Christmas. Site was nice and tidy and facilities kept spotless.

Lovely location in terms of walking into York, and as a result of the detour through the back gate, found a gem of a pub. The Swan Inn is a good old fashioned hostelry, no food, no music, no television (at least not when we visited twice), just beverages and people talking.

The roadworks diversion is easy to follow to the site, not sure what it would be like when dark though. As mentioned previously, WiFi is poor so could not stream iPlayer or Amazon prime in the evenings, only made worse by the fact there was a poor phone signal too, so couldn't stream from the phone either.

Digital TV signal was good though, so watched that. There were a couple of occasions (Fri and Sat) where someone was parked near the Site in late evening in their car playing very loud music which would reverberate around the campsite for about 90m. Once they departed, all was then quiet.

York Christmas Market is very good and a great atmosphere, and can get very busy at weekends. Nice to see the variety of stalls and street food on offer, lots of live street acts and places to visit (Jorvik Centre, Treasurers House etc) and some nice independent shops too 


Date of Visit: October 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Lukeledge 38 reviews from this member

 Stayed for a gig and York stay. Good town centre site, Smallish pitches and mainly hardstanding.

Excellent facilities as usual from CAMC. Helpful staff.

Very handy for York, a 10 minute walk into the town.

Would have stayed longer but were evacuated due to flood warning! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Tinamitts 1 review from this member

 Our 1st stay at Beechwood Park and we will definitely be revisiting.

Lovely quiet well maintained site and the pitches are a great size we drove straight on didn't need to use the motor mover.

It was great that the shower & toilet were in the same cubicle, and they were lovely & clean.

Belly Buster takeaway delivers to the site and its only £10 by taxi into York Town.

We have already recommended Beechwood to several of our friends. 
via mobile


Previous     91 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is York Rowntree Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to York Rowntree Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is York Rowntree Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near York      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


36306 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement