Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of York Rowntree Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > North Yorkshire > York > York Rowntree Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site > Reviews

York Rowntree Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Terry Avenue
York
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO23 1JQ
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 103
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 107 Reviews
                9/10 from 107 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  107 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Shak 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely site nice and clean great location.

Very friendly.

Nice area and lots to do in York City.

Great place.

Nice and relaxed at night good clean showers and toilets 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Dukelow 5 reviews from this member

 We travel from N. Ireland every year to Rowantree caravan park

Best site we ever go to

A bit expensive for us but we save hard for it

We've never met such nice staff and they keep everything spotless

Just wish we were nearer

Thank you Frances ellison 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: W A Hollie 1 review from this member

 Site in excellent location for visiting York with good walks.

If visiting with a caravan most pitches are not easy to get into or out of due to hedges surrounding most pitches.

Nice flat site but no grass pitches due to frequent seasonal flooding. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: December 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pca1958 44 reviews from this member

 Always wanted to try this site, and what better time in the run up to Christmas. Site was nice and tidy and facilities kept spotless.

Lovely location in terms of walking into York, and as a result of the detour through the back gate, found a gem of a pub. The Swan Inn is a good old fashioned hostelry, no food, no music, no television (at least not when we visited twice), just beverages and people talking.

The roadworks diversion is easy to follow to the site, not sure what it would be like when dark though. As mentioned previously, WiFi is poor so could not stream iPlayer or Amazon prime in the evenings, only made worse by the fact there was a poor phone signal too, so couldn't stream from the phone either.

Digital TV signal was good though, so watched that. There were a couple of occasions (Fri and Sat) where someone was parked near the Site in late evening in their car playing very loud music which would reverberate around the campsite for about 90m. Once they departed, all was then quiet.

York Christmas Market is very good and a great atmosphere, and can get very busy at weekends. Nice to see the variety of stalls and street food on offer, lots of live street acts and places to visit (Jorvik Centre, Treasurers House etc) and some nice independent shops too 


Date of Visit: October 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Lukeledge 28 reviews from this member

 Stayed for a gig and York stay. Good town centre site, Smallish pitches and mainly hardstanding.

Excellent facilities as usual from CAMC. Helpful staff.

Very handy for York, a 10 minute walk into the town.

Would have stayed longer but were evacuated due to flood warning! 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: October 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Tinamitts 1 review from this member

 Our 1st stay at Beechwood Park and we will definitely be revisiting.

Lovely quiet well maintained site and the pitches are a great size we drove straight on didn't need to use the motor mover.

It was great that the shower & toilet were in the same cubicle, and they were lovely & clean.

Belly Buster takeaway delivers to the site and its only £10 by taxi into York Town.

We have already recommended Beechwood to several of our friends. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Smartstu 2 reviews from this member

 It's not much more than a glorified gravel car park. Not really one for sitting out in the evening watching the stars whilst the kids play!

The facilities are great - but it is very expensive for non members. I think we paid around £70!

We used it as a stop over - so we could visit the sights of York.

Obviously the main selling point of this site is the location - which is fantastic. It would be better if it was not for the current riverside closures for flood defenses (outside their control and they did were very helpful in this regard) b

Ut this part of town is great with shops, cafés, bakeries and a great Indian restaurant - all in walking distance. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Doulajulie 36 reviews from this member

 Well kept site with immaculate modern amenity blocks. The wardens are very friendly and clearly take great pride in their site, planting and maintaining pots & hanging baskets.

The site is adjacent to Rowntree park which is lovely to walk around, has tennis courts, table tennis, skateboarding and a play park.

The site is alongside the river Ouse, again lovely to walk or cycle along. You can even sit on benches built into the bridge over the river.

York itself is about a 15 minute walk, with York Minster being about 30 minutes. Local buses are electric and also run to the Outlet Mall. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: M & G On Tour 20 reviews from this member

 Excellent location with a 15 min walk into York city centre. There are a number of shops and restaurants around the corner to the site on the way into town. Can recommend the Indian restaurant, Lal Quila. Excellent food.

The site itself is very popular due to its location, so, not cheap, but you pay for the convenience of being able to walk into the city. Being motorhomers we generally try to stay on sites near to a village or town or with a bus service nearby so this was perfect for us.

The staff were friendly on arrival, didn't see many staff around and about afterwards but to be fair we were out every day. We were lucky to find a large pitch of the few remaining when we arrived. It was surrounded by hedges so even though the site felt very busy, we had a sense of some privacy. No shop on site but then, with shops nearby and the city within easy reach, its not necessary.

Facilities were clean with a 4 wristband allocation for use during Covid regulations. One person allowed into dishwashing area which is standard practice at the moment.

The only issue was that the facilities are closed from 10 till 12 for cleaning so they can get very busy before closing but during cleaning there is no emergency toilet available which other sites generally offer. I know there is the argument that we have our own on board facilities and we are in unusual times, however, there are occasions when guests may need them on site.

For a packed, busy site, it was generally much quieter than we expected.

We will definitely come back to this site.

We have visited York many times and most people know the usual tourist attractions available but I would like to recommend the Brew York and Tap Room off Walmgate. Great casual vibe with a great Korean/Japanese street food menu. We ended up there 3 lunchtimes out of 5 !

At present during Covid, you order food and drinks from your table after downloading the app on your phone. I'm sure they take orders for people without a smart phone. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Xzibit 1 review from this member

 Our maiden voyage in our newly acquired motorhome.

We have never been camping or glamping or caravanning, so complete newbies we chose this site as a practice run, only just over a hour from home still in the beautiful county of Yorkshire so to travel the beautiful roads in our room with a view was amazing and to end up at the Rowntree site was definitely the right move.

Upon arrival immediately met by a chatty and happy gentleman who explained everything to us (twice lol lots to take in) he was a breath of fresh air if he isnt the owner then he needs promotion as he clearly loves the place -

Our peg and position was brilliant an immaculate spot, easy to manoeuvre round in the big old bus !

As first timers we obviously decided to “go big or go home” but York Rowntree could easily cater for us - we had a lovey walk round York literally a 5-10 min walk to the town centre, everything at the site was brill,

Amazing site and we will definitely be back 
via mobile


Previous     107 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is York Rowntree Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to York Rowntree Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is York Rowntree Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near York      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3693 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement