Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Camping Le Riva Bella ( Was Les Pommiers)

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Normandy > Ouistreham > Camping Le Riva Bella ( Was Les Pommiers) Reviews

Camping Le Riva Bella ( Was Les Pommiers)
Rue De La Haie Breton
Ouistreham
Normandy   (Browse area)
14150
Tel: +33 02 31 97 12 66
Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 312
Open: 01/04 To 15/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 38 Reviews
                7/10 from 38 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach 1 mile   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Canalside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  38 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Camperdi 2 reviews from this member

This site is only 5 mins. From the ferry so is very handy if you use the Portsmouth crossing which arrives at 9. 30pm. If you book in advance your paperwork will be ready which will save a few minutes at check in.

The pool is nice and warm, the loos are clean (no paper though) and it's only a few hundred metres from the cycle route to Caen/ Pegasus Bridge/ D- Day beaches. There are Carrefour and Lidl supermarkets 3 mins round the roundabout outside the site and lots of shops in the town centre. We cycled along the promenade last night and there were lots of people on the beach, playing petanque and generally enjoying the sunny evening.

Regarding the "gangs of migrants" we are on the site as I type and there is a small group of no more than a dozen camped out on the grass near the site entrance. We have cycled and driven past them lots of times and they are no trouble. The Gendarmes are visible particularly at the port but at the moment it seems under control.

Obviously things might change so you might want to check before you travel but at the moment there are outfits on site from the UK, Holland, Germany and further afield as well as plenty of French campers and it's very calm and quiet.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: John+judy 101 reviews from this member

We have used the site many times and despite the improvements since the change of ownership still don't quite feel comfortable here. Previously it was the large number of rather scruffy permanent units which made us uneasy, but now it is the presence of large numbers of would-be immigrants outside the gates which is intimidating. However, we have never actually experienced any unpleasant incidents - it's all in the mind!

We arrived on the evening ferry without a pitch reservation this year so checking in was a bit longer than for those with bookings. There were very few available pitches, so I would recommend booking in July and August especially if arriving late. By the time we were on the pitch it was dark, making the setting up difficult, so be aware if using the late arriving ferry especially in August and beyond.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Nigel Wales 2 reviews from this member

If this site wasn't so convenient for ferry crossings, I doubt if we would use it.

Gangs of immigrants outside the front gate.

Recent upgrade of a pool, with the smallest toilet cubicles I've ever used seem to be drawing more long-stay campers.

The mad dash at 6:30am every morning to get out for the ferry crossing has to be seen to be believed. Pity anyone having to hitch up in the road alongside their pitch with a group of angry motorhomes unable to pass.

On a positive note, the service and organisation of the 21:45 arrivals is first class, and owners speak excellent English.

Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Becboz 23 reviews from this member

This is the third year of using this site as our first & last night stops as we use the Portsmouth-Caen route. The site has been upgraded with pool & revamped sanitaries. On our first night check in was very efficient & we paid with a Camping Cheque, we went & parked on the far side near the motorhome area. However, we did have a disturbed night with lots of youths shouting until about 1am by the canal path. On our return stop on 6 October, we again went over to the far side but we were the only caravan parked over there for the whole night so we did feel a little 'remote'.

The toilet block nearest to us was shut as end of season so it would have helped if the receptionist had perhaps advised us to pitch nearer the new block.

We presented a Camping Cheque but were advised they had finished? However we were advised that the price was the same €17 but had to pay cash or card. Not sure what is going on with the CC scheme as that was the second site that wouldn't accept them.

We had a peaceful nights sleep but I did put chairs up against the door! We noticed around the port some dodge looking refugee types in hoodies & padded jackets - it did make the area feel a little unsavoury but we did venture out for our last meal in Riva Bella. I still thought the site seemed a bit scruffy but it was end of season.

Still a very useful site when sailing to & from Ouistetham.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Drjbc 51 reviews from this member

Curiously, reception asked if we had an ACSI Card, then charged us the ACSI 17euro rate including electricity. Yet the site isn't listed in the current ACSI book, nor on the ACSI website.

Most people on this site are there for the proximity of the ferry port, staying just one night. That's a pity, because we found it pleasant and well run, with large grassy pitches separated by trees and hedges. A small gate opens directly onto the excellent, smooth and level 'Voie Verte' cycle path. Turn left and very soon you reach the sandy coast and a series of small, well-kept seaside resorts with museums and memorials to the D-Day landings. Turn right and the path leads to Caen and Thury-Harcourt beyond, following first the canal, then the river valley.

Overall, this former municiple site is greatly improved under new management and makes an excellent base for exploring the area, especially if you like easy cycling.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Rob Burton 7 reviews from this member

We have used this site for the past two years. They stop open for the late ferries and there are pitches where you can stay hooked up if you need to get away early. The site is genuinely only five minutes from the Ouisreham ferry terminal. Their efficiency for the late night check in was exceptional.

There is a Supermarket with fuel five minutes away. Obviously there is heightened security around the port but we found little to worry about at the site. We wouldn't choose a long stay here but as long term ferry and tunnel users we think this is the best site near a port we have found.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Madasaman 38 reviews from this member

We stayed here for one night pre morning sailing. As said previously the site is rather rough. New owners are having improvements done. There is now a heated pool, which we didn't use but others were enjoying it. One toilet block has been revamped, the other near to campervan places was adequate.

There were immigrants outside the site being pursued by the gendarmes, and security at the port very strong. All caravans opened and entered and checked, some roof boxes made to be opened. This didn't bother me, or any body else except for a few truckers, who had to undo sheeting etc.

This is a handy site and we would probably use again just for one night.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Rachel68 8 reviews from this member

We've used this site a few times when it was Les Pommiers in order to catch the early morning crossing and its always been a bit rough but cheap and convenient. It's not so cheap any more (35 euros) but still very rough. The new owners are making improvements, pool, bar, new mobile homes etc but we had teenagers on the pitch behind us partying all night (then vomiting on their pitch as we left at 7am). Its v convenient for an evening walk to the bars and restaurants and the port is 5 mins away. Migrants are a lot more visible in the Ouistreham area this year so I think security is an issue. Will probably not stay here again.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lbarkas 78 reviews from this member

Used this a few times now, most recently for one night at the end of July. On the final approach we spotted groups of immigrants, 10/15 in total, loitering beside the road (near the Esso filling station for those acquainted with the area) which unsettled us somewhat. The site is however reasonably secure with substantial (but not impenetrable to the determined intruder if so inclined) perimeter fencing, coded barrier for vehicle access, and during the afternoon and early evening I saw at least three patrols by police/gendarme vehicles, which was reassuring. Other than a quick outing for fuel and groceries we did not leave the caravan unattended, which was a pity since previously we have driven into Riva Bella to stroll the beach, sea front, shops and restaurant for our final night in France.

The site is rather scruffy and untidy in places (we looked out on to a mound of soil which was presumably as a result of the building works), and would benefit from improving the pitching area for ferry campers (level surface, new water taps, water disposal, electric supply pillars).

That said, it is still ideal for us to catch the 8. 30am ferry to Portsmouth (our favoured route for onward journey to home) and about the only reason we would use it now despite the obvious improvement to the amenities block, which is still a reasonable walk from the ferry pitches. This year our booking was made through the Caravan Club (now in their Continental touring brochure) at around £16. 50 which worked out cheaper than last year when I booked and paid direct.

As a footnote, as we were waiting at the port, one stowaway was found and lead away to be questioned.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: BMCT 2 reviews from this member

Perfect location for the Ouistreham ferry, less than 5 minutes drive. Friendly and helpful man on reception and as we were only one night said we could pick any pitch

Cant complain about the state of the pitches as its end of season and also a very dry spell of weather. The water taps where we were didn't inspire confidence and the drainage was a little clogged up on some of the water points.

As others have stated the sanitary blocks are due for refurbishment which should enhance the site a lot.

Our problem was noise - other reviewers have mentioned the caravans with permanent fixtures / awnings. Sadly there were a group of at least 6 in one of these caravans who were shouting and making a lot of noise up to midnight. On another pitch there were a couple of vans pitched alongside each other with doors opening and shutting well passed 1. 00am, not ideal when we have an early ferry crossing.

In hindsight we should have pitched well over to the far corner which may have been quieter. Hopefully with the improvements promised it may deter these type of occupiers.

Would we use it again ? Unlikely until we get some feedback on the improvements promised which is a shame as its potentially a very good site

Previous     38 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Normandy

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1965 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019