Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Camping Le Riva Bella ( Was Les Pommiers)

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Normandy > Ouistreham > Camping Le Riva Bella ( Was Les Pommiers) Reviews

Camping Le Riva Bella ( Was Les Pommiers)
1 Rue De La Haie Breton
Ouistreham
Normandy   (Browse area)
14150
Tel: +33 02 31 97 12 66
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 300
Open: 03/04 To 01/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 40 Reviews
                7/10 from 40 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Canalside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  40 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Carolewest 6 reviews from this member

 We were very pleasantly surprised by this site - which we had booked for our first night in France this year. We thought it would be difficult as we usually go over to France or Spain, much earlier in the season. Reviews mentioned problems with migrants and the impression given overall was not positive.

Some however spoke of facilities being upgraded and we decided to give it a go. Firstly we were amazed how close it was to the ferry from which we disembarked at ten o’clock at night and we were really pleased to get there.

Secondly the pitches were in great condition and we were allocated one which enabled us to pitch still hooked up. Great for the next morning when we could make an early start.

We decided to book for our return for two nights so we could visit Pegasus bridge. The facilities were pretty new, spotless and staffed by friendly, helpful people.

We did see a group of young men, down the road, which we thought were probably migrants but they didn’t bother us.

Altogether, a much more pleasant experience than we expected for a late overnight site. 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pixie_Hez 66 reviews from this member

 This is our regular stopover site after getting off the ferry arriving from Portsmouth at 9:30 pm. The site is only a couple of minutes drive from the Port of Ouistreham and stays open for people disembarking from the late ferry.

A number of people have mentioned the migrants around the site, and it is true that there are quite a few migrants in the town and on the grass area outside the campsite, but again this year none of them caused us any problems.

On arrival, we were directed as usual to the back left of the site where they normally put people coming and going from the ferry for a single night. The pitches are perfectly adequate and many of them are long, thin drive through pitches which means that you can keep the caravan hitched up if you want.

The site was taken over a few years ago and the new owners have been slowly developing the facilities. One of the shower blocks (the one beside the pool) is now very good however the others are a bit basic but perfectly adequate for a stopover.

This site meets our needs of somewhere to sleep after disembarking the late ferry and we will continue to use this site for this purpose in the future. 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Camperdi 2 reviews from this member

 This site is only 5 mins. From the ferry so is very handy if you use the Portsmouth crossing which arrives at 9. 30pm. If you book in advance your paperwork will be ready which will save a few minutes at check in.

The pool is nice and warm, the loos are clean (no paper though) and it's only a few hundred metres from the cycle route to Caen/ Pegasus Bridge/ D- Day beaches. There are Carrefour and Lidl supermarkets 3 mins round the roundabout outside the site and lots of shops in the town centre. We cycled along the promenade last night and there were lots of people on the beach, playing petanque and generally enjoying the sunny evening.

Regarding the "gangs of migrants" we are on the site as I type and there is a small group of no more than a dozen camped out on the grass near the site entrance. We have cycled and driven past them lots of times and they are no trouble. The Gendarmes are visible particularly at the port but at the moment it seems under control.

Obviously things might change so you might want to check before you travel but at the moment there are outfits on site from the UK, Holland, Germany and further afield as well as plenty of French campers and it's very calm and quiet. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: John+judy 105 reviews from this member

 We have used the site many times and despite the improvements since the change of ownership still don't quite feel comfortable here. Previously it was the large number of rather scruffy permanent units which made us uneasy, but now it is the presence of large numbers of would-be immigrants outside the gates which is intimidating. However, we have never actually experienced any unpleasant incidents - it's all in the mind!

We arrived on the evening ferry without a pitch reservation this year so checking in was a bit longer than for those with bookings. There were very few available pitches, so I would recommend booking in July and August especially if arriving late. By the time we were on the pitch it was dark, making the setting up difficult, so be aware if using the late arriving ferry especially in August and beyond. 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Nigel Wales 2 reviews from this member

 If this site wasn't so convenient for ferry crossings, I doubt if we would use it.

Gangs of immigrants outside the front gate.

Recent upgrade of a pool, with the smallest toilet cubicles I've ever used seem to be drawing more long-stay campers.

The mad dash at 6:30am every morning to get out for the ferry crossing has to be seen to be believed. Pity anyone having to hitch up in the road alongside their pitch with a group of angry motorhomes unable to pass.

On a positive note, the service and organisation of the 21:45 arrivals is first class, and owners speak excellent English. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Becboz 23 reviews from this member

 This is the third year of using this site as our first & last night stops as we use the Portsmouth-Caen route. The site has been upgraded with pool & revamped sanitaries. On our first night check in was very efficient & we paid with a Camping Cheque, we went & parked on the far side near the motorhome area. However, we did have a disturbed night with lots of youths shouting until about 1am by the canal path. On our return stop on 6 October, we again went over to the far side but we were the only caravan parked over there for the whole night so we did feel a little 'remote'.

The toilet block nearest to us was shut as end of season so it would have helped if the receptionist had perhaps advised us to pitch nearer the new block.

We presented a Camping Cheque but were advised they had finished? However we were advised that the price was the same €17 but had to pay cash or card. Not sure what is going on with the CC scheme as that was the second site that wouldn't accept them.

We had a peaceful nights sleep but I did put chairs up against the door! We noticed around the port some dodge looking refugee types in hoodies & padded jackets - it did make the area feel a little unsavoury but we did venture out for our last meal in Riva Bella. I still thought the site seemed a bit scruffy but it was end of season.

Still a very useful site when sailing to & from Ouistetham. 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Drjbc 55 reviews from this member

 Curiously, reception asked if we had an ACSI Card, then charged us the ACSI 17euro rate including electricity. Yet the site isn't listed in the current ACSI book, nor on the ACSI website.

Most people on this site are there for the proximity of the ferry port, staying just one night. That's a pity, because we found it pleasant and well run, with large grassy pitches separated by trees and hedges. A small gate opens directly onto the excellent, smooth and level 'Voie Verte' cycle path. Turn left and very soon you reach the sandy coast and a series of small, well-kept seaside resorts with museums and memorials to the D-Day landings. Turn right and the path leads to Caen and Thury-Harcourt beyond, following first the canal, then the river valley.

Overall, this former municiple site is greatly improved under new management and makes an excellent base for exploring the area, especially if you like easy cycling. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Rob Burton 12 reviews from this member

 We have used this site for the past two years. They stop open for the late ferries and there are pitches where you can stay hooked up if you need to get away early. The site is genuinely only five minutes from the Ouisreham ferry terminal. Their efficiency for the late night check in was exceptional.

There is a Supermarket with fuel five minutes away. Obviously there is heightened security around the port but we found little to worry about at the site. We wouldn't choose a long stay here but as long term ferry and tunnel users we think this is the best site near a port we have found. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Madasaman 44 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for one night pre morning sailing. As said previously the site is rather rough. New owners are having improvements done. There is now a heated pool, which we didn't use but others were enjoying it. One toilet block has been revamped, the other near to campervan places was adequate.

There were immigrants outside the site being pursued by the gendarmes, and security at the port very strong. All caravans opened and entered and checked, some roof boxes made to be opened. This didn't bother me, or any body else except for a few truckers, who had to undo sheeting etc.

This is a handy site and we would probably use again just for one night. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Rachel68 8 reviews from this member

 We've used this site a few times when it was Les Pommiers in order to catch the early morning crossing and its always been a bit rough but cheap and convenient. It's not so cheap any more (35 euros) but still very rough. The new owners are making improvements, pool, bar, new mobile homes etc but we had teenagers on the pitch behind us partying all night (then vomiting on their pitch as we left at 7am). Its v convenient for an evening walk to the bars and restaurants and the port is 5 mins away. Migrants are a lot more visible in the Ouistreham area this year so I think security is an issue. Will probably not stay here again. 


Previous     40 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Camping Le Riva Bella ( Was Les Pommiers) child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Camping Le Riva Bella ( Was Les Pommiers) have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Camping Le Riva Bella ( Was Les Pommiers)?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Camping Le Riva Bella ( Was Les Pommiers) dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ouistreham      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Normandy

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2310 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement