Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Tavern Inn Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Gloucestershire > Cirencester > The Tavern Inn Campsite Reviews

CLOSED: The Tavern Inn Campsite
Station Road
Kemble
Cirencester
Gloucestershire   (Browse area)



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 21 Reviews
                9/10 from 21 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  21 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Please note we have been advised that this campsite has closed, and no longer offers camping, motorhome or caravanning pitches, but the pub itself is still open. If you know that this situation has changed in the future, please could you let us know. Many thanks 


Date of Visit: November 2018 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 We have been advised that this site has reopened for camping and caravanning following a period of closure between Sept 2017 and now. Please note it is no longer a Caravan Club CL. 


Date of Visit: March 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: KatOnions 1 review from this member

 My husband and I stayed here as a last minute get away. We chose this area as we wanted to go for a decent long walk. The campsite is a level gravel car park behind the pub with electric hookup. There is a toilet and separate shower both of which are not heated but we didn't really notice as we weren't expecting too much at this time of the year. They could do with a wooden mat in the shower area though as I didn't want to stand on the dirty floor after my shower. The shower wasn't much more than a trickle so I didn't wash my hair but it served a purpose. It was very much a locals pub with good food and good beer. The toilets didn't have heating in here either!

We would definitely stay here again if we were in the area as our 11 mile walk from Sapperton along the river was beautiful. 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Gerryrys 14 reviews from this member

 Stayed for two nights at this CL at the end of our 2 week holiday. I can confirm other comments that the site is VERY small and would be tight for larger units. Pleasant walks from the site. Pub was okay for drinks, although we cant comment on the food. Despite being told on the Saturday we could eat on the Sunday night, when we arrived the bar staff told us that they had decided that morning to go back to Winter hours with no food on Sunday nights! Good job we had food back at the van.

Facilities were clean with plenty of hot water. Nice site and as stated only 'downside' is that it is quite small. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Knightspa 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for 3 nights. Arrived at 6pm on the Friday and owner showed us to area where the pitches were. It was very tight with 4 other vans. He allowed us to set up on the grass which was much better than the hard standing as we had a awning. The toilet and shower were very clean. After setting up were had a fish & chips in the pub and it was delicious and the chips are a must to try. We had a basket meal on the Saturday evening and a lovely lamb roast dinner Sunday evening, it came with potatoes, roast potatoes and 5 other veg in separate dishes and even extra bowl of gravy. The sweet menu should also be tried. It was also nice to have a drink of the 4 different ales they serve. Local shop down road with reasonable prices. A great site to explore the area. Recommend you visit. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Eastwooda 2 reviews from this member

 Our very first venture in the Campervan. What a splendid choice we made! Phil and Ann had only taken over the TAVERN INN a week ago. They were very friendly and helpful. The small site had a good atmosphere and the facilities were extremely clean and up-to-date. The handwashing facilities were fine with hot water, soap and towel and, yes, toilet paper. (You would understand my enthusiasm if you had seen where we stayed nights 3 & 4). A little shop around the corner and, of course, the delights of the TAVERN. The food was excellent and reasonably priced with plenty of choice. After 2 very unsatisfactory nights elsewhere we were relieved to hear that there was room for us on the 5th night of our short break.

We very much enjoyed our stay and look forward to returning as soon as we can. Our best wishes to Phil and Ann for success with their new venture. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: DavidNotts 2 reviews from this member

 Simple, hardstanding at the back of a cheap pub. Only saw the host when he showed us where to pitch up and where things were. The shower and toilet facilities, although compact were clean and modern.

The site is quite small, so when it's busy it can feel like you're on top of your neighbour. The only thing I didn't like was the toilet/waste water emptying point was 3ft above ground level. With my bad back it meant lifting the wastehog high enough was a difficult task to empty. Also, 3 of the pitches were under tress, which led to extra noise during rain.

We had a few hours in the pub on our first night, it's very small, the staff member who was serving was very friendly and helpful. But equally felt a bit like being in someone's front room, TV on the bar and cafe style seating. The food offered was certainly good value for the area, and the homemade deserts we had were great. 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Charliems 10 reviews from this member

 Stayed one night on our way back to the Midlands from the ferry port in Plymouth, due to its location (off the Fosse) and the promise of honest English fare and a decent pint after two weeks of Spanish tapas - and it didn't disappoint.

Great little CL site (clearly a little too small for one caravanner who took the garden wall out the day before) but the owner kindly came out to guide us in and no doubt protect what was left.

Lovely British welcome and food - steak & chips and home made bread & butter pudding, while chatting to our affable host, Tracey.

Think of it as a traditional pub with a level, gravelled campsite behind it and you can't go far wrong. Just look out for the black and white Tavern sign on the main road as the postcode took us into the station car park, which was interesting! 


Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: McLiability 2 reviews from this member

 I spent one night on The Tavern Inn site in April 13 with my wife and 3 young Children. It was a superb little site with excellent hosts. The owners couldn't have been more helpful or welcoming. As rookie caravanners, we would have been lost without their assistance with a power cable issue, so Thanks Again for your help! The Tavern Inn was very child friendly, well-appointed and served generous portions of good pub food. The kids were spoilt by the landlady and the locals were friendly and unperturbed by the chaos 3 under 5 year olds can create. There were plenty of power points and the fresh water hose and toilet/grey water disposal were easily accessible. The toilet/sink closet and good sized single shower room were contained within the back of the pub building close to the fresh water facilities. The pub was equipped with a function room, providing good indoor space to dodge the Gloucestershire precipitation. For a family unit with young children definitely suitable for a night stop. 


Date of Visit: February 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Janwills100 30 reviews from this member

 Stayed here 2 nights during a short break around the Cotswolds after visiting The NEC camping and caravan show. We received a very friendly warm welcome from Tracey at this site who helped us immensely with local buses trains walks etc very good. We caught the bus into lovely Cirencester just a 10 minute ride. The toilets and showers are clean and open all the time all though not very warm but I do have to say it was exceptionally cold - They do seem to be fairly new and unfortunately they have installed an electric shower which really is not adequate in the cold weather. The pub has a great atmosphere and is very friendly and we had a great time - the price was very fair also - the menu looked great although we did not have a meal in the pub, would go back as its a great stopover. 


Previous     21 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


All Sites in Gloucestershire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save 15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2695 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement