Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Brook House Inn & Touring Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Castle Cary > The Brook House Inn & Touring Park Reviews

The Brook House Inn & Touring Park
Station Road
Castle Cary
Somerset   (Browse area)
BA7 7PF
Tel: 01963 350188  or  07950 964255
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 22
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 46 Reviews
                8/10 from 46 Reviews

Photos (16)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  46 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lizzzzzard 1 review from this member

Great campsite, hook up, shower block, waste disposal. Great central location for Clarks village, Shepton Mallet show ground, Haynes motor museum. Pub has a good range of drinks, good home cooked food.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Carit 3 reviews from this member

Welcomed by man but not introduced. He told us the toilet/shower block had smoke damage due to extractor fan fire! Only this wooden cabin, divided into two unequal parts, in use with second under construction. Both ‘rooms’ were dirty, with scum and dirt in the corners of the shower, and the floor and shower looked as if it hadn’t been cleaned for some time. An old razor and shampoo was on the dirty sink when I arrived on the Friday and still there when I left, with no cleaning having taken place.

The site looks nice, a couple of fields divided by a fence, but the toilet emptying is a drain with a dustbin lid over it, and the fresh water pipe is used by the builders and is in a muddy space outside the toilets. All this for £18 per night – not good value.

The pub (for us) was a disaster. A warm welcome from the young girl behind the bar, but a young man and his 12 year old brother sat at the bar giggling. Having not eaten all day I ordered a mixed grill and was asked how I would like it cooked. The ‘medium to rare’ steak looked like a block of dark chocolate, and the only thing ‘rare’ was the chips. Soggy bits of potato and everything else overcooked. Realising that if the cook could not even recognise the food he/she was serving wasn’t right I ate the meal washed down with my cider. The girl from the bar – only 5 people in the pub on a Friday evening! – asked me about my meal and when I explained she was only interested in why I hadn’t eaten all day.

Much better campsites around at lower prices.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lizzybet 3 reviews from this member

We stayed a few nights here on out route down to Cornwall. It's very reasonably priced and the pitches are spacious flat grassy pitches. The site is quiet even though it's on a main road. We visited LONGLEAT and it's only a half hours drive. Do not use sat Nav to get you there though ! Use a map ! The site has a beer garden next to the pub which was never busy with drinkers so is great for the kids to play in. You can see into it while you are sat at your caravan. We are at the pub one evening and the food was delicious and much much better than we were expecting. The food is fresh and home cooked, delicious home made chips and fresh locally sourced meat. Pudding with custard are always a welcome and of course they sell local cider.

This site doesn't look much but don't let that put you off. It's a great spot for a few nights and we would recommend.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Stuart Evill 4 reviews from this member

Just returned from another fantastic week at The Brook House Inn. Once again we were made to feel so welcome by Lynn and Wayne. Nothing was too much trouble, from stealing some electricity in the bar to charge our phones, to scrounging a plaster when my partner cut her toe!

The site is peaceful and quiet - apart from the occasional passing helicopter. !

The pitches are spacious and well maintained, with electric hook-ups available throughout.

The toilet and shower block, whilst not the most luxurious, is clean and well maintained, with the added luxury of free showers - something rarely found on other sites.

We ate in the pub every night, and thoroughly enjoyed everything we ordered. The menu is varied and caters for all tastes, offering excellent value, home-cooked meals. The home made 'mom chips' are the best! Forget your frozen fries or oven chips!

The bar is well stocked with a wide range of ales and the customary Somerset cider!

We enjoyed many an evening just sat chatting to Wayne and Lynn, and felt the relaxed atmosphere was lovely.

This was our second stay at the Brook House Inn, but it will certainly not be our last!

The Brook House Inn - arrive as guest, leave as friends!

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sleeping beauty 2 reviews from this member

Stayed here with a large group of friends and our children. Had a brilliant weekend. Good safe park for the children to play at, very central for some good days out (clarkes shopping village, greenbank outdoor pool, Yeovil rec, chedder gorge, Wookey hole) and good pub facilities for evening entertainment-pub has a separate bar and skittles area available for private use. Good food, tidy site, would go again.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sazzarooo and Jack 1 review from this member

We came from difficult circumstances and were met on every need here. The hosts, food, caravan park and children's park are all first class.

The facilities are all kept to a high standard and there are plentiful walks around country lanes - and even an area where many new trees have been planted, to enjoy.

We would recommend this campsite and the pub, individually or together to anyone.

Thanks to the hosts and see you again :-) :-)

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Rickym34 27 reviews from this member

We stayed here for one night on our return from Cornwall as we wanted somewhere we could have a meal.

It is quite narrow getting into the site but once on it is all level.

The food in the inn was very nice and the owners were very friendly; my daughter collects Enid Blyton books and they sold her 2 books that they had on their shelves that she did not already have.

The toilets and showers were not very clean and were not what we are used to on previous sites and this is a shame, as we had a nice stay at this site, with our children enjoying playing with the other children in the play area.

Date of Visit: March 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Badgerwestsussex 4 reviews from this member

Stayed here 3 nights. Good central site, close to Glastonbury. Nice food in pub and friendly. Showers and toilets the only let down, not very clean & water in shower luke warm, didn't bother us as had own facilities, would be different with a tent.

We stayed here as we went to a show at the royal bath & west showground which is 5 mins down the road. You do get a bit of road noise, but didn't really worry us. Yes we would stay again.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sleeping beauty 2 reviews from this member

This is our 2nd stay at the Brookhouse-first one in a caravan and this time in a tent. Great place to stay-central for visiting wookey, weston, glastonbury and clarkes shopping village. Clean facilities, excellent food, amazing staff.

Childrens play area ideal-felt quite safe letting the kids play whilst we set up camp as its fully enclosed so they cant go anywhere!

Great for families or groups wanting a civilised get together! Did not find the site hampered from road noise at all-in fact have always felt it to be quite peaceful! Already planning for next year!

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Stuart Evill 4 reviews from this member

Stayed for 3 nights at the start of august. We had planned to stay for 2 but was so pleased with the site and facilities we stayed for an extra night. The owners were very friendly, food and beer were excellent.

Toilet/shower facilities a bit basic and in need of modernisation but didn't affect our stay. Nice location, easy to get to other parts of Somerset.

Would definitely visit again and would recommend to others.

Previous     46 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Castle Cary      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Somerset

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth £100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


7109 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019