Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Waie Inn

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (North) > Crediton > The Waie Inn Reviews

CLOSED: The Waie Inn
Zeal Manachorum
Crediton
Devon (North)   (Browse area)



Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: Site Now Closed

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 8 Reviews
                7/10 from 8 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

This site no longer offers camping or caravanning facilities.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Mmurfitt 5 reviews from this member

Five of us stayed here with a motorhome and tent for one night as part of a cycle ride from Lands End to John O'Groats.

We were the only ones there so had the place to ourselves which was great. Most of the pitches are at the top of a hill so aren't very level, but it looked like they doing a lot of work to extend and improve the pitches. If we were staying for an extended period the early morning workers could have been a problem, but we were warned about this before we came and it was fine for us. I expect they've finished the by work now.

The toilet and shower facilities are fantastic. The block itself is really good quality and seemed very new. The showers are large with lots of hot water and the toilet cubicles are great with the toilet and sinks together. The only problem I had was with the lights as they are motion sensitive. No-one else in our party had a problem so it must have been me, but they kept going off and I couldn't find a way to get them back on.

There is a swimming pool on site which I expect would be great for children (we didn't use it ourselves). Also at the Waie Inn itself you can get food and drink etc. And I noticed a few small items available for sale behind the bar. There's not a shop with fresh produce like milk & bread etc. But the bar man was kind enough to sell us some milk from their kitchen which I appreciated.

We didn't really get a chance to look at the area, but it looked nice from the site itself. It seemed like an ideal place to take children as there's a big play area (we didn't have children in the party so didn't use this).

This site was perfect for our needs and given the excellent condition of the shower block I expect the new pitches will be of a very good quality once the work is finished.

Date of Visit: February 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ljm1308 4 reviews from this member

Has the potential to be a really good site but: Very narrow lanes and we got lost trying to find it. On arriving there was no reception or check-in and no directions to the field. We were advised not to use the field due to the recent weather, so parked in the car park, which made reaching the hook-up impossible 40+ meters away although the owner did kindly lend us a spare lead at 11pm.

The toilet blocks were not open and we were advised to use the showers in the swimming pool, which was fine. They did eventually open the toilet block (3 toilets and 3 showers) and the lights were on a sensor, which left you on the toilet in the dark and the showers had very poor pressure.

On the plus side there is an excellent outdoor play area with farm animals and a fishing lake, a warm swimming pool, an excellent indoor play area but at 3.50 extra per child I thought this should have been included in the fee. 6 per person per night (including children over 3). The pub was pleasant with snooker rooms, squash courts, skittle alleys and a good menu, which we did not sample as we were spent out.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mally23 2 reviews from this member

Fantastic site!

After a long and narrow, winding road we arrived at a lovely pub site. The staff were very laid back and welcoming. We could pitch where we liked and were very pleased to have an electric hook up and water supply right beside the tent.

The children's play area was great with animals to look at also. Our daughter was fascinated with the goat.

We enjoyed a meal in the restaurant on both evenings of our stay. The food was excellent and reasonably priced.

The swimming pool was warm and opened until late.

The added facilities of squash courts, pool and snooker tables, and old fashioned skittles ensured that we enjoyed our stay.

The toilet block was fine although only one toilet had cold water working in the sink and the hot tap was far too hot for our dughter to use. Toilet rolls were not replenished enough and in each toilet cubicle there were no paper towels or hand driers.

Having said that, we would definitely return and would recommend this site to anyone.

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Grumpy bear 9 reviews from this member

Just spent a weeks break at the Waie Inn, the village was down narrow lanes but when we got to the site found a large pub and grounds, the camping field was very sloping but manageable with taps on most electrical points, no marked out areas so you could pitch where you liked.

The pub was excellent a good selection of beers with guest beers that are changed on a regular basis, the meals were top of the range and very reasonably priced.

The facilities were excellent with a new shower/toilet block that looked like it had never been used, at the pub the facilities included snooker & Pool, 3 skittles alleys, indoor swimming pool, Fishing lake also a Children's barn soft play area. There was a large play area outside with slides etc also animals for the children (rabbits,Birds ,Goat, Sheep)

The bar staff were very friendly and made you feel like one of the locals.

Would recommend this site to all caravanner's and tenter's alike, we will be going back again in the very near future.

Date of Visit: March 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: CrowleyJ+L  reviews from this member

What a gem! Took us totally by surprise. Superb in every way. This has to be quite unique in so many ways. The facilities are endless - outdoor and indoor. The food in terrific if you wish to eat inside the pub. The welcome is wonderful. What a great place for adults and families alike.

Reviewer: Carol Baseley 1 review from this member

January 2005
We have just spent a very enjoyable week-end here with my son and his family. We had a great time and we were looked after well. The swimming pool was realy warm, the play area was fantastic (we enjoy the slide and fort as much as the kids). We did not eat in the restaurant but the prices seemed good.

Reviewer: viv and terry 20 reviews from this member

10.11.03
Had to travel around in November and needed somewhere to stay that provided food and shelter with hook up and usual facilities. Water with hook up around side of field so no obscured views of the Hills. This C & CC CL site was off a main road down country lanes and was exceptional. Very attractive extended hotel type complex in small village. It seems to be used by locals and also for corporate seminars etc, looked like accommodation in restored / extended building. Quiet when we were there but still busy on the Sunday evening for food so good atmosphere although we were the only campers. Bar open all day. Very nice food and lovely facilities with games room and indoor swimming pool - in use I noted at 8 am on sunday morning when we stayed.

I would bet this gets really busy in the summer as it is ideal for children - log cabins and play area outside and the most beautiful grounds with sheep and ponds with lovely countryside views of the surrounding hills. Just a shame it was thick fog when we woke up this november! I think the local people would also use the facilities quite a lot as it was so nice for a Sunday afternoon for a family afternoon out.


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

All Sites in Devon (North)

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth 100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5734 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019