Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Camping Club Holiday Marina

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Provence - Cote D Azur > Port Grimaud > Camping Club Holiday Marina Reviews

Camping Club Holiday Marina
Rn 98 Le Ginestel
Port Grimaud
Provence - Cote D Azur   (Browse area)
83310
Tel: 00 33 494 56 08 43
Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: 17-02 To 31-12

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 10 Reviews
                6/10 from 10 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 1 mile 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Teemyob 7 reviews from this member

Firstly, I would point out that I have been visiting this area since the late 1970's.

We were taking our Grandchildren 8 & 5 down to Grimaud and decided to give La Marina a try as we wanted a site with a pool. On our way down in our motorhome, mid August, we tried to book online without success. Having two young children with us, I was worried about turning up to Grimaud with no pitch. So we rang Holiday Marina to be told, yes they had space but on a first come first served basis and would not take a booking.

On arrival, they did have plenty of availability. However, the price was 90 a night. We booked in and paid for 9 nights.

We were allocated a pitch with a Private bathroom, fridge and kitchen sink. The Sandy gritty pitch was covered in loose dry leaves from the trees. In 9 days, we never saw anyone cleaning up the leaves. All the grit and leaves ended in crumbs and trodden everywhere into our accommodation.

The fridge was old, dirty, rusty, had not been defrosted from the previous pitch occupier(s). Had a broken main and ice box door and was leaking. We had to defrost it.

The door to the bathroom was broken. Meaning every time our Grandchildren wanted to go in our out, we had to get up to open it, close it and open it again.

The sink faced your your neighbours head on (ours were lovely which was a bonus).

The park facilities were in a bad state of repair and not as depicted in the photographs.

Now, that pool we were all looking forward to. After paying 90 a night, you are then expected to pay 7 per person, per day for a filthy sun lounger. These sun loungers have a fabric and foam cushion. At the end of the day, they are collected up, full of body perspiration, sun lotion and stained. Piled up in a store room, then put out for use as filthy as ever for the next day.

The pool Well, its quite small. The lifeguards were a complete waste of time. Very eager to pounce on you should you touch the aforementioned sun loungers. But when there are a large group of teenagers dive bombing, hurling balls and behaving badly near toddlers and babies, useless. I overheard the female Lifeguard telling a regular guest how hungover she was from the night before and had actually fallen asleep.

The third day we again tried to enjoy the pool, some older children were bombing into the pool, wacking balls around and almost pushing a mother with a baby under the water. My wife had to take the control of the situation and challenge the older teenagers. And not a parent or guardian in sight.

The pool area can also be dangerously slippy with slime. There is also a pool stream / river type thing that runs around the bar area. When we were there, the stream was not pumping. It had stagnant water sat in it, a perfect place for mosquitoes to breed.

So in 9 days, I don't think we spent more then 2 hours by the pool as we could not relax and enjoy it.

The day before we were due to leave, our Granddaughter was a little unwell. We thought despite our total disappointment with Holiday Marina, it would be easier to stay on another day. Now, the day we wanted to stay the extra night, Friday was of course 90. But the next day, Saturday, it dropped down to 70 per night. So, my wife enquired at reception could we stay the extra night, but at the 70 rate as in 24 hours, that's what it would drop to. A point blank NO, was the reply. Not good business sense as they had plenty of empty pitches. We decided to move on the next day and not pay the 90. Its not as though we had only been on site a day or two.

The morning we left, despite not arriving on our first day until late afternoon. The staff wanted us off the pitch by 10 am. That was my mistake as I thought it was mid day. We were, only after I explained my mistaken times, allowed 1 extra hour. And the staff arrived exactly after that hour and wanted us off. Despite having plenty of empty pitches.

We left, headed to Cavaliere Camping Car Aire. Same kind of dusty old ground, but with 16amp EHU and just 20 a night, next to the beach.

Never saw the Spa areas, not efforts made to show us, never tried the Restaurant.

The only one good thing I could say. The house wine is very good and not expensive. But then it is cheap enough to buy.

5 Star camping holiday Marina is Not. We would never even consider Holiday Marina at half the price. The site needs a lot more investment, TLC and the most important thing of all, Lifeguards that pay attention and take proper control. Only takes a few minutes for a toddler to drown if knocked under water. Very Dangerous lack of duty of care.

Date of Visit: December 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Yeehaa 4 reviews from this member

The private bathroom was a nice bonus but the worn, sandy pitches themselves were very scruffy with the grass around the edges overgrown, piles of old leaves everywhere and the hedges in need of trimming up. One night there was torrential rain and whilst it did pass through my mind that the campsite was next to a large river that was the other side of the static caravans and out of view from our motorhome, I was not too concerned as the river level was about 10 feet below ground level. Early the next morning I noticed the English owner driving around the campsite at speed for about half an hour, next thing he banged on our door and told us we had better get out fast as the river had broken its' banks. Surely he was aware this was going to happen so why did he leave it so late to warn us? We left immediately leaving many of our belongings behind (luckily we had taken the safari room down the previous day because of high winds). As we drove out the water was rushing across the campsite and was getting deeper all the time and we only just managed to get out in time.

We returned two days later when it was safe to do so to collect what was left of our belongings but unfortunately we had to leave in such a panic that we could not take the car we had rented from the Renault garage next door to the campsite and so we lost the 850 deposit on it because of water damage. There was no apology from the campsite owner or any offers of a refund for the days we had paid for and not stayed there. I found out afterwards that the next village up from Port Grimaud had opened the dam to stop their village from flooding and this is why Holiday Marina had flooded.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dargy 34 reviews from this member

Dropped in to see friends who have a static and stayed for 3 nights en route to Italy. The touring pitches are individual plots with hedge divides but smallish (75 sq m) with little grass.

The individual toilet / shower units were new this season and were spotless (50 euro refundable deposit) with fridge hire also available and dishwashing facilities on each pitch. It's not cheap, but then you are in the south of France and they also charge a 40 euro fee on top of the deposit for booking a pitch.

The whole site is generally very well tended with an excellent pool and restaurant and the staff are happy and helpful. As previous reviews have said, Camping Club Holiday Marina is probably the very best in this location by the enchanting Port Grimaud and ideal if you want to enjoy the buzz of this exotic area.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Towbarjim 20 reviews from this member

Easy enough to find, despite understandably heavy traffic on coastal road. Toilet facility brilliant - private and spotlessly clean. Port Grimaud is within easy walking distance and well worth the trip. St Tropez is not too far away, but get up early to drive and park, otherwise walk or catch the bus. Staff are friendly. The pool is excellent and there is a poolside bar for the odd snack. There are statics on site, but they are well maintained. It is a popular site, but OK in the low season. We did not book. High season will be different.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Homerb 3 reviews from this member

The Site is convenient for Port Grimaud, it is a beautiful area, visits to St Tropez are easy and trips to the mountains are a get away from the crowds option. The private bathroom on each pitch is the biggest asset. We spent several months there and during August our caravan was broken into twice. A boat was also stolen from the marina. So take great care if visiting there.

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: JAMES SALMON 1 review from this member

We were there this year for the first time ever camping. The reason for choosing the site was for the mooring facilities for our ski boat that we towed down and for the private bathroom facilities. The mooring facilities available were fantastic couldn't fault those at all really.
Pool area was nice and brand new but got a little crowded, should expect that for peak season, the main thing is that it was safe for our 7 yr old son. The bar area was in a superb setting by the river especially during sunset.

Our camping pitch was ok, nice and sheltered in the morning from the sun but we did notice the road noise during the day - but then who stays next to their tent during the day??! Toilet and shower unit complete with full size fridge was heaven for camping, this made it such an easy experience and we would find it hard to cope without it again!

As for the local area - avoid using the car, it is gridlocked everywhere even at night. There are decent bike paths everywhere so next year we will take bikes. We are boatie people so went everywhere in our boat which the easiest way to travel through the canal systems and get away from packed beaches.

We have rebooked for July/August next year but wouldn't have bothered if we weren't boaties. To sum it up - not a site to stay on all day to really relax and get away from it all. Certainly not in a quiet rural location with lovely quaint people! It can't be that bad though, most people are regulars and we are going back there and looking forward to it!

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Angusmcoatup 1 review from this member

If you want a rural, quiet, grassy campsite or direct beachside site don't come here.

If you want a site that is vibrant, well cared for with exceptionally good safe facilities in a location that's known to be buzzing and the real place to be in the summer (ok, for that read busy)this is the place for you.

The site is predominantly static holiday homes with approx 50 camping pitches, all the latter have their own private bathrooms (shower, basin, toilet + loads of space for storage and built in safes)

There is little in the way of grass on the pitches, it can be a little bit noisy at the back of the site but you soon get used to that and the location coupled with the facilities and attentiveness/friendliness of the staff far outweigh the downsides.

I would suggest that the previous review is from someone who has spent time in typical rural French sites, this is not one of those and doesn't aspire to be.

Have been coming here for four years and met many people who come year after year, that in itself is recommendation but before coming question your own aspirations of what you want out of a site and a holiday, st tropez is very busy as is the surrounding area, if you don't want that don't come here. However if you do come be prepared to be hooked, for some reason its very addictive!

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Sharron54 1 review from this member

We went during a Harley Davidson event which made it incredibly noisy. Not the site's fault I know, but they did welcome the bikers, and when they revved up it was deafening, so check out local activities first.

The site is like a small town with the units crammed in so tightly there is no privacy. I could have reached into the neighbouring unit through the window! It is very British, so if you are looking for a taste of France, forget it. Most of the units were owned by the British and you got the impression that they were part of a club which made you feel like an outsider. We only saw a couple of caravans and motorhomes, mostly it was statics.

You can walk to the supermarket, and into Port Grimaud, but most people will need a car as the paths on the main road and off, are few and far between. We did walk in spite of the lack of paths, however, because there is nothing much nearby and we love walking. Go to Grimaud, and Gassin - very pretty. I wouldn't go back to St Tropez, but it's definitely worth a look. Driving in is a nightmare though, but you can walk there as we did. It took about an hour and a half and there is a path for most of the way.

The beaches are poor in Port Grimaud, so I would recommend going round the coast to Cavalaire - in fact I would go there instead! This town is lovely with a fantastic beach and great ambience.

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sdbsjb 1 review from this member

We had a poor pitch located at the road side of the site near the rear entrance. Most touring pitches seem to be towards this end of the site. The toilet facilities on each pitch sound good but this ends up taking a significant chunk out of what are already smallish pitches. Our one just fitted a twin axle plus awning with little room to spare but the car had to be parked elsewhere.

Upsides are the closeness to Port Grimaud so you really can walk into the centre in the evening.

This could be a reasonable site if the touring pitches were better located - the statics have prime locations.

Date of Visit: March 2007 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Elaine 1 review from this member

This site is well worth a visit. Very well maintained, friendly staff, lovely swimming pool. The toilet Blocks for camping are individual for each camper with shower, toilet and washing and changing facilities.
The surrounding areas are well worth visiting the town of Port Grimaud is Breathtaking , the beaches are spotless and kept very clean. There is a hugh Supermarket only minutes away from the site , with all catering needs.
Its one of the prettiest places I have ever been to in the south of france and would highly recommend it to anyone.


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Port Grimaud      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Provence - Cote D Azur

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth 100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6130 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019