Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Cwmcarn Forest

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Glamorgan > Caerphilly > Cwmcarn Forest Reviews

Cwmcarn Forest
Crosskeys
Caerphilly
Glamorgan   (Browse area)
NP11 7FA
Tel: 01495 272001
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 20 (& 10 Pods)
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 42 Reviews
                8/10 from 42 Reviews

Photos (8)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  42 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: March 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Debsy 122 reviews from this member

 Nice site, not many pitches at all but lots of glamping pods, some of these face the wrong way for the sun unfortunately.

Nice walks in the forest and a well stocked visitor centre.

Toilets and showers clean and adequate - controlled by a code.

Awesome kids playground and lake. 


Date of Visit: October 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Tinatu 1 review from this member

 Very small site, with all the facilities you need.

The walks around the site are amazing, lovely lake which our labs loved.

Cooked breakfast from the visitor center was delicious. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Nikki1 1 review from this member

 Very very well run small site.

All kept clean and tidy. Excellent access to bike trails.

Nice cafe with selection of snacks and lunch.

Well organised and great kitchen to use.

All very friendly. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: November 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Brenda 1 review from this member

 Great site, lovely staff, fantastic bacon rolls! and the toilets and showers were open.

They seem to be upgrading to chalets, lovely area at the back of the site now turned over to modern comfortable chalets (we had a peek) arranged as a little village.

We could only make out 3 areas for motorhomes or caravans and around 6 for tents.

The campsite is in a beautiful forested area with a large fishing lake and miles of woodland to explore and enjoy.

Rubbish disposal and recycling facilities although l was disappointed that the recycling was just a 'dump the lot in here' and not the separation that the councils require.

Everything else was first rate, chemical disposal, drinking water and every pitch had electricity.

Amenity block first class with a laundry, toilets and disabled toilets, very good showers (free) and even a wet room for our disabled. Hairdryers 30p token.

All in all excellent facilities. Just alongside the campsite there is a very good children's playground BUT requires parental supervision, not the place to leave your youngsters free to roam. Sadly, for us, this was the holiday from hell, although the bacon rolls helped keep us sane.

We will go back, definitely.

Weather was a nightmare and we experienced one catastrophe after another because of it culminating with hubby needing 16 stitches in his calf. Two wet and soggy warriors with two bedraggled pups. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Dragon56 25 reviews from this member

 We only stayed one night at this lovely site. It was so peaceful and the woodland and lake was a beautiful place to walk our dog. We had a great welcome and the E/H pitch with hardstanding was plenty big enough for our motorhome. We will be back as soon as we can and next time stay longer. If your looking for a quiet, peaceful campsite with good facilities then this is the one. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rikaram 25 reviews from this member

 Lovely site in the middle of woodland but not far from shops etc. And with an excellent cafe just next to the pitches.

Toilet block was clean and in reasonable condition. Plenty large enough for a small site such as this.

Price was very reasonable for me and a small tent. My only concern was the pea shingle use as a base for the pitches. I would be concerned that the groundsheet would be damaged by the stones. My tent was small enough to use an adjoining section of grass fortunately. I'm sure its ideal for campervans / caravans but not a place to put tents.  


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Ljamfam 33 reviews from this member

 Fairly small site set in the stunning Cwmcarn Forest. When arriving it's worth following the brown signs rather than the sat nav. It's also worth noting that check in is in the visitor centre. This was not mentioned on either our booking confirmation or on any of the signs until you reach the actual site which is past the visitor centre

Plenty of walks and biking for all levels, lake for fishing, lovely cafe, small gift shop but nowhere in walking distance for milk and papers. Luckily we had lovely neighbours who got these items for us to save taking the motorhome out.

The site itself is in need of some attention and needs tidying up and weeds sorting. Toilets and shower block were not the best. The had water all over the floor, soap dispensers empty and rubbish on the floor which for the first three days we were there was not picked up.

We would revisit for the location not the site. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mollyjak 2 reviews from this member

 We camped with three other families and found the site to be excellent. Three caravans and a tent.

The toilet and shower block were clean.

We used the café and found it to be excellent value, very friendly and helpful as we had our 18 month granddaughter with us.

We enjoyed the walks, the views and the general ambiance on the site.

On our list to return to. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Welshrosie 1 review from this member

 Beautiful well kept site. Booking was easy over the phone with a helpful lady. On arrival we had a pitch next to the entrance which is gated. Can be a bit busy at times. The toilets and showers were warm and clean. I was led to believe this was a family site with no youth groups allowed. This was not the case with a large group of kids all the same age. I was told when I emailed the campsite about this fact and how they run amuk. That this wasn't a youth group but a group of youths who are friends from school! I wouldn't stay again because of the groups being allowed. Lots of local shops around, very easy to find. Cafe on site is yummy. Great for walks and cycling. 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Fluteytoots 9 reviews from this member

 We stayed a week during Easter, with our 3 children 1, 4 and 6y.

The site is lovely, surrounded by trees and you can hear the nearby stream (fenced off so not a risk for children) gushing away.

The shower and toilet block was clean and warm. The showers were excellent.

Re the previous comment about cars driving through, the campsite is on a no-through road which is gated at the start, so this wasn't/isn't an issue.

For children this is a brilliant site: There is a small climbing web right by the shower block, and a further infants age playground outside the cafe at the Visitors Centre. There is a superb Wildlife Brass rubbing trail (probably almost 2 miles), which our children loved. There are pram friendly walks just around the pond and back with lots of lovely picnic tables. During our stay there was also an Easter Egg trail (outdoors) and a Puppet Show (indoors).

For older children, as well as the mountain biking routes, there is also a bike park.

This is a beautiful site, which feels in the middle of nowhere, but in fact civilzation is only a 5 min drive away. We plan to visit again! 


Previous     42 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Cwmcarn Forest child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Cwmcarn Forest?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Cwmcarn Forest dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Caerphilly      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Glamorgan

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2350 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement