Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - La Croix Du Vieux Pont

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > Europe > France > Picardy Nord-Pas-de-Calais > Site Reviews

La Croix Du Vieux Pont
Aisne
Berny Riviere
Picardy Nord-Pas-de-Calais   (Browse area)
02290
Tel: 0323555002
    Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 520
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 81 Reviews
                8/10 from 81 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf   Tennis On Site 
 Beach On Site   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  81 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Campingtoon 2 reviews from this member

We have been to La croix 5 times now and would definitely go back again.

There are several ways to visit

Wooden Lodge (Canvas holidays)

Static caravan (Canvas and Eurocamp)

Gite/apartment (Direct)

Tent/touring pitch (Direct)

We have sampled all of the above methods over the years. Wooden lodges while nice are over priced and not much better than a nice static.

Eurocamp statics are probably the 'safest' way to go as there is very little chance of disappointment.

Touring/tent/safari tent requires you to be a little more hardy.

To server the proverbial 'crap sandwich' I'll start with a positive. The grounds for this site are impeccably maintained and when you have the weather in your favour it is an absolute delight. Lakes and well maintained grassy areas create a very serene setting which just allow you to relax.

However, if you are relying on toilet and shower blocks (touring and tents) they do let themselves down. Cleaning should take place more often and look roll runs out by approx 6pm. If you go to the toilet blocks a little further from the touring area they are used much less and are therefore more pleasant. In the beach bar (fantastic place) the service is very slow and you will see someone going round looking for glasses while one person deals with a queue of 10 people for food, drinks and ice-cream.

Finishing on a high the facilities are excellent:

Basic water sports

Kids rides (go karts, bumper boats etc)

Table tennis

Mini golf

Man made beach

Great swimming facilities

Good reasonably priced food

Great shop and bakery

The negatives are annoying but not a deal breaker. Really worth a visit.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: MissesT 2 reviews from this member

Our first camping trip to France and we stayed in Le Parc area for 8 nights. Le Parc was a lovely setting with lots of shade from mature trees and no set pitches. We had a great view of the house and were fortunate with considerate neighbours. Day trip to Disney and SNCF to Paris (from Compeigne) were easy. Parked at the station for €4 for the day - lots of spaces. Chateau Pierresfonds was well worth a visit.

Resort:

Swimming complex great for kids but VERY busy during hot weather. Didn't visit the lake area or bar.

Was disappointed with the facilities for campers in Le Parc. The site claims to be 5 star but these were far from it. The water pressure in the toilets and sinks was so high the floors were often wet. There was only cold water for hand washing and pot washing and no soap or toilet roll. The shower block was tired but kept clean (except where inconsiderate users). We walked further into the static home areas as the showers were much cleaner - perhaps the statics had their own facilities.

Grass cuttings. The lawnmower didn't collect the cuttings so these got everywhere in the tent and bedding etc which was a constant irritation. (We wore flip flops and left them outside the tent but damp grass sticks to your feet)

Restaurant on site wasn't great but did the job for one meal although I wouldn't go back to it.

Really enjoyed Laser park - our family of 4 had it to ourselves and was a giggle.

There was a playground for younger children between Le Parc and Reception but at 10 & 12 my kids didn't visit.

In all we enjoyed our time here. The resort was kept clean and had a good atmosphere but I think next time personally I would prefer a much smaller site with a town to stroll to (didn't seem to be much nearby).

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tony_brown 9 reviews from this member

Just returned from a lovely 2 week stay on this site with friends. This was our second time camping in Le Parc but our 10th time on this site (we stayed previously in caravans).

We had a great time. We stayed on Le Petit Fleury (the private garden/water pools area with noisy giant frogs beyond the boathouse/small facility building along the riverside !)

We had good neighbours (from Oldham, Hull, Scotland and for a couple of days two nice families in caravans from down south) however on one noisy occasion (Cockney and Dutch neighbours) sorry to be whinge. It was after 3am when they finally went to bed. We had kids and the neighbours had kids too. The noise from their impromptu party in the old boathouse kept us all awake.

I would repeat what others say about the site, great pool complex, wonderful bakery, slowish take-away, lovely man made beach and bar area, immaculate grounds, friendly hardworking owners and staff, but sadly selfish campers who left the loo nearest us in a state.

We would definitely return to the site. We did Disney and Parc Asterix (driving there is easy) and used SNCF at Compiegne to travel to the Gare Du Nord in Paris and then take the No 42 bus from the adjacent bus station to the Eiffel Tower. The English speaking lady at the station was both helpful and witty too speaking great English (I accidently called her Mum instead of Madam and she took it really well. Oops). You should park in the long VINCI car park to the right hand side of the station rather than the short stay where I was called a motherf****r by one charming young resident. If you don't have a bankcard to pay on the exit you have to use the machine by the exit to pay by cash to get an exit ticket (sorry to the nice French young lady behind us who we delayed by our stupidity)

Pierrefonds is worth a visit. Compiegne and Soisson nice. For shopping see other reviews.

Access from the motorway is easier than last time with the new link road around the north of Compiegne.

We thought 2 weeks might be too much but there is loads to do if you research the area properly.

Don't be put off by a lot of the negative reviews on some sites as they relate to holidays with the usual caravan/ready erected tent companies (Eurocamp/Canvas etc). The site for tourers/tents I think is brilliant.

Au revoir.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: JoMarch 6 reviews from this member

Just home from 10 nights here. It was perfect for us with our 2 young girls. The pitch had EHU and had a surrounding hedge and a tap. The grass was tired and there was what seemed to be a patch of paving from an old ruined building, however there was still plenty of space for the tent and you can't really expect perfect grass on a busy site in high season. Close by were the toilets, showers and washing up area. These were cleaned regularly by a lovely smiley lady but too many people thought it was ok to wee on the loo seats and some of the toilets had old fashioned cisterns which splashed water (and worse) all over the floor and the feet of anyone standing too close, so unfortunately, the toilets weren't the cleanest I've seen. Other toilets on site were newer and nicer. This is a very big site, we were in a row of EHU pitches and ready pitched eurocamp style tents but there are statics, safari tents and some lovely looking safari tents. Facilities are excellent, large pool complex which is great for families with kids, with a tunnel slide, fast water slides, lazy river, jacuzzis, kids pool and a kids splash area. Our two loved it, they could happily have spent all day there. There is also a lake with a man made beach which would also have kept the girls occupied all day. There was a kids play area behind our pitch which was also good. One of the big draws of this site was the coach trips to Paris and Disney. We did neither but we did an independent train trip to Paris from nearby, leaving the tent alone overnight whilst we stayed in a hotel. We had no security concerns about leaving the tent. Paris was exhausting but excellent and we will be going back. Also on site was a handy shop selling most essentials, there's enough here to not have to leave the site although prices are a bit more expensive than local supermarkets. We found an enormous Cora hypermarket in Soissons sellng everything imaginable. Also on site is a restaurant beside the pool, we ate twice here and were impressed both times. There is a good choice and a small kid seenu, however ours wanted to share an adult main course and this was fine. Garlic bread to share, 3 mains, 4 deserts and a bottle of house red was around €80 which we thought was reasonable, I'd recommend the sea bass. There is a takeaway on site also and we made use of that, service is slow but the pizza is good, just allow plenty of time when you order. The bar is not door and drinks are quite expensive here. There is entertainment here, the 90 minutes I spent watching the kids watch the magician is 90minutes of my life I won't get back, but the kids enjoyed it! Our kids also did few of the day time activities too, there was bungee jumping and little quad racers which killed an afternoon. All in all, this is a perfect site for a family holiday with Paris close by. We will be visiting again.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sheeprider79 14 reviews from this member

LCDVP was highly recommended by our friends. We set off from Scotland and travelled via the EuroTunnel overnight. Eurotunnel is more expensive but was very easy and much better than the ferry in my opinion.

The site is clean and was much larger than expected, but it does not feel over crowded. The Kids have plenty to do, swimming pools outdoor/indoor, man-made beach, table tennis, football, basketball, mini quads, bungee trampoline, several small play parks and pedalo’s. There is a baker on site selling cakes and baguettes, a typical shop, restaurant and a take away. We tried the takeaway and it does take a bit of time to be served but its expected due to the volume of people.

There is a supermarket nearby which is reasonably priced and cheaper than the on site shop.

As others have pointed out Disneyland, Paris etc… are all accessible. We drove to Scossions and managed to get the train to Paris. Family of 4 for Eur 90. The drive to Disney land was about 50 mins.

It does matter on finding the perfect pitch, I don't think one stands out from the rest. The BBQ pitches are nice and secluded but shadowed. They also look very tight with twin axles. Le Park is tight. Alle du bord de l'eau offer space and a good deal of sun but again it depends how close the boy next to you pitches up.

We’re going back in 2016.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Foxylady2 6 reviews from this member

Just returned from 8 nights at this site. This site is easy to find and only a couple of hours from Calais. We stayed in a static on the new bit - accessed by an underpass. The pitches were very big and the facilities spotless. We found staff to be very friendly, and shop, takeaway and bar reasonable. We shopped at Intermarche in the village but the Cora in Soissions was much cheaper. The swimming pools were brill although the changing rooms etc could do with upgrading. The site has a coach which goes to Disney and Paris. We decided to drive to Disney ourselves then we could watch the light show at the end of the day - glad we did this as it was fantastic. We bought disney tickets before we went and saved loads! We took the coach to Paris and had a lovely day - really glad we didn't drive here - it was manic! If you want to go up the Eiffel Tower I would pre book! All in all we had a brill time - couldn't fault the site and would deffo return.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sammonp 12 reviews from this member

I did my research and was advised to request a pitch either by the 'beach' or the 'new under the tunnel' section - I would STRONGLY advise other campers to do the same. I left my request too late, and in February was advised by the site that only 'le Parc' was available.

After discussing this option with La Croix regulars on the UKCampsite.co.uk forum, I went ahead and made the booking with the caveate 'not near the river'.

On the 10th August we arrived for 14 nights, and guess where we were offered? Le Parc - next to the river !

I pointed out my reservation stated “not next to river” and was offered a couple of other options, which were sloping, and many meters away from the electric point.

So I took the river pitch.

I would caution against Le Parc pitches – they are dark – most under trees, prone to flooding, when it rains heavy the rain puddles, and due to lak of light, it stays around. The others nearer the Chateau, are quite sloping.

One further irritant was that the pitches in le Parc are not marked, and the site appear to allocate campers to “spare ground” and really cram us in. We arrived back from Soissons one day to find a tent pitched 1m from our awing – there was a lot of pitches/space available elsewhere – the tent owner apologised, stating that was the best offer from a bad lot that the site gave him !

You may need a continental electric connector, my connection did, but others nearby did not.

The facilities near Le parc are a very big let-down – I understand le parc is just used as a summer overflow, but the facilities nearby are very tired. For example the toilets have no seat lid, and when flushed the some water “sprays” out onto the floor – for a 5* site, this is unacceptable. When it rained, it was impossible to keep these facilities “clean”. Surprisingly, there are Canvas serviced tents just outside of Le parc, which also share these facilities, I am surprised Canvas have not influenced La Criox to upgrade these facilities.

There are modern and very good facilities elsewhere – specifically, under the tunnel, near the beach and near the tree house.

We used a mixture of these facilities. The facilities were cleaned regularly, but the cleaners job at the older facilities was a thank less task!

If you had a tent, the walk to the better facilities (for number 1s) would be an absolute pain in the backside.

During our stay we also looked at a number of the pitches with the stone BBQs and chatted to their occupants – the pitches would really struggle to host a large 6 berth with awning/annexes.

So key pitfalls to avoid are a bad pitch on Le Parc (ideally avoid completely), and the facilities near Le Parc

I concur with the other reviewers view of the shared facilities – pool, beach etc which are really good for young families.

So in summary – In peak season, I would avoid La Croix, unless a beach or under the tunnel pitch was available – if these pitches were available, then la Croix would a very good option.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Dubdogs 127 reviews from this member

We stayed at this site for one night whilst touring in the area. Unfortunately we hadn't done any research on the site, otherwise we wouldn't have stopped.

It's a massive resort type complex and our preference is for small rural sites.

If you're after takeaway pizza, swimming pools, bar showing the football, etc, etc, then this site would be good for you.

The site was expensive and not kept particularly clean. I wouldn't recommend the site.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Marshland 3 reviews from this member

I agree with most of the comments in that this is a really good site well worth its 5 stars so I won't repeat details of the facilities.

The main touring pitches are either on grass around the furthest fishing lake but even their there are plenty of electric/water points and near to reception where the pitches are of adequate size but have electric, water and waste on each pitch.

Unusually there is a small covered area with a stone barbecue for each pitch.

Reception is open 8am to 7pm and is staffed by helpful English speaking staff.

There is a tarmac area for late arrivals or for people who leave between 10pm and 7. 30am

It is expensive at 30 euros a night but if you belong to the camping card scheme then off season this is reduced to 18 euros a night.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jembob 2 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a fantastic 12 night break at this campsite. Campsite Quite easy to find upto the point of driving through the village, this bit after a long drive may throw some people ! We found reception friendly and were shown our pitch, which was a great pitch. Our pitch was to the right of the reception as you look at it, can't remember the avenues name, sorry, it was under a lot of lovely blossom trees, big grassy pitch with high hedge around the 3 back sides, lowering to a smaller hedge to the front, a lot of camper vans used this area too. Own water pipe, twin electrics (3/2 pin), no grey waste drain so we asked about and the general consensus was to tip it around the hedge row, it seemed to work !?! Also pitch was handy for toilet block (unisex), which never bothered us, showers and loos all well kept and cleaned regularly (you need to take toilet paper too, so make sure you have some to hand before sitting down ! Lol ). The shop was very handy too, same as usual though, a bit more expensive than the small supermarket in the village, and cheaper still the big Cora hypermarket in Soissions. The bakery on site next to the shop was lovely too, again a bit more expensive, but not dear ! Gorgeous French bread and croissants for breakfast. Whole site biggest we've been to, about 1 kilometre long, 3 pools, two indoor and one outside, 2 slides, great for all ages, three lakes, one with a beach, pedalos on one lake and a lot of fishing too. Our cars never moved for the first week we got there because the weather was brilliant and so much to do on site, only really ventured out the two dull days we had. Overall a great site for our family and kids 7-11, but if your looking for a quiet get away, maybe not. Handy site bus to euro Disney too about 16 euro a adult I think ?? 9 per child, took the hassel out of driving around Paris ! We also went to a few war memorials too, well worth a look. The tourist info shop in the village is brilliant too, very helpful. Now for those dads that fancy a beer away from the family and not paying the earth for it, the welcome cottage inn at the bottom of the village was good, and if you buy a few rounds in there the landlord will give you a lift back too ! We WILL be back again, but there's a lot of France still to explore !

Previous     81 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Picardy Nord-Pas-de-Calais

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over £885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth £119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3181 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019