Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Highside Farm Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Co Durham > Middleton In Teesdale > Highside Farm Camping Site Reviews

Highside Farm Camping Site
Bowbank
Lunedale
Middleton In Teesdale
Co Durham   (Browse area)
DL12 0NT
Tel: 01833 640135
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 9
Open: 25/05/2021 to 31/08/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 32 Reviews
                9/10 from 32 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  32 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Bestyman 46 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for two nights in a motorhome. We had the site to ourselves.

The site is small with toilets and showers which are very clean. The views from the site are scenic, it was nice to sit outside with such a nice view. The site is sloping and the ground uneven and bumpy in places.

On arrival the owner told us the rules, to pick up after the dog and departure time is 12. He also offered helpful advice about the local area.

The nearest village is Middleton-in-Teesdale which is 1. 9 miles away on a road walk. Itís a steep hill all the way down.

The cost for 2 people and a dog without electricity was £20 per night. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Bongonaut 1 review from this member

 Excellent little site, quiet and peaceful, fantastic hosts, wonderful views, facilities are convenient and very clean. We will be using this site again and it is now or 'location of choice' in Teesdale. 


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Roobydoobs 1 review from this member

 This site is amazing! So peaceful and quiet. The owners were extremely pleasant. The site is very small and very well kept. Toilets and a shower very clean smelling. Fresh with flowers in a vase, clean towels daily, always plenty of toilet roll. The views are magnificent. A small piece of heaven. Dog friendly. Would definitely be back again. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: BRhule 11 reviews from this member

 Lovely little site! Only space for a few pitches so nice and peaceful and private. Facilities are basic but everything you need and kept clean. No electric light in the loos which wouldn't have been good if we needed to go in the night. We have a portaloo in the tent so not a problem for us. Views are absolutely stunning. It is quite exposed and we had terrible weather for a few days so be prepared to batten down the hatches! Middleton in Teesdale is a really lovely village. We bought some steaks from the farm which were delicious. We visited High Force and Low Force falls which were really pretty. Drive to Durham. Well worth s visit. 
Management response: I am the owner of Highside Farm camosite and wish to correct this review. I have no idea why the review says we have no lights in the toilet block. The main room with the shower and toilet has got electric lighting. The washing up room and small emergency toilet have no lights. We restrict the number of people (not units)on site to ten or less so this has never been a problem.

Our site is in a wonderful area for night sky watching so we keep the lighting to a practical minimum as people who leave the lights on can spoil the night sky for others.


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Zedsmith 5 reviews from this member

 Oh my gosh! this is just a peach of a site. It's so good that I don't want to tell you just how good it is as I want it all to myself! But I can't be on holiday all the time so here's my 10 out of 10 review.

First off, the friendly owners are so welcoming making you feel so at ease, and they are brimming with local knowledge and suggestions of what turned out to be some marvellous walks.

The site itself is in a picture postcard setting, and the fantastic owners do not allow to become overcrowded, which adds an air of peacefulness and serenity knowing you aren't going to be hemmed in.

The facilities are as posh as popping round my gran's house, in so much as they are immaculately clean and there's even a bouquet of flowers in the toilet room.

The local towns and villages are fab with some lovely shops and pubs, some of which let dogs in too.

Dog tolerant, close to local amenities, this site is a small piece of heaven (but don't tell anyone) 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: PaulaMB 19 reviews from this member

 Really lovely tiny site. I think it takes 8 people. Amazing location with lovely views. Really nice owners.

We pitched in the small field with an uninterrupted view of the valley, there were 8 campers in total (3 tents). One (very good hot) shower and two loos, immaculately clean with loo roll, clean hand towels, good indoor washing up area, a local information book, vases of flowers, beautifully kept lawns/gardens. Just lovely.

£27 pn for two adults plus a child (and dog who I think was free) - very special, quiet and beautiful.

We visited Barnard Castle and walked to High Force. Lots to do locally including the Bowes museum and Raby Castle. We loved it and hope to return, we bought the local OS map when we were there which is always a sign that we loved the site! 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: John+Kazza 6 reviews from this member

 Stayed for 2 nights and delighted with what this site offers. From online booking process through to arrival on site. Site is small but offers everything it says it does. Offered a choice of pitches as 1st to arrive. Shown the on site facilities that are minimal but more than adequate. Pitched and watched the scenery change over Friday night to Saturday morning. Shopped Saturday in Middleton in teesdale (2 miles down road). Then a magical mystery tour taking in the sights and sounds of the surrounding area. BBQ and beers for the night time whilst enjoying the sunset. Animals will keep you entertained from the chickens that have the free roam of the site through to the lambs, sheep and cattle in the surrounding fields. Would gladly book again 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Paulboyles 5 reviews from this member

 If it is peace and quiet you are looking for, then this is the place to be. The Campsite only let a maximum number of people on the site at anyone time so is never overcrowded. Bathroom and Wash up facilities are very good and there is an abundance of fresh eggs and meat available on site. Richard and Stephanie are very welcoming and will assist in getting the caravan or trailer tent on site if needed. The views are amazing and is spectacularly dark at night so amazing views of the stars. I would heartily recommend this campsite as a peaceful and relaxing base for the area. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: AhgdP 8 reviews from this member

 A beautiful location, a few miles drive from Middleton, as mentioned in previous reviews and the owner was very helpful in helping us to position our rented vehicle. Facilities were clean but there was just one shower (my husband had to wait half an hour for one elderly lady to finish!) and the water quality was compromised, being significantly tainted by a high concentration of dissolved iron which left our skin with a metallic odour and a bloodlike taste in our mouths. Given the idyllic setting we would have overlooked these issues and been very happy to return if it were not for the cost of our stay- at nearly £40 this was by far the most expensive night's camping we have ever experienced anywhere. 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tonib1586 1 review from this member

 Just returned from this campsite today after having a lovely experience, this is a small campsite with beautiful views. The owners are lovely and take the time to show you the facilities and even took us into their personal property to show my children the lambs, their horses and chickens are always close by for you to admire also. The facilities are excellent, a small, immaculate toilet which is seconds away from the main site, adjoined to that is a washroom for pots and pans, again immaculate, then you have your family shower room, it has a main lock on the door, inside a toilet and freestanding shower and sink, spotless. This is the perfect site for a quiet vacation with family. If it's a loud, boozy camping experience I wouldn't recommend, but that's solely out of respect for the owners as their beautiful stone farmhouse is close to the campsite and they have a lot of animals to tend too, overall I would recommend this site if your after a quiet, relaxing stay with amazing views, 5 mins by car to Middleton Teesdale, we will be returning in the near future. 


Previous     32 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Highside Farm Camping Site child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Highside Farm Camping Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Highside Farm Camping Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Middleton In Teesdale      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Co Durham

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet New Forest Caravan & Motorhome Show 21/05 to 25/05
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5277 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement