Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Woodland Springs Touring Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Site Reviews

Woodland Springs Touring Park
Venton
Drewsteignton
Exeter
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
EX6 6PG
Tel: 01647 231695
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 81
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 98 Reviews
                8/10 from 98 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Adults Only   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  98 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Gudlucker 3 reviews from this member

One of the best and well kept sites I have visited, toilet block exceptionally clean, pitches well laid out and immaculate. 5 Star site in all respects from ease of booking to facilities available at a competitive price.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Boo-yeh 3 reviews from this member

We were here for a short weekend break attracted by the fact that it is adult only and not wanting to run the gauntlet at other more family orientated sites - been there, done that?!?

This is a wonderful little park with friendly owners and good clean facilities. Everything is within easy reach and access both around and to the site is good.

There are a number of very good pubs nearby and plenty of attractions if you're so inclined. The location next to the beauty of Dartmoor is excellent.

This is a wonderful quiet site and we will be returning.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Palmera 3 reviews from this member

We've just returned from a week at Woodland Springs, our second visit as we liked it so much when we spent a week there last year. Despite some pretty foul weather the toilet block was always immaculate, no muddy footprints etc! As we are tenters the cleanliness of the toilets, showers, and washing up area are very important to us and we wouldn't have returned for a second visit if they hadn't been immaculate. The whole site is well managed by the owners Chris and Jan who are very friendly and helpful, and they are a good source of information about the area.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Axchal 10 reviews from this member

A very pleasant, well run and maintained adults only site with large pitches most bordered by attractive trees and shrubs. The log cabin shower/toilet block is spacious and scrupulously clean. For dog lovers there is a large, mown field surrounded by woods for free running. We booked for a week, taking advantage of the 7 for 5 offer, but stayed for a fortnight. Central position for exploring Dartmoor and the south and north of the county. Altogether very pleasant stay and highly recommended.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Draymma 1 review from this member

The site is clean and tidy, toilet and showers also. Pitches are smaller than expected with only a small strip of grass next to gravelled hard standing. WIFI didn't work and after 4days they finally gave a refund. TV reception was very bad, only 1 channel clear enough to watch. No shop only pre order of bread/milk etc.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: VosperDon 2 reviews from this member

Chose this site as it's handy for Exeter and the National Park. Easy to find from A30 no narrow lanes to negotiate from there.

Clean and well maintained site with good facilities. Adult only but we have no problems with kids. We didn't have any problems with dogs as some reviewers mentioned.

On the down side this was the most expensive site that we have visited with the smallest pitches which I would describe as adequate rather than generous.

8. 00 for late departure, no point in leaving at 11;00am if visiting only for the weekend so we had to pay that. 2. 00 per day for WiFi (we can live without that)and 2. 50 each 'day charge' if we had invited our daughters (adults) to the site for a meal are charges that are free elsewhere.

There is a 1. 00 off per day voucher on the website but that is for any balance to paid on arrival, as we were asked to pay fully in advance this would have been difficult to redeem.

Gate locked at 11. 00pm to 7:30 am means you can't leave in case of an emergency without calling the owner.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tyvix 3 reviews from this member

This was our second visit to woodland springs, the attraction for this adult only campsite is the great location for trips to Dartmoor with the lovely views, walks & wildlife that Dartmoor offers.

We stayed for 7 nights with our new tent and this time our 2 dogs, the dog exercise field was great for our dogs (which cannot be off their leads) on a few occasions other dog owners had not cleaned up after their dogs which we feel is unfair, this responsibility should be the dog owners as the bin to put the bags in is just as you leave the field, we feel it was just laziness of the dogs owners and definitely not Chis or Jans responsibilty to clean up.

The site showers & toilets are the cleanest we seen, always hot water and never a queue to use, the washing up facilities are superb and very clean. There is a washing machine & dryer to use with tokens to be purchased from Chris or Jan from the small but essential stocked shop, with fresh bread which can be ordered every morning, fresh milk, cold cider etc.

There is a information hut where there is a variety of information regarding the area plus a freezer to use, coffee machine that has a lovely fresh coffee very reasonable priced.

The site is well maintain and nothing is to much trouble for the owners both are very knowledgeable of the area and will offer advice if/when asked including weather, finding times of high tides or which beach is best to take dogs to. The pitches are very spacious with small trees or shrubs separating the pitches, the site do like you to recycle and this is very clearly marked on each bin. This is all found in the welcome pack you receive on arrival, wifi is availed at an extra cost.

There are a couple of lovely pubs to have a quiet drink in and serve lovely food.

This site is perfect for seeing Devon and we will be back in August with our 2 dogs and for 14 nights this time.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Exlincolngirl 4 reviews from this member

We've just returned from a simply stunning 4 night break at Woodland Springs - we re-booked for another later in the year before we left.

The main selling point is the actual peace & quiet- we love kids - have had them, got the grandchildren & all the relevant T-shirts, but nothing beats a few days away with simply stunning views & no ball games!

The site is immaculate. The hedges were being trimmed (& there are a lot) which did add some afternoon noise! We had intended going all over the area, but confess the weather was so good, on 2 days, we merely slipped out to a pub for meals. The site is SO clean, as are the toilet/shower blocks - which are kept open when cleaning is going on (unlike some sites where you are told to come back later!). We often stay in the New Forest, & now use 'green pods' all the time, so the toilet rule re what to put in it, was no problem, & shouldn't be for anyone nowadays. When I needed milk - the shop had run out, so I ordered one for the evening - but about 30 minutes later, up comes Chris (owner) to our pitch with milk freshly purchased from the local farm! That's service.

The pitch itself was plenty wide enough, & deep enough - having read through these reviews, I'm under the impression folk will moan about anything! We sat on the grass, in our chairs, with our well behaved dogs under a UV sun umbrella.

We sampled 3 different meals out in 3 different pubs, but intend going back to The Drew Arms in Drewsteignton as it was SO good.

The shop sold delicious ice-cream, & we tried 5 of the different flavours - yes, the shop is open limited hours, but just watch how hard the 2 owners work - it really is not necessary to have it open all day long.

The information lodge was stacked with leaflets, walks etc, & the coffee machine was very tempting - but we now have our own small bean to cup machine!

I wouldn't fault anything (apart from the loud diesel noise from the hedge cutter - but when could it be done on a 7 day per week, all year round site? - we fully understood!)

Can't wait to go back - hopefully to late autumn sunshine!

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lenny123 2 reviews from this member

Well, there were some great bits to this site and some. Well, not so great.

My party con sited of me my wife and out little jack russel Joe

The site is immaculate and well maintained with little extras such as a laundry and information centre

The shop on site was just a wooden shed only opened a certain times of the day. There was a service they provided for pre ordering bread I ordered some great croissants they were nice. Only to find out that on our trip to the local town I found out they had come from lidl and they were cheaper in store. Not happy with that.

The staff were very welcoming when I arrived

I quite agree with another reviewer, the site has got a very big welcome pack its more like a book it took my wife about 30min to read the thing before we could properly settle down and start our holiday.

There was no hedge or boarder to speak of between the vans just a few pots placed here and there.

The shower and toilet block was very well cleaned and maintained showers were free and lovely and hot only downfall you had to keep pressing the shower button every so often as it went off not the best when you have shampoo on your head and your trying to find the button with your eyes closed.

My wife also noticed the owner going around with a sprayer like backpack spraying everywhere which I presumed was weedkiller I was annoyed at this because I took my dog for walks on the path in witch they was seen spraying I had to wash his feet as they became sore.

An ok site but not the best we have stayed at

We would stay here again if we were heading to cornwall but only as a one night stop.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Subo 8 reviews from this member

Excellent site with easy access. Medium size pitches, some all weather, some grass. Very faint road noise in far distance. Overall, 9* but with a couple of small negatives.

The toilets only had 4 cubicles and no urinals for the men. Also only 2 showers in each of men's and women's block. However, in spite of a virtually full site, there was never any congestion. The water in the shower was hot enough but one had to keep pressing the button every 6/8 seconds which was a bit annoying especially for my wife when she wanted to wash her hair.

A small shop with basic things in reception and also delicious fresh bread in the morning. Very friendly wardens.

Good dog exercise area (nearly everyone had dogs) and a 25 minute walk to a dog-friendly pub across the fields with really good food.

Would definitely visit again if in the area.

Previous     98 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (South)

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over 885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth 119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1160 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019