Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Woodland Springs Touring Park

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Devon (South) > Exeter > Woodland Springs Touring Park > Reviews

Woodland Springs Touring Park
Venton
Drewsteignton
Exeter
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
EX6 6PG
Tel: 01647 231648
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 81
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 117 Reviews
                8/10 from 117 Reviews

Photos (27)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  117 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: June 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pixie_Hez 109 reviews from this member

 We used this site for a 2 night stopover on our way down into Cornwall and it was a great place to stop or to stay for longer. Access is very easy as it is not far from the A30. There is a very distant hum of traffic that can be heard from the A30 but even my husband, who is very sensitive to road noise, wasn’t bothered by it.

We were greeted by a very friendly warden when we arrived and given basic information. About half an hour later he came round to make sure we were okay and has got set up and to answer any questions we had. We saw him around a few times during our stay and he was always cheerful and friendly.

We were on Rosie’s Field which is the most spacious part of the site and has its own shower block with individual shower rooms with a shower, toilet and basin in each one. These were kept spotless at all times.

Our pitch was very spacious and had perfectly placed water and waste on the pitch. We had a grassy area behind and to the side of the pitch and there was always a bit of shade to be found somewhere on the pitch which was much appreciated as it was very hot when we were there.

We visited castle Drogo which is just a couple of miles away and found it very interesting. This was an ideal, peaceful stopover for us and we would definitely use it again. 


Date of Visit: June 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Helenc 7 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely site. Adults only, friendly staff. Good pitches, flat and far apart.

Lots of green spaces in between. The site could get loads more pitches in the area but has opted for giving people more room.

Great shower block, very clean and of a high standard.

Very well sign posted and easy to find. We would definitely go back there again. 


Date of Visit: May 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jenny8 1 review from this member

 Stayed in Rosie’s field in our motorhome.

Super peaceful site, friendly staff and top facilities.

Easy access from A30 and to local attractions eg. Castle Drogo, Finch Foundry and Fingle Bridge. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Harrietliberty 5 reviews from this member

 The site itself is beautifully kept with a lovely dog walk with some agility equipment and balls provided. The toilets and showers were very clean.

We visited along with a friend and between us we have 4 Golden retrievers. Once we had set up the windbreaks to create an enclosed garden, I briefly showed our friend a new piece of equipment in our motorhome and my two dogs showed their disapproval by barking.

We then went back and sat in our garden and relaxed, the dogs having settled down in the shade.

The lady owner then asked to speak to one of us privately and said that she had heard the dogs barking from her office and that they did not tolerate barking. She repeated that they would not tolerate barking at least another two times and said she didn't want us to feel uncomfortable and she knew we would do our best to keep them quiet.

This left my friend feeling very uncomfortable as although our dogs are generally good, we cannot guarantee that they will not bark again, especially when they are excited in the dog field.

As soon as our friend told us about the conversation, we agreed that this also left us feeling awkward and uncomfortable and none of us felt that we wanted to stay for our planned 2 nights.

I went up to the office to explain this and the owner said that on this occasion she would give us a full refund.

I felt that she was quite aggressive - arguing about what she had said and that if that was what my friend was saying she should have come up with me. When I pointed out that there were other dogs barking, she said that I didn't know if she had spoken to them as well and that she was not going to be bullied by her customers. She said that she was full that weekend and she didn't want complaints which I appreciate, but we had only been there a couple of hours and when she came to talk to us our dogs had settled and were quiet.

We packed up and left, having been on the site less than 3 hours.

I think that if you had no problems and she had no reason to speak to you, you would have a lovely time at the site, but if she felt that she needed to speak to you, you would feel quite differently about the experience.

The promised refund has been processed and credited to us.

I have had to put that we stayed 1 night although we did not end up staying more than 3 hours, because 0 was not an option 


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Lee + Caroline 17 reviews from this member

 We booked a fully serviced premium pitch and were delighted with it: an enormous hardstanding pitch, surrounded by grass and young hedging, overlooking a mound of wild flowers in the centre and backing onto mature trees (at a distance, so well away from our caravan).

It is in the countryside so a bit of a drive to get to many of the places of interest locally, however the peace and quiet on the site more than made up for a car journey to reach the sights.

We were on pitch 2 in Rosie's Field; a lovely spot in full sun for most of the day, but numerous swallows perched on the telephone wires above part of the pitch - it was good to see them, however we had to be careful not to sit directly underneath! If you prefer the shade, you'd be better on the opposite side of the field.

Spotlessly clean site with what appeared to be new showers/toilets (and another new block which hasn't yet opened).

The reception has a little shop (doesn't supply bread or eggs) but we used supermarkets on our way back from our days out.

I notice the description on UK Campsite says there is wifi but, disappointingly, we were told on arrival that there wasn't wifi on the site so we were glad we did a bit of research at home!

Pub only 1 mile drive away (The Post Inn) which did reasonable pub food and real ale but it seems to get very booked up. (Has wifi)

Places to visit:

Castle Drogo (NT) is interesting and has a beautiful garden.

House of Marbles/Teign Valley Glass was worth a quick visit.

Dartmoor National Park

Steam railway from Paignton to Kingswear (return), which includes ticket for the ferry to/from Dartmouth.

Exeter - the Prospect Inn at Exeter Quay had very pleasant staff and was extremely clean. (It was good to see all staff still wearing masks, plenty of hand sanitiser and menus cleaned after use. ) We had some good fish & chips and a delicious hummus, spinach and sun-blush tomato wrap with sweet potato fries for lunch! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Parkan 1 review from this member

 We spend a great time here. This place is really nice, peaceful, clean with a friendly costumer cervice.

The campsite is close to the sandy beach and also close to Exeter.

Highly recommend for everyone 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Janema 1 review from this member

 Very clean and modern toilet and shower block. And pleasant well kept site and very quiet and peaceful.

We stayed there to see my husband’s brother who lives in Devon and although we relied on him to pick us up from the site, he was not allowed to come closer than the car park. It would have been nice to have a drink in the motor home before going out so that was the only problem.

There is no bus stop near so motor home owners are stuck. Also the roads leading to the park are extremely narrow so not good for large motor homes.

Otherwise a nice site if you have a car. 


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Journo 18 reviews from this member

 Beautifully kept site with excellent, heated facilities. Secure and COVID compliant.

I was pleased to see more shrubs and hedges and more green space altogether than when I last visited some seven years ago. But there can always be more to detract from a suburban feel!

Short on views but the flip side is the site's not obtrusive. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Chalky9 39 reviews from this member

 A very well laid-out, well-maintained site. We had a hard-standing, full service pitch.

The hard-standing area is just wide enough for caravan and car, but a number of other people choose to park their cars in front of their ‘van which makes the place look rather crowded and untidy.

The facilities are immaculate, down to the enclosed area for rubbish and recycling. There is a nice field where dogs can be let off the lead, and a separate picnic and BBQ area.
There are plenty of trees and shrubs around the site, and good hedges between one line of pitches and the next.

The lady who greeted us on arrival was friendly, as were the other wardens. 


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: The Flintstones 1 review from this member

 This site has so much going for it as it is ideally situated off the A30 and an ideal base for touring Dartmoor from. Take care not to miss the entrance as the A382 does not give much scope for turning a van round as you head further south on it and does become quite an adventure as it narrows to single lane in places.

The site itself is immaculate, facilities are spotless and the trees surrounding the site make this a very pretty destination. Well worth going to however for us there were also a few things that made this slightly less perfect for us and a tad overpriced over our 6 night stay and we feel worth mentioning so others can check prior to booking if of importance to them:

WIFI- the site advertises as this being available. When we arrived our booking in sheet was annotated with 'no WiFi available' and the lady who booked us in briefly told us it was too flaky and therefore not available. Our devices could identify a woodland springs WiFi but could not connect as we had no access code. This was disappointing for us as it was one thing we'd chosen the site for so we could use the web to search the area and maps out online. No reduction in fees was given for lack of this. This may not bother some people but maybe worthwhile checking with owners prior to booking.

TV reception- our pitch had no TV reception at all for the whole of our stay either. We wondered if the problem was with our kit or tv but have checked on coming home and it all works fine. Again this may not be of importance to others but it was to us.

Pitch size - we were in the central aisle of the site and felt the outer approaches were narrow and the hardstanding we were on was a wee bit small and felt extremely close to vans and cars either side of us. The parking of cars was in front of the grass area of each pitch and this meant next doors boot was slightly in front of our van and likewise our boot was slightly in front of our neighbours van. This slightly detracted from the beauty and peacefulness of this site for us.

If lack of WIFI, TV reception and feeling of small pitches and closeness to others doesn't bother you then this is a superb site to stay on and we would thoroughly recommend it for location, cleanliness and peaceful views. 
via mobile


Previous     117 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Woodland Springs Touring Park child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Woodland Springs Touring Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Woodland Springs Touring Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Exeter      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (South)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...

  

  

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4210 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement