Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Troytown Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Isles Of Scilly > St Agnes > Troytown Campsite Reviews

Troytown Campsite
Troytown Farm
St Agnes
Isles Of Scilly   (Browse area)
TR22 0PL
Tel: 01720 422360
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 40
Open: February To November

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 9 Reviews
                10/10 from 9 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 1 mile 
 Beach On Site   Watersports 1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring 1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Smorgasbord- 2 reviews from this member

Self supported visit to Troytown as a solo camper in a modest tent. The site was busy so finding a pitch was not straightforward, families tend to sprawl a bit more here with large awnings, tables, pallets and windbreaks (you do wonder how they get it all on site with the restrictive 15kg per bag limits). Found a pitch that although downsloped a little did have tremendous views out into the North and West. Facilities were busy and reasonably clean. The charging pods were never free - a consequence of the times and the island location. Free wifi means most campers will be using their devices during the evenings and desperate for charging overnight and in the morning. A time-limited system of small fee might be required to manage this better. The context of the site means environmental noise is limited to cows, birds and the sea. Anything else (ie. Other campers) is unfair to judge as it will vary for every new visitor. I had a noisy large family nearby who played and made a racket well beyond 10, but I was just unlucky.

The shop is well reviewed elsewhere, basic sundries and of course the exceptional ice cream. One does need to be quite self sufficient if staying a long time as provisions need to be bought from further afield. The local shop/post office is handy for basics, St. Mary's CoOp will supply quite a lot more but requires a planned off-island boat trip. The walk to-from the (very agreeable) pub (next to the island's only quay) is a good 15-20 minute walk, albeit an idyllic one.

Be prepared for inclement weather here. There are few options if the weather turns foul, you'll need to have a robust tent and be content with limited food options if you can't or won't cook on your own equipment. Like everything on Scilly, this will not represent great value for money, everything costs that little bit more but there are few other campsites in the UK that could offer anything close to this sort of setting, it's genuinely unique.

Improvements: a slightly better stocked shop, a drying room for equipment, 'policed' charging facilities.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Campernewby 1 review from this member

Best campsite ever- I'm going back!

We had a pre- erected bell tent for 3 nights, pricey but worth it, so easy, v v spacious and very well equipped. Lovely friendly folks who run the site, gorgeous little patch of paradise this island. All very relaxed, no one worried about our free range toddler and dog, we made some friends, and got taken on a treasure hunt!

We normally use our campervan but tbh I'm thinking if buying a big tent just to go here every year.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jopianna 2 reviews from this member

I have a suspicion that Troytown fans want to keep St. Agnes to themselves!

Ice-cream from cows with names; pitches by the sea; watching seals as you eat breakfast; catching your own crabs at low tide; no cars and islanders who remember your name. Enough said.

The campsite is great too, with facilities improving (refurbished showers - woo-hoo) every year.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Andrew Green 2 reviews from this member

We visited Troytown campsite during a period of variable weather. The site is a set of 4 well-draining fields running parallel to the rocky shore, bounded by low stone walls, with incredible views west over the Western Rocks and the Bishop Rock Lighthouse. The site slopes gently to the shore, meaning that there are very few flat pitches, but it is almost impossible not to have a decent view.

The view cannot be overstated. It is expansive (180 degrees of sea), beautiful, and at the same time because of the various desolate rocks rather surreal, like a 'Lord of the Rings' scene. On calm clear days one is treated to amazing sunsets. On windy and wet days however, one is treated to whatever the Atlantic and its prevailing westerly winds can throw at you.

Do not, I repeat, do not come with a flimsy tent. A couple of weeks before we arrived there had been a gale which blew down every tent on site except the sites own bell tents and an Outwell tent of the Lake variety with the horizontal stabilising poles as well as the vertical alloy hoops. This probably means a lot of other Outwell tents blew down, because when we were there about half the tents were of this make.

The very pleasant toilet attendant who was a tent observer says the tents he thought were best were canvas dutch ones - a sort of bell tent/pyramid tent. He was very unimpressed with fibreglass tunnel tents.

The facilities are straightforward and very well maintained. One toilet/shower block with washing up/laundry/recharging facilities. Apart from the showers (50 pence for 3 mins), all the other services are free. There is even Wifi, which they don't advertise as it cannot be guaranteed that can be freely accessed as long as one is sitting near the farm shop. I guess on a bad day some sort of lounge/games room would have been good, but that is being nit-picky.

St Agness is a lovely island, small but perfectly formed. It doesn't in truth have the best beaches (try Tresco or St Martin's for these), although the sand bar connecting to Gugh is a good place to try as long as the tide is not fully in. As well as the farm shop (with home made ice cream) there is a post office stores, the Turks Head pub (really good - even locals from the main island of St Mary's come over to use it), and a tea room which sells fantastic cream teas.

Getting there is interesting. One unloads one's various camping bags (maximum individual size 15kg) into a steel container on Penzance quay (a nightmare on a stormy day with the sea breaking over the quay wall). It is essential that each item has a yellow tag attached (provided by the stevedores who help you load). Once in St Mary's harbour all luggage is transferred directly onto the Spirit of St Agnes, and it is then transferred directly from the Spirit of St Agness to the farm tractor trailer. All very efficient in both directions, leaving you to walk the shortish distance on foot to the campsite.

I loved it. (Wife loved the views but not the slope or the strong winds). As long as you know what you are choosing I can't imagine there is anywhere like it. The site on St Martin's, sheltered by high hedges and with no view seemed by comparison rather limp-wristed.

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dundrydave 3 reviews from this member

I used this camp site for the gig racing weekend.

Was very enjoyable and the views amazing, just wished I had time there to appreciate it because all the gig racing is run from st marys

The ferry is not very often but punctual although I saw the ferry man after the mens final gig race and he asked me when the next ferry was.

The showers were friendly and I recommend two tokens as one leaves you with a head full off bubbles.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 14+ Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Splendidisolation 2 reviews from this member

Ok, the boring bits first.

Four unisex showers, fifty pence (tokens from farm shop) for three minutes. Rarely had to wait and plenty of hot water now.

Toilets always clean.Four in ladies, three sinks and one sink in a cubicle.

Two coin operated hairdryers, one in Ladies, one in shower block.

Washing machine and tumble drier and one sink for hand washing laundry.

An area where you can charge mobile phones etc for free.

Three washing up sinks (inside) and a 'Help yourself shelf' where unwanted items (food, books, games etc) are left to be taken by other campers.Just get there early morning as leaving campers are packing up for the best 'finds'.

The important bits.

Campsite Farm shop

This sells its own, wonderful, homemade ice-cream in numerous equally wonderful flavours.Flavours change daily as they make them and you eat them.Not the cheapest though, so allow plenty of spending money.It's hard to walk by without buying one and you will walk by the shop 'many' times during a stay.

Farm shop also sells, milk, eggs, other dairy, meat(farm reared) and vegetables (farm grown) and will freeze ice-blocks (charge).

Other shops.

One Post Office/general stores.Sells most things you might need although you need to 'order' bread and newspapers a day or so in advance and Sunday papers do not arrive until Monday. Be aware though that prices are high due to transport costs from the mainland and then over to St.Agnes.

One pub, The Turks Head.Fantastic location, great beer, great food and for all you dog owners, very dog friendly.

One bulb/gift shop, one cafe and one cafe/restaurant.

The best bits.

This site is absolutely fantastic and this is due, primarily to its' location.Located on the west coast of St.Agnes(the most south westerly of the islands) with stunning views to the west and beautiful sunsets(weather permitting) from your tent.

The site slopes gently down to the foreshore which is very rocky in front of most of the site.To one end there is a small stretch of sand.

With just a small three foot high dry stone wall separating you from the foreshore the sound of the sea is a constant background noise.

There are three/four small fields and it has to be said, not a lot of shelter from the elements.It can be very windy here.You are on the most south westerly part of the UK with next stop to the west.America. A tent that stands up OK in the wind and decent pegs are useful.

There are boat trips to the other islands, trips to see birds and seals, and also evening trips to support and follow the inter island 'gig' races.

The Isles of Scilly are incredibly beautiful and anyone reading this review will probably already have made a decision to visit Scilly and have an idea of what they are coming to. If you like neat, flat, manicured pitches, entertainment, kiddies play areas and a Tescos on your doorstep then this is not for you!

It is a great island for children to explore, very safe and has a real 'last piece of England', 'Swallows and Amazons' feel about it.

There are no cars on St.Agnes, just the odd tractor and quad bike/buggy thing.

I can't sing its' praises enough and if you're looking for a peaceful, relaxing holiday in a remote, beautiful and unique setting, then this is the place for you.

This site books up very early for school summer holidays so you will need to book ahead for end July/August.

There are other campsites on the other small 'off islands' of St.Martin's and Bryher.And, if you like it busier, the main island of St.Mary's which is much bigger with more shops, pubs, cars and even buses / taxis.

It is not cheap to get to, and stay here, but it is, in my opinion, worth every penny.And if you avoid the main holiday times you may feel like you have the whole island to yourselves.Priceless.

P.S. Don't forget the suncream.When the sun shines here you 'catch' it very easily.

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Carled 2 reviews from this member

We stayed on the Troytown campsite for the first time a week or so ago. Whereas the unbeatable location, fantastically friendly and welcoming owners & staff and facilities are as good as could be hoped for, nevertheless we came away feeling slightly as though we'd intruded into a private party.

There are so many people that simply return year after year after year that, as a newcomer, you simply feel that you are getting in the way of the experienced ones, or taking their favourite camping place or in some way detracting from their experience. That isn't to say that the people we met weren't friendly. Far from it, we met some fantastic people who made us tea as we erected our tent or came and chatted freely to us or talked happily to us about the islands or even let me jump in their boat for a bit of mackerel fishing!

The campsite itself is gloriously situated on the edge of the Atlantic ocean, next stop a few rocks, then America. This leads to stunning views, glorious sunsets and a lovely background nosie, but you also get the weather pretty much unabated and there's a constant and stiff breeze most of the time. It's very much an 'enjoy nature, chill out' kind of place, there's nothing much to do in the way of entertainment apart from walk, fish, snooze, eat the wondrous local ice cream and basically enjoy the location, including great views of the famous bishop rock lighthouse. There are unisex showers (4 cubicles) lasting 3 minutes for 50p (tokens from farm shop) lots of (very) hot water and three sinks for washing up and drinking water. Separate mens and ladies toilets are also in the main block.

The farm shop dispenses the home-made sorbets and ice cream as well as basics such as Milk, butter and meat products. Farm-produced veg is also available. The post office is a 10 minute walk away and provides everything else (including fresh bread) that you'd need, but it needs reserving a day in advance! Also fresh croissants and pain au chocolate on a Sunday, but be there at 9am sharp or you'll miss out.

A further 5 minutes on from the post office is the Turks Head pub, a wonderfully friendly and comfortable pub that serves great food at not-too-horrendous prices. The local ale is great as well and the views are unbeatable.

Most campers at Troytown go back year after year. I'm left thinking that maybe that would be fantastic, or maybe a bit too much. I cannot fault the campsite one little bit though - go there, if only to experience the location just the one time.

Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Cymbollie 4 reviews from this member

Without a doubt my favourite UK campsite. Away from it all and the only Scillies campsite to allow dogs. We spent 4 fanatastic nights there last September in high winds, freezing cold and loved every minute of it. If you like remote campsites used by friendly, outdoors-loving people then you'll love Troytown. We're back there for our summer holidays this year.

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Olikat 1 review from this member

I'm a dedicated Isles of Scilly fan.  There is nowhere in England quite like it. 
 
There is more than one campsite in Scilly, all very unique, and having a completely "getting away from it all" feeling. 
 
Troytown Campsite at St. Agnes is on the shoreline.  One could even stay on the beach.  To get there, one could simply sail on the Scillonian, or dump their luggage on the Scillonian and fly either by Helicopter or Skybus form Penzance, or Land's end.  We (my children 10 and 12 and our dog) took the skybus.  When you get to the main Island St. Mary's, another boat has to be taken to whichever off-Island you are staying at.  In the case of St. Agnes, "The Spirit of St. Agnes, a catamaran is the boat that serves the Island.  On arriving at St. Agnes, your luggage will be transferred to the campsite for you as there is NO cars, just tractors and funny little buggies for the residents of the islands.  The island has a population of around 50.  You have to be prepared to walk everywhere, but with the Island just over a mile in every direction, this isn't too difficult.  On arriving at the campsite on foot, the view although extremely rocky and rugged is quite breathtaking.  The sea is crystal clear in between the rocks.  There is an abundance of wildlife and sea-life and rockpooling is second nature here.  We fell in love with St.Agnes, and we are sure that anyone who loves to camp, will fall in love with it too.  The only problem we found was that there wasn't a great deal of hot water as the shower block was quite oversubscribed, but hey, camping is just that, and by the end of the holiday, it really didn't matter.
 
We will be going again next year.  Early booking is recommended to avoid disappointment. 


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near St Agnes      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Isles Of Scilly

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth £100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4659 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019