Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Dovercourt Holiday Park (park Holidays Uk)

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Essex > Dovercourt > Dovercourt Holiday Park (park Holidays Uk) Reviews

Dovercourt Holiday Park (park Holidays Uk)
Low Road
Dovercourt
Essex   (Browse area)
CO12 3TZ
Tel: 01255 442435  or  0343 178 7070
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 80
Open: 29/03 To 03/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 7 Reviews
                7/10 from 7 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (20)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing 1 mile   Wild Swimming 1 mile   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Countrylemon 10 reviews from this member

Back again! Cannot believe there have been no reviews on this site since mine 2 years ago, but I shall update the followers of UKCampsite.co.uk anyway.

This site has had some money invested in the touring area since our last visit, there are around 24 hardstanding pitches plus grass pitches. The dicey water/Elsan point is gone, and each pitch has their own tap where the electric hook up point is. There are grey waste points too, and a whizzo new chemical loo emptying point/machine which requires a small fee to use but apparently empties and cleans your cassette for you, although we actually didn't use it.

The toilet block was reasonably clean, although a deep clean wouldn't go amiss. Plenty of hot water. As before travellers to and from Holland on the ferry use the site, but never heard a peek out of any of them.

As it was super hot (at the time of writing we are in need of much rain!) we used the pool which was lovely. The fish and chip shop on site is now under the management of 'Pieseas' which is a highly rated fish and chip shop in Harwich. The convenience store also had more stock.

The beach behind the site is lovely if you can make it up to where South Hall Creek enters the sea. According to the OS map it's called Middle Beach. As mentioned prior there are some mud/sand areas of beach so you need to pick your spot. Alternatively walk up towards Dovercourt itself and there is more sand.

The salt marshes behind the site are full of birdlife, if that's your thing, and other creatures no doubt. We saw families with crabbing buckets and nets, I'm sure there are crabs in there too!

Although this is a static site too with lots of static caravans, and also a clubhouse and entertainment venue, we didn't hear any noise whatsoever from them. It was very peaceful.

The nightly weekend rate of £35 may be too much for some, but as we are a family of 5 with 2 dogs, caravan with awning, and the entertainment and swimming are all included, we thought this was not bad. I can see however this would be a bit pricey for a couple, if indeed they don't reduce it for smaller parties. They do not take tents.

Overall we were pleased to see some attention had been paid to the touring area with the upgrades mentioned. No doubt we'll be back in a couple of years or so. !

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Countrylemon 10 reviews from this member

We stayed here for a weekend and really enjoyed our stay. As mentioned previously this site is mainly used by people taking the ferry to Holland, however they came and went all very quietly and didn't disrupt us at all.

They don't take bookings which we were a little anxious about but they had plenty of space, we were spoilt for choice of where to site the caravan when we arrived around 6pm. The grass was mown and the hedging between rows ensured privacy and a good windbreak. It was £30 a night all in, which for 5 of us is around the norm. We were parked close to the toilet block which had been recently cleaned (faint whiff of bleach). Plenty of hot water.

We walked to the beach, the lower stretch behind the caravan park is popular with dog walkers. Dovercourt Marine Parade beach is no dogs May-Sept. You need to watch the tide times - all but no beach at high tide. Also bits are more mud than sand - pick your spot.

We visited the Mayflower Project in Harwich on the Saturday afternoon, and had ice cream on the Ha'penny pier. Also visited play area alongside the small sandy beach in Harwich watching the cranes in Felixstowe. On the Sunday afternoon watched a kids matinee film at the Electric Palace Cinema in Harwich, which is a gem of a place staffed by volunteers. Harwich has plenty of old world charm. There were museums, and Redoubt Fort we didn't get chance to see.

The shop on site didn't have very much stock, and we didn't use any of the entertainment facilities or pool, though it was open on the Saturday. The play areas are really good. Dovercourt has two Co-ops (that we saw) and a small Asda.

My only criticism is that the drinking water tap and chemical waste disposal are alarmingly adjacent. Other than that we found nothing else negative about our stay, and really enjoyed our weekend.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Ch1ll1s 3 reviews from this member

We have used this site a lot this year, its used more for ferry over night stops, but don't let that put you off, the site is clean, very good club house, chip shop is ok, shop has every thing you need, touring field is away from the noise, lots of kids play grounds, and an indoor area is good, good outdoor pool, beech is 5 minute walk away, good electric, toilet/shower block is basic, staff are good and very helpful

Was here over the august bank holiday, and the toilet block wasn't cleaned once, not sure what went wrong, used our own, as it wasn't a nice site inside,

Will think twice about next time, shame as the family love it here, but I'm sure it will get better

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Perp123 1 review from this member

This was my second visit to this site, my first being in 2010.

The first time it seemed a little run down and in the past, however this time it was excellent. We enjoyed the soft play centre and the entertainment has changed a lot with plenty going on. The shower and toilet block are a little outdated but I was told this would be refurbished for the next season.

We also met a lovely couple of owners whilst there and must say what a pleasure it was too. This place is on the up and I will return next season.

Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Shiraz39 4 reviews from this member

We visit this site quite often as we have relatives who own a static caravan on the site. The park is quite well laid out. The touring field is on the edge of the park and over looking the banks to toward the coast. It is a lovely walk. The field is quite uneven in places, but nothing that cant be fixed by levelling your van. We never found it a real issue. The pitches are separated by rows of bushes so you have some privacy and are not just stuck in an open field. Fortunately we have not had any issues with electrics not working on any of the pitches we have plotted up on. (can see some of them are new hook ups as well). It can be prone to flooding in the winter / raining season, very easy to get stuck, have seen it happen quite often. (ok with 4x4 or similar).

The site facilities are reasonable. With an outdoor pool (which I must confess, does open, but never when I seem to be there). Club house is a little dated, but we hardly use club houses any way. Park and amusements are well laid out and suitable. Chip shop and cafť on site. With another sports bar (never been in it). The toilet and shower blocks are dated / pretty naff / cold and in need of a complete refurb. But usable if you have no choice (When we stay here, we tend to use our own shower). Would be great if the site upgraded some of their pitches to fully serviced, especially as the water tap and elsan disposal are a far cry from best we have used / seen. Both next to each other which is not very hygienic at all.

All in all this site is averagely priced and we do enjoy the views from the touring field. (Oh yes, we have also experienced the trial bikes roaring up and down the banks approx. 200 yards from the tourers on a calm Sunday morning / afternoon (was calm any way). This has happened twice in around 6 times that we have stayed here. If they upgraded the toilet blocks, fresh water / elsan facilities and banned trial bikes from riding up and down on the banks for hours on end, then I would have rated higher. Dovercourt is a pleasant town to visit. Beaches are nice and clean and peaceful. Local shops / takeaways / plenty of choice. Unable to comment on local pubs as we have not visited any.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Adamcraigscott 38 reviews from this member

Well I must agree with the other comments on this site the toilet blocks are awful the ground uneven and the club loud and old hat.

I wouldn't use this site out of choice but we have relatives nearby. Shame it could be a lovely site with a bit of TLC but at £28 per night very disappointing.

On the plus side you can have a leisurely walk along the shore to Dovercourt town and further on into old harwich and there plenty of room on the pitches.

There is a shop on site and play area for the children although it is not near the touring site. Swimming pool that I have never seen open.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: STEVEN JOHN 3 reviews from this member

I stayed at this site on the May Bank holiday, I think it is over priced at £26 a night with poor electricity; we spent most of the time resetting it. Our camping fridge could trip it out by itself, we went out when we came back you guessed it water everywhere the fridge had tripped the electric, Half the hook-ups donít actually work so plug in and check before you set up.

There is a big club on the site drinks are overpriced and entertainment is poor, you are better to order a cab into the town £3.50 where you could visit local pubs like the Alma, or the bell. We enjoyed our stay as the surrounding area is lovely, perfect walks and peaceful thatís when the motorbikes are not flying up and down the sea wall.

The toilet block is kept clean now, as you need a key to get in (£10) deposit, there are 3 showers the water is so restricted that you have to run round to get wet, these operate by pushing a button which stop about 2 seconds after taking your hand off.


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Essex

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over £205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3886 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019