Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Balquhidder Braes Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Perthshire > Lochearnhead > Balquhidder Braes Holiday Park Reviews

Balquhidder Braes Holiday Park
Balquhidder Station
Lochearnhead
Perthshire   (Browse area)
FK19 8NX
Tel: 01567 830293
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 50
Open: March To January

Rating: Average Review Score: 4/10 from 14 Reviews
                4/10 from 14 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  14 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: MarionS 1 review from this member

This site is looking a little tired. It was cheap to pitch for the night and it was lovely to be able to have a fire but there there are a few downsides.

The toilet block is a bit scruffy and the showers run on a button which allows the water to run for 10 seconds (I timed it). The shop seems never to be open (phoning the owner doesn't really appeal) and the noise from the nearby road is distracting during the day and makes it difficult to sleep at night.

The site is geared towards static caravans which are very close to one another. Log cabins up the hill looked great but the rest of the site needs an upgrade.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Visitscotland 2 reviews from this member

Me and my partner and our friends are just back from camping here for 2 nights.Before we went we read some reviews about this site, but went with a open mind. When we first arrived at reception, no one was there, and after phoning and waiting 20mins someone arrived.

We wanted a open fire, so we were the left side of the site.On the right side is caravans, toilets, kids park-which didn't look safe as it was right next to the road side. When we got told where to pitch, we started trying to put up the tent - it was a nightmare a total joke the ground was solid with rocks in the ground.

At that point I was very annoyed and wanted to leave - our pegs were getting bent and just coming loose. In the end a guy from another tent helped us and was also saying how bad the ground was.

The shop was okay, owner of site was very unhelpful and never seemed to have a smile on his face! Road was very close and noisy - took away the whole peaceful feeling. Some amazing views behind site. Also raspberry trees everywhere mmm!

Toilets disgusting and didn't help that in the night someone had been sick in the sink.Showers needed a good proper clean 2. On the first night midges weren't too bad but got eaten alive on second night. I do however recommend visiting lochearnhead and surrounding areas so lovely and peaceful. I will def return to lochearnhead but to a different site for sure.

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lazy Pete 3 reviews from this member

The site has a split personality, in more ways than are immediately apparent.

The right hand side of the site locates the mobile homes, caravans and lodges, is generally well-kept and is conversely home to the toilet facilities and shop which are more than adequate.

The tent side to the left by contrast was a bit scruffy and unkept, and is fundamentally marred by the road noise. The traffic is never loud enough to particularly irritate or keep you awake at night, but it kind of takes away one of the fundamentals of the peaceful camping experience. A bit like holidaying in a lay-by.

The possibility of lighting a fire restores a little kudos for the site, the staff were friendly and there is a decent pub a walk away. Likewise Lochearnhead and Ben Vorlich are only a short drive away so the site is in a great place for exploring the area.

So it's a poorly located site in a great location, if you know what I mean.

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: TOMTT67 7 reviews from this member

We visited this campsite briefly - we went in to pay the assistant who directed us to where we were to pitch our tent. When we got to where we had to pitch the grass was all rocky there was rubble all around and it was too close to the road. We did not even unpack the car we just left I didn't even go and get my money back .

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Jspankie 2 reviews from this member

Just returned from a night at Balquhidder Braes after getting a very good deal on the static caravan. Communication and directions from owner were very good and we were accommodated with our late check out request.
The caravan was lovely, clean and well equipped and this is were the positive ends I'm afraid. This was not like a caravan park for me, more like a caravan lane. I felt as though we were parked up on some country lane, with caravans all squashed together. There was only enough space between caravans to fit your car and a seat, your knees were practically touching the car. Unfortunately we couldn't see any of the view due to the positioning of the caravans, which was a shame as we were in a beautiful part of the world.

This park has huge potential if there was to be less caravans in it.

There are some really nice lodges here with wonderful views of the area and have a great size seating area outside. Next time I visit it will be to stay in the lodges. I haven't been put off returning to Balquhidder Braes, but I wouldn't recommend the caravans, stick to the lodges.

Date of Visit: November 2008 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: MWeir 1 review from this member

My Sister and I stayed for a night in the log cabins; we found the site brilliant and very relaxing. Great price and the accommodation was first class. The scenery is spectacular. I found the site owners to be very polite and helpful; nothing was too much trouble for them. Well stocked shop.
Fantastic walks and, an additional benefit, no need to use the car to go looking for places to visit. Will definitely visit again before too long.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Funkydelia 3 reviews from this member

I would agree with previous reviews. This site isn't great for tents. Yes we could have an open fire but we were situated so far from the toilets that you needed again the minute you'd walked back!

The ground is awful for pegs! Shop looked good, we came home because of the terrible weather so didn't really make the most of it.

Nice walk up the hill on the logging road.

We felt a bit 'out of it' and when we arrived nearly missed where we were supposed to pitch because we thought it was the tip! Nuff said!

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: SUZY999 2 reviews from this member

Booked into this site for 6 nights but ended up leaving after 4. The toilets were not clean and the shower was just not up to standard. There were two showers in each of the toilets but one was always locked up at night. The people on the site were mostly residents and were friendly and helpful.

Had a problem with the electricity going off and the handy man who came to fix it was very abrupt and unpleasant. The road is very noisy and unfortunately this does not make for a relaxing holiday. This site advertises itself as a 3/4 star but I would say it was nearer a 2 star.

The positive thing is that it is in amazing countryside with great cycling routes all around. When you are cycling all day the last thing you want to come back to is a dirty shower. There is not a lot round about the site but you can cycle into Strathyre.

We are a family of two adults and two kids aged 11 & 13 and have been camping for years and was extremely disappointed by this site. Would never recommend it to anyone or go back.

Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: JaneH 63 reviews from this member

Used as a one night stay whilst passing through the area, would not have stayed any longer. Toilet/shower block all ok but not a very helpful welcome, told there were several pitches free with EHU when there was only one. Had to drive down to the bottom of site and found it very tight to turn around. Not suitable if you are a light sleeper due to road noise.

Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lindac 2 reviews from this member

Just spent 2 nights at this site which claims to be 4 star. The pitches are unmarked and the ground so hard and full of stones we lost quite a few pegs. The camping area was badly kept and sandwiched between the main road and the caravans. The noise from passing traffic ended any ideas for a quiet weekend. Shower block was clean enough but the water was a trickle and stopped frequently. Shop is small and pricey. Tiny kids play area. This site is OK for a quick overnight stop but one to avoid for longer stay and definitely NOT 4 star standard.

Previous     14 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Lochearnhead      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Perthshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet NEC Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 18/02 to 23/02
Birmngham - Caravans, motorhomes, tents, folding caravans and 1000s of accessories all under one roof! ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2913 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020