Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Proctors Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Leicestershire > Loughborough > Proctors Park Reviews

Proctors Park
Barow On Soar
Loughborough
Leicestershire   (Browse area)
LE12 8QF
Tel: 01509 412434
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 5/10 from 29 Reviews
                5/10 from 29 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  29 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Markm125735gsf 1 review from this member

 This campsite is everything you want from camping in a tent, itís real camping. Pick a spot in the vast site which is located on the river soar and your away, beautiful surroundings as you are on the edge of the river soar, amenities are sound, pubs serving food a stones throw away.

You can loose yourselves for a weekend at this site without even leaving the site. Brilliant in my opinion 👍🏻 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: MonaLawrence 3 reviews from this member

 This "field" I won't call it a site, was the worst I've been on in over 30years of caravanning. In fact if it wasn't for upsetting our 2 young grandchildren, we would have forfeited the £66 we had paid and turned around and gone straight back home !

It was filthy with no drainage so it flooded as soon as it rained, the toilet blocks were filthy and smelt, it was strewn with abandoned caravans cars and trucks, in fact it very much resembled breakers yard.

One to definitely avoid ! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: BBernie 2 reviews from this member

 Well we entered and we left. Very unusual set up. There are what looks like abandoned, lived in, unloved and visiting caravans EVERYWHERE and no order whatsoever! There are no pitches marked out and we found it all very bizarre!

This is not a place we wanted to stay in especially with our small child. Granted you can drive through to the other side and have a whole field pretty much to yourself BUT you have a hike to the toilets. I didnít even look at the facilities because we just wanted to get out of there! 


Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Altory 2 reviews from this member

 Our recommendation would be to AVOID this site is a residential site and not suitable for Touring caravans. DO NOT Believe the website it is totally mis-leading.

We stayed here recently and will not be going back, the site is littered with abandoned Caravans, Cars, Boats and Lorries. Facilities definitely donít have ant frills in fact they are the worst I have experienced in Five years of caravanning. We had electric hook up and there was a water tap BUT I could not find any waste facility, I took grey waste home and tipped toilet waste down the manhole outside toilet block. When we arrived at about 4pm there was no one in the office so I tried contacting someone by the phone number on office window but it takes you to answer machine that tells you to visit website, so I tried phone number on website and that tells you to visit website, it was about 20 mins before some one turned up, we then spent the next 20 mins driving around site with the site owner trying to find a pitch that wasnít covered with litter. We werenít given the barrier code and it was 2 days before we found someone that was wiling to give us the code so we could actual leave site, otherwise we would have got back on.

Iím a keen fisherman this is the main reason we booked this site, it advertises lake and river fishing BUT the river is not accessible due to barges being moored all the way along the bank and the lake, which is a good 10 acre, has no staging nor is it accessible from the grass bank with a seat box, there is at least 4ft depth of reeds all around the lake with no gaps. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Apjozzy1968 2 reviews from this member

 The location of this site is good. You can walk into the village and try loads of nice pubs and two good cafes all the pubs serve food. There are shops and a wonderful lock and walk along the river. There are also great site moorings for boats too. Loads of things nearby like the Great Central Railway, Bradate Park and Leicester nearby.

The site itself is basic in terms of the toilets and showers. No soap nor loo paper and only a cold tap. The showers are basic but electric and work. Didn't try the clubhouse and the site is in need of a good tidy up and some facilities for children and new toilets and showers. Quite a lot of residential caravans but a little more care would turn a great location into a great site and stay. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bairn 1 review from this member

 This could be a great site if a bit of time and money was invested. It is a great setting but lacks the basic of things required to become a good site. The toilets are a disgrace and need refurbishment. The layout of the pitches could be better if it they were set out in a grid ref and numbered. Not a big job. Also the entrance could be a bit more inviting. All said and done I will still visit. But please upgrade as soon as possible and don't let a good area go to waste. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: ADYJET 7 reviews from this member

 We were hoping previous reviews were wrong but sadly they were not! We have driven past this site many times on our travels and I always thought its setting was great and it is as is the village. However, I am afraid the site is not! The gentleman who showed us onto the site seemed disinterested and said we could park where we like. No mention where anything was he just left us to it. We parked where the grass was the shortest about 10 inches long! Surely if you are going to run a campsite a pre-requisite is to at least cut the grass? We found the toilets were not good, the smell, broken windows, no heating no hot water no loo roll. We saw damaged caravans one with it's roof caved in and numerous old neglected caravans which appeared just left there and remembered a previous review saying a 'caravan graveyard' I am sorry to say I agree. The noise from the road was incessant more like a race track. We are happy to do 'basic' but I am sorry this site is not for us, we left at 6. 30 next morning. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: DeeCon 5 reviews from this member

 We visited Proctors Caravan Park from the 5/6/15 to 7/6/15.

How disappointing, this site has the potential to be a fantastic place to stay if someone would be willing to put some investment into it. Itís by the canal, not too far to walk to the lovely village of Quorn and Barrow upon Soar

The site has boat moorings and a working lock, seasonal caravans, static caravans and tents and to be honest it looks like a caravan dumping ground for old caravans of all styles, Please donít get me wrong Iím not one of these who thinks you need to replace your unit every couple of years or so and I love the idea that people enjoy their units for many years but these looked like they have been forgotten about, one caravan was up on a trailer going nowhere. There is another area under the bridge we did not go to this part as the approach was off putting. The entrance to the site is narrow and scruffy and there is no signage, reception opened from 12 pm which we think is late. There is a code you need to use to gain access out of hours. To exit the park from where we were pitched was a tight left turn, to make matters worse and even harder a van was parked in the turning area making it even harder to turn. This should be a no parking area and you would struggle with a larger unit.

This site looks like a very tired 1970ís holiday camp, it reminds me of a trailer park. Not sure if itís under new ownership but please invest in this potentially great site.

There are no clear marking of where to pitch which is fine I like the idea of freestyling but this site is too big to carry it off and some vanís were too close together, The grass was long, hook ups not placed with any thought, no toilet rolls in the loos, no soap and the, how are you meant to wash your hands correctly without these facilities. We did not use the showers and the chemical waste point was a trek. There is a bar on site but again we decided to walk to Quorn. For £16. 50 (because we booked early otherwise £17. 50) per night this site is over priced for what they have to offer. At this moment in time I would not use this site again.

There is a pub next door to the site and a Chinese across the road but we never used them.

Children allowed but we did not take any, dogs seem to roam freely

Come on owners give this site some TLC. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Singingintherain 4 reviews from this member

 We spent one wet night at Proctors Park over the bank holiday weekend and were very glad it was only the one night!

The site is dire with several dilapidated caravans, an old mattress and rubbish lying about and dirty toilet facilities. Most toilet doors had broken locks and some doors were too swollen to close. There was no hot water, not even for the showers.

The electric hook up unit looked like something you would find in the third world, with wires trailing out of it across the grass.

During our stay we didn't see any staff, so we can't comment on them. We were camping with another family, who had already pitched a tent for us before we arrived. The barrier code was sent with the booking email so there wasn't even someone on the gate.

While Leicestershire is a beautiful county, mostly peaceful and well worth a visit, the location of Proctors Park is unfortunately not the most peaecful. There is constant traffic noise from the A1, a busy train line nearby, pylons humming away and it is under a flight path. The one redeeming feature is that the site is surrounded by beautiful trees. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: EllieBee 3 reviews from this member

 We were looking for a campsite in the area to break up our journey north on the way home from a trip to the Isle of Wight in our campervan. We hadn't booked anything (now there's a lesson!) so just looked when we arrived in the area (an area I loved as a child). Stumbled upon this one. It didn't look great from the outside, but we just needed to stay overnight so how bad could it be? The answer is pretty bad!

We paid on arrival. Could see a whole field full of run down units. We asked if there was a quieter area and were directed beyond a bridge. On the other side there was what should have been an idyllic canal side field, however, again there were several run down, abandoned looking units, but the worst bit was the dog muck - lots of it, everywhere. We had our own dog with us, so I'm not an anti-dog person, but this was extreme, I couldn't even let our children out of the camper van - it was everywhere we looked. The whole place was scruffy and run down. We didn't attempt to find loos etc as we had no intention of staying in this place. We had paid, but simply left straight away and drove the 3-4 hours home late into the night instead. Disappointing. 


Previous     29 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Proctors Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Proctors Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Proctors Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Loughborough      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Leicestershire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5961 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement