Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Pakefield Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Lowestoft > Pakefield Caravan Park Reviews

Pakefield Caravan Park
Arbor Lane
Pakefield
Lowestoft
Suffolk   (Browse area)
NR33 7BQ
Tel: 01502 561136
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 12
Open: March To November

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 25 Reviews
                8/10 from 25 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  25 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Grandad Kenny 23 reviews from this member

Just spent three nights on what is a very clean site. Pitches are grass and very slightly sloping but large enough for caravan, awning and car. Toilet block is very clean and there is only one shower and toilet, although nine of the twelve pitches are occupied I have not had to queue or seen a queue. Friendly staff at reception and working around the site and friendly static owners. Great beach for dog walking, Lowestoft and Southwold within easy reach. Heated outdoor pool and swing park on site and newspapers available at reception. When I tried to book online all pitches were full but a phone call secured pitch 7 which is on the end, other pitches have been empty during our stay. A lovely quiet site.

Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Freckles63 52 reviews from this member

Our second visit to this site, first in 2012 at 16. 50, now in 2016 21. 00 includes ehu/ awning/ 1 car and if open use of their club/ pool.

Again very quiet as October although half term. The weather was gorgeous and warm/sunny, we arrived late on a Tuesday 8. 30pm but still had to pay for a full day and left the last day they were open for tourers Sunday 31st.

We visited Horsey beach for the seals and Happisburgh for the lighthouse.

We ate at Oddfellows, our favourite pub which is walking distance of the site.

We used the clubhouse to play darts and table tennis, we virtually had the place to ourselves.

We use this site as it's only 3 miles from where our son lives, we've tried a few others in the area but find this one the best for being able to walk/ run into Lowestoft and local amenities, the other sites all need a car to get to pub/shops.

There were at the most only 4 units on the 12 unit touring area and this reduced as the week went on, as I've said before the shower/ toilets are clean but only 1 shower in both mens and ladies is not enough!

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: GMC1958 40 reviews from this member

This was our third visit since 2013. The weather was against everyone with too much rain but, this is no fault of the site owners. Our visit was not as enjoyable as the previous two visits, why? lack of parental guidance! children riding scooters up and down the disabled access ramp to the toilet block at 0800 hours, shouting and laughing, not ideal if you are on pitch 12. Another elderly caravanner thought it appropriate to deposit his dogs poo bag in the bin inside the mens toilet, whatever next. We were then blessed with the motorhome visitor who insisted in slamming his doors numerous times through the evening. What happened to respect and decency. On this occasion we chose not to book for next year. The site was clean and well presented but still same issues with toilet block when site is full.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: London Viv 17 reviews from this member

Would agree with other reviews that this is a pleasant site, well kept and with good laundry facilities, a children's play area and its own bar/clubhouse which though greatly underused while we were there was very pleasnat with friendly staff. The only down point, as already mentioned in other reviews is that the scrupulously clean shower block for the tourers has two toilets and one shower in the ladies and if all 12 pitches had been occupied it would not have been adequate. We were lucky and it was less than half full. It is not far to walk to the bus stop for Lowestoft itself. We were charged 22 for one night plus electric.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Wsseaman 65 reviews from this member

This site is hard to get on as there are only 12 touring pitches, and we would have stayed here a lot more times than we have! The site is very clean and tidy, mainly consisting of static caravans, with the touring area just on the right as you enter the site. It is very convinient for accessing the beach, literally around 300 yards down a small track. Some of the pitches have a water supply, which you share with your neighbour, and there is a modern looking toilet/shower block, chemical waste and fresh water points all located in this area. The pitches are mostly level and all grass, with small newly-planted laurel in between, which will give some privacy when established, but at present looks very open. There is a Morrisons, MacDonalds and other retail shops within a short walk, and it's about a leisurely 3/4 walk into Lowestoft via the beach. There is a small children's play area near Reception. The only fly in the ointment on this visit was that we were unable to put up our windbreak for our two dogs (and ourselves) to sit in, as their site rules state no windbreaks. We had used it on all our previous visits but when queried with Reception, were told it was a 'structure' and wasn't allowed, but they do allow awnings. We are at a loss as to what the difference is and were very disappointed. This will probably be a deciding factor as to whether we use this site again, certainly in the summer months whe it is warm enough to sit outside.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: GMC1958 40 reviews from this member

Had another wonderful time at this site, we chose a good week as schools were still open, 19-26th July. During our week we only had three other units that were overnight transit stops during the week. The site is wonderfully clean and staff and static caravan users were polite and friendly. The club house provided good entertainment and allows dogs in on a lead. The issue with the toilet block is still the same, staff even acknowledged that it need looking into, I am 6ft tall and well built but the shower posed no problems. We have a Swift Challenger 580SE and had no problems negotiating the site. There are too many plus points for this site to be negative. Once again we booked for 2015 before we left.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Renny Painter 4 reviews from this member

Just returned from a lovely holiday at this caravan park. We had 3 of the pitches for the 12 of us. The site was absolutely beautiful and the area excellent. Great for visiting so many different places. However if we had known before we placed our booking that there was only 1 small shower and 2 toilets in the ladies and only 1 shower and 1 toilet in the gents we possibly would have looked elsewhere. The showers were very claustrophobic and smaller than a caravan shower. The space in the block could have been put to much better use and more toilets and showers incorporated. Also we tow a twin axle caravan that is over 8 metres long and, along with other units, we found it extremely difficult to manoeuvre around the gravel and post area at the entrance to the site. One man in a motorhome took almost 30 minutes to negotiate this on returning to the site after a day out because a car was parked halfway on the road and the green on plot 11. As I said before there are lots of great things but the touring site leaves a lot to be desired.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: GMC1958 40 reviews from this member

This was our first visit to this site and how glad we are that we came. The touring area is small, up to 12 units on grass pitches with it's own toilet block. The area is beautifully landscaped and clean. The proximity to a lovely dog friendly beach was a great plus for us along with 4 dog friendly pubs within walking distance. The accessibility to all major road routes was good. The toilet block was clean and fresh, my only small negative remark is that 1 shower and 1 sit down loo are not enough for a minimum of 12 men, I did have to queue once or twice. This could be eased if staff were to allow access to the disabled facility especially if there are no registered disabled people on site. We enjoyed it so much that we have booked a week next summer before we left the site. The staff were always polite and helpful.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Hamletrabbit 5 reviews from this member

Our first trip in our new (to us) 70's caravan with some friends. The touring area is small but very neat with good pitch sizes (plenty of space for our diddy 14 foot vans anyway)

The shower/toilet block is excellent, new and clean and very close to all the pitches. The outdoor pool was loved by our children, and even in the rain at 26 degrees the water was warm enough to make up for it.

The beach is a very short walk, predominantly stones but the children found enough sand to dig a big hole. Staff were friendly, shop is just milk/soft drinks/ local papers/ icecreams (unless there was another one that I missed. )

The small play area was lovely and the whole site was well looked after.

Overall, we were very impressed.

Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Freckles63 52 reviews from this member

We stayed 3 nights at the beginning of the October half term, we paid 3 price nights for the price of 2 33. 00, although it was only the 2 of us the price included 4 people.

Due to the traffic diversion in force it wasn't that easy to find, when you do find the site you go to your allocated pitch first then to reception, who were very friendly and helpful.

Very clean warm facilities, 2 toilets 1 shower, adequate due to the low numbers at this time of year, although I would think it may be inadequate in high season, we used our own shower to begin with but by Wednesday afternoon we were there on our own so used their shower which was hot and powerful.

Mainly statics on site with a clubhouse and swimming pool of which we used neither due to the time of season, however a short stroll along the seafront path brought us to 'The Oddfellows' pub where we had a good meal.

We used this site as a base to visit our son who moved to Carlton Colville a few months ago and would use again without hesitation.

Previous     25 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Lowestoft      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Suffolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...



Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park 14/09 to 15/09, Kent
Enjoy two days access to the dog show, free parking, free evening entertainment and a campsite right next to the showground ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5116 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019