Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Whitemead Forest Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Gloucestershire > Lydney > Whitemead Forest Park Reviews

Whitemead Forest Park
Parkend
Lydney
Gloucestershire   (Browse area)
GL15 4LA
Tel: 03301 230374  or  01594 560400
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 110
Open: January 23rd - January 3rd

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 94 Reviews
                8/10 from 94 Reviews

Photos (8)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  94 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: March 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Nuevoboy 80 reviews from this member

 This was probably our sixth stay in a motorhome, having originally used the log cabins and apartments. We were surprised how full the site was (given the Coronavirus issue) but all was well on the park.

The facilities were absolutely spotless and the cleaning staff should be praised for their efforts. It was noticeable that there was a lot more cleaning going on in the leisure centre too.

The facilities really are top class and we used the pool, jacuzzi and steam room on three consecutive days.

The weather though, was rather poor, which restricted our cycling somewhat, but then that's when the leisure facilities really come to the fore.

We ate in the Woodman pub each night and the food and service was again top notch. 


Date of Visit: September 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jacquimeadows 1 review from this member

 Gorgeous site, fantastic facilities in the heart of the forest of dean.

The only down side was a school was in the apartments across the way and they were very noisy. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: February 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: MrsHaze 4 reviews from this member

 This was our fourth visit to Whitemead and once again it was fantastic,

A lovely clean and well maintained site with an indoor pool and children's entertainment which was suitable for all ages.

A great base to explore the Forest of Dean and a lovely restaurant and bar to come back to.

We're already planning our fifth visit. 


Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Preston Dave 11 reviews from this member

 We were invited by friends for a week away. It was a bit pricey at 45/night.

The pitches were reasonable, but difficult to access and reverse into due to narrow, twisty feeder roads and caravans on pitches across the other side of the feeder road. Some nights were quite noisy late at night.

Toilet block was dated and unkempt with poor timing on sensor lights in toilet cubicles. Service points were near and electric hook-ups were very close to the vans.

The swimming/sauna/steam room and jacuzzi were all free to campers and the pool was very child friendly. However, most activities incurred a charge. Locals, who also had membership to leisure centre pool, had mixed views as to whether recent changes had improved their lot, main gripe was hike in bar prices.

Forest walks and cycles were easily accessible and were well marked. Maps available at reception.

Work being carried out on site in two areas. This didn't really impact too much on stay, although might have stayed elsewhere if we had been made aware of it beforehand due to cement/delivery lorries and plant machinery using same narrow feeder roads.

Would I stay in area again? Probably yes at a less expensive site as so much to do in Forest of Dean on foot or by bike. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Shadows 1 review from this member

 Whitemead is a favourite campsite for us. It is a very reasonably priced campsite with an excellent indoor swimming pool. Many of the other facilities at the park have also been updated this year. The bar, shop and children's playground have all been improved. The staff are always very helpful. The pitches are good and the views amazing. We love it! 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Bramidan 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for a mid week stay in what was the hottest three days so far this year.

The entrance to the site is quite poor with nowhere to park whilst you go into reception. I only have a folding camper and that was a problem, hate to think what would happen if several people turned up with large units.

Our pitch was superb, electricity and water in easy reach. The toilets and showers were very good and when we were there little used so no problems.

We didn't use any of the facilities but they looked very good.

We just spent a really relaxing time reading and snoozing!

My only complaint would be that the apartment blocks were being used for school parties, it looked like these were being run by an independent company. Whilst I appreciate that the site needs to make money I was disappointed that we were not warned. We went mid week in term time thinking it would be quiet but no, large groups of school kids on their school trips.

Good walks around the site and local pub in easy walking distance. 


Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jon Powell 7 reviews from this member

 We were invited by friends for a weekend away. It was a bit more expensive than our normal choice.

We had a nightmare finding the place in the dark and with a phone's sat-nav playing up. Once we got there checking in was difficult with cars parked in any lay-bys.

Once checked in (and reversed out of a carpark) all the effort was worthwhile. The pitches were large and very well kept. Despite being a large site there was minimal noise late at night. Toilet block was spotlessly clean and modern. Service points were not a long walk and electric hook-ups were very close to the vans.

The swimming was free to campers and the pool was very child friendly. The kids were on the playgrounds almost constantly and there is a very large play field. Forest walks were on the doorstep and were well marked so easy for the kids to follow.

We booked a Sunday lunch on site has we were leaving. We had a late check-out as a courtesy for eating on site. The meal was very well priced.

We were allowed a fire pit in the evening and all in all had a great weekend.

Only marked down due to the hassle on arrival. 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Madasaman 43 reviews from this member

 Spent the weekend here on a half gravel half grass pitch as all full gravel pitches were taken. The pool and other things in the main building were good. The toilet and showers in the Dell area where we were, were archaic to say the least. No heating on, leaking urinal with a bucket under it and the shower took forever to warm up. Oh and somebody had stolen the gravel from all the half gravel/grass pitches. Should have read Half mud/half grass and mud. It is in a lovely position and if as I heard they were renovating the pitches and knocking down the shower and toilets to build new we will return 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bailey36 1 review from this member

 Really lovely location and easy to get to. The site was well laid out and plenty of open space for kids to play and was reach of good cycle routes. Lovely swimming complex and reasonably priced bar, didn't try the food but looked nice. Massive downside. Not enough toilets and showers for all the people booked in. Toilets mostly very dirty and not checked regularly enough for the amount of usage, did speak to reception about this and somebody did go to check and clean but it was back to a poor condition very quickly. It seems as if campers are an afterthought which is a real shame. 


Date of Visit: November 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Motorhomemuppets 4 reviews from this member

 Love this site. In a really attractive area (Forest of Dean). Swimming pool/ jacuzzi/ sauna all free. We usually go when there are tribute bands on. The entry cost for these is usually 15 - 20 which included a 2 course meal - great value. Now has refurbished toilet/shower block which is very good. Small shop for essentials only. Tried the Woodman pub short walk from site which is friendly and good food. Have been to Whitemead four times and will return again. 


Previous     94 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Whitemead Forest Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Whitemead Forest Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Whitemead Forest Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Whitemead Forest Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Lydney      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gloucestershire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 28/06
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2314 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020