Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Whitemead Forest Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Gloucestershire > Lydney > Whitemead Forest Park Reviews

Whitemead Forest Park
Parkend
Lydney
Gloucestershire   (Browse area)
GL15 4LA
Tel: 03301 230374  or  01594 560400
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 110
Open: January 23rd - January 3rd

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 92 Reviews
                8/10 from 92 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 1 mile   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  92 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: February 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: MrsHaze 4 reviews from this member

This was our fourth visit to Whitemead and once again it was fantastic, a lovely clean and well maintained site with an indoor pool and children's entertainment which was suitable for all ages. A great base to explore the Forest of Dean and a lovely restaurant and bar to come back to. We're already planning our fifth visit.

Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Preston Dave 11 reviews from this member

We were invited by friends for a week away. It was a bit pricey at 45/night.

The pitches were reasonable, but difficult to access and reverse into due to narrow, twisty feeder roads and caravans on pitches across the other side of the feeder road. Some nights were quite noisy late at night. Toilet block was dated and unkempt with poor timing on sensor lights in toilet cubicles. Service points were near and electric hook-ups were very close to the vans.

The swimming/sauna/steam room and jacuzzi were all free to campers and the pool was very child friendly. However, most activities incurred a charge. Locals, who also had membership to leisure centre pool, had mixed views as to whether recent changes had improved their lot, main gripe was hike in bar prices.

Forest walks and cycles were easily accessible and were well marked. Maps available at reception.

Work being carried out on site in two areas. This didn't really impact too much on stay, although might have stayed elsewhere if we had been made aware of it beforehand due to cement/delivery lorries and plant machinery using same narrow feeder roads.

Would I stay in area again? Probably yes at a less expensive site as so much to do in Forest of Dean on foot or by bike.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Shadows 1 review from this member

Whitemead is a favourite campsite for us. It is a very reasonably priced campsite with an excellent indoor swimming pool. Many of the other facilities at the park have also been updated this year. The bar, shop and children's playground have all been improved. The staff are always very helpful. The pitches are good and the views amazing. We love it!

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Bramidan 2 reviews from this member

Stayed here for a mid week stay in what was the hottest three days so far this year.

The entrance to the site is quite poor with nowhere to park whilst you go into reception. I only have a folding camper and that was a problem, hate to think what would happen if several people turned up with large units.

Our pitch was superb, electricity and water in easy reach. The toilets and showers were very good and when we were there little used so no problems.

We didn't use any of the facilities but they looked very good.

We just spent a really relaxing time reading and snoozing!

My only complaint would be that the apartment blocks were being used for school parties, it looked like these were being run by an independent company. Whilst I appreciate that the site needs to make money I was disappointed that we were not warned. We went mid week in term time thinking it would be quiet but no, large groups of school kids on their school trips.

Good walks around the site and local pub in easy walking distance.

Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jon Powell 7 reviews from this member

We were invited by friends for a weekend away. It was a bit more expensive than our normal choice.

We had a nightmare finding the place in the dark and with a phone's sat-nav playing up. Once we got there checking in was difficult with cars parked in any lay-bys.

Once checked in (and reversed out of a carpark) all the effort was worthwhile. The pitches were large and very well kept. Despite being a large site there was minimal noise late at night. Toilet block was spotlessly clean and modern. Service points were not a long walk and electric hook-ups were very close to the vans.

The swimming was free to campers and the pool was very child friendly. The kids were on the playgrounds almost constantly and there is a very large play field. Forest walks were on the doorstep and were well marked so easy for the kids to follow.

We booked a Sunday lunch on site has we were leaving. We had a late check-out as a courtesy for eating on site. The meal was very well priced.

We were allowed a fire pit in the evening and all in all had a great weekend.

Only marked down due to the hassle on arrival.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Madasaman 36 reviews from this member

Spent the weekend here on a half gravel half grass pitch as all full gravel pitches were taken. The pool and other things in the main building were good. The toilet and showers in the Dell area where we were, were archaic to say the least. No heating on, leaking urinal with a bucket under it and the shower took forever to warm up. Oh and somebody had stolen the gravel from all the half gravel/grass pitches. Should have read Half mud/half grass and mud. It is in a lovely position and if as I heard they were renovating the pitches and knocking down the shower and toilets to build new we will return

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bailey36 1 review from this member

Really lovely location and easy to get to. The site was well laid out and plenty of open space for kids to play and was reach of good cycle routes. Lovely swimming complex and reasonably priced bar, didn't try the food but looked nice. Massive downside. Not enough toilets and showers for all the people booked in. Toilets mostly very dirty and not checked regularly enough for the amount of usage, did speak to reception about this and somebody did go to check and clean but it was back to a poor condition very quickly. It seems as if campers are an afterthought which is a real shame.

Date of Visit: November 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Motorhomemuppets 4 reviews from this member

Love this site. In a really attractive area (Forest of Dean). Swimming pool/ jacuzzi/ sauna all free. We usually go when there are tribute bands on. The entry cost for these is usually 15 - 20 which included a 2 course meal - great value. Now has refurbished toilet/shower block which is very good. Small shop for essentials only. Tried the Woodman pub short walk from site which is friendly and good food. Have been to Whitemead four times and will return again.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Lexie10 15 reviews from this member

We stayed here in our motorhome for a week in September 2015. Our booking was altered due to major work being done on the site. This meant we had to change pitches partway through the week. We were meeting friends for their first experience of staying in a motorhome, so wanted it to be really food for them. They also had to change pitches during their stay, and although staff were extremely helpful, it was still inconvenient.

Shower block and toilets were closed for a refit, so we had to walk down to the rather tired (and not always clean) toilet and shower block by the main complex. I hope the other shower/toilet block is also going to have a refit - it certainly needs it.

Due to our being inconvenienced, we were given a 20 voucher to use in the restaurant, and so took advantage of this, enjoying an extremely good meal with excellent service. Shame that there is always a vague smell of swimming pool in there though.

The weekend entertainment event including a 2 course meal for 15 was excellent value for money too. Although the Abba tribute band was only OK, we still had a really good night with disco and dancing.

Not always a site for peace and quiet, as it is large and caters for families and groups, but we will return having visited four or five times. So much about it is good and enjoyable. Not least the pool/sauna and jacuzzi which is free - unlike at some other sites.

There are also lovely walks and safe cycle tracks direct from the site, and we also had a most enjoyable trip on the Dean Forest Railway. The two nearest pubs are also good - both offering food, although we didn't try it. Good beer though!

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: PercyVolvo 12 reviews from this member

We spent a relaxing three nights at this site in August. It was the summer holidays and so we expected it to be busy and of course it was. The swimming pool was clean and nice, if a little cold on a couple of days. The sauna and steam room were both nice. The changing village was tired and the toilets were dirty. I did see a member of staff attempting to clear the pooled water from the floor though. The showers were clean enough but not nearly enough of them to cater for all the swimmers at peak times. The shop on site was small but functional. The restaurant was competitively priced and the food was good. The service was actually very good and efficient. At 38 a night in high season, this site is not cheap. However, for a relaxing break in the Forest of Dean, give it a go. Just be prepared for the toilets to be tired and sometimes smelly. The pitches were clean and tidy though, maybe a little scruffy round the edges. However, all said, we will certianly go again living reasonably local.

Previous     92 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gloucestershire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2302 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019