Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Hurst View (solent View) Camping

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South East > New Forest & Hampshire > Site Reviews

Hurst View (solent View) Camping
Lower Pennington Lane
New Forest
Lymington
Hampshire   (Browse area)
SO41 8AL   See Map
Tel: 01590 671648
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    
 Featured Site

Pitches: 100
Open: All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 172 Reviews
                8/10 from 172 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (6) and Video

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Location   Dog Walk   Public Transport <1 mile 

Reviews:  172 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18  

Write your own Review wo win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Neilr27 2 reviews from this member

This site is my favourite out of all the new forest sites. Lots of space even at peak times, good facilities and very helpful friendly staff. Located a short walk from the Solent and a short cycle or drive to Lymington. Open camp fires are permitted and even large groups are catered for. Don’t be put off by that though because the site has a strict “ no music after dark policy” which is enforced by the friendly on site security. Very good value for money and if you have children be sure to visit the Lymington outdoor baths, took years before we knew about them and they are great fun.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Zenaangell123 1 review from this member

Excellent site, great facilities and very friendly staff. Felt very safe at night with a couple of security guards in high vis patrolling and they were very friendly, They mentioned they were from www. Dmzgroup. Co. Uk and enjoy doing what they do. The site had a great toilet and shower block and the shop was stocked with everything we needed. Would go there again.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: TimCESmith 26 reviews from this member

I rather liked this site, but I'm not altogether sure why. We stayed on the tents-only non-EHU field to see what 'lightweight' kit would work if we make it to Bryher next summer.

It's a big, sprawling site, and each bit has a distinct character. As you enter, you pass through a twilight zone of tatty statics on a potholed road of crunchy gravel. Once you're past the big industrial rubbish hoppers you're into the proper camping fields. The tents-only field is on the left just after the loos, and surprisingly easy to miss. I'm glad we didn't. Our tour of the campsite took us past many large, raucous groups playing rather good dad music from their van stereos - 90's pop, rock and techno.

There are some hardstandings, but otherwise there are no marked pitches or paths or tracks. It's just fields pockmarked with scars from campfires. The tents-only was very pleasant, although there were quite a few fag-ends and discarded pegs if you looked closely. The views are pleasing and there's a stout hedge down the western side to help with the wind. Formations of Canada geese sweep over at dusk as everyone's getting their campfire ready, the children begin to wind down a bit and their parents get started on the sherbet. Sunday morning saw everyone leave - we had at least an acre each come Monday.

The ablutions are basic but adequate and many of the drains are slow. There's quite a bit of flooding in the showers. Because the floors are pale blue they show the mud and look dirtier than people are used to. There are two 'family' shower rooms. The one on the right works well. The one on the left is next to the Elsan point and from the smell it's hard to tell where one ends and the other begins. Avoid. The six washing up sinks are open to the elements and have no plugs. An upside down mug over the drain hole works OK. Water is warm, not hot. Press Taps Of Doom. The sinks are nice and big though. The laundry is rudimentary and I was glad we didn't need it.

Lymington is beautiful - and it's a treat to camp walking distance from a Waitrose. It's a friendly site and the staff are really helpful. The atmosphere is relaxed and whilst you're not bombarded with rules there's a clear subtext that if you make a nuisance of yourself you'll be chucked off site whatever the time of day or night.

There is plenty of interest in the area and we had a great time - and it's cheap at £15 a night for 1 adult + 1 child off EHU. I don't think I'd do a fortnight's summer holiday or take Mrs TimCESmith here though. It's all geared for short stays or rigid units.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Apjozzy1968 2 reviews from this member

4 rather windswept days with teenagers happily spent. Site us amazing relaxed and friendly. Campfires allowed. Good pubs in walking distance. Facilities are clean and OK. Shelves would help in the showers but very hot and good. Site shop is really reasonable and doubles as a café too for breakfast. Love this site and will be back.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: IndigoMonstA 2 reviews from this member

A lovely site, owners seemed fairly relaxed and we could choose which space to pitch in. It is a popular site and all three fields were full of tents. Despite appearing to be a busy site, I never had to queue to use the toilet or washing up facilities. Noise at night time was not a problem either, there was a group near us playing music but it was turned off soon after 11pm. I did notice 2 security guards walking round the site at night time, they seemed to do a good job of discreetly keeping activity to within reasonable ranges.

There is a shop on the site that sells a small range of stuff that family's who camp might like, including ice creams, drinks and hot food.

In a beautiful spot, we spotted many different types of birds on our walk along the sea wall. There is a spot where you can get to the sea, the beach is pebbly, but it was a good 20 min walk from the campsite, which was a long way with toddlers on a sunny summers day.

The nearby pub, served good food and coped well with our large group of 12.

Would return here again one day.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Stan on tour 38 reviews from this member

This is a huge basic campsite exposed to the elements, we were there mid week and it was very quiet, there is is a small Breakfast cafe but that wasn't open. The camp staff were really helpful and provided a map of the area which we used to walk to a lovely pub that was nearby, also nice walks along the solent.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Valellis 8 reviews from this member

Only one of the two toilet blocks open which resulted in large queues at the weekends. Only seemed to be cleaned in the mornings so by early evening they were rather messy. Disappointed that several pitches are taken by people living on site and going out to work between 5 - 6 am and they are not the quietest so we were disturbed 6 early mornings.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Turistautojai 1 review from this member

Utterly disappointed. Big, messy place. Washing up sinks are outside - comes sun or rain. Outdated, filthy toilets and draft, cold showers with dirty old curtains. And tip of the iceberg is rubbish containers area. In fact you barely can see containers as it's covered with rubbish. Shame can't upload photos here. Got few. And all that pleasure of leisure for £30 a night per tent of two adults and two toddlers with no electric hook up.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kershaw m 3 reviews from this member

Over priced for facilities available.

We were charged £20 per night for a pitch in a field with no electricity, a long walk to the toilets and showers and washing up facilities. No shop open on site, the toilet block was not the cleanest, the showers were muddy with no mop or anything to clean the shower after use. My husband said that one of the mens shower was in danger of the floor collapsing!

May think twice of going again

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mejenkin 1 review from this member

The campsite is quite big with a large flat field for tents, we had a non electric hook up near to the site entrance which was fine, although for dog owners you would need to keep an eye on them as the gate doesn't close, its permanently fixed open.

There are two shower and loo blocks which did get busy in the mornings as expected and whilst chatting at the washing up area, some ladies mentioned that the washing up area was in fact cleaner than the sinks! Floors by the showers were wet and got muddy ( odd as it was really sunny weather from 10 Aug weekend). The washing up area is attached to the outside of the shower/loo block with no coverage should the weather be unkind, washing up water was luke warm at best. You can buy snacks, drinks, a few essentials and some kids toys, there are hot sandwiches, chips and burgers and croissants cooked on site (our croissants were a trifle over cooked which was a shame)

We had 3 nights here and the location is good as its easy to get to New Forest, Bournemouth and Poole which are lovely, a very nice (dog friendly all year round) beach is Branksone Dene. Walk round Keyhaven, here are boat trips over to Yarmouth, Isle of Wight, Millford on Sea is worth a look with a great fish and chip shop ( big queues in the evening) and a pebble beach near to sit and look at the sea. ( Beware the fish and chip shop had a very stoney faced, unfriendly serving lady)

At the campsite - nearby is a nice pub (Chequers) to walk to, again dog friendly. Serves usual pub food but take a torch as its about 10 mins through some dark lanes and footpaths.

Overall we really enjoyed it, the tent field got very busy over the weekend, lots of families playing, chatting, dogs playing but not noisy and was all quite mellow. We would go back.

Previous     172 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review wo win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Hampshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Kampa Portaflush 10 Portable Toilet! Win a 655ltr Waterproof Rooftop Bag worth £239

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 16th to 19th August, E Yorks
World's biggest tribute band festival. Family friendly. Discounted tickets and a chance to win some ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


9324 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.1016