Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Hurst View (solent View) Camping

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > New Forest & Hampshire > Lymington > Hurst View (solent View) Camping Reviews

Hurst View (solent View) Camping
Lower Pennington Lane
New Forest
Lymington
Hampshire   (Browse area)
SO41 8AL
Tel: 01590 671648
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 100
Open: All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 180 Reviews
                8/10 from 180 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  180 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is opening in line with government guidance and we are taking bookings for arrivals from 04/07/2020 onwards , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilet / shower facilities will be open. Some communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Vickyr68118qat 1 review from this member

 Highly recommend,

Campsite facilities were extremely clean at all times of the day,

Good sized pitch and very convenient for lovely walks with the dog.

We will definitely be going back there. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Group
Reviewer: Webmaster 52 reviews from this member

 Had a couple of nights here as I fancied being near the sea. Although there are no sea views from the pitches themselves, the coastline is very close, and you can smell the sea, with a vast nature reserves all around the site.

Small shop with logs, ice and basics for sale. Campfires allowed. Huge open fields, where you can pitch where you like (assuming you don't want hookup)

Toilets and shower blocks were clean, and with hot water.

Site owner was a brilliant character, very friendly and dare I say, a little eccentric. Loved him.

Fantastic walks direct from the site - you can walk for miles along the coast and through the nature reserves in either direction. We did a couple of walks, one to Lymington, and one to Hurst castle.

Good pub about a 15 minute walk, which we used for beers and delicious Sunday Roast!

Highly recommended, and only cost £10 for me and my dog in a campervan. Will definitely be back to this site 


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Limecc 13 reviews from this member

 We thought Lymington would be a great place to bring our boat and was initially attracted to Hurst View because there was no extra charge for a second car with boat trailer and it's close proximity to the coastal path and Lymington's public slipway. The site was well signposted and accessible with no narrow lanes to negotiate, we just followed our SatNav straight there.

Hurst View consists of three fields. The main field closest to the shower block has electric hookups around the perimeter and a number of hardstandings. The hookup points have four sockets each providing power to those who want to pitch in the middle where there are no markings hence allowing you extra room should you need it.

The lower camping field has a gate to a public car park and coastal paths for dog walking. All are very flat. You just pitch where you want (weekday) or where you can find space (weekend). The only marked pitches are the hardstandings.

This site is very popular at weekends! I estimate a ratio of 8:1 tents vs caravans/motorhomes. When we arrived we were given a choice of hardstandings and were not limited in the direction we could point, unfortunately we were adjacent to the toilets and entrance and we couldn't stand the traffic, both cars and people.

The site owners were extremely accommodating and we were able to move to a spot in the lower field (we kept our mains hookup by using multiple cables). The free WiFi was very good, there's a large centrally situated transmitter but performance drops off around the field perimeters and when the site is very busy. 02 phone reception was poor and barely usable.

There are security persons with high-vis who come around after dark at the weekend to ensure everything settles down in timely fashion and there's no late night music or other disruption. The system works quite well and seems to be appreciated by all.

Whilst in the area we also checked out the other caravan sites, all were nice but more formal and with the bare legal minimum pitch spacing. Camping in the woods in the large site at Brokenhurst would be a nice alternative if you are not needing mains hookup.

The trees provide shelter from the wind but also reduce the amount of sunlight which could be a good thing depending on the weather at the time of visit. Brockenhurst site would be better for cyclists and is frequented by New Forest ponies.

Hurst View facilities were immaculately clean and were like new. There were only 8 ladies and 6 gents toilets for the three fields but as mentioned in an earlier review do not seem to be overcrowded even at peak times. The on site shop was reasonably priced and had all the essentials.

It was also possible to get a very tasty cooked meal and eat at the tables outside although this was only at the weekend when the demand was higher. We were charged £30/night in peak season with hookup, this seemed expensive but is in line with the other campsites in the area. When we return I hope we can reduce this by converting to solar and going off-grid.

The weekend campers bring with them children who happily play (noisily) in the play facilities in middle of the main field. We didn't mind this but it might irritate some, if so you need to be on a different part of the site.

There were impressive illuminations at night and combined with the open fires it created a fabulous atmosphere. A word of caution regarding old firepits, don't drive over the ashes as there are often nails from the burnt wood that are left behind. It's surprising how quickly the grass recovers they are no long term detriment.

From the lower field you can walk along the cycle path for 30 minutes to Keyhaven and then on to Hurst castle. We had a very nice pub meal at the quayside. Some spectacular views of The Solent and marshes and a bird watcher's paradise. If you go by car the parking is £1/hr. From Hurst View entrance there is a walk into Lymington town which we didn't try.

Parking in Lymington is very limited and the streets are narrow. There's a market every Saturday and the High St is closed to cars. There's a fantastic outdoor swimming park between the Harbour office and Lymington Yacht Haven, it uses filtered sea water and was very popular while we were there.

It was only a short drive to Christchurch and we really enjoyed getting the ferry at Mudeford Quay for a scenic circular walk and then a coffee and muffin on our return to the quay. The ferry costs £2/person and operates every 15 minutes until 10pm.

We realised we would overstay our parking ticket so was able to renew it online using the Ringo mobile phone app in use in many places in the area.

Lymington slipway charges were £15. 50 daily or £120 yearly and included estuary fees. Trailer parking is difficult at peak times. Even if spaces were available in the adjacent car park it's £8/day per space, fortunately Berthon Marina or better still the Yacht Haven can accommodate for a more modest fee.

We had some great adventures up the Beaulieu river past Buckler's Hard (river was teeming with millions of baby jellyfish), Cowes is 8nm away. There are some overfalls to avoid off Hurst Point, the currents are very strong here and we saw it was 188ft deep in one spot. Not suitable for swimmers! Alum bay and The Needles were amazing to see from the water, I even encountered a pod of dolphins in Freshwater bay and had them swimming under and around the boat.

To summarize nearly three weeks of our stay in July, after a poor start we had the most enjoyable holiday we ever had in all our caravanning years and we couldn't wait to return in September for another two weeks.

Nothing to add in addition to what has already been said, but the site was less busy during the week and we enjoyed being off-grid for the first time saving us 33% or £10/night. There is a local Esso station where you can fill your Safefill cylinders. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Ratty 212 reviews from this member

 I have now been here twice in two weeks, so they must be doing something right and the site is 100 miles from home, so not just round the corner.

Enquired by email and they responded quickly with details of the costs and the fact they had space. Reception on arrival was very friendly and the chap behind the counter was in great spirits and advised where the facilities were, etc. They sell essentials and basics and some ice creams in reception, along with ice, logs, kindling etc.

The fields are large and you can pitch where you want, there are some pitches with electric but we chose non hook up so had more choice.

The site is next to a nature reserve, with plenty to see and do.

There are no pitches that offer sea views, but it is only a short stroll to the paths on the wetlands. The fields are very flat and the ground was soft enough and easy enough to get pegs in.

There is a small kids play area which seems more than adequate, a cafe on site selling breakfasts and more, washing up and two fantastic facilities blocks each with plenty of showers and toilets. These were kept very clean and the showers are push button, you cannot change the direction, but they were hot enough, although water did come out from teh side and bottom of the curtain, so watch your shoes. They could do with more than one hook in the showers though.

There is tons of walking from here and you are straight out on to the paths leading around the wetlands and you can walk in to Lymington which is about a 9 mile round trip, you can walk up to Hurst castle, which is English Heritage and good for a few hours and very interesting, and to Keyhaven. There is not a lot in Keyhaven, but a pub and some boats, but the area is pretty.

It is all very flat around here so easy walking and perfect for cycling.

There is a the Chequers Inn around a mile from the site if you go from the entrance, or just under two miles if you walk the other road. They offer a good menu and a great range of beers, wines and spirits.

Lyminton is lovely, but watch out, some of the pubs are very pricey as they have a captive audience. Loads of lovely shops and a Co-op for food etc.

The area is fantastic being on the edge of the New Forest and also Beaulieu Motor Museum, Bucklers Hard, the Isle of Wight and so much more.

Great site at £10 a night per adult and free for dogs, I will be back again. 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: JGBE 4 reviews from this member

 Fantastic spot for everyone! The park is lovely - big, open, flat ground and enclosed with a large hedge.

The shop sells all of the essentials and the facilities are great - clean, well kept, stocked and we never had to queue! The location is perfect, the sea with a beautiful view of the Isle of Wight is a stones throw away and the village of Milford is a short walk/bike ride down a seaside track.

There are several friendly pubs nearby, all sell great food and are well priced. There are supermarkets in both Milford and Lymington. A fantastic seaside getaway! 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Adamdelves 7 reviews from this member

 Great site situated within a stroll of lovely Lymington town. Fantastic walk/cycle routes directly from the camping fields.

Really friendly staff and actually a campsite that doesn’t just want to rip you off only £10 per night for me and my dog (non electric) and a cafe with very reasonable prices not like other sites.

I asked for electric but sadly they didn’t have any electric pitches left which may have been awkward as I have an electric bike. But no problem they let me charge my battery every night in the shop free of charge! Happy camper 😀😀

So many lovely places to visit close by and also very close to the ferry terminal to get to the isle of white.

Great pub just around the corner called the chequers unpretentious big portions and reasonably priced and good atmosphere.

There maybe very minor things I could pick at but really for the price I was charged I won’t it was just perfect for me. Hopefully back soon next time with the family ! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Cclcfc 16 reviews from this member

 This was the fourth stop on a two week break we had in our campervan.

Hurst View is in a fantastic location right on the edge of Keyhaven Nature reserve so great walks for the dog and lots of walks directly from the site in to various places. We walked to Lymington (about 45 minutes), Keyhaven (about 30 minutes) and Milford-on-Sea (another 15 minutes on from Keyhaven).

The site itself is spread over three fields with a few Electric Hook ups. You drive in through a static site which doesn’t really give it a polished look and the field itself is quite disheveled looking. The toilets and showers are plentiful and were spotlessly clean. They were cleaned each day but also early in the morning they were given a quick once over and things like toilet roll checked before the morning rush started.

We used the laundry which was a bargain at £2 a load and did a quick 30c wash in 30 minutes.

There was a café on site but this wasn’t open.

There is a lovely pub about a 10 minute walk from the site called The Chequers Inn. Two nice outside areas with big screens to watch the sport if it’s on and the food was fantastic. We also ate at The Smugglers Inn in Milford-on-Sea which was also very good. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lewok666 2 reviews from this member

 Booked for a week in the summer holiday and came home early. We have stayed here before and found it quite adequate. This time however it all felt very dilapidated. The toilet/shower block is old, outdated and not very clean at all. We witnessed a cleaner cleaning twice daily but at a vey basic level. Each time we visited the showers we found dirt, grime, hair and all manner of yucks! It could do with a regular deep clean which clearly doesn't happen.

The big bins were always full to the brim and very smelly in the hot sun, it didn't help that as soon as you enter the camping field that is the first thing you see/smell.

We were in the first field you come to with EHU and just across from the very old and tired play park. The other side of us had permanently parked vans/caravans of people clearly living on site.

We had to clear our pitch of dog poo and rubbish when we first arrived so I don't think any of it is cleared or checked before arrival. We walked the dogs in the surrounding fields and seen much of the same there also.

The shop is basic and they do serve hot food, although when we went in to order some dinner for us all we were met by a guy on his phone who said he stopped serving at 8pm even though the time on the board outside said 8. 30pm, his response when questioned about it was 'Oh well we have stopped at 8 tonight' and went straight back to staring at his phone.

Weekends were busy! But very quiet mid week. The 'no music after dark' policy is not enforced and large groups of adults partying is accepted on weekends from what we seen.

Such a shame as the area is in a great location with beautiful scenery and great walks locally but really needs a good tidy up and deep clean! 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mummyinatent 2 reviews from this member

 This was our second visit with a group of friends - all families with children ranging in age from 9-16. It is such a lovely site - informal and relaxed.

Toilets and showers are not plentiful but there never seems to be a queue.

Little on-site shop provides all the essentials but also much welcome bacon baguettes for breakfast. Loads of good pubs and shops within walking distance.

We will definitely be going back - brilliant for families but low-key and chilled. Love it! 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Neilr27 2 reviews from this member

 This site is my favourite out of all the new forest sites. Lots of space even at peak times, good facilities and very helpful friendly staff. Located a short walk from the Solent and a short cycle or drive to Lymington.

Open camp fires are permitted and even large groups are catered for. Don’t be put off by that though because the site has a strict “ no music after dark policy” which is enforced by the friendly on site security.

Very good value for money and if you have children be sure to visit the Lymington outdoor baths, took years before we knew about them and they are great fun. 


Previous     180 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Hurst View (solent View) Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Hurst View (solent View) Camping?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Hurst View (solent View) Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Lymington      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Hampshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5172 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020