Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Southfork Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Martock > Southfork Caravan Park Reviews

Southfork Caravan Park
Parrett Works
Martock
Somerset   (Browse area)
TA12 6AE
Tel: 01935 825661
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 25
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 37 Reviews
                9/10 from 37 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis On Site 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  37 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jeffs on tour 4 reviews from this member

 A lovely friendly site set in rural Somerset, within easy reach of the A303. We enjoyed a delightful waymarked walk from the site, along field boundaries into the pretty town of Martock (about one and a half miles).

The new on site cafe is a welcome addition and we had a fabulous full English breakfast one morning, they also served evening meals. We delayed our departure due to high winds and it was no problem arranging a late check out.

The site is well positioned for visiting several Nat Trust properties nearby & there are some excellent pubs within a few miles we had lunch at The Devonshire Arms in Long Sutton & The Kings Arms in Montacute, highly recommend both.

We look forward to coming back to Southfork. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Labradorlass 11 reviews from this member

 Having left a review some 2years ago I thought it time to leave another. Although living less than an hour's drive away I return often for a midweek break. Love this little site and how the family Mick, Nancy and daughter are constantly upgrading and improving the space. It's clean, ( spotless in fact) quiet, friendly, easy and peaceful here. You'll need a car to visit local attractions but if walking appeals then there are many footpaths to follow. Although if you have a large dog then I'm afraid one such walk is impossible due to the design of the sheep proof concrete access from the road. Security is also excellent here with newly installed number plate recognition barriers both on entry and exit, this I like as a lone traveller nowadays. Well behaved dogs are made welcome too. 


Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: NickandLorna 3 reviews from this member

 We were left, on Good Friday, with nowhere to stay - since the caravan we went to see (and hopefully buy!) was VERY damp and therefore not purchased.

We had a 2 year old grandson desperate to stay in a caravan for the weekend.

We had stayed here several years earlier and so just 'tried our luck' in contacting the site. We couldn't have been made any more welcome. The owners quickly sorted out their empty static as it hadn't been cleaned through, since it wasn't going to be booked out.

We cannot recommend this site enough - it's quiet yet friendly, clean, spacious and very tidy throughout.

We're now considering putting our tourer (that we will be buying imminently) into their own storage on this site.

Cannot recommend enough! 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Carabee 5 reviews from this member

 The site is clean and well maintained. Facilities while basic are clean functional and adequate. The dog walking area is a bit small, but the site is only 50yds from unlimited walks along the River Parrett. Plenty of interesting places to visit within a 15mile radius. My only complaint is that it's a bit far to walk to the pubs or for a meal. The owners are very friendly and helpful, and there's a very good service workshop/spares and accessory shop on site. We'll definitely be back. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: SpottyB 1 review from this member

 Appreciated the friendly service after turning up at 10. 30 pm and booking a pitch just a few hours before. The showers were lovely and warm, the toilets spotlessly clean and plenty of space on a well run campsite. I hope to return in the not too distant future, the shop was also very useful for groceries. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Labradorlass 11 reviews from this member

 As single caravanner with two very polite Labradors I felt most welcome on this small independent site. A lot of thought and care has gone into Southfork with many extras over and above the fantastic spotless facilities mentioned.

Both the owners Mick and Nancy were really helpful plus interesting to talk too! The staff I met were also cheerful.

I made a few friends in less than four days here and felt at ease at all times.

You will need a car should you like to eat out etc but there are many farmland footpaths too explore. I saw a heron up close and personal on the first morning.

The area is packed with things to do and covers most interests. I myself like to ramble and study wildlife, a visit to Montacute House is recommended.

There is a very busy workshop on site and I can recommend Mick as a knowledgeable 'can do' chap, my elderly van has benefited immensely from this facility. Thank you Mick. !

I look forward to returning once again. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Roughyed52 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed four nights while visiting our daughter in Yeovil. Our car broke down on site and the staff could not have been more helpful and supportive - even offering to drop us off in Yeovil for the evening and pick us up later and showing genuine concern and interest in our plight.

The site is beautifully maintained, lovely flowers around the reception area and good, clean and cared for toilet facilities.

It is very quiet at night, being outside of Martock and the stars were wonderful while we were there. Very level pitches with plenty of room. Very relaxed atmosphere due to the friendly and helpful staff. The children's playground is pretty basic but as we were child free this trip it didn't bother us and there is lots of area to run around in 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Paulasean 2 reviews from this member

 Very welcoming hostess! Couldn't do enough to make us feel welcome. Beautifully clean and well presented facilities. Fully equipped laundry. You will need to be prepared to drive to find somewhere to eat but the pub in the nearby village provides a more than adequate roast dinner with plenty of accompanying vegetables. Overall the site is well maintained with easy access. Good value for an overnight stop. 


Date of Visit: November 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Purplelindycraft 4 reviews from this member

 This was the first campsite that I visited upon purchasing my first caravan.

It is a small independent site with a couple of hard standing and a couple of serviced pitches. There were also grass pitches with EHUs. The owner is hoping to extend the site into an adjacent field that he owns are some point soon.

The owner also services caravans on site. He was a tremendous help to service the van. He managed to resolve a lot of the issues and was a huge help in showing me how to do things such as draining the system, aligning the TV aerial and other bits and pieces.

It has a lovely clean ablutions block that consists of a number of showers which are free and operate with a light pull switch, a number of sinks (all with soap), a number of loos then a separate heated room for laundry (which was extremely reasonable) and washing up. The only tip I would have is to be aware that the lights are managed by a movement sensor and may turn off before you finish getting the shampoo out of your hair. It takes a couple of times to coordinate how best to time your shower to stop this.

The Chemical Loo Disposal is an outside loo that can be flushed to ensure no smells and prevent drainage problems.

The mobile phone signal is awful but the TV signal is good.

I would definitely return to this site if I am in Somerset again. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mrsluigi 7 reviews from this member

 We spent 5 nights at this lovely little site before moving on to Devon. The pitch was a reasonable size for an average size tent but a bit of a squeeze for our coleman Columbia 10 a pup tent and our car although this wasn't a problem as no one pitched next to us until the last night.

There is a small enclosed play area and a small enclosed dog area. The grass was keep short and neat and the pitches were flat. There is a small shop on site.

The owners were friendly and welcoming and the showers were clean and hot. Nice to have a string to pull to turn them on and off instead of an annoying push button and as others have said lots of hooks even some low down so that children can reach.

Never had to queue for a shower. Nice to wake up to cows mooing in the field behind although the only downside was that there were a lot of flies around because of them.

Especially on the fence. All in all a lovely quiet site and we would definitely go back. 


Previous     37 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Southfork Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Southfork Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Southfork Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Martock      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Somerset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet New Forest Caravan & Motorhome Show 21/05 to 25/03
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2657 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement