Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Moor View Touring Park

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Devon (South) > Modbury > Moor View Touring Park > Reviews

Moor View Touring Park
California Cross
Modbury
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
PL21 0SG
Tel: 01548 821485
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 68
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 90 Reviews
                8/10 from 90 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 No Shop   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  90 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dog Breath 2 reviews from this member

 Second stop off on our West Country tour was Moor View. An adults only site so we weren't entirely sure what to expect. We had trouble finding it as it was tucked down some very narrow lanes which, if you have a motorhome or caravan of any size then you may want to reconsider finding somewhere a little easier to access. I eventually bit the bullet and tailgated a transit van that seemed to be going in the same direction, much to Mrs Breath's despair. It was that or make her walk in front waving a flag.

As a consequence of trying to find a road that would accommodate our hired unit, we arrived a little late. We were eventually met by the groundsman as the office was now unmanned and no one was answering the phone. It wasn't exactly the warmest welcome but he wasn't rude either. Probably just wanted to be indoors watching TV. He showed us to our pitch, gave us a whirlwind tour of the facilities and left us to it.

Showers & WC's were nice & clean. Didn't have to wait to use a shower. There were 4 in the men's, from memory. Same for women. Each pitch was semi-private (hedges surrounding a roadstone/gravel pitch). Got talking to a another couple who said they usually came there. It was very quiet. A bit too quiet for our liking. Not in the respect we were looking for any kind of night life but no one really spoke to anyone and no one used the lounge area and I think it was requested that you returned by a certain time so as to not disturb the other site users.

Leisure facilities were scant. We had a game of table tennis. No swimming pool on site. I don't even think there was a shop on site.

Local pub (California Cross Inn) served good food & ales and were very accommodating at short notice. BP garage opposite, which was handy. 


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Paul CRUMPTON 2 reviews from this member

 Huge field provided for dog exercise and well maintained. A big plus for us! The park manager is professional. Polite, helpful and informative.

Scrupulously clean amenities if not a little dated.

Tucked away from the main roads. And there lies the issue. The journey from the A38 to the site can best be described as challenging and worst, tortuous when towing. We are not averse to narrow country lanes coming from Herefordshire, but the 'preferred' route in is a popular route for. Well, just about everyone, driving anything and it is tight !

Pitches are a good size, a little close to each other but it is a very quiet park if that's what you're after. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Polly7705 5 reviews from this member

 Lovely site. We received a warm welcome.

The facilities were very clean and the showers were better than home.

Tea and coffee facilities on arrival were very much appreciated.

The huge field for dog walking was a real bonus for our very active spaniel.

Most pitches appeared to have dividing hedges for privacy (and probably shelter from wind - although mostly needed for shade as it was so hot when we were there)

Super stay - thank you. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Trfc 1 review from this member

 The expensive pitch fees do not reflect the quality of the site. Being a child free site why are the prices far too high during school holidays?

The entrance is spoilt with seasonal caravans surrounded by storage boxes and owners personal effects.

The pitches are small for a caravan and awning.

Not a site for peace and quiet reading due to the very busy maintenance team.

Access from the main road via lanes causes log jams with passing caravans on narrow stretches.

The views are stunning.

Dog walk is excellent.

Washing area and shower rooms are very clean.

Reception manager/owner very helpful and pleasant. 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kirstygeorge 1 review from this member

 I have just come to the end of a 7 month seasonal stay at Moorview while I study at Plymouth university. I have stayed 3 nights a week since October and am due to leave next week (May 2018). The site is so peaceful and immaculately clean and well maintained. There is a lovely exercise area with a seating area to enjoy the breathtaking views across Dartmoor. Many of the pitches have their own seating area too, depends on which you choose. The site is adults only and it is typical to greet people with a smile and a 'good morning'. There really is a very friendly atmosphere here and the manager David and his team are always friendly and helpful if there's anything you need.

The road that connects the A38 with the site is a typical Devon road, many caravans use the road every day and as long as you drive sensibly there is no problem at all.

All in all an immaculate site, beautiful views, peaceful and very relaxing and I cant recommend it highly enough. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Markdp 2 reviews from this member

 Although, we have said we visited in June 2015, we have been going to Moorview for 7 years

We have mostly visited twice annually

The previous private owners Edward and Liz were brilliant.

They were always on hand to give that personal touch,

OK, the site needed some money spending on it. Although the showers and toilets were always spotless, they were dated.

New owners:

I understand the company is based in Plymouth.

No money has been spent on the site, unless you include splitting some of the pitches and charging even more!

Yes, the site has water and drainage for every pitch. We like that at our age!

But, we have been to many sites with water and drainage connected. Moorview is the most expensive at which we have stayed.

You can expect to pay for that if you are in a beautiful spot overlooking the sea or a lake. Not the case at Moorview - very ordinary.

After 9 visits to Moorview, we are staying elsewhere with far better value for money

Moorview is very poor value for money. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Torquemaster 11 reviews from this member

 This is our third visit to this site in our tent. We do't go back to sites if we don't really like it! Nuff said!

We love this site with its views and spacious camping field. There is lot to do nearby, or you can just relax in this quiet site. Our dog appreciated the dog walking facilities.

We found the Modbury Inn to our liking with realistically priced food & drink. While the Califonia Inn is close this does not readily accommodate inside those that wish to drink only, or wish to dine with a dog. Along with it's pricing policy this diminishes it in our opinion.

It has to be said that this is quite an exposed site where winds and damp weather can arrive both expectedly and unexpectedly! Well this overlooks Dartmoor so what can one expect and upon reflection only serves to add further character.

Compared with our first visit three years ago, when it was at the end of the previous management and has to be said in poor condition, David the new Manager & his team have worked wonders on the facilities. Whilst they are not radically different its the little touches and the care and consideration that shines through. It's amazing the synergy these small improvements make.

We found all the staff helpful and happy to have a chat. It's great to see that the site has no ambition to fill the camping field, but selectively limits this to 5 pitches. The discount for over 60's is a nice touch which is appreciated. Whilst the pricing is on the high side compared to others we have stayed at, we do not resent this as the site gives so much in return.

We shall definitely make plans for our fourth trip. Nuff said! 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Normaapple 1 review from this member

 Nice clean site the only complaint we had was although peaceful without children the noise from the strimmers and mowers which were going every day we were there except weekends were annoying. We've been on quieter sites with children.

We know these jobs have to be done but have never been on a site before where they are going all day (apart from lunch time).

Facilities at site very good. 


Date of Visit: March 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: David29 6 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for 3 nights in March. Very good site, well cared for and being an adult only site, was lovely and quiet. Location is not too bad being in a central location for the South Hams district. Only 15 or so miles from Plymouth using the back roads. I have an Adria Twin on a Fiat Ducato. Anything bigger or wider might struggle round the narrow lanes. I had a few hairy moments myself. The site itself has superb facilities, very clean. Also has a common room with large tv, complimentary tea and coffee, microwave etc. Alongside the touring site, which has all hardstanding with water, tv hook-up and grey waste drop, is a site with lodges and a separate tent area as well as a decent size dog run area. Be prepared to use your vehicle to get around, wouldn't recommend walking the narrow lanes. Other than that a great weekend and will certainly return. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: MadAboutMotorhoming 18 reviews from this member

 We enjoyed the most stunning views over to Dartmoor from this great campsite. It was such a restful weekend and the relaxed smiles on all the other campers' faces when we arrived, said it all. It's been a few years since we have been to this site and we wondered why we had left it so long. Perhaps it was the single lane (in places) A road leading to the The toilets/showers although not as modern as 'club sites', were spotless, with plenty of hot free running water. It was easy to book online and the owners were extremely accommodating. We will return again soon to rediscover more of this beautiful part of Devon 


Previous     90 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Moor View Touring Park child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Is Moor View Touring Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Modbury      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (South)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3153 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement