Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Bacheldre Watermill Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Powys > Montgomery > Bacheldre Watermill Caravan & Camping Park Reviews

CLOSED: Bacheldre Watermill Caravan & Camping Park
Churchstoke
Montgomery
Powys   (Browse area)



Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: Site Now Closed

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 11 Reviews
                8/10 from 11 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  11 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: November 2011 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

Please note, this location no longer operates as a touring site - the campsite is now closed.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Dot P 597 reviews from this member

We booked for bank holiday and asked for pitches together for a camper and 2 tents - booked and paid deposit after agreeing full cost.

On arrival owner advised us we had been quoted too much and reduced the amount still to pay - nice gesture and would happily have paid the amount quoted.

Seems to be mixed reaction on the toilets / showers. Yes its a portacabin block - but it was cleaned regularly by owner and was clean at all time. Only 1 shower in mens / ladies - but didn't have to queue at all - shower old but free and good piping hot water - no complaints from us.

Very quiet and peaceful site. All pitches are around the edge which leaves the middle of the field empty and gives a feeling of space.

Hardly any children on the site and there aren't any play areas as such - but plenty of room for those that were there to play without getting close to other tents / caravans.

Previous comments about shops - yes there are a couple in Montgomery - but turn right on the main road from the campsite and approx 1 mile away is a Tuffin's store. It sells everything but the kitchen sink and all reasonably priced (rather like a whole town in one very large shop). They had a good cafe there, garden centre and a market on the Sunday too.

The only minor thing we would change would be for the grass to be cut - being a damp weekend the longer grass does mean you walk the wet into tents / caravans.

Would we stay again? definitely - a really nice site, generally well kept, pleasant owners, quiet but lots to do in the area.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Maj15 10 reviews from this member

Chose this site for a quiet weekend away at the start of the school holidays. I read the mixed reviews but we decided to give it a go. The site is just off the main road to Newtown from Craven Arms but is far enough off the beaten track to be well away from traffic noise.
Entrance to the site is a little tight but not too bad. The young man who seems to run the mill, work in reception, mow the grass etc. Was friendly and helpful and relieved us of £17.50 per night, which seemed a bit steep considering the limited facilities on offer.

The site itself was pleasant enough, but the centre of the field was a quagmire and not good for children to play on. Our daughter went across to meet some other children and returned covered in mud. The toilets and showers were housed in a portacabin at the entrance to the site and always seemed clean and tidy. Next to this were the bins and a chemical toilet disposal point.

Overall this is a nice quiet site which we would probably return to in the future.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dufay12 6 reviews from this member

We decided to go away at the last minute on the Bank Holiday weekend and -no surprise -most campsites were full. After a desperate search we found that the only site with available pitches was Bacheldre Mill. We read the negative reviews on this website and booked more out of desperation than anything. It turned out to be a great decision. The campsite was nearly empty. Perhaps due to the bad reviews on this site? The site was well maintained. The shower block was kept clean, the grass cut. We just couldn't believe our luck.

It seemed that the guy running the mill was also running the campsite on his own. Perhaps this is why some people feel the owners have trouble maintaining it during busy periods? The location of the site was also great. Near to the main road but quiet. It's the only site we've been to in Shropshire where you can't hear road noise! This was because the site was surrounded by mature trees. It was so peaceful. The caravan pitches were hardstandings and the owner was very considerate in telling us how many vans were due, so we could all be spaced out. That said, the pitches were reasonably generous in size.

There were paths for walking straight from the campsite, which was useful for us with our dog. The owner was very chilled out about dogs, and people were allowed to keep them under control but off lead. This made sense considering the size of the site and how quiet it was.

There were a few families on the site. The kids could play in the centre of the field, as all the pitches are located around the outside. This provided a great area for the kids to play in, yet ensured that they weren't infringing on other campers.

When I go back to Shropshire, I'll choose this site. It was just great.

Date of Visit: October 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nordy600 6 reviews from this member

Some things never change! Grass is still long and the toilets are still covered with cobwebs but I guess it depends how much creature comfort you want to take with you.

Two of us and a dog have just had a pretty peaceful three mid week nights in the middle of October with nobody else there.

Spent two days searching for the mill pond before I realised the mill only works on water for the tourists - electric for the rest of the year.

A bit too close to the main road for my liking; not continuous noise but disturbed what would have otherwise been serene evenings.

With a bit more attention, this could be a half decent campsite. Cut the grass, empty the bins, build a proper toilet block. You can't change its location though. Nearest pub was way off (and closed) and the nearest shop in Montgomery (2 1/2M).

On the plus side, if you want a site within an hours drive of so many fantastic places to visit then this could be the one for you.

We will definitely be coming back to the area, just not this site.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sarahandmatt 30 reviews from this member

Not very impressed at all with this site. The grass was long and when it was wet it made going to the facilities rather unpleasant. The toilet block was infact in a dirty, old portacabin with only one shower in the ladies and one in the mens. The floor was always covered in grass and often there was no paper in the loos. Wouldn't go again.

Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jokerthelurcher 2 reviews from this member

We had high hopes for this site - the website makes it look lovely and mentions the modern clean shower block.   As our son has special needs and has been teased on campsites before I rang the owners to see what proportion of children to adults they usually had, explaining why I wanted to know. They told me that as they had no children's play equipment they tended not to have large numbers of children.  In fact the place was full of children (I don't think anyone there was without kids) and the inevitable teasing that goes with large groups of kids meant we ended up leaving a day early.
 
Another gripe was the showers which were not to our minds modern or clean.  They were in a Portakabin and although the basins were cleaned daily the floors, window cills etc were pretty grim with old cobwebs and insects etc.   The site has a Welsh Tourist Board 4* which we were really surprised by.  We won't be going back.

Date of Visit: September 2005 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Patsy Pig 2 reviews from this member

New tent, new campsite. Both turned out to be very good. The tent took us about 3 hours of strenuous exercise to put up, then we read the instructions!
Site is peaceful, in beautiful surroundings; grass field, gently sloping, well sheltered (not much for the views, but good in "weather"). Organisation of site good, pitches numbered, many with electric hook-up. Toilet block small but clean. The old mill, with attendant pond, makes this a pleasant site to stroll round. It is well fenced, but could be a worry for families with young children.
Local facilities: Church Stoke has supermarket, pubs, shops, garage etc. (2 miles).

Date of Visit: April 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: David_b 3 reviews from this member

I enjoyed this site, and it's good for beginners (like me!). Unlike other reviews, we could pitch wherever we wanted, even in the animal enclosures! The facilities are clean. There are some nice walks in the area, and the site is "sheltered".

However...

There was an entire family of crows that could not stay quiet.

Date of Visit: July 2005
Reviewer: Jenki 1 review from this member

A gorgeous little secluded campsite (only 24 pitches). Very peaceful with lovely views of the Kerry Ridgeway and beautifully maintained. Its a place to get away from it all and relax and some great walks nearby as well. Would recommend and will be back!

Previous     11 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

All Sites in Powys

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2613 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019