Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Wairds Park Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Angus > Montrose > Wairds Park Campsite Reviews

Wairds Park Campsite
Beach Road
Johnshaven
Montrose
Angus   (Browse area)
DD10 0ET
Tel: 01561 362395
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 31
Open: 01/04/2020 to 31/10/2020
           01/04/2021 to 31/10/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 13 Reviews
                9/10 from 13 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  13 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Fen Marshall 17 reviews from this member

 It's worth reading up on the background to this community-run site before you visit. The serviced level grass pitches are excellent.

We arrived when the site was unmanned and, although we knew which pitch to use, we didn't know about the key system for the toilets. Luckily a friendly fellow camper helped us out! The staff were great when they were there.

The pub serves very good food and is a short stroll away. The putting green was fun!

We were disappointed with Montrose but the fascinating National Nature reserve at St Cyrus is well worth visiting. We also enjoyed Fettercairn and the surrounding area.

Go through the village to get there and ignore your satnav.

A lovely site and quiet, even in August. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jeanetta Sinclair 3 reviews from this member

 This site is a hidden treasure. Lovely location. Very friendly and helpful wardens.

Toilets very clean and fantastic showers and the local hotel serves excellent food. Would highly recommend this campsite. Loads for the kids also.

We had a great time and will be back. 


Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Aldo1877 7 reviews from this member

 Arrived on site to find the Warden was not on duty until an hour or so later. I didn't notice the note (due to having just finishing night shift and then driving up - my excuse and I'm sticking to it) telling me which pitch was allocated.

We spent our time at the play area with my grandson, which had been newly refurbished. Nice facilities, with a Bowling Green, putting green, multi purpose courts, Tennis courts and a large green space area. Use of these facilities was at a very good price.

Staff were all very friendly and it was a good relaxing holiday, albeit the weather was unkind. The local pub, 5 minutes walk, does good food, not your usual pub fayre, but a bit better quality. Warning! You need to book as it is a fairly isolated site and the pub was busy even on a Thursday evening. The staff squeezed us in and the food was lovely.

The only negative was that the pitches are grass, with the weather this made it a bit muddy. However, this is being really picky and it is a good site for a relaxing break, even with kids. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Rowena8256 10 reviews from this member

 Stayed one night on way around Scottish coast, the weather wasn't good but managed to get out and there is a good walk for the dog along a path that runs behind the stoney beach.

The pitches are all on grass and right next to the pitch and putt and other recreational courts. It is run by the council and there is individual services for every pitch incl grey water waste which is good. Wonder if if would be very noisy in busy summer months, probably be good for families.

All facilities and there is a heater in the shower block but it was decidedly chilly once out of the hot showers.

Warden very helpful and friendly 


Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: 2Adventurers 8 reviews from this member

 Johnshaven is a lovely wee fishing village and there is nothing much to dislike about the Wairds park Caravan site which is run for the good of the community.

There are no hard standing pitches and although the grass pitches are quite close together when the park is full, the great thing is that each pitch has its own ehu, gray waste drain and fresh water supply.

There is a great play park for the children, a tennis court, putting green, football court and bowling green so plenty to keep the whole family occupied yet the site is very peaceful.

Toilets and laundry area always lovely and clean although can be a bit chilly when it is particularly cold.

Not a problem once under the shower!

There is a small, well stocked shop in the village which is within easy walking distance as well as a nice pub which serves a variety of fresh seafood or various other choices of menu.

An easy two and a half mile walk along the rocky shoreline will take you to Gourdon, home of the famous Hornblower Restaurant. Best fish and chips anywhere and lovely view over the harbour.

Although not on site full time, Site wardens are friendly and helpful and are available at allocated times during the day. Good tv reception. Highly recommended.  

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Fiz62 3 reviews from this member

 Wairds Park. What a little gem of a campsite for families. Clean, well kept and free showers which were spotless. Playground was great for children of all ages. The site was very reasonably priced. Shop and hotel within a few minutes walk.

Rocky beach closeby but an excellent sandy beach a few miles down the road in St. Cyrus - head for Steptoes garage sale and walk across the bridge from the nature reserve. Best beach for miles around. Lovely - too nice to share really. Shhhh! 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Rjackson222 2 reviews from this member

 Lone traveller with dog. Stayed one night late in August 2011.

The staff were polite and helpful. Facilities on site are first class - toilets and showers were immaculate - these are kept locked but key is supplied on booking in. Laundry and dishwashing facilities also available.

Site is on beach road but beach is not sandy - rocks and shingle. Plenty of scope for rockpool searching. No pool on site but has putting green, bowling green, and various other sports facilities available to hire.

Place is run as a charity for the benefit of the community. Low nightly charge, (16) for camper van with electric hook up.

No charge for dog - plenty of space alongside site for walking. Village has two pubs - one does excellent locally caught seafood meals - (Johnshaven is a fishing village).

Other pub is good for meeting people. One village shop for the essentials. Boats can be launched in village harbour via ramp - but only at high water - local man is harbour master and you need permit.

Ideal base if you want to tour this specific area. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Crockatt 1 review from this member

 Have just spent 2 lovely days/nights here. They have 2 areas for pitching tents, a smaller out of the way one and their main one just meters away from the playpark I would recommend booking if you want EHU as there is only 2 hook-ups. The facilities are great and are cleaned daily and the grounds are kept immaculate. Very friendly helpful staff are on hand throughout the day for any queries etc and a small shop on site, though mainly selling sweets and icelollies, but just a 10 min walk to the local shop in the very sleepy village of johnshaven, site over looks the sea and the stoney beach is great for rock pooling.

I chose to pitch in the main tenting area, so I just had to sit at my tent and could watch my 6yr old playing happily in the park, the park it new and in good order is great for the kids and very safe, I might add that the park is also used by the locals, which is great for playmates through the day but found the noise from the older kids at night very distracting, the staff did come round at 10pm and told them it was quiet time, but as kids will be kids it was sometimes as late as 11pm when they would finally move on, not great for getting little ones to sleep, there is no night time warden. Also found on the odd occasion the tent being hit by a wayward football from the football field, which is directly behind the tent pitches. All in All a brilliant site and I will hopefully visit again in the future. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jean K 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely site several metres from the sea. It seems very popular with many statics as well as touring spaces. The site I was given was level and had electric hook up and drains.

The toilets/shower area was very clean and had plenty toilet roll etc. There is no beach but a lovely walk along the coastal path to the next village (about 3 miles away), which the dog and I did at 4am on the first morning I was there.

The village is lovely and the people were friendly but the best part of the site is the path along the sea. The weather was beautiful when I was there as well, which added to the pleasure. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: BANDIT11 3 reviews from this member

 Just had 3 lovely nights at Wairds Park, the welcome from the girls in the office and the groundsman was fantastic, they gave us all of the information about the local walks and told us to keep an eye out for the passing dolphins which would be viable from our pitch.

The pitch was on grass, level and fully serviced even with a drain per pitch for grey waste. The town is very small but full of warm hearted people, we went to the Anchor pub in the evening (again on the advice from the girls in reception) to see a local band, the evening was great fun.

Being a small village everyone knew everyone and were didn't feel excluded in fact we were bought several drinks from the locals proving to be a very cheap night out -happy days.

Shame about the weather - wet and very windy 70MPH gusts at times, we will definitely go back. The campsite and the town have a real feel of community. Well done to the staff - a very clean and friendly site. 


Previous     13 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Wairds Park Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Wairds Park Campsite?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Wairds Park Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Montrose      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Angus

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1822 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to 160 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth up to 865

Get an email reminder on 1st December