Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Westgate Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Morecambe > Westgate Caravan Park Reviews

Westgate Caravan Park
Westgate
Morecambe
Lancashire   (Browse area)
LA3 3DE
Tel: 01524 411448
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 16
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 11 Reviews
                8/10 from 11 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   Wild Swimming 1 mile   Indoor Pool 1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  11 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: TheHeadGardener 5 reviews from this member

Disclaimer - this is absolutely not the sort of site I would normally choose. However, I needed to be close to Morecambe centre and Westgate is a ten minute walk up a straight road which brings you to the Prom at the south end.

It did not start well. At 16. 45 I was delayed in traffic but the office did not answer the phone. Arriving at 17. 04 the office was locked, shut, closed, no-one around. Eventually I found the phone number of a warden who came out (with his mouth full of supper, poor chap) and gave me a key. He did not really want to take cash for the night but I was leaving far earlier in the morning than the office opened. Fortunately I had cash.

Shown to pitch, which is near the facilities block and close to the entrance. Pitches are small and turn into them is tight. Would not want to do this with a caravan (and I have one so am not being subjective).

90% of site is statics, all very close together.

Shower block looked clean, did not use it. Washed in my van using water I already had on board - the tap water here absolutely stank. So many chemicals it was as if it had come straight out of a swimming pool, absolutely did not want it on my skin or to drink it. Water in dishwash area extremely hot. Rubbish bin area tidy.

Site quiet overnight.

Got out of there by 7. 30am the following.

If you want to be close to Morecambe it might be your thing.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Lisa1976 1 review from this member

This was a last minute choice due to financial issues. Very quiet site. 216 statics and only 6 are rented. Had an issue with grill and reported to reception. Martin came to fix it same day. Friendly staff and people.

My only issue was it's supposed to be a dog friendly site but there isn't any doggy bins and you aren't allowed to exercise or walk your dog on the campsite itself.

No entertainment on this site so ideally more as a base. Shop only opened a couple of hours a day and was very low stocked.

All in all, not a bad campsite but needs improving. Would go back but not on a regular basis xx

Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Claireapril26 12 reviews from this member

A last minute chance call to this site provided our family of four (two children) with a friendly, clean and safe pitch for the Easter weekend.

The wardens and lady in the office was very friendly as well as helpful.

The locked showers and toilets were always clean and warm. Even though they are have 16 touring pitches the toilets are of a very good standard.

The site is located opposite the football club as well as a pub. It's on the main road, about 15 minute walk into Morecambe. Regular bus service outside the site.

There is a good site if you're looking for a couple of nights in Morecambe or a stop-over. The site isn't a destination/holiday site as it hasn't got a lot of offer. There is a playground yet they do lock it at times and is predominately a static caravan site

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Toyotal 1 review from this member

A very clean and tidy site. The toilets very clean and close to pitches as are the bins and water. It is tight to manoeuvre onto pad, glad I have motor mover. There is a shop on site selling basics and there is a playground for kids. Although full over bank holiday there was hardly any noise. The staff were friendly and helpful.

Morecambe is just down the road 2 minutes in car or 20 minutes walking. Morecambe itself was very disappointing and drab, it is in urgent need of a facelift.

The site is value for £19 per night but we will not be going back until Morecambe is spruced up.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dm-cumbria 2 reviews from this member

Easy to find, good flat pitches with electric hook up. You will need £10. 00 deposit for secure electric gates in and out of the park, you get this back when returned. Showers and toilets all clean, also has a handy little shop.

£18. 00 a night and very quiet for being quite central, only 10-15 min walk to seafront. If you like McDonalds it's an 8 minute drive away. We will stay here again as long as the price remains reasonable. Thanks we enjoyed our short break.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: David Turner2 52 reviews from this member

A cracking site close to Morecambe seafront with all facilities but quiet. The site is opposite Morecambe football Club and a newly built Pub opposite the entrance is about open with deals on pub meals and Marstons beers. It is about 15 mins walk to the Promenade and about 30 mins to the centre of town.

A key is provided for the toilet block with nice/clean showers etc (plenty of hot water) A little shop is also on site but was closed the weekend we stayed but a Lidl and other shops within 800 yards. The price for the season is £18 a night with electricity.

We will use this site again.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Terry99 6 reviews from this member

Back again love this site only 16 pitches, but you cannot have any awnings on this site but when you are only going for the weekend that does not matter,

The toilet facilities are very clean, the showers are a bit fierce but it does liven you up. Reception very friendly you have to leave a 10. 00 deposit for the gate key but it is refundable back when you leave.

Looking forward to going back again next year for the tutti frutti festival.

Thank you for a great week-end

Very good value for money at 15. 00 per night

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Justcamping 8 reviews from this member

A lovely quiet site, with hard standing pitches but don't allow awnings - not a problem for us as we normally go for the weekend but could be a problem on longer visits. Very friendly staff. Electric barrier for security.

Lovely clean toilets and plenty of them. Showers not very warm but ok. Mostly statics, room for about 30 tourers. Although it is a quiet site and we have children, nobody minds them running about enjoying them selves. Also has a small park.

A small shop reasonably priced for most bits and bobs that you forget to take with you.

A short walk from Morecambe front/beach.

Visited quite a few times and will be returning again

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Terry99 6 reviews from this member

Lovely campsite with static caravans as well as pitches for caravans and motorhomes only 16 pitches so it is always safer to ring and book or e-mail.

Very nice and clean site with showers and toilets at your disposal.You pay 10.00 for a security key to get you in and out if you wish and is returnable on your departure.Staff very friendly.

Will be going back again if not before but for definite next July for the rock and roll festival at The Platform in morecambe 'Tuttie-Fruttie.

Thank you for letting us stay on your site 10 out of 10 for looks, cleanliness.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Terry99 6 reviews from this member

Went to westgate as we saw it last year so we thought we would give it a try, pitch was o.K. For motorhome with electric hook up near by.

Toilets and showers at back of site,you have to pay 20pence but well worth it only 2 showers on site toilets and showers very clean.

Everybody very friendly will go back again

Previous     11 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lancashire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5111 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019