Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Mill Farm Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Shropshire > Much Wenlock > Mill Farm Caravan Park Reviews

Mill Farm Caravan Park
Hughley
Much Wenlock
Shropshire   (Browse area)
SY5 6NT
Tel: 01746 785208
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 40
Open: March To January

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 11 Reviews
                8/10 from 11 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding On Site   Cycle Hire <10 miles   No Golf   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  11 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lovely 8 reviews from this member

 We stayed on this campsite for the last week in August with our teenage daughter. The site is in a lovely area. The owner is very friendly and we were able to pick our own spot and just threaded our EHU to where we needed it. The prices for tents I think are reasonable. The site is mainly used by statics and tourers but there are a few pitches for tents.

The toilets and showers as mentioned by previous reviewers are basic but clean. Showers use 50p tokens (for about 7 mins which we found ok) from reception. There are 3 showers each which doesn't sound a lot but are mainly used by the people in tents of which there are few.

The only let down on this campsite was doing the washing up as there wasn't any plugs, so take a bowl! The hot water trickles out and is very hot and the cold gushes out. Needless to say we used as few dishes as possible and resorted to paper plates and cups for ease! This could easily be sorted with a bit of TLC.

There is a lovely stream running through the site which would be lovely for kids on a sunny day.

This is a lovely quiet site.

In Much Wenlock there is a Chinese/Fish chip shop, Spar and a few pubs.

We stayed here for a week and used the Annual Passport for the Ironbridge museums which I would highly recommend. Don't miss any of the museums they are all good! We used the car parks for each museum, for most of them you can use a 1. 50 all day ticket. All the museums are within easy distance of this camp site.

We visited Shrewsbury, Ludlow and Telford.

We found it difficult to get internet connection in and around Ironbridge but phone signal was fine.

I would definitely come back to this area and would probably use this site again for a short visit.

This is a basic site but manageable. If you only do glamping best look else where! 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Sundancekid2009 22 reviews from this member

 Stayed one night at the site. Very pleasant receptionist;i thought 16-00 for 1 night a bit expensive(she dropped it to 12 the same as I was quoted in another site)i was showed to a hardstanding with elec/hookup/water etc. The box also had a TV aerial socket but I couldn't get that to work (never mind)the showers/toilets were clean &tidy but could do with updating; its not very well lit when you have a late evening shower (although on my travels I've seen a lot worse)& you need a token (50p)from the receptionist (she never told me). There's some activities of sorts on site; a sort of social room offering snacks from what I saw on a notice board;didn't stay long enough to see any swimming pool or boating lake but there is horse riding over the road. I'd stop there again the sunny weather made it a excellent night stop. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: DanandSan 6 reviews from this member

 Wow. What a lovely find. Our usual campsite was fully booked and we found mill farm on UK campsites. We were pitched on touring pitch no 1. Which backs onto a small stream that the children found very amusing. I tried to get the kids to use their imagination and play in the stream as opposed to sitting on their tablets!. This site is so picturesque and also has some nice walks around the park itself. Set in beautiful Shropshire countryside. Now for the touring set amongst you there are statics on site and although visible do not detract from the sites beauty at all. We had a great day lazing around in the sun and relaxing but late afternoon the weather closed in so we decided to venture into the barn for a play your cards right and bingo evening. The residents from the statics were extremely friendly and we had a good laugh with them. We are not usually club type people but taking your own drink into a converted barn was a bit different and what fun we had. Now. For people who want 5 star toilet facilities this site wont be for you. They are rough and ready akin to an outside toilet from wartime London but please don't let this put you off, the site the staff the surroundings more than make up for the toilet blocks. Personally 38 for two nights in summer school holidays is cheap in my opinion considering I pay 45 per night in Dorset! !. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Downsey88 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for 2 nights but wanted to stay longer ! What a lovely site. Very picturesque, clean and cosy. Stayed in a tent which was situated near all the facilities. The boating lake was free of charge which both the children and the adults loved! The swimming pools and slides was entertaining for the children and there was playground areas in each field. On the Saturday, our children enjoyed the pony riding which was 5 pounds for half an hour, reasonable price. The toilet facilities was clean and the showers were also free of charge ! Definitely return to this site ! 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Treelover 1 review from this member

 Have been coming here for years. A lovely place with lovely owners but not as quiet and peaceful as it used to be.

Although it is an gold award park for wild life a lot of trees have been hacked down during the past year which means the park doesn't look as good as it did.

Not very good for mobile phone signal which can be a bonus! Not much to do for older children and teenagers, which for older visitors is a bonus. No bikes or ball games on the main drag. Play area provided for ball games.

Good for dog owners. Lots of dogs because dogs are welcome as long as they are kept on a lead which is a good thing.

There is a club on site which is open on Saturdays; a charge to go in if there is something on. Oldsters disco music, bingo, quiz etc.

Lovely statics with well kept gardens. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jonnmedds 69 reviews from this member

 What a lovely campsite.

The site is set in a tiny village just 10 minutes drive from Much Wenlock and 25 minutes from Church Sretton.

The site itself is nestled in woodland in a valley with a stream running around the edge. The owners have managed to make a large site feel small.

I only have two negative comments for this site; the toilet block, though clean is very dated and needs modernising. Secondly, at night the site is very dark and could do with some outdoor lighting.

This is a site I would definitely recommend to anyone who wants a peaceful stay. As for the negative comments below about lots of rules, well I never saw any evidence of this myself. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Keithy_t 1 review from this member

 We are new to camping and this site was our 1st stay with our new setup.

This is an excellent site and is only a short drive to Church Stretton which is a fantastic place.

The loos are a little dated but are very clean and tidy which is the main thing.

I would recommend this site to anyone and the surroundings are great, we will be very happy to go again and we will be booking again soon as it is only 20 miles from home.

Thumbs up Mill Farm, The site is very shaltered and the top feild is great for tent, the grounds overall are very well kept and the site is very tidy. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sterlingsop 7 reviews from this member

 This site had a large proportion of static caravans, but it wasn't an unsightly intrusion because they were separated from the tourers and well camouflaged by the trees and shrubbery on site.

There is a stream running through the site and our pitch was right alongside it, which was lovely and peaceful.

The site itself is approx 5 miles away from the nearest shops and facilities (in Much Wenlock), and is at the foot of Wenlock Edge. Also, the entrance to the site drops steeply away from the main road, which was a problem getting the caravan out again.

We had problems contacting the owners to book the site in the first place and when we arrived the lady didn't really know how to book us in or how to operate the card machine to take payment. There is only one toilet block that had hot water, with 3 showers each side for the whole site. It was very dated, but clean. The taps were were the push down type and all the taps were coloured blue.

The hot water dribbled out and was scalding hot and the cold water gushed out so fast that on most sinks it splashed out of the opposite side of the sink. The same was with the washing up water. There, the hot tap itself got so hot you have to cover it with several layers of cloth or teatowel to press it down.

The site rules are restrictive and not at all child-friendly. For example, no cycling or ball games and children have to be accompanied at all times. Highly impractical for two 11 year olds! There is a play barn on site, but it is kept locked and is only suitable for toddlers or pre-school age children and had to be paid for. The warden/owner was never available so couldn't be asked to unlock it.

Another site rule is that all dogs should be kept on a lead and should be prevented from barking. This is fair enough, but the owner's dog was allowed to run free through the site.

It is an expensive site. We paid 25 per night for 2 adults, 2 children in a touring caravan with awning and hookup. The showers are extra (50p per token, 2 tokens for the average female) and there is a charge for paying by card.

The site itself is very peaceful and we loved hearing the owls at night. The area is absolutely beautiful and we will be definitely be visiting again. There is lots to see and do - we visited Much Wenlock and Ludlow and have fallen in love with them both. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sprinterrover 1 review from this member

 My children regularly stay at Mill Farm with their tourers and, between them, 6 children.

They use the site showers without any difficulty and have found the site services to be clean and fresh and sufficient for their family needs.

They look after their own children and entertain them. Clearly, with a stream and ponds around, there has to be adult supervision. They chose to have children and they don't expect others to look after them. We take them for glorious walks in the wonderful safe surroundings where they can also cycle safely. They go on hacks at the neighbouring stables, with the younger ones having riding lessons. The older two thoroughly enjoy quadbiking in Much Wenlock across the fields at a child friendly adventure centre.

Our children do not annoy other site users as they are kept occupied. We do not expect 'all inclusive' in the country.

There is a club house which is open for the resident's use, albeit not all of the time. Thankfully the site retains it's rural charm and peace.

We have always found the owners and extended staff to be helpful and caring, their long term campers are treated as family.

Praise where it is truly deserved we believe! 


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: PhilEp 11 reviews from this member

 What a lovely site. Very neat and tidy set in woodland with a touring area backing onto a stream and immaculately maintained. There is a large static presence but they are dispersed among the trees so not noticed.
The owners were very welcoming and helpful. The toilet block was old and in need of refurbishment but very clean and functional. The final approach to the site is narrow so care is required when towing. Within the site is a fishing lake and opposite the entrance a riding stables.

Nearby Much Wenlock is a small quaint town with plenty of character. Also within a short distance are Shrewsbury, Telford, Bridgnorth and the Ironbridge Gorge with its industrial heritage.
Close by also is Wenlock Edge and the rolling Shropshire countryside for a multitude of walking opportunities. We had a very relaxing weekend and will most certainly return in the future. 


Previous     11 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Mill Farm Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Mill Farm Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Mill Farm Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Much Wenlock      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Shropshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6838 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement