Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - New Romney Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Kent > New Romney > New Romney Caravan Park Reviews

New Romney Caravan Park
Clark Road
Greatstone
New Romney
Kent   (Browse area)
TN28 8PB
Tel: 01797 362247
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 120
Open: March To November

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 8 Reviews
                8/10 from 8 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring 1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Countrylemon 12 reviews from this member

We chose this site owing to its proximity to the Romney Hythe and Dymchurch Railway, which was our mission for the weekend as a birthday treat for two of my railway loving sons.

The site is chiefly an owners static site although the touring and camping area is fairly separate from the statics. We found the ablutions block clean and sufficient. There is a laundrette and small clubhouse but we didn't use these, although there was entertainment on most nights I think. There is a kids play area with zip wire, and also a playpark on the greensward behind the beach. There is a Spar very close by.

The site was quiet and friendly, we didn't experience any late night noise or antisocial behaviour. The owners were very friendly and helpful. Our pitch was a little on the small size but we feel this may have been due to our neighbours taking more space than they ought.

We thoroughly enjoyed our day on the steam railway, Dungeness is definitely worth a visit (good food at the Britannia Inn, great views from the top of the old lighthouse) and we also stopped off at Dymchurch which also has a lovely big sandy beach. Although we travelled to Hythe we didn't go into the town itself (it's a bit of a walk) although last time we visited (around 8 yrs ago!) it was certainly worth exploring.

Would stay here again, lovely area - and steam trains!

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dave and Wendy 26 reviews from this member

Just had a 4 day break at this site which is mainly static caravans with a couple of small areas for touring, we were in our caravan and our daughter in a tent. The field is level although somewhat bumpy, there are 10 pitches with E/H around the perimeter, the drinking water tap is attached to the side of the chemical disposal and grey water emptying points in one corner of the field. This could be a problem with cross contamination, I did mention this to the management/warden who said they would take on board my comments and that they would think of re-positioning the above items.

The showers and toilets are both in portacabins which are very dated and appeared not to be cleaned on a regular basis, there was a sign saying 'if these toilets/showers are not as clean as you would like to find them please tell a member of staff asap' this should not be necessary if daily cleaning was carried out.

There is no shop on site however there is a spar shop approx 100m away from the site. The small cafe on site was somewhat pricey £2-75! for a drinking chocolate (pay less in London) we did not make use of the club house so can not comment on it although it looked ok from the outside.

There is a basic children's playground, our 7 year old granddaughter didn't stay long in it she said she got bored, there is also a field for children to play ball games.

Site is ideal for the beach which is sand when the tide is out but watch out when the tide is coming in, it comes in fast and can fill up the beach behind you leaving you stuck on a sand bank.

This is a basic site which could be much better with a little bit of updating to the facilities. I suppose it all really depends on what each of us want from a site.

Would we return to this site probably not.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tynxuk 16 reviews from this member

Had two weeks here on EHU and it was fantastic value for money, showers and toilets were dated portable units but always clean.

Washing machine was £2. 50 and tumble dryer was £1 for 16 mins with washing line outside laundry facilities for any delicates or just to finish off damp items from the dryer.

Bar was reasonably priced as was food and staff always friendly, there is a spar just off site which is handy or just over a mile away is a small Sainsburys.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Checkett 8 reviews from this member

Whilst the people who ran this site were extremely helpful and pleasant, the site itself was run down and very tired. The toilets were portacabins on a trailer, the bar was ok but didn't allow dogs inside, but fortunately it was a nice sunny day. No hard standing for motor homes so would be desperate in wet weather. We were booked for 3 nights but left after one. Not value for money.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Zozz 6 reviews from this member

Stayed here for one night mid week, really liked the site, there are only a small number of touring and tent pitches, split in two fields, the rest of the site is about 120 static caravans, but due to the lay out and screening you'd never know how big the site was.

The showers/toilets were adequate, the mobile style ones but with proper flushing loo's. Plenty of hot water in the showers.

Plenty of bins and dog bins, also a separate grass area for dog walking.

I didn't get to sample the wares of the Boat Shed cafe, but it looked really nice and will try it next time. There is wifi, but for whatever reason I couldn't log into it, I would have asked if staying longer, but was also quite nice to be without it.

Staff were all really friendly and helpful.

There is a Spar shop about 200yds away and the beach is approx 300yds at the end of the road.

It's an excellent spot for kitesurfing. I'll definitely come back and will even bring my non kiting partner.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: TomMac 27 reviews from this member

Small touring area, separate tent area. On a static holiday homes site. Friendly people on arrival, small cafe; not open all the time. Walk to shops and beach. On site pub with food; open limited days and times. Laundry. The toilet and shower blocks were demountable style, few and couldn't cope when the touring and camping areas were full. We went on the Dymchurch mini railway, to Hastings and Dover and the lighthouse at Dungeness.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Marcusopp 34 reviews from this member

They've only just started accommodating tents and tourers, but they're getting there!

The owner (Paul) is a top bloke who makes sure you're comfortable. Kate on reception is lovely too and guided us towards the coffee shop and it's tempting home made cakes!

The location is ideal, especially for cycling, with Dymchurch, Dungeness and sandy beaches at Lydd all very close. New Romney is the closest town with butchers, green grocers and sainsbury's.

The site is just getting ready, so the facilities are temporary, but still clean with hot water.

There's not a great deal of shelter in the region due to it being so flat, but Paul was explaining how he's planting a row of trees and shrubs, so this will improve.

The playground is as good as any park and right opposite the clubhouse, which serves food. We'll definitely be back as this place has bags of potential.

Date of Visit: May 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: OUTDOORMAN 5 reviews from this member

We really enjoyed our stay at New Romney Caravan Park.  The beach which is sandy is only a short walk away.  Nice weekend entertainment and bar at the weekend.  Children enjoyed the park.  Staff always friendly, smiling and willing to help.  Would recommend this Park.


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Kent

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4787 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019