Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of New Romney Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > Kent > New Romney > New Romney Caravan Park > Reviews

New Romney Caravan Park
Clark Road
Greatstone
New Romney
Kent   (Browse area)
TN28 8PB
Tel: 01797 362247
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 120
Open: 01/02/2024 to 30/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 14 Reviews
                8/10 from 14 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   Holiday Homes for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  14 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: September 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Karenh 1 review from this member

 Friendly welcome at reception.

Pitch absolutely fine, though not enclosed by hedge.

Showers and toilets very clean.

Short walking distance to nearest pub/restaurants.

Would re-visit in future. 


Date of Visit: September 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Oatcakekev 8 reviews from this member

 What a lovely pleasant experience this was. Spotless site, well laid out and a friendly welcome.

The toilet and shower facilities were again, very clean and the whole site had a relaxed atmosphere.

No regimented tents or campervans lined up for inspection in rows but pick the way you want to face. As long as you were within your boundary, then nobody minded.

The "Hoy" bar was another little surprise, basic bar food but well prepared and generous portions for very little money. What a BARGAIN!

We were only there for one night but is definitely on our re-visit lit. 


Date of Visit: August 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Brl780 1 review from this member

 Private static caravan site and vans for hire.

Touring park, several small areas.

Excellent facilities and on site a club house serving food.

Also a coffee shop in the daytime near the entrance.

Static Caravan sales too. Bus stop and Spar shop within 100 yards. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: March 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Keith7 1 review from this member

 Ground wet but no problem with caravan. Staff very helpful.

Young lady in clubhouse was great made us feel very welcome.

Play area for kids very good.

Close to beach

Will come again 


Date of Visit: October 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 9 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pete162 3 reviews from this member

 October and out of seasom. Arrived and were the only tourer on site but watched various vans and motorhomes come and go over our stay. A friendly welcome and were shown to our assigned pitch. Due to surface water we asked and were reassigned a pitch in a corner plot. The pitches are large enough for van, awning and car in loose formation.

EHU posts with two sockets per post. Two water points on the field.

A deposit for a digital key to access the barrier at the entrance

New toilet block and separate shower rooms which were always clean.

On-site cafe and club house.

Off-site there is a well stocked Spar store with Post Office about three minutes stroll from the front entrance of the site.

New Romney main street is a bike ride/5 minute drive away if you don't want to walk.

Mid sized Sainsbury's but a few good local shops including two useful hardware stores. Local pubs and chippy.

The Romney, hythe & Dymchurch light railway has a station on the route from the site to the high street. We had a brilliant day on the train starting and returning from here.

Ten minutes in the car and your at Dungerness. Twenty minutes and there's Camber with a sand beach and the town of Rye. Same timings to Hythe in the opposite direction.

Neither of us had been to this area before and living over 150 miles from the site we did do our homework as to where we should stay.

A great site location for us as we visited fantastic local museums on a subject we are both interested in as well as a relaxing getaway with our two dogs. We were lucky with the weather as most of the inclement periods were during the night. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Cjeager 14 reviews from this member

 When we arrived we were warmly welcomed and shown to our pitch. Despite Coronavirus restrictions everything was well organised. Our pitch was big enough to get large tent and car on with space to sit outside.

Water at the pitch alongside the EHU. EHU was reliable, wifi signal was good enough to stream football on a laptop computer but it was midweek and the site was quiet. It was a different story at the weekend, the camping site filled up on Friday but we still were able to access the wifi easily and there weren't many pauses.

When we arrived it had been raining for days and it was squelchy underfoot but the site seems relatively free draining and within a day or so it was fine. At least getting the pegs in was relatively easy!

It rained a bit of every day while we were there but the site never got really muddy until our last day when it rained heavily in the night (but then it always seems to rain heavily the night before you pack up to leave doesn't it?).

There's a couple of new toilet blocks and separate shower blocks which were always clean and well supplied.

The bulk of the site is static vans so the touring/camping area is quite small. There's a play area and space for kids to run around. The on-site cafe and club house and the menus looked interesting but we didn't use them.

There's a Spar store about 200 yards from the front entrance of the site that sells pretty much everything you might want in the way of food and drink.

New Romney itself is a way from the site, too far for an easy walk but there's parking there and it's worth a visit. It also has a Sainsbury with an Argos click and collect which would have been useful for getting a new air bed (somebody packed the air bed but not the bung!) if they had actually had any in stock. There's a very good wool shop in the main road and also a good fish and chip shop.

We visited the Romney Marsh Visitor Centre and Nature Reserve which is quite near by.

Further afield Dungeness (You may need to book in advance for the trains on the RHDLR), Dymchurch, Rye, Camber Sands, Hastings are all worth a visit. Camber and Dymchurch especially if you want sandy beaches. The beach at New Romney/Littlestone is shingle, you won't need buckets and spades for that.

I chose this site because it is relatively close to home (less than 2 hours) and had the things we wanted (EHU, showers, toilets) at a decent price and it had decent reviews. It was also close enough to several places to give us things to do if we didn't want to just laze about. We aren't very good at lazing about and it wasn't really lazing about weather.

We had a great time. 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Countrylemon 12 reviews from this member

 We chose this site owing to its proximity to the Romney Hythe and Dymchurch Railway, which was our mission for the weekend as a birthday treat for two of my railway loving sons.

The site is chiefly an owners static site although the touring and camping area is fairly separate from the statics. We found the ablutions block clean and sufficient. There is a laundrette and small clubhouse but we didn't use these, although there was entertainment on most nights I think. There is a kids play area with zip wire, and also a playpark on the greensward behind the beach. There is a Spar very close by.

The site was quiet and friendly, we didn't experience any late night noise or antisocial behaviour. The owners were very friendly and helpful. Our pitch was a little on the small size but we feel this may have been due to our neighbours taking more space than they ought.

We thoroughly enjoyed our day on the steam railway, Dungeness is definitely worth a visit (good food at the Britannia Inn, great views from the top of the old lighthouse) and we also stopped off at Dymchurch which also has a lovely big sandy beach. Although we travelled to Hythe we didn't go into the town itself (it's a bit of a walk) although last time we visited (around 8 yrs ago!) it was certainly worth exploring.

Would stay here again, lovely area - and steam trains! 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Dave and Wendy 35 reviews from this member

 Just had a 4 day break at this site which is mainly static caravans with a couple of small areas for touring, we were in our caravan and our daughter in a tent. The field is level although somewhat bumpy, there are 10 pitches with E/H around the perimeter, the drinking water tap is attached to the side of the chemical disposal and grey water emptying points in one corner of the field. This could be a problem with cross contamination, I did mention this to the management/warden who said they would take on board my comments and that they would think of re-positioning the above items.

The showers and toilets are both in portacabins which are very dated and appeared not to be cleaned on a regular basis, there was a sign saying 'if these toilets/showers are not as clean as you would like to find them please tell a member of staff asap' this should not be necessary if daily cleaning was carried out.

There is no shop on site however there is a spar shop approx 100m away from the site. The small cafe on site was somewhat pricey 2-75! for a drinking chocolate (pay less in London) we did not make use of the club house so can not comment on it although it looked ok from the outside.

There is a basic children's playground, our 7 year old granddaughter didn't stay long in it she said she got bored, there is also a field for children to play ball games.

Site is ideal for the beach which is sand when the tide is out but watch out when the tide is coming in, it comes in fast and can fill up the beach behind you leaving you stuck on a sand bank.

This is a basic site which could be much better with a little bit of updating to the facilities. I suppose it all really depends on what each of us want from a site.

Would we return to this site probably not. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tynxuk 16 reviews from this member

 Had two weeks here on EHU and it was fantastic value for money, showers and toilets were dated portable units but always clean.

Washing machine was 2. 50 and tumble dryer was 1 for 16 mins with washing line outside laundry facilities for any delicates or just to finish off damp items from the dryer.

Bar was reasonably priced as was food and staff always friendly, there is a spar just off site which is handy or just over a mile away is a small Sainsburys. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Checkett 8 reviews from this member

 Whilst the people who ran this site were extremely helpful and pleasant, the site itself was run down and very tired. The toilets were portacabins on a trailer, the bar was ok but didn't allow dogs inside, but fortunately it was a nice sunny day. No hard standing for motor homes so would be desperate in wet weather. We were booked for 3 nights but left after one. Not value for money. 


Previous     14 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is New Romney Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to New Romney Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is New Romney Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near New Romney      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Kent

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4312 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement