Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Llwyngwair Manor Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Newport > Llwyngwair Manor Holiday Park Reviews

Llwyngwair Manor Holiday Park
Llwyngwair Manor Holiday Park
Newport
Pembrokeshire   (Browse area)
SA42 0LX
Tel: 01239 820498
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Pitches: 90
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/01/2022
           01/03/2022 to 31/01/2023

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 19 Reviews
                9/10 from 19 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis On Site 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  19 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Nuevoboy 96 reviews from this member

 We've just spent 3 nights here for our third visit in the last four years.

The site was completely full and we literally got the last free pitch, only two days before travelling.

Despite being very busy, we had a great time and our grass pitch with electric was fine, right in front of the river, close to the toilet block.

Everyone was very friendly and the many kids were simply enjoying themselves, either on their bikes, playing in the river, or on the playground.

We had one afternoon's walk from the site to Nevern and then had two full days cycling up in the hills.

The shower block was very clean and airy as was the dishwashing room.

We also had an evening meal in the manor, which was absolutely delicious and the staff were very welcoming and friendly.

We spoke to three other couples who had never visited before, and all said they would definitely return. As will we. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bournster 13 reviews from this member

 Just a short 3 night break in low season (blow the cobwebs off the kit!) What a gem of a site to find. Plus points are the grounds are beautiful with lots of wooded areas and forest walks available, the walk to the town of Newport is only about 20 min though no path and a very fast road, just use common sense and you'll be fine though. Pitches for tents are spacious and ground is fine and flat for pitching (next to a stream with no barriers so be warned people with young families) The toilet block was spotless all the time though it was quiet so would of been disappointed if not but looks like it's well tended at all times. Plenty of space in the shower area (same block but separate from toilet area) to shower, keep clothes dry and space too dry off. Again separate area for sinks but ample space there too. There is a small games room that wasn't particularly in use but it is very basic and site boasts a tennis court too!

The manor house itself is a beautiful building (shame about the modern extensions but that's business!) The pub is in the house so too is the restaurant, didn't eat but food looked and smelt good, prices were reasonable too.

Must mention the beach! if you walk to town there is a sign that says beach 2 3/4 miles with golf club but if you walk a couple of hundred yards into town there is another beach 1/2 a mile through the estate. This one is more a marina and the other beach is a beautiful sandy one.

The only down sides if any (and I'm being picky) are the price, 22 with ehu for a tent in low season is a little pricey and the sites signage is pretty hopeless to be honest. The book in area is in the bar but there is no way of knowing this, we just got lucky as the bar isn't the easiest of places to go to if you haven't been before (got some nice real ales on though). As mentioned in previous reviews the pitch markers are more or less none existent too.

Overall would I go back, for a short break yes without a doubt, for a longer break maybe not as cost would come into it but that's the only reason. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Quechappy 8 reviews from this member

 We stopped at this lovely place on spec. It was a really good find and loved the setting out of the park. This is a really good gateway to pembrokeshire from ceredigion if you are on a tour of Wales which we were.

The pitch was on a level hardstanding with electrical hook up. There were waste water drainage points nearby though a walk to the chemical disposal area but that was not too arduous! The toilet and shower blocks were immaculate.

We did not try the hotel cuisine on site, however it seemed a really good base.

We would say that being near a stream is pretty but wondered whether this could be difficult if swollen but this was not a problem.

I would recommend this site as a gateway to Pembrokeshire and was a nice drive on to St David's which was our next stop down the A487! 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Redders09 3 reviews from this member

 What a lovely site. Very clean and well kept.

Long winding road leading up to the Manor.

As you walk into the Manor its not very clear where the reception is. Had to follow another gentleman into the bar area. That's where the reception is-they basically check you in from the bar.

The Manor itself is an amazing building.

I was shown on a hand drawn map at the bar where our pitch was but you had to find your pitch yourself which was not very clearly marked. Just a stone on the floor with the pitch number on so unless you knew you had to look for these stones is was hard to work out where the pitches were.

There was no other details given when we booked in eg times meals were served etc.

We were pitched along side a river which was lovely. We could watch the fish jumping (Trout I think they were), feed the ducks and watch out for other wildlife along the banks.

The shower facilities were excellant and spotless all the time.

There were 6 toilets for the women and in the shower room, there were 3 showers and then 4 separate cubicles with a wash basin and mirror in with a light above it, which I thought was a fantastic idea. In both the toilet block and shower room there was baby changing mats and my husband said they were in the men's as well.

Washing up room was always clean. Only annoying thing was that you had to go to the Manor itself to freeze your freezer blocks which was a bit of a walk. They put them in their freezer in the kitchen so you were asking the staff all the time to freeze them. Would of been better if they could of put a little freezer in the washing up room as it was closer.

No shop on site so make sure you have everything you need.

There was a little play area by the campsite itself and then a bigger play area down by the static caravans.

Didn't have food at the Manor so cannot comment on that. They do food to take-away too. Prices on the menu seemed reasonable. Went up there and had a few drinks at night so my son could go in the games room. You have to pay for Wi-fi and you can only get it in the Manor.

We didn't explore surrounding areas but went to Castell Henllys which is only a five minute drive.

A lovely find and have booked a weekend there at the end of August.  


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Waterpikey 1 review from this member

 Fabulous simple site beautiful position not far to walk into a lovely little town and a nice walk to the beach beautiful views a gate gets you away from the main road which is at the bottom of the field. All facilities clean and simple no lists of rules and the owner leaves you alone Very quiet and doggie friendly we will definitely be back 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Lady of the lakes 31 reviews from this member

 We arrived for just one night and ended up staying on, as we could not tear ourselves away. Although we had planned to spend the time on Newport sands, we actually loved just chilling out by the riverside - just feet from the van - watching the antics of the squirrels and enjoying the sight of dippers and wagtails in the river itself. The facilities are conveniently located, clean and decent, and the staff up at the manor very friendly and helpful. The grounds are magnificent with some very beautiful old trees in assorted varieties spaced out nicely, and there are loads of lovely dog walks just off site in diverse directions. House martins were nesting under the eaves of the manor which made for some wonderful photos. As we left, my husband looked wistfully at the sited units and said how would I like to retire here - that says it all. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Fblueziggy 3 reviews from this member

 Had fabulous bank holiday weekend. Lovely clean site fabulous setting. Only complaint was the one set of electrics you drive over the cables to other vans which I thought was dangerous and liable to break the inner cables, but all in all a lovely site. Pity about the weather but that wasn't the sites fault. 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Dobber748 10 reviews from this member

 We arrived spur of the moment looking for somewhere in the area and this was on the main rd so we pulled in and so glad we did. Long sweeping drive up to the manor house where we enquired and were told 15 plus 3 for the dog and what value that turned out to be. Beautifully tranquil pitch by a trout infested river hidden in a tree lined gorge. Shower block well thought out and cleaned regularly though I did find the windows constantly open every time I visited which made for a chilly shower in the autumn air.

Manor house served food and drink of which we didn't try so cant comment preferring to cycle into newport about a mile along the road and onto the huge expanse of beach.

Well worth a visit for a relaxing break 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Helen Dab 1 review from this member

 What a wonderful site! The toilet block for the camping section was very clean and spacious. It even reached the high standards of my teenager! Pitches were large and face onto a beautiful river. Wooded walks and well-kept grass and play areas make the site a pleasure to explore. It was peaceful and picturesque. The staff were helpful and friendly.

We ate at the manor and were pleased with that too. Service was quick and the food was great for the price. All in all a lovely break and I would recommend the site to anyone looking for pretty and rural rather than bright lights.

You need a car to get into even Newport, which has lovely pubs and a post office, but not much else. Beaches along the coast are idyllic if you are lucky enough for sunshine. As I said, highly recommend for a peaceful, well-run, rural campsite. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Bethski 2 reviews from this member

 Very reasonably priced campsite. The selling point of Llwyngwair is the grounds which are beautiful. We were put in the lower field which was by the river. This meant that the midges were in abundance!

One thing that I think potential campers need to be aware of is that the river is used by local fishermen as well as campers who are there for the fishing.When we sat down for our evening meal we found that there was a group of fishermen only 2 metres away which meant that our meal wasn't quite as peaceful as we'd hoped!

There were a couple of play areas dotted around which kept our youngest busy and the facilities were more than adequate (and very quiet even though there were a fair few campers on the site at the same time as us). 


Previous     19 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Llwyngwair Manor Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Llwyngwair Manor Holiday Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Llwyngwair Manor Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Newport      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Pembrokeshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 13/01 to 16/01
Largest selection of caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes in the North of England ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


37 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement