Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Trenance Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > Newquay > Trenance Holiday Park Reviews

Trenance Holiday Park
Edgcumbe Avenue
Newquay
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR7 2JY
Tel: 01637 873447
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 50
Open: 01/04/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 18 Reviews
                8/10 from 18 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  18 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Bestwood14 2 reviews from this member

 Once we found the camp warden we were given a choice of sites. Took the nearest which was near the toilets.

The ground had a very slight slope so using the levelling chocks was a must

Very quiet where we were

Good easy access with the motor home that is 7m long 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Wetfoot001 3 reviews from this member

 Airy location looking across towards Newquay town.

The walk in to Newquay is not for the infirm or unfit; a very long steep hill. The rail line close by isn't too much of a problem, though the train horn is sounded sometimes when adjacent to the site.

Friendly site, clean and well maintained, best suited to tents, medium sized caravans, and mohos less than 8m. Some site bends are tight and some roads in touring section unmade. All pitches are grass.

Positioning of shower block relative to touring field is odd (amongst the static/residential section), further frustrated by the need for tokens. Security is low with no entrance barrier, though there is a warden static amongst tourer section.

Pitches are relatively small and not delineated; this could lead to arguments in season. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: NicciMac 54 reviews from this member

 We stopped here for 2 nights as we went to a concert on Lusty Glaze beach and this is definitely the closest site to town - be aware though that there is a mother of a hill to climb to get there. When booking I requested that our friends be allocated the pitch next to us, and when we arrived there they were, which is fab.

The price was at the top end of what we usually pay so I think they have a nerve charging extra for the showers! Never had that before. The showers are roomy though, with family cubicles available in both Ladies and Gents so we showered together on the quiet. Washing up room also big and well equipped.

The site shop is well stocked. The wifi seemed to only be available right by reception which is a bit rubbish.

The cafe does a rather excellent Eggs Benedict at breakfast time, that was smashing.

The site is on a rather steep hill but our pitch at the top was fairly level, if a bit muddy. On the whole the site is well maintained and I like the fact there are quite a few permanent residents.

I wouldn't pay these prices for a campsite but for the fact that it is so close to the town. 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Corhardy 3 reviews from this member

 Absolutely loved this site. We've stayed twice, most recently in September last year for the Newquay Fish Festival as it is the closest site to Newquay town centre.

The pitches are fine. There is a little on site shop which caters for everything you could possibly think of. From fresh bread and daily newspapers to camping gas and tent pegs. Also sold my favourite Rattlers Cider.

There is a small on site cafe which particularly impressed me by delivering my pizza right up to my tent ! The toilets and showers were kept very clean.

The showers ran on tokens which were purchased either from reception or from the on site shop. There is also an on site games room, however this is very small and slightly outdated.

To be honest that was just a bonus as we visited for the Cornwall experience and fish festival on the whole.

A lovely site which we will definitely be visiting again. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Essempee 4 reviews from this member

 This is a nice, well located site around a 15/20 minute walk to the seafront, depending on which way you go, and about 200 yards from the zoo.

The walk to the seafront can be quite steep if you go the short way but not as steep if you go the long way. We found the easiest route was the long way, turn right out of the site entrance and follow the road around under the railway viaduct past the zoo, tennis courts and bowling green and then turn left at the mini roundabout, it's a fairly easy gradient all the way up from there.

As for the site itself, really nice, the toilets, washing up area and showers were clean and the water always hot. The toilet block and washing up area is on the edge of the camping/touring field and had 4 private cubicles each in the ladies and gents and 3 washing up sinks all with plugs and sponge cloths (for wiping down after).

The showers are half way down the hill and looked like they'd been refurbished recently. Showers are operated by tokens which cost 30p from reception. I'm not a fan of paying extra for a shower but we did get a good 8/10 minutes of nice hot water and you can always put another token into the meter if more time is needed. The shower cubicles were quite large and had plenty of space to dry off and get dressed. I did see a 'family cubicle' that had two shower heads and a bit more space.

The camping area is at the top of the site and up what is really quite a steep hill (if you're walking it and suffering the effects of a recent heart attack and an unexpected heatwave!) The site roads are well made and pitches are well marked with most having been levelled, we had no trouble pitching our campervan with it's awning without levelling ramps. Electric hook ups were plentiful as were drinking water taps.

The camping area is overlooked by the back of neighbouring housing on one side, the railway line on another and a junior or primary school on another, all of which gave a certain amount of noise at one point or another during our stay. Trains aren't that frequent and if you're there at peak season the school will be closed, otherwise, if you like a lie in in the morning then you'll be disappointed!

The site shop, cafe and games room are all located close to the entrance but we can't comment on those other than to say that they looked to be OK but we never went into them.

None of the above is in any way meant as complaints about the site, it is where it is and the site owners can't do anything about the school, the trains, the neighbours or the hills, it's a great location and the facilities are good. We looked at other sites in the area while we were there, we think we picked the right one and would go back again. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Swifty88 4 reviews from this member

 We chose this site purely because of its proximity to the centre of Newquay.

It is walking distance but there is a huge hill to tackle on the way into town which was a bit of a pain in the heat/after a few drinks.

We were told to camp where we liked which was good. Our site was flat and dry.

The toilets were clean with individual sinks. Showers were clean, spacious and hot too. Operated by tokens lasting 10 minutes which is good.

Onsite shop which is useful.

The many, many seagulls on this campsite drove me mad but there is nothing anyone can do about that unfortunately.

Not the best campsite we've stayed in but no complaints. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Jellymouse 4 reviews from this member

 Really nice site with good facilities, with having a camper van though we prefer hard standing pitches and we were on grass but as we were only staying for 1 night this wasn't a problem, it had rained quite a bit through the night so if we had stayed much longer it might of become a bit messy. The water and electric hook up facilities were great and being only a short walk from the town center and beaches its location is perfect.

The toilets were clean and had sinks in private cubicles so I was able to have a wash as the shower was token operated and I couldn't bothered going for one.

Quite a steep hill up to our spec but again not a problem

I would definitely recommend this site to anyone who was thinking of visiting the area 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Jazzyje 1 review from this member

 Great little park if your spending loads of time in Newquay. (which we did). We took our bikes and never used the car. Cycling into town and beaches for surfing.

Although showers were by token they were always hot and you get more than enough time. The only thing is there was nowhere for the kids to play football etc, but they were happy with riding their bikes around.

The site is on the side of a hill and if you have problems getting around you may not like it. Well stocked shop and helpful staff. They have their dinner hour between 12. 30 and 1. 30 so getting keys/pitches at this time was a pain when we arrived. Waited 20 mins but it was fine.

You are right next to Newquay Zoo and a lovely park and boating lake so there's plenty to do within walking distance. So basically, if you want to sample the delights of Newquay without spending a fortune on parking and like a beer, this is the site to book.

Very good value as well compared to most. 116 for 4 nights for 4 people with electric. Pitches are a bit small though and some are slightly sloping but you cant have it all. We will def be back though. The location and type of holiday we want its a great place to be. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Aust.tourists 69 reviews from this member

 This site is quite large although it is mainly static caravans and mobile homes. There is only a small section at the top of the park for tents and tourers. The tents and caravans are all together. The pitches are a bit sloping.

Check in was very casual. They just told us we could use any empty pitch which we did. It isn't the best system as we had an irate motorhomer come back from a day out to find us in the pitch he had been using all week!

There seems to be only 1 shower block for the whole site but it is clean. The showers run by using tokens. Purchased from reception and 30p each. This gives around 10 minutes of hot water. A little bit annoying but not too bad.

There is a well stocked shop and off licence on site. There is also a cafe that opens for breakfast and for teatime. We didn't eat there so can't comment.

It is a 10 minute walk from the site entrance (15 minute from our block as it was right at the top of the site). This is up a very steep hill. There is another route that is not so taxing and only takes around 5 minutes longer. There is also an hourly bus service. The stop is opposite the site entrance.

There is a nice park across the road from the site (Trenance gardens). It has a lake with rowing boats and peddallo's.

TV, phone and internet reception is good.

There is a pub around 5 minute walk from the gate (The Lanherne). It serves good pub grub and reasonable price.

Would recommend this site. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tommyhawkes36 6 reviews from this member

 Upon booking a couple of pitches for this campsite, I was amazed if not a little bewildered at the price of the pitch for two weeks. Think it come to about 225.

Its prime location makes it ideal for walking (takes 15 minutes) into Newquay town centre. Don't let other people tell you its a nigh-on vertical hike into the town centre its not, unless you old or unfit. If that is the case there's regular bus services that will take you into town.

On the other hand being so near the coast being in a tent means your exposed to the strong winds. We were pitched at the top of hill and were a little exposed to say the least, had to buy stronger pegs. Also we were pitched right next to a school, which I can imagine to be a little off-putting during term time. However it wasn't so we were fine.

The facilities were basic and did the trick. The main gripe that I had was paying for a shower. I'm not tight but you have to walk all the way down to the booking office to get pay 20p for a token, that was if anybody was actually in the booking office to serve you. Why don't you just make them coin operated. There's no swimming pool but I think that having a campsite so near to Newquay vastly outweighs one measily swimming pool. Other people may disagree.

The staff are very friendly. Had very good conversations with the wardens and they were always happy to lend a hand should you need it.

All in all it was a good stay. Not dazzling but its ideal location saves you a bomb in taxi fares. Try booking a tuc tuc its amazing.

Recommendations; Newquay zoo (in walking distance, so close you can hear the lions roar).

The Tavern (Decent, hearty cheap meals. I got surf and turf, proper langustines and sirlion for 9!. Also within walking distance) 


Previous     18 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Trenance Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Trenance Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Trenance Holiday Park dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Newquay      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (West)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6836 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement