Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Castle Cary Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Newton Stewart > Castle Cary Holiday Park Reviews

Castle Cary Holiday Park
Creetown
Newton Stewart
Dumfries and Galloway   (Browse area)
DG8 7DQ
Tel: 01671 820264
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 50
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 45 Reviews
                8/10 from 45 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis 5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  45 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sweetmisery12 1 review from this member

Great pitches for tents and plenty of space for the kids to play ball games. The play park was also good. The swimming pool is no longer free and the mini golf wasn't playable as the holes were full of dirty water. I haven't found the staff to be very helpful, we were woke at 1am with a group of campers blaring music, singing very loudly and shouting and when we complained we were made to feel like we were the ones in the wrong. The man we spoke to asked if we would like to move further down the field and that it's common because they were a large group. No tokens to use the laundry as the cleaners hadn't emptied the machines yet went back 4 hours later and was told I would need to wait until the morning when the cleaners were in. In my option I will be waiting you til I get home to wash my clothes as I haven't seen a cleaner in the 3 days since we have been here as the toilet and shower blocks are filthy and have been in the same state since arriving. On the plus side the couple who work in the cafe are very helpful and lovely. Needless to say we won't be back

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mothergriff 4 reviews from this member

Good customer service at the new reception building, Road still has temporary road surface but didn't prove to be an issue. Site was well kept and very quiet due to time we went. Toilets and showers clean but dated. Visited the Laird pub while we were there nice and friendly, food very day pub grub great service and reasonable price 2 starts, 2 mains and 2 drinks each came to 35 good size portions. Took advantage of the book 2 days and get 2 free great 50 for 4 days on fully serviced pitch with no extras except awning which is included in the 50 will definitely be going back. Took advantage of the fishing 4 a day no permit needed if booked on site

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Southwestscotland 1 review from this member

After reading the latest review on this site I was very apprehensive of visiting, but as I had already arranged to meet up with friends there for the day went ahead anyway. What a pleasant surprise! The grounds were immaculate, I saw no evidence whatsoever of any overgrown areas and although there was a short stretch of road (with a sign saying Temporary Surface) it was more than manageable, even in my 10 year old Fiesta!

The site was busy and from what I saw, had very good facilities. New owners had taken over the Bar/Restaurant the day before and were still moving in so unfortunately didn't have the opportunity to try it out but was assured they would be up and running by this Friday. On my way out I drove past a young mum with a pushchair and toddler walking alongside, they seemed to have no problem with this temporary road surface and as I approached them they stepped onto the grass at the side, which runs alongside the road. So didn't seem to be a problem! As I wasn't there last month like your previous reviewer, all I can say is 'What a difference a month makes!' Or maybe some folk are just never happy? p. S. The location is fabulous!

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Touring on two whee 3 reviews from this member

We did not intend to stay here but got caught in a rain downpour and decided to stop, the hotel in village was full so campsite it was to be. We arrived around 4. 30pm and the reception was closed so just carried on to the site expecting someone to call round for payment but nobody did. The road to the site was not to good as it was loose stone and had deep holes full of water, not what you want after a hard bike ride but once on site it was a very nice setting. No other campers on the site but there were two caravans for which we were happy, as you need a card to enter toilets and we never got one - so a big thank you to the kind gentleman who opened the doors!

Campsite all setup we decided to go for a meal at the bar on the site sorry to say this was not too good. When we returned to our campsite the sun was out so we decided to sit out and watch the rabbits as they were everywhere but the Scottish midges got the better of us so it was off to bed and to sleep (if the dogs would stop barking). Around 11pm we were woken up by someone driving round in a car shooting rabbits this went on for 30 minutes before we could go back to sleep next morning again we where woken around 6am by dogs barking so we just packed up and left. We never paid as no one came round for fees and there was nowhere to leave payment.

The site is above average for setting and toilets are fine, but dogs barking and hunting rabbits around the campsite was a problem for us and if we had paid I would expect my money back.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Happysitefinder 5 reviews from this member

Afraid to say the site has gone down hill since last time we where here bar shut at 7pm swimming pool not open and site looking old and overgrown and that's the good points. All I can say is if you go there take a four wheel drive to get on site as road is really bad, forget about walking into the village if you have a pram road again, watch for the dogs running around and when it gets dark a lot of rabbit shooting going on. Never again for us should have realised by how empty it was not sure if it has new owners are a manager but a great site gone to the dogs literally.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: MeganWindell 4 reviews from this member

Spacious and orderly site. Good, clean facilities, very nice showers! Good local corner shop in Creetown.

Lovely surroundings, close to the estuary and within driving distance of excellent mountains for hiking.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Zeb74 9 reviews from this member

Just back from a couple of days at Castle Cary, this is our 2nd time there and we will definitely be back again.

Very helpful staff and lots of free things for the kids to do on site, outdoor pool, mini golf, giant draughts etc.

The indoor pool was closed on our trip so we used the outdoor pool which was fine as it was heated perfectly. My only criticism of the outdoor pool area is the changing room location which would be better suited poolside and the ground which is VERY uncomfortable on bare feet, other than that it was great.

Mini golf was great fun for my youngest (5yrs) although not all the holes were playable as some holes were full of very dirty water which none of us felt like putting our hands into.

The site showers and toilets were clean and nice and close to our pitch, we also made use of the dish washing facilities which is great when you've got a lot of dishes to do.

We also used the freezer facility to re-freeze our cool bag blocks and also to help chill the beer :)

Our pitch was great with our own water, electric and TV hook up, we didn't bring a TV on this trip but we will next time just in case the weather isn't so great.

The small amusements is good for the kids also.

We'll also be trying out the fishing loch on our next visit, not sure what fish are in there yet.

All in all another lovely stay and we find it hard to find somewhere better that's not too far away to travel which both the adults and the kids alike love.

Overall I'm rating Castle Cary 9 out of 10, it would be a 10 if the above criticisms were addressed, however I understand that there is a lot of development scheduled for the site and hope all those bits and pieces that could do with a wee freshen up get just that :)

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mrmotorx 89 reviews from this member

Brilliant ! wonderful site. There review over.

But for a more in depth review, read the following.

We, wife son aged 9 and myself stayed here for 4 nights during the summer holidays. Due to former commitments and logistics was all we had time for, that was our first disappointment, that we couldn't stay for longer.

This site is very well run, clean, fairly priced, easy to get to, and has ample to do on site with the vast facilities that are available. We all had a truly magical few days staying on this site.

We asked for a fully serviced pitch, which we got, when we checked in I was given a big reel of wire ' for you T V ' I was told. I wasn't expecting that at all, this is going to be a good few days I thought. We pitched up which went well due to the layout of the site, pitch size was massive plenty of room for caravan awning and car all made private with each pitch having its own hedges and small fencing. Once set up I realised that me waste/grey water pipe was too short to make it to the drain so went to the adequately stocked shop to purchase a length of waste pipe ' sorry we don't sell that ' but ! come with me one of the staff said to which I followed him across the yard and he produced some plastic pipe of same diameter will this do! Yes I replied, ok which pitch number are you i'll go and sort it put for you.

By the time me and my son had crashed the ferrari a couple of times ( in the arcade ) I return to th pitch and was now fully connected plugged in and drained out!

The staff cant seem to do enough for you to make your stay as pleasant as possible.

Newton stewart has an aldi and sainsburys 20 min drive. ( a couple of shops but nothing else much) dumfries has everything you want for a shopping day out ( about 1 hour away ) DO NOT SPEED though there are camera vans all along the A75. Just hit cruise control and sit and relax !

Bad points.

Erm

Erm

Erm

Oh yes just one (for us) turning into the site our caravan rear feet JUST THE FEET caught going in BUT whilst there a new road was being finished, which was used to exit the site with no problems at all. This was due to be completed mid Aug, plus our outfit isn't exactly short 16ft car and 27ft caravan = 43ft? ?

To sum up great nice well run site with only one issue which is being addressed, so there wont be any issues.

Keep up the great work ALL staff on site many thanks.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Blackwood 1 review from this member

Hi Tourers,

Just been to visit Castle Cary Holiday Park, Dumfries, Had the most wonderful relaxing time among some really nice people! special mention to owners & her father, wonderful people and very attentive, very clean facilities and nothing too much trouble plenty to visit and do in area & heated swimming pools x 2 can't wait to revisit advise anyone looking for a nice break to visit this campground great.

Date of Visit: November 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Andy75 45 reviews from this member

Stayed here in winter season, turned up late as pre arranged due to travelling up from Kendal.

Was very quiet as expected, only a few units mainly tourers on site. Flat level site and well drained, also dog friendly. Bar on site which was open weekend nights, served great food & local ale.

Didn't have much to do with the village as passing through, but it is easily reached on foot via a good path we saw.

All in all great site with rewarding views, friendly staff and lovely old castle next door also! Looking forward to my return sometime.

Previous     45 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Newton Stewart      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dumfries and Galloway

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...



Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park 14/09 to 15/09, Kent
Enjoy two days access to the dog show, free parking, free evening entertainment and a campsite right next to the showground ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5143 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019