Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Lower Greenhill Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Salterforth > Lower Greenhill Caravan Park Reviews

Lower Greenhill Caravan Park
Kelbrook Road
Salterforth
Lancashire   (Browse area)
BB18 5TG
Tel: 01282 813067
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 23
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 28 Reviews
                8/10 from 28 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  28 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Denisea 10 reviews from this member

Excellent site just a shame we could only stay one night. As others have mentioned, flat pitches with plenty of space and very clean facilities. Lovely walk along the canal. Highly recommend the cafe at the Esse factory in Barnoldswick.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: MDJO 4 reviews from this member

Spent two nights here in August as a base for visiting family in the local area. Lovely little site close to Earby and Barnoldswick. Pitches very spacious and level. Seemed to have a good number of seasonal pitches and statics. Showers are token operated and whilst a little dated you get a good 7 minutes showering time which is ample. (Note the token operates the light in the shower too. ). Site is currently underging some improvements but this is barely noticeable. Loved the site and very good value for money. Did find it a little frustrating when trying to book as no-one answered the phone despite trying 6 or 7 times across a number of days. Had to contact through social media to book.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mitch1ok 1 review from this member

Visited the site again after many years. Site is with a new owner, and they are in the middle of an extensive extension and refurbishment.

I have to say that the site will surely be 'FIRST CLASS' and the guys are working hard to achieve this by the year end. Site open all year round, and at just £15 per night for a pitch with electric and water is first class (oh and a view to match of the dales).

Site is a blend of tourers, seasonal pitches and all year round livers on the site. Handy for many visiting attractions and areas, as well as fishing, walking, cycling - oh and going the local pub (The Anchor).

Will certainly be back soon, and may even go there for Christmas or New Year.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lewislola 1 review from this member

Visited for 2 nights. Very quiet site. Some building work in progress which will improve the site immensley. Decided to take one of the long term plots. Ideal for us as its not too far from home, but central for yorkshire and surrounding areas. Family run and very friendly and helpful. Dogs welcome but there is no walking area within the site.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: R Bardsley 1 review from this member

We have just spent seven pleasurable days at Lower Greenhall Farm, nice quiet small site that is in the process of being upgraded. Owners very friendly and made us feel welcome.

Fantastic for walking the canal and disused railway tracks.

Close to plenty of places to visit.

Only negative, was that the showers where token operated.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Joe8170 1 review from this member

Nice quiet site, some permanent pitches. Site is being extended so some work being carried out. Toilets & showers were clean & tidy. Overall a clean well maintained site. We were met at the gate by the owner who escorted us to our pitch which we had a choice of 6. The gravel pitches all have electricity & water plus light. A short walk (10 minutes) down the road is the Anchor inn, which server meals. The pub is in a pleasant canal side setting. We had a stroll down the canal bank to Barnoldswick passing a narrow boat marina witch has a coffee shop. The walk to Barnoldswick took a half hour nice & steady, there was a small market on Saturday. Had a nice short stopover & will definitely stay again, good value for money.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: 5930bailey 1 review from this member

I visited this campsite to enable me to walk a section of the Leeds/Liverpool canal The site is being upgraded and the hard-standing areas for caravans are excellent. There is a large touring field with plenty of hookups and water taps. The new reception area is under construction. The toilet block is good but only two showers in the male area which take tokens at £1 each All very clean.

Nearby on the banks of the canal is the Anchor Inn -Very good food beer and location.

Barnaldswick is a mile walk away and again full of good pubs fast food outlets and shops with transport links to Burnley and Skipton. I spent three nights here and will definitely come back. Already planning a visit with my grandchildren

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Katiedee 2 reviews from this member

We visited this site last weekend, the owner was very accommodating when we wanted to book in at the last minute. We were met by her husband at the gate and told we could choose any pitch we liked, they have about 12 new fully serviced ones and we chose one of those, brilliant. The whole family are so welcoming and friendly, nice clean toilet/shower block. The site is still a work in progress, ie lots of new planting, fencing etc. Hoping to go back at the Bank Holiday weekend.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Peg Guys 2 reviews from this member

Not a site for touring tents.

On arrival there was no clear process for check in and no one to speak to. I was in urgent need of the toilet, which was locked.

We asked another camper and a young man appeared who directed us to a rough patch of grass near the entrance. We were charged £15 for two adults and a two man tent - no EHU needed. This was more than other sites in the area.

The road was busy all night and disturbed us, although we later noted quieter areas more suited to tents.

The toilet block was ill-lit and we could not see to shower at night. The tokens for hot water were an inconvenience, as noted by other reviewers.

No power sockets for a hair dryer or mirrors in the toilet block - even campers try to look tidy. No pegs to hang towels, jackets or washbag and the basins were close together so difficult to put personal items on the vanity area, which was also very wet.

The kitchen sink is alongside the basins. This felt unhygienic for both purposes and as it was in the ladies toilet, prevented sharing the washing up with a partner.

This site may suit caravans with own facilities but definitely not one I would return to or recommend.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Newnatjj 20 reviews from this member

Two Adults (aged 13 & 10) + 1 dog, Kampa Bamburgh 6.

Stayed on grass pitch with EHU; we were shown camping field and were told we could pitch wherever our EHU cable would reach.

Large field for tents / tourers / motorhomes which was slightly uneven and could have done with some TLC (a grass cut would have made a difference), no marked out pitches however EHU point was sort of stuck in the middle of the field which made for some 'interesting' pitching, as people seemed to have got to the EHU point and pitched where they landed! Plenty of water points.

On the entrance to the site were the main tourer pitches which were clearly marked and on gravel.

Basic, clean toilet block with separate men's, women's and disabled facilities. Women's consisted of x3 toilets, x2 showers, x2 sinks & x1 veg prep/pot washing sink (didn't like the idea of preparing veg/washing pots in the loos!). A token costing £1 was required for a hot shower, the machine to put the token in was on the outside of the shower though, so had to strip, get everything ready, then wrap towel around you to go back out to put token in which started your 7 minutes of usage time. There was a code system for the toilet block, however we weren't given the code on arrival. On discovering later that a code was needed, unable to get into the loos, tried to telephone the site to request the code but had to leave a message stating my problem on an answer phone. Fortunately, some other lovely campers came to my rescue and told me how to gain access, which was a good thing as I am now home 2 nights later still waiting for my return phone call!

The main disadvantage of the site is the proximity to the very busy road. The tent field runs alongside of the road which is hid by trees, however very much heard throughout the day and night; to a point where each of us struggled to sleep.

The cost of the site at £15/night inc electrics was reasonable, however I felt it would have been much more fairly priced if the showers had have been included in the fees.

All in all a basic site, with clean facilities, however would not return due to the road noise (not a fault of the site owners obviously!).

Previous     28 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lancashire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2736 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019