Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Church Farm Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Harrogate > Church Farm Caravan Park Reviews

CLOSED: Church Farm Caravan Park
Knaresborough Road
Bishop Monkton
Harrogate
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: Site Closed From 2019

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 40 Reviews
                8/10 from 40 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  40 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: January 2020 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Please note we have been advised that this site has closed, and no longer offers camping, motorhome or caravanning pitches. If you know that this situation has changed in the future, please could you let us know. Many thanks 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Nirikina 3 reviews from this member

 Church Farm is a quiet rural campsite with basic facilities. There is electric hookup but the trip point is set very low. Our friends in their caravan couldn't boil their kettle. 5 deposit for a toilet key. Not enough toilets or showers for the size of the site. You must purchase shower tokens from the warden before 7:30pm at 50p per 6 minutes which is just enough for me to wash my hair but very annoying if you run out of tokens. No outside light for finding the toilet block in the dark. The laundry facilities consist of a sink with hot water tap for hand washing, no washing machine no tumble dryer not even a mangle. The facilities were clean but quite basic. Good 4G signal. A short walk to the pretty village with local pubs. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Theflights 2 reviews from this member

 We were attending an event at Newby Hall and a group of us stayed here for up to a week. We were supposed to be put together in the field outside the gate but two of our group ended up in the main site. The site was clean and tidy and the warden's daughter was very welcoming when we paid and received our toilet key (5. 00 deposit). We can't comment on the showers (50p) as we use the shower in the van. The toilets were clean but small in number and were communal. The gents door was on one side of the toilet block and the ladies on the other but both led to the same facilities. We kept tripping the electric with only our kettle on. We also couldn't use our electric pan for cooking (we don't have an oven in the van) which was very frustrating. We spoke to the male warden who was extremely rude and just kept shrugging his shoulders telling us 'It's a 6amp supply, that's the minimum the caravan club allow'. We may have been unlucky and it may only be the field which has the 6amp feed but that was never explained. As a result, we will not be going back and told him he should at least advertise his ampage on his website so people know what they are going to. Had we known in advance we would have planned differently or chosen a different site. The site is convenient for two pubs in the village and a five minute drive from Ripon for fuel and a supermarket. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pennyred23 5 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for 2 nights. We found the warden to be particularly unpleasant, indeed rude. The toilets and shower rooms weren't cleaned at all - I noticed some blood on the floor which remained there throughout our stay. Be aware the hot water was scalding and potentially very dangerous for little people using the toilet. To use the toilets/showers you have to purchase a key (refundable deposit). This is massively inconvenient if any one of your party is already in the block, and obviously it's easy to leave it in your tent/caravan. If any sort of lock is necessary a combination would be a much better idea. Only one sink for the whole site to wash pots in and no plastic recycling facility. The grounds however, are well maintained and the site is close to the pretty village and its pubs. I won't be returning though. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Suzy walker 4 reviews from this member

 I wouldn't recommend this camp site. Not welcoming at all. Warden very rude and came across aggressive at times. Felt like we were an inconvenience. No customer service skills from arriving on firday morning through to leaving on Sunday.

Only 1 washing up sink which is not adequate.

Toilets didn't appear to have been cleaned over the whole weekend.

Electric hook up kept tripping with use of 1 appliance which was very frustrating.

The positives are that it has a very large camping field which was very quiet (perhaps there's reason for this!) kids were able to run around in safety and build dens in the tree lined field.

It's set in a beautiful village with a lovely pub and beer garden.

Very convenient as it's only 20 minutes from home and it's perfect for our large group to get together and socialise with the addition of being close to home if needed.

Such a shame because if it wasn't for the warden, we'd made plans to camp here again in July. We will not be returning and although I can't speak for the other 5 families in our camping group, I can confidently say that they feel the same. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Westmore 1 review from this member

 Stayed at Church Farm Caravan Park for a few nights on our way to Northumberland as it is not too far from A1M, and we were so glad we did. Lovely site - quiet, spacious, beautiful grassy area. Toilets and showers were not ultra modern but perfectly OK to use and cleaned each day. There are no shops in Bishop Monkton so we travelled to Ripon for our groceries which was not too far away by car. Lots to see in the area and Church Farm Caravan Park was an ideal base for us. Also the price per night was great value compared to other sites we looked at. Would definitely recommend. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Johno13 2 reviews from this member

 When making my booking I asked for 2 side by side tent pitches the lady sounded very friendly and polite, when we arrived the warden showed us to our pitch only to find we were on the opposite side of the gravel road when I questioned this he said this was all they had. I was a bit upset about this but as we had no choice we just settled for this. The site is very basic which is fine with us, there is a park over the road which we used a lot and the 2 local pubs were ok.

As the weekend went on we did notice that the toilets had not been cleaned at all, there is also no hand drying facility in the toilets so it was either remember to take your towel with you each time or dry your hands on your trousers on the way out. I would also liked to have been in formed on booking that the toilets are unisex. When I called the owner about my concerns I was told as I was not happy with facilities not to bother going back to her campsite which took me by complete surprise so we will not be returning. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Hayleywilko 1 review from this member

 We have just had a week in one of the static caravans, all I can say is that it was fab! They don't tell you have much stuff they put in the van for you, all we had to take was bath towels every think else was there for you, they even have a dvd TV, couldn't of asked for more, owners are very nice, and the grounds are VERY WELL KEPT, fells very secure as they is an electric gate for the site, but to be fair I don't think that it would need using as bishop Monkton is one of the prettiest villages I have ever been to, very clean an has a lovely little stream running though it, went to. One of the two pubs for some dinner, and was very nice, the camp site is right in the middle of all the towns that's nice to go to, ie ripon an Thrsk, all in all brill week even though it rained, an will definitely be back. Next year, this time for 2 weeks! One very happy family, 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ajc123 3 reviews from this member

 Had a lovely stay at this site (despite the storm!) over the bank holiday weekend. Five families all with young children aged 2 to 12 and we all really enjoyed it.

Very nicely maintained site, mainly caravans but with a large field known as the 'island' at the end for tents. Clean loo and shower block and a playground / shop / pubs nearby. The village is very pretty and with easy access to Knaresborough and Ripley (both of which I can highly recommend) as well as Harrogate and Ripon.

15 a night well spent, thank you, we'll be back! 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Willave 7 reviews from this member

 Spend a superb week at this lovely campsite in their well appointed Static Caravan which is situated in a quiet corner of the site away from other Caravans or tents. The site is only 5 minutes walk into the village of Bishop Monkton where there are two pubs from which to select enjoyable meals. There is also a Post Office/general store in the village. Ripon is 4 miles away and you have a choice of travel by road or take the beautiful walk along by the river and canal into this lovely little town. The larger town of Harrogate is only 10 miles away. Other places worth visiting are Boroughbridge, Aldborough, Fountains Abbey and a must is the wonderful 12th century Moated Manor House 'Markenfield Hall' which is still used as a family home (Visiting times are restricted so check before you go)

Thank you to the owners for making our visit so pleasurable. William & Margaret (N. Ireland) 


Previous     40 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3713 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement