Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Old Mill Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Moray > Forres > The Old Mill Caravan Park Reviews

The Old Mill Caravan Park
Brodie
Forres
Moray   (Browse area)
IV36 2TD
Tel: 01309 641244
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 39
Open: 01/04/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 4/10 from 8 Reviews
                4/10 from 8 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Srymer 4 reviews from this member

 Stopped here without prior booking. Surprised to be charged 20 for 2 people & small tent which was significantly higher than the 12-15 we had been charged at other similar sites in Scotland.

No hot water. Toilet block was dirty and cannot have been cleaned for several days. Road noise is intrusive and the end of the site allocated to tents. The children's playground was overgrown and and unusable.

Would not use this site again. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Big Stevo 1 review from this member

 Stayed for a week with my wife, and a most peaceful site, daily visits from the ducks and hens, a basic site but friendly staff ans great location for the whole Moray coast and region. Also at the entrance a lovely hotel that has a beer garden and does fantastic food. We are looking forwaer to stsying there again in the future, Steve & Aliso Dunblane. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Grubs 3 reviews from this member

 Booked ahead to make sure we had a pitch as we were cycle touring. Arrived at the site to find that it was closed due to flooding. Rang the telephone number and had to negotiate to stay - claimed no knowledge of our booking. Pitched near entrance and as others have said this was rough ground and the road noise was intrusive. After pitching we were asked for 15 fee for a small two man tent. I requested a discount as the site was 'closed' and had no lights of hot water in the shower block. Was told it was 15, no discount and 'you can cycle on if you don't like it'

The toilet block was in need of a good clean and up date.

The pub next door took pity on us and arranged to provide a take away fish and chips.

Not a good experience on the campsite. Wouldn't recommend this place. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kld22162 11 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a 3 night stay at this caravan site. It is in a beautiful setting but unfortunately the campers are right next to the main Aberdeen to Inverness road - very noisy at night!

Campsite is a small field which is very rough under foot - i. E. Holes, uneven etc. We have a large 6 berth tent which we usually hook-up to electric.

The electric supply was a considerable distance away - our cable only just reached! 2 of the 3 nights we were there the electronic went off! It happens regularly! Not what you expect for 17 p/night! The electric stayed off the whole night until 10am the next morning! We did try calling warden on both mobile and landline - no reply - very frustrating!

There is also pigs kept on the field where campers have to pitch. There is a 'fence' but this doesn't stop the smell! Or the whining from the pigs!

Toilet block and shower very tired and needs updating. Truth be told, you can smell the toilets from a fair distance away! Dish washing sink choked with other peoples old food.

The refuse from the site on the Friday was overflowing. Lots of rubbish bags lying all around refuse centre as bins were overflowing.

Lovely pub adjacent to the site. We would have preferred to pitch up alongside the caravans - after all we were paying the same price as they are!

The lady warden whom we talked to was very helpful and pleasant - unfortunately she went on holiday the night we arrived.

Unfortunately we will not be returning to this site. This site could be a beautiful site but it appears very tired and needs a good dose of TLC! 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lazy Dazy 10 reviews from this member

 Arrived up on Friday evening and office was closed. Sign said to take a pitch and sort out payment later. I must admit we did miss the small sign sending tents into a small field but I did notice tents in there and thought that ours wouldn't fit as there were several already pitched (plus a large family barbecue underway). So we drove round and found an empty area with no obvious electric hook-ups and pitched there. Turned out we shouldn't have been there but as we were pitched and in the middle of dinner when the manager arrived he agreed that we could stay. I must say I was glad as the tent field was close to a busy road and would have been much noisier all night with traffic noise.

This is primarily a static park with room for some touring caravans and a few tents. Fine for tourers but not wonderful for tents. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Linda5 1 review from this member

 This is mainly a static caravan or mobile home site there is a field at the front of the site for tents. There are hens, geese and donkey's in the next field. The field where the tents were pitched which was also covered in geese poo.

There is a stream running very close so there is a lot of midges. The main road from Inverness to Aberdene runs very close and is noisy. There is also a pub which was noisy at throwing out time with taxi's beeping horns and loud voices. The toilets were okay but the showers were not great. 


Reviewer: ali. 3 reviews from this member

 July 2004
I found this site to be a pleasant little site, try not to pitch at the entrance end though, as it can be noisy with road traffic and a train.
There is a hotel in the grounds that does food and bar drinks.
I thought 13 was a little on the expensive side with no EHU and pitches were very close together.

 


Reviewer: andy main 1 review from this member

 12th-14th April 2004
Excellently run site, the warden called Hazel was very helpful and friendly. This is a small site which was very peaceful and quiet, the facilities on site were well maintained and clean. It is an excellent base for touring the area. At the end of the site is an Hotel/B&B with an excellent bar.
We were staying in our tent and found it a well sheltered area. The fees were great at 8 a night including electrics, we will be going again. 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is The Old Mill Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Old Mill Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is The Old Mill Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Forres      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Moray

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1587 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement