Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Byreside Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > Co Durham > Consett > Byreside Caravan Site > Reviews

Byreside Caravan Site
Hamsterley
Ebchester
Consett
Co Durham   (Browse area)
NE17 7RT
Tel: 01207 560280
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 40 Reviews
                8/10 from 40 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  40 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Davedenise 5 reviews from this member

 Nice well maintained site. Nice owner.

Reasonable nightly charge. Great walking/cycling from site.

Handy for visit to Newcastle/Durham. Toilet block roomy and clean but past sell by date.

Definitely recommended. 


Date of Visit: May 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Nicola 1 review from this member

 Lovely well maintained, quiet site located within a few steps of the lovely Derwent Walk. Ideal for dog walkers/ hikers/ cyclists and anyone who just wants to chill.

We spotted deer, squirrels, numerous birds and butterflies whilst out walking.

Toilet and shower block were kept exceptionally clean and spacious, entry is by a code which you receive on arrival.

As its a working farm, dogs need to be kept on leads whilst on site but as I've already said the Derwent Walk is on your doorstep.

Booking is by telephone only, but if there is no one to take your call, leave a message and someone will call you back asap. 


Date of Visit: April 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: LostAgainAndAga 6 reviews from this member

 What a wonderful site.

All hard-standing pitches.

Toilets and shower clean and suitable.

Easy access to local walks, Tanfield Railway and Beamish.

Stayed for the Easter break and the site was very quiet and peaceful.

Definitely recommend this site if you want somewhere to relax. 


Date of Visit: June 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Janetath 3 reviews from this member

 Enjoyed a great few days at this site. Janet, the owner, was very welcoming and also helpful when we had a problem with our electric.

Lots to do in area - we enjoyed days out at Gibside, Beamish and Newcastle - all a short distance by car.

Also great traffic free cycling direct from the site with beautiful views over Derwent Valley.

Site was quiet when we were there.

Facilities were clean if a bit dated and plenty of hot water - always a bonus to find a shower without a push button! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: January 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Tinwolf 8 reviews from this member

 This is a very nice campsite in beautiful surroundings but caution, the final road to it is narrow but it's not busy. The route to it is very easy, off the A1M and down a main road for a little while then the fairly short bit of narrow road and you're there!

The site is quite small with one male and one female toilet but there are 2 other toilets in the 2 shower rooms which are free.

The water is quite powerful and very warm, the toilet block only has heating in the evenings so you might want to bear that in mind.

There is easy access to the Derwent Way which is a disused railway, in fact you have to cross this track to go to the toilet block which is quite spooky at night.

From the Derwent way it's an easy cycle to Consett or a bit further to Newcastle.

A short walk away is a bus service to Newcastle or Consett and from there to Durham or the Beamish museum.

There are plenty of public footpaths in the area and some great scenery, this could well be worth a revisit. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: October 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Angieba 1 review from this member

 Met by Janet on arrival who was very friendly. Lovely quiet site and enjoyed being right next to the Derwent Walk, which was great for walking our dog.

We struck lucky with the weather which was unusually warm for October so it was lovely being able to sit outside.

We didn't need to use the toilet and shower facilities as we prefer to use our onboard ones but the site was clean and well kept.

Access road is a little bumpy but understandable as it is a farm track. Just took it easy over the potholes!

The site is only 25 minutes from our home so easy and quick to get to.

Would return. 


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Brucie2a 2 reviews from this member

 Spent the weekend at this peaceful caravan site. We were met by the lovely owner Janet who guided us to our pitch and informed us of where the facilities were.

The site was immaculate and the shower/toilet blocks really clean. Shower was lovely and warm.

We will definitely be returning. 


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Shaz-n-Dave 2 reviews from this member

 It was a return visit to this very well kept and really friendly caravan site, we visited this site for the first time last year so our friends could do the Great North Run,
this year there were just three of us a family friend, the wife and myself and our dog.

We were visiting the area so that our friend and the wife could take part in the Great North Run this time. We arrived on the Friday in the late afternoon and were given the pitch we requested whilst on site last year.

The site was just as we remembered it, well kept and the toilets/showers were very clean. We used the Metro to get from Callerton Park to the centre of Newcastle, both for our Saturday recce and Sunday to get the girls to the start.

Although the Metro was very crowded it was by far the best way to travel into the centre of Newcastle, we used the City Tavern for both Saturday and Sunday evening meals the food was very good and good value for money and as last year still Dog friendly,

We used The Rattler bar again a dog friendly pub with very nice and reasonably priced food in South Shields for Saturday dinner and our dog and I used it on the Sunday whilst waiting for the wife and our friend to finish the run.

Byreside caravan park was ideal for us, it was clean, tidy, and a bargain as well.

A 25’ caravan, with 3/4 awning, electric hook up, three adults and one dog, lovely hot showers, £69 for three nights thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

And no doubt we’ll be back again next year. 🤞 
via mobile


Date of Visit: March 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Sweetpea1 8 reviews from this member

 Excellent little site. Great for dogs. Very friendly owners, nothing was too much trouble. Toilets were very clean and heated.

We will definitely be back as only 1hr from home, so great for a weekend break and it was well worth the money, £16 inc electric. 


Date of Visit: February 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Gtf558 10 reviews from this member

 Good location although on top of a hill and can be windy. Toilet facilities more than adequate plenty hot water, heated, clean - downside across a track, torch needed after dark not suitable for children unaccompanied.

Good walks straight from the site great for dogs. Will use again. 


Previous     40 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Byreside Caravan Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Byreside Caravan Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Byreside Caravan Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Consett      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Co Durham

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


44919 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Play our
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win an amazing 12V and 240V 21.5" Full HD Smart WiFi TV with Satellite Decoder worth £399 provided by outdoor superstore Towsure!

Play Here


Advertisement