Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Strawberry Hill Farm Camping And Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Co Durham > Durham > Strawberry Hill Farm Camping And Caravan Park Reviews

Strawberry Hill Farm Camping And Caravan Park
Running Waters
Old Cassop
Durham
Co Durham   (Browse area)
DH6 4QA
Tel: 0191 3723457
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 46
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/12/2021
           01/03/2022 to 31/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 148 Reviews
                8/10 from 148 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  148 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Penny Hillyard 3 reviews from this member

 Run by a great young couple Adam & Louise. Nothing is too much trouble.

Very clean toilets and showers.

Little kids play area.

Had a lovely breakfast outside the cute tea room on site. Had choice of 2 different Gluten-free cakes!

Good location and in a lovely area

Will definitely come back! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Static
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Monstro 6 reviews from this member

 Have already booked two weeks for next year, so pleased to have discovered Strawberry Hill Farm.

Our caravan was spotless on arrival, beds made up and a welcome pack of essentials, excuse the photo's we'd been here nigh on a fortnight when we took them.

This is a small site but everything you need is here, laundry room, showers and a cafe in which the cakes will rage war on anyone's willpower (mine lost).

Met Louise on arrival and Adam later, very attentive hosts and nothing too much trouble, never been offered fresh bedding during a stay before.

We use our van as a base and are busy out and about exploring and visiting family/ friends but still managed to have a few evenings sat outside relaxing, picnic bench/ table for each van and was nice sat there watching the sun go down.

Fridge, freezer, cooker and everything you need in the kitchen is there, tv with dvd player and a quality sofa in the van as well, not the usual uncomfortable thing you can often find built into them.

Site caters for tents, caravans & motorhomes and it's five static caravans are at the rear of the site, really peaceful, you wouldn't know how popular this place is, loads of trees/bushes separate the various pitches giving excellent privacy rather than an open field.

Location is fantastic for exploring what the area offers, highly recommend Beamish open air museum and the Wetlands centre in Washington, further afield loads of Roman history and Hadrians wall.

Massive Tesco and all the shops you'll need are 10mins away as well as the A1 and A19 to get you anywhere.

We've thoroughly enjoyed our stay here, hadn't been here three days before we booked next year, last night here tonight and can't wait to come back. 


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Trailer Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Angie6666 1 review from this member

 First impressions of the site was very good, it was very clean. There's a beautiful little tea room, the site has everything you need for your stay, laundry, washing up area, clean showers and toilets.

The owners are very friendly they will stop and chat even when they have a very busy schedule. We will definitely stay here again.

The area is close to Durham City centre, so there's lots of history and beautiful places to visit. They are not very far from the northeast costal area either.

Well worth a visit. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Clarks 1 review from this member

 Lovely stay at Strawberry Hill Farm. Lovely location perfect for visiting Beamish Museum and Durham city centre.

Lovely spacious pitches and the site is really tidy. Lovely showers and toilets. One of the best features is the Tea Room.

Fantastic breakfasts and sumptuous cakes. The owners are so friendly and couldn't do enough for us. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Donna14 3 reviews from this member

 We visited Strawberry Hill Farm for the first time earlier this week. It is easy to find when travelling from the A1M. It is quite rural. It is dog and family friendly.

First impressions were that, at arrival on site it appears to be very nice and clean.

It's quite a small campsite however there was good facilities (laundry room, toilets and dishwashing area). There's a lovely tea room and evening bar van, and a small play area for the kids.

There was a number of dog poo bins around the site and also a dog walk, although you could get round it in 2 minutes as its that small! There was a number of pitches, both EHU and non.

On arrival we were greeted by Louise in reception who was very warm and welcoming and explained on the site map where our pitch was.

We were situated on the lower part of the site and it appeared to be a lovely secluded little field. It was lovely to see chickens freely roaming around.

Now here is the issue with the site (and I'll be honest it's the ONLY flaw we found) and that is the noise from the dual carriageway. It is horrendous. It just so happens that the lower pitches are also the ones nearest the road and there's just constant noise. I had hoped it would lessen at night but sadly that wasn't the case.

It is a lovely little site, however due to the constant high-speed traffic noise, I had to rate it lower. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 10 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Ahadle 1 review from this member

 Originally booked 6 nights but increased it to 10 nights. Site clean and tidy. Go early morning or late evening if you want quietness in the shower.

A little road noise at peak times. The tearoom is a luxurious treat in the afternoons. Delicious cream cakes, etc. I would visit again if I was in the area for holidays.

Exceptionally good owners who were only two willing to help a lone caravanner. Other caravanners were also extremely friendly and of a very mixed age group.

If you go I hope you enjoy your holiday -- the knatty knitter from scotland. 


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Barbar 1 review from this member

 Cleanliness, friendly family run park due to directions we received

From the park it was easy to find.

Peaceful quiet location with lots of places to visit in the surrounding area 


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 10 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Paulth 1 review from this member

 We stayed at this camp site for 10 nights and we found it peaceful and Adam and Louise were helpful throughout our stay.

The toilets and showers were spotless every time we used them.

It is close to Durham and about 10 miles from the sea we thoroughly enjoyed our stay with Adam and Louise and would certainly book again 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jackie 2021 1 review from this member

 Very warm welcome from Adam and Louise, this site has everything, immaculate facilities, 6 static caravans, a few tent pitches and thirty plus caravan or motorhome pitches, most hard standing,

A play area and a tea shop.

It sounds crammed, but because it is well laid out wherever you are you feel private in your own little patch.

Week days here are quite, however our experience was that on Friday afternoon there was an influx of family's, 30 new campers arrived and the place became noisy and busy, but it is a family site so ha ho. And they all disappeared on Sunday.

Road is noisy, the site is located on a very ridiculously small pointless duel carriageway. After a while you get used to it.

We will be back next year as this is the nicest and friendliest site we've found in this area, we are southerners and visit this area to see our son and his family and they were made most welcome when they visited us, and enjoyed an Ice cream and a play in the play area. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Thebee 2 reviews from this member

 Owners friendly and helpful. Site clean and well maintained.

We visited as family were staying nearby.

Not suitable for us as an older couple without a car as there were no walks in the area. 
via mobile


Previous     148 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Strawberry Hill Farm Camping And Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Strawberry Hill Farm Camping And Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Strawberry Hill Farm Camping And Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Durham      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Co Durham

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camp & Glamp Show, Hertfordshire 08/10 to 16/10
Join the Camp 'n' Glamp 2022 Tent Preview ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2070 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement