Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Strawberry Hill Farm Camping And Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > Co Durham > Durham > Strawberry Hill Farm Camping And Caravan Park > Reviews

Strawberry Hill Farm Camping And Caravan Park
Running Waters
Old Cassop
Durham
Co Durham   (Browse area)
DH6 4QA
Tel: 0191 3723457
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 46
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 159 Reviews
                8/10 from 159 Reviews

Photos (30)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  159 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: October 2023 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: JJ Russell 5 reviews from this member

 Wonít be hurrying back.

Lots of work being done and felt like a bit of a building site. Building of the new toilets doesnít look like anything has been done to them in a while, just a frame of breeze block stones.

Toilets etc were ok but none of the other site features were open.

Still paid average price for time of the year. 


Date of Visit: June 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Allan Pryor 1 review from this member

 Great site. Owners are brilliant great food cakes are the best.

Facilities are good and more on the way.

The best site we have been to many times before and many more in the future including next week. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Vally 16 reviews from this member

 Nice level hard standing pitch with electric and water point nearby.

Due to rain had to wait to set up but site drained well.

Staff were friendly and helpful re bus times and weather forecast.

Tea room was lovely but very busy the once we found it open, as we were out during the daytime.

Toilet facilities were few but more being built. Would go again. 


Date of Visit: July 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 9 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Northerngal33 8 reviews from this member

 Lovely secluded site off a busy duel carriageway but that doesn't make it too noisy.

Well spaced pitches but not very level, take your leveling ramps.

Children and dog friendly, play Park for kids dog walk for dog.

There is an on site tearoom and horsebox bar which are very quirky. Showers are spotless but only stay on for 9 seconds before you push button again.

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay through the July heatwave we had

We will definitely return. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: CEW3A 31 reviews from this member

 Made very welcome by Adam when we arrived. Just off a short section of duel carriageway, so had to turn left Ė rising steeply uphill Ė when leaving the site. Could hear traffic noise but didnít bother us.

We had a hardstanding pitch on the corner, just inside security barrier. Slightly sloping & even after levelling off the caravan was not completely level so also put wedges under the wheels.

Facilities block was the other side of the security barrier, near the reception/ tea room. 2 toilet cubicles in both ladies & gents, with addition of 2 urinals in gents but my husband assured me that if using them, the persons are in view of anyone entering (albeit their back is in view). In both the ladies & the gents, one of the toilets had a wobbly seat. There are 2 sinks & 2 showers.

The liquid soap dispenser on the wall is very stiff to operate & didnít often want to dispense! The showers have an adjustable nozzle height & are the push button to operate type Ė one in the ladies had to be pressed almost every second; short bursts of water only, though the other was better.

However there was no temperature control, so after the first couple of cold water bursts, the water could quickly become very hot! I would have liked a couple of extra hooks in the shower outer cubicle & a seat/stool to sit on when getting dressed.

Between the ladies & gents toilets is the laundry room/book exchange room, for which there is a security code. We didnít use it other than to leave some books of our own which we had read & my husband swapped one of his.

Next to the toilets is the washing up area; there are 2 sinks with washing up liquid dispensers on the wall, a plastic drainer & a washing up bowl in 1 sink. Could have done with a shelf or a work surface to put the items when dried.

We were a little dismayed to discover that our pitch was right opposite a new toilet block which is in the process of being built; we were wondering if we would be disturbed by the noise & dust of a building site, but it seems to be being completed piecemeal; apart from 2 brief spells of drilling /banging, there was no building work taking place whilst we were there, though we noticed that the height of the breezeblock walls had increased.

For those with children, there was a nice-looking play area with a climbing frame opposite the tea room/reception/ 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Gingerfreckles 16 reviews from this member

 We chose this site due to its proximity to Durham and near a bus stop.

Facilities were clean but in need of a refresh, which is clearly what was happening with the building works going on.

Lovely welcome, great looking cafe which we didn't get to sample unfortunately.

We knew it was next to the road, but hadn't appreciated just how close the tent pitch area was to the road.

It was very noisy, and didn't stop throughout the night. Sadly this will prevent us from staying again. 


Date of Visit: June 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Slowcoach65 3 reviews from this member

 Overall a good site with tired but clean facilities.

Og walk on a very steep slope and very short - approx 50m.

We have a 6m MH and were next to the entrance of a grassed area making it difficult for other to drive on to.

Unfortunately, our holiday was ruined by the group in a tent next to us who played loud music all day and night - they didn't stop until 2 am, despite me asking then to quieten it down.

Adam the owner didn't really give me the reassurance that he would say anything to them when we left the following day. 


Date of Visit: May 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Stuart mcdougal 1 review from this member

 Made to feel most welcome by the hosts.

Small well kept site with on site cafe that serves delicious homemade cakes.

Pub approximately 1 mile away 3 horse shoes serves with very good food. No problem parking motorhome in car park.

The site has a dog walk little steep if your unsteady on your feet.

All in all a really nice site and will be back. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Rogand 1 review from this member

 Liked: warm welcome by owners to this lovely site.

Small cafe with home made cakes and food that would not be out of place in 5* establishment.

All facilities clean and well located. New facilities block under construction.

Highly recommended.

Disliked: nothing 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: T747 4 reviews from this member

 Nice site let down by road maybe could put a warning sign futher down the road

To let you know as fast road and sat nav takes you some were elise

Overall let down by road 
via mobile


Previous     159 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Strawberry Hill Farm Camping And Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Strawberry Hill Farm Camping And Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Strawberry Hill Farm Camping And Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Durham      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Co Durham

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


45744 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement