Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Strawberry Hill Farm Camping And Caravanning Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North East > Co Durham > Site Reviews

Strawberry Hill Farm Camping And Caravanning Park
Old Cassop
Durham
Co Durham   (Browse area)
DH6 4QA
Tel: 0191 3723457
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 30
Open: 01/03 To 31/12

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 130 Reviews
                8/10 from 130 Reviews

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 10 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 10 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  130 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Durhamwasp 11 reviews from this member

Very pleasant stay at a lovely little campsite which has everything you could need. Showers and toilets clean, new play area for kids and a cake and coffee shop selling ice creams for the kids. Campsite owners also very friendly.

Less than 10 minutes drive into Durham, and less than 10 min a Tesco Extra and take away options.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rebecca jane23 1 review from this member

Myself and my 2 boys aged 15 and 10 came camping for two days, they had a lovely time exploring the area, this camp site was very good value for money and we are due back this month for anther few days.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: P5are 1 review from this member

We’ve just returned from a 2 night stay. What can I say; this place is beautiful. The site is spotlessly clean, the showers and toilets are immaculate. The owners Adam and Louise are very friendly and welcoming; both work very hard but nothing seems a problem to them. Louise makes the most amazing home baked cakes along with a whole variety of home cooked goodies in the lovely tea room on site. Adam is always around to offer a hand if needed and we had to call on him on more than 1 occasion, tent trouble, car with a flat battery etc etc. Thanks again!

Looking forward to coming back soon

Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: S-Hedges 1 review from this member

Absolutely brilliant site, was met by Adam on arrival who was very accommodating and eager to make our stay a pleasant one.

It was our first time out with a caravan and they were very understanding with our lack of skill and knowledge, even though it had been snowing before our arrival and raining since they had no problems with us driving over the grass to get the caravan sited or with parking the car next to it, there are plenty of bricks and blocks on the site to assist with levelling and water and waste points are well spaced with fire prevention at each point, given that it rained almost the entire time the ground drained well and the van didn’t sink.

The site is well positioned just outside of Durham, around 10 minutes away from the local Tesco and there is a local pub just under 5 minutes away.

My only negative is that we found the water temperature in the showers to be rather cold.

Will most definitely stay here next time we are up.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Woman camper 3 reviews from this member

We stayed here for two weeks and made a base to visit the surrounding area.

What a gem of a caravan park.

Louise and Adam have just taken ownership and are wonderful.

A very exciting time.

The site has terraces, some flat, some slightly sloping.

There are plenty of bricks and wood to assist with levelling the units.

Electricity is metered which means you only pay for what you use.

The facilities are immaculate but do need moderately updating.

Adam and Louise have plans to develop the site and we wish them good luck in their endeavours, we will be back to see what they have done.

The site is off a fast road look out for the sign, there is. Some road noise but it didn't worry us.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: HudsonandHudson 1 review from this member

Friendly, clean and great value for money.

The site is a perfect base to visit Durham and surrounding area’s. There were 3 families in our party and we had opted for grass pitches with electric hook up. This worked out perfectly as the children were able to play in another grasses area nearby which was away from the caravans but still in sight.

The site was spotlessly clean, with rubbish & recycling being collected on a regular basis. Howard the owner had a friendly relaxed attitude and was really helpful providing us with maps to the local dog friendly pub and guides for the surrounding areas. The facilities were clean and all in working order with showers remaining nice and hot.

The site is situated off a dual carriage way but access is very simple, you just have to nip to the roundabout 5 mins down the road and come back on yourself. In terms of road noise, yes there was a little but the birds singing in the morning were louder and it was lovely seeing the rabbits in the hedge rows

The fact that you only pay for the electric you use was also a real bonus and makes this site real value for money.

We all had a great 2017 Easter weekend

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Ged1 2 reviews from this member

Bit of a problem with could you attach a tent to a camper van. Awning was OK, but not tent and van together. It was either van or tent. The owners explained the reasons which was fine and accommodated us. Sorry my kids did not like the site. Saying that nice and clean with large pitches. Need to sort out the directions to the campsite on the website as they are not clear. It would of been easier to make the local pub as a sat nav point. Sign on the other side of the road would also be helpful. Woke by traffic noise from the road outside the campsite. Would not be my first choice if in the area.

Date of Visit: March 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Allan williams 5 reviews from this member

Met by a very friendly guy, who was more than happy to help. Now the site its set on a slope which is terraced, into 4 flat areas on a very busy section of road with loads of traffic noise, the area near the road would be very bad. The facilities are kept clean but are old fashioned, and only have two toilets and two showers in both the ladies and gents, and they are very cold although fitted with an electric radiator its disconnected. When we were there there were only 4 units on the site so at busy times I expect the showers would be under considerable pressure. Even with only the few of us on site the showers ran cold before we could complete showering, not good in a freezing room. My wife tells me that in effect the ladies only had one shower as the lock on the door on one was broken. The price per night was not too bad, £20, but electricity was metered but was not overly expensive. Access is quite difficult as its on a stretch of duel carriageway, on leaving you go a few hundred yards then have to make a you turn which would be a bit dodgy if towing a caravan. There is no play area for kids. The site is let down by the poor facilities, which seriously need updating,

Management response: We are saddened and disappointed with Mr Williams comments which regrettably are in most cases his assumptions and are unfounded. However we take his comments on board.

Firstly the facilities are refurbished yearly and conform in quantity and quality with our 4 star grading from Visit England. The radiators are on a timer which activate when the temperature drops below 10 degrees celcius. The door locks on all showers are functioning perfectly.

Apologies to Mr Williams if during his stay the free showers ran cold however campers staying at the same time and after Mr Williams commented on the quality and hot temperature of our showers.

With regard to the 'u' turn that Mr Williams suggests within the dual carriageway with a tourer this would be contravening the Highway Code. Use the roundabout a little further on.

We are sorry that Mr Williams found us not to his liking and thank him for his comments and his kind comments about my friendliness.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Redwax 1 review from this member

Had a lovely weekend at this site. Malcolm showed us to our pitch and was friendly and polite. Toilets were very clean and cheerful. Large pitches which is always good. Good meal at the Three Horseshoe's nearby. Only let down was the constant road noise from the duel carriageway just outside the park which the owners obviously have no control over. Would say there again.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Northernrocknufc 1 review from this member

Lovely small and friendly campsite. Howard and his wife couldn't have done enough to please us and keep the place clean and tidy.

We travelled as 2 families. 2 adults, 2 children and a baby in one and 2 adults and 3 children in another. Howard gave us double pitches each so we had room to pitch and room for the children to play. When we arrived the heavens had opened but he still showed us to our pitch.

The facilities were gleaming. Toilet and shower block were immaculate. Next door was the washing up area that was always clean and tidy. The bins around the campsite were always emptied as well as the recycle bin.

Only a tiny few little things I would like to see change.

More lighting on the way to the toilet block. Its very dark. The entrance sign could do with an update and more eye catching. I drove passed it. But overall wouldn't stop me coming back.

We've had a fantastic few nights and will be booking again.

Thank you

Previous     130 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Co Durham

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Sleeping Package worth over £399 Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1037 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


Play the UKCampsite.co.uk
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win a fantastic Easter prize - a TV / DVD Combo worth £399!