Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Strawberry Hill Farm Camping And Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Co Durham > Durham > Strawberry Hill Farm Camping And Caravan Park Reviews

Strawberry Hill Farm Camping And Caravan Park
Running Waters
Old Cassop
Durham
Co Durham   (Browse area)
DH6 4QA
Tel: 0191 3723457
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 46
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 138 Reviews
                8/10 from 138 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  138 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Tnchls 1 review from this member

 Lovely campsite.

Owners very friendly cant do enough to help.

Had a walk into the local village.

Would definitely return and recommend to family and friends 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Leean2 1 review from this member

 It rained basically all the time we were there, and to add to that the campsite closed all the toilets so you had to either use a portaloo, a bucket or go into the woods.

Can't say much about the site except it is close to a main road that has traffic on it all through the night and if you are a light sleeper you will hear it in a tent, all night long.

There did not seem much to do there but again it was raining maybe that is different when it's dry.

Would I go back? Not really, we stayed at a better site the week before which had their toilets open, no traffic next to the site and it was dry (though you cannot blame the site for the weather).

The owner seemed nice and friendly though, so I could not complain about them. 


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Isabel 2 reviews from this member

 Very pleasant camp site, very clean and tidy.

Lovely owners, friendly and obliging.

A lot of noise from the dual carriage way was our only negative comment. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Iccy 5 reviews from this member

 Stayed here in the pouring rain, site is very well equipped.

Only slight criticism was through no fault of the site owners was the grassed areas were nearly impossible to drive onto.

The owners are so nice and approachable, in fact the weekend just gone Halloween they allowed us to park our van on a pitch free off charge for 3 hours while we visited my wife's very ill sister in Birtley.

Will definitely return when need to go that area again 


Date of Visit: August 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Whench 4 reviews from this member

 Nice site, great info on arrival of area and site.

Downside for us personally we had tents either side of us and prefer to be among caravans. (Re noise level)

Good facilities and magnificent cakes in the tearoom on site.

Thank you 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: LargeFamilyCampers 2 reviews from this member

 This was our first camping trip as a family (the older kids have been with Cub Scouts and us adults had been when we were younger). When we first arrived we found the owners to be extremely welcoming, walking us to the pitch and giving us a little information about the facilities and site.

When setting up, we found the ground had a lot of stones underneath, making placing pegs rather a trial, this may be down to us being located next to a hardstanding pitch though. However, once set up we were happy. We were placed amongst caravans which was a bit of a shame as there tends to be more of a social atmosphere with tenters.

The EHU was reliable and connected close to the tent, leaving plenty of our cable to position the sockets where we wanted them in the tent. The pitch was right next to the in-site road, which was a little nerve-wracking with 2 children under 5 and an older child with autism (no risk awareness) but it was a fairly quiet road so unless it was arrival or leave times, it was safe. There were various water top up points with rubbish and recycling points next to them. These were very handy as we didn't have too far to walk to use them.

On site there is a small play area which amused the kids for a sufficient amount of time to occupy them while we did the washing up after meals. There are toilets and showers which are kept absolutely spotless and a laundry room should you need it. There's a chemical waste area just next to it too. The small tearoom has a little shop of essentials in and local tourist information leaflets. We also found the owners to be extremely helpful when suggesting and giving information on what there was to do in the area.

The site is secluded, positioned around little villages which makes it lovely and quiet but also quite a way from anywhere we wanted to take the kids for a day out.

All in all, the price was fantastic given that we had a large tent, 6 people and had booked at short notice. Definitely worth a look if you want a little, quiet site to stop in. 


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Pat the dog 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed at Strawberry Hill Farm over Easter Weekend 2019 and had an amazing time.

Upon arrival we were greeted by Louise & Adam who couldn't have been more welcoming, Louise walked us to our pitch where we got ourselves set up. Just to point out the pitches are not 100% level so can take some time to get leveled out but there are plenty of chocks to use. We did not find this an issue though.

There is a lovely little park on site for the kids to play which is opposite the tea room and outdoor seating area, the kids all seemed to love this and they were all playing nicely together.

The tearoom is lovely and has some absolutely amazing cakes and pastries as well as serving pizzas and light bites, everything is cooked fresh by Louise and the prices are really good too. Definitely worth a visit.

The site itself is quite small but is on split levels so makes for a nice wander around with the dog, although it is near a main road there is barely any traffic noise so no issues there.

The toilet/shower block is kept spotlessly clean at all times and although the site was full we never had to queue once for the facilities.

There are a couple of dog friendly pubs nearby, one in the village of Shadforth which is called the Farmers Arms which you can walk to - Louise will give you a map, this only took approx 20-25 mins through the fields and was a lovely walk. The dog particularly enjoyed it!

We visited Beamish whilst were there which was about at 25min drive and also Dalton Park which was approx 20min drive. There is a Tesco approx 3 miles away but the tearoom on site also stocks some supplies.

This really is a lovely site which with time will only get better as Louise & Adam have lots of plans, we can't wait to visit again and see what new things are in store. Especially the new horse trailer bar :) 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Durhamwasp 11 reviews from this member

 Very pleasant stay at a lovely little campsite which has everything you could need. Showers and toilets clean, new play area for kids and a cake and coffee shop selling ice creams for the kids. Campsite owners also very friendly.

Less than 10 minutes drive into Durham, and less than 10 min a Tesco Extra and take away options. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rebecca jane23 1 review from this member

 Myself and my 2 boys aged 15 and 10 came camping for two days, they had a lovely time exploring the area,

This camp site was very good value for money and we are due back this month for anther few days. 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: P5are 1 review from this member

 We’ve just returned from a 2 night stay. What can I say; this place is beautiful. The site is spotlessly clean, the showers and toilets are immaculate.

The owners Adam and Louise are very friendly and welcoming; both work very hard but nothing seems a problem to them. Louise makes the most amazing home baked cakes along with a whole variety of home cooked goodies in the lovely tea room on site.

Adam is always around to offer a hand if needed and we had to call on him on more than 1 occasion, tent trouble, car with a flat battery etc etc. Thanks again!

Looking forward to coming back soon 


Previous     138 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Strawberry Hill Farm Camping And Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Strawberry Hill Farm Camping And Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Strawberry Hill Farm Camping And Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Durham      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Co Durham

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet New Forest Caravan & Motorhome Show 21/05 to 25/05
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


9331 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement