Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Strawberry Hill Farm Camping And Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Co Durham > Durham > Strawberry Hill Farm Camping And Caravan Park Reviews

Strawberry Hill Farm Camping And Caravan Park
Running Waters
Old Cassop
Durham
Co Durham   (Browse area)
DH6 4QA
Tel: 0191 3723457
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 46
Open: 01/03/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 152 Reviews
                8/10 from 152 Reviews

Photos (30)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  152 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Stuart mcdougal 1 review from this member

 Made to feel most welcome by the hosts.

Small well kept site with on site cafe that serves delicious homemade cakes.

Pub approximately 1 mile away 3 horse shoes serves with very good food. No problem parking motorhome in car park.

The site has a dog walk little steep if your unsteady on your feet.

All in all a really nice site and will be back. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Rogand 1 review from this member

 Liked: warm welcome by owners to this lovely site.

Small cafe with home made cakes and food that would not be out of place in 5* establishment.

All facilities clean and well located. New facilities block under construction.

Highly recommended.

Disliked: nothing 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: T747 4 reviews from this member

 Nice site let down by road maybe could put a warning sign futher down the road

To let you know as fast road and sat nav takes you some were elise

Overall let down by road 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Penny Hillyard 3 reviews from this member

 Run by a great young couple Adam & Louise. Nothing is too much trouble.

Very clean toilets and showers.

Little kids play area.

Had a lovely breakfast outside the cute tea room on site. Had choice of 2 different Gluten-free cakes!

Good location and in a lovely area

Will definitely come back! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 10 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Devadave 8 reviews from this member

 A great site with a lovely friendly couple, Adam and Louise hosting.

The site has hard standing and grass pitches, 16amp power supplies.

The showers are being replaced shortly so no need to comment on running out of hot water or the heater not working in the disabled toilet.

There is laundry and drying machines very reasonable price.

Easy to find just off the dual carriageway, however that is the issue for us, the noise starts Monday to Friday at 05. 00 and doesn't go quiet until very late at night.

We had to stay due kids holidays, but as soon as we could we moved to a quieter site.

If this was elsewhere away from that dam noisy road or we were deaf, we would give higher review stars.

Let's hope the owners plant some heavy trees to absorb the sound, or build some sound absorbing materials

We paid 24 per night 2 adults in caravan with EHU. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Static
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Monstro 6 reviews from this member

 Have already booked two weeks for next year, so pleased to have discovered Strawberry Hill Farm.

Our caravan was spotless on arrival, beds made up and a welcome pack of essentials, excuse the photo's we'd been here nigh on a fortnight when we took them.

This is a small site but everything you need is here, laundry room, showers and a cafe in which the cakes will rage war on anyone's willpower (mine lost).

Met Louise on arrival and Adam later, very attentive hosts and nothing too much trouble, never been offered fresh bedding during a stay before.

We use our van as a base and are busy out and about exploring and visiting family/ friends but still managed to have a few evenings sat outside relaxing, picnic bench/ table for each van and was nice sat there watching the sun go down.

Fridge, freezer, cooker and everything you need in the kitchen is there, tv with dvd player and a quality sofa in the van as well, not the usual uncomfortable thing you can often find built into them.

Site caters for tents, caravans & motorhomes and it's five static caravans are at the rear of the site, really peaceful, you wouldn't know how popular this place is, loads of trees/bushes separate the various pitches giving excellent privacy rather than an open field.

Location is fantastic for exploring what the area offers, highly recommend Beamish open air museum and the Wetlands centre in Washington, further afield loads of Roman history and Hadrians wall.

Massive Tesco and all the shops you'll need are 10mins away as well as the A1 and A19 to get you anywhere.

We've thoroughly enjoyed our stay here, hadn't been here three days before we booked next year, last night here tonight and can't wait to come back. 


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Trailer Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Angie6666 1 review from this member

 First impressions of the site was very good, it was very clean. There's a beautiful little tea room, the site has everything you need for your stay, laundry, washing up area, clean showers and toilets.

The owners are very friendly they will stop and chat even when they have a very busy schedule. We will definitely stay here again.

The area is close to Durham City centre, so there's lots of history and beautiful places to visit. They are not very far from the northeast costal area either.

Well worth a visit. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Clarks 1 review from this member

 Lovely stay at Strawberry Hill Farm. Lovely location perfect for visiting Beamish Museum and Durham city centre.

Lovely spacious pitches and the site is really tidy. Lovely showers and toilets. One of the best features is the Tea Room.

Fantastic breakfasts and sumptuous cakes. The owners are so friendly and couldn't do enough for us. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Donna14 3 reviews from this member

 We visited Strawberry Hill Farm for the first time earlier this week. It is easy to find when travelling from the A1M. It is quite rural. It is dog and family friendly.

First impressions were that, at arrival on site it appears to be very nice and clean.

It's quite a small campsite however there was good facilities (laundry room, toilets and dishwashing area). There's a lovely tea room and evening bar van, and a small play area for the kids.

There was a number of dog poo bins around the site and also a dog walk, although you could get round it in 2 minutes as its that small! There was a number of pitches, both EHU and non.

On arrival we were greeted by Louise in reception who was very warm and welcoming and explained on the site map where our pitch was.

We were situated on the lower part of the site and it appeared to be a lovely secluded little field. It was lovely to see chickens freely roaming around.

Now here is the issue with the site (and I'll be honest it's the ONLY flaw we found) and that is the noise from the dual carriageway. It is horrendous. It just so happens that the lower pitches are also the ones nearest the road and there's just constant noise. I had hoped it would lessen at night but sadly that wasn't the case.

It is a lovely little site, however due to the constant high-speed traffic noise, I had to rate it lower. 


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 10 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Ahadle 1 review from this member

 Originally booked 6 nights but increased it to 10 nights. Site clean and tidy. Go early morning or late evening if you want quietness in the shower.

A little road noise at peak times. The tearoom is a luxurious treat in the afternoons. Delicious cream cakes, etc. I would visit again if I was in the area for holidays.

Exceptionally good owners who were only two willing to help a lone caravanner. Other caravanners were also extremely friendly and of a very mixed age group.

If you go I hope you enjoy your holiday -- the knatty knitter from scotland. 


Previous     152 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Strawberry Hill Farm Camping And Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Strawberry Hill Farm Camping And Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Strawberry Hill Farm Camping And Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Durham      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Co Durham

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save 15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2444 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement