Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Red Squirrel Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Argyll > Glencoe > Red Squirrel Campsite Reviews

Red Squirrel Campsite
Leacantuim Farm
Glencoe
Argyll   (Browse area)
PH49 4HX
Tel: 01855 811256
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches:
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 82 Reviews
                8/10 from 82 Reviews

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  82 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: CALUM1 3 reviews from this member

I have stayed at this campsite a number of times over the years. If it wasn't for the location and proximity to the Clachaig Inn I wouldn't go back.

It is overpriced and the facilities are basic.

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Leolion 12 reviews from this member

Came here with my son on the 8th April paid my money and could put my tent anywhere I wanted, I probably say the site is not for any more than a week although some folk might have, facilities was adequate for the site clean enough and tidy. There was places where there were fire pits and I personally picked this site for this reason as it's nice on a clear night sitting round a fire. We went to the Clachaig Inn for dinner which was lovely (still nice after 20 yrs) which is only about 15 min walk from site. I wouldn't say a particularly child friendly but it's what kids make of it and to have stunning walks and scenery then that can keep then amused All in all brill wee site

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: S-and-G 10 reviews from this member

On mid-june the campsite was pretty empty, so we could pick some awesome spot in the quiet zone by the river ! Clean campsite, grass well mowed, pegs went in easily.

The toilet/shower blocks are good. Showers contains a cubicle which avoids any of your clothes/towel/shoes to get wet, and a 'triton' water heater allowing you to adjust the temperature and does not need you to push a button every 10 sec.

Situation is excellent as there is plenty of walks in the area (moreover you're close to the A82 but not enough to ear the cars passing by), add a decent weather and you are close to paradise !

Would definitely come back.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Itsyum 110 reviews from this member

I've got rather mixed feelings about this site ! positives, its situated in a stunning location adjacent to a picturesque stream with the Glencoe mountain's all around, the famous clachaig inn is just up the road, loads of wildlife (including the dreaded midges) but ! its quite expensive at £11 per person per night and there's no electric hookups on site ! the toilet & shower facilities are somewhat basic, but were clean and the site warden (an elderly eastern European gentleman) was quite abrupt ! don't think we will use this place again as there's a superb site just down the road in Invercoe !

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Gordonmull 3 reviews from this member

A wonderful site. The wardens were amazingly nice people, the wildlife was brilliant. It was a wet and cold weekend in a tent but I still had a great holiday.

I've never seen a Jay or a Red Squirrel before staying here, so worth it even for that. The squirrels were what we went for. A well run, well thought out friendly site is what we'll be back for.

The facilities are second to none for a tent camper. An indoor area with a full kitchen! Even a dining table and chairs. I'm not talking antique furniture, it's plastic and in a barn but still a really awesome touch.

Pub's a bit of a walk so stock up on your cargo.

Wasn't sure what to make of an adults only site to begin with but it just meant quiet in the end. Met some nice people and I'll say again the couple that warden the place are lovely.

Oh aye and there is only one toilet but I really doubt enough people could stay there to need more.

Date of Visit: February 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Arniesdad 14 reviews from this member

It's me again! I reviewed this site earlier in the year and commented about the poor facilities - well nothing's changed. I visited again at the very end of Feb and the old gents facility was the only one available AGAIN with the added fact that it was partially flooded this time. After 12 yr of using this site that's it! I reckon there were at least 30 campers on site generating £300 just for that day. I know it's off-season but on two other sites visited in the same week I was the only person there (generating £10 and £17 respectively for the owners!) enjoying superb modern heated facilities - somewhere in between would have been nice.

Date of Visit: November 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Markphelan 19 reviews from this member

We stopped in to this site on our way through after hearing recommendations for it over the years. It's in a great location, far enough off the 'beaten track' to think you're well away from it all but close enough to the A82 to be conveniently located for getting there.

The views are stunning - the site sits in the valley surrounded by mountains (snow-capped in November!) by a stream that winds along the edge of the site. It's a large area, but mostly aimed at tents with a small hardstanding area for campervans but no hookup facilities at all. It has a great layout, not uniform at all but there are small spaces for individual tents and larger areas for groups to pitch together.

We are usually to be found staying in our tent and would probably have been more 'at home' in it here - we felt a little out of place in our campervan amongst the smattering of tents braving the November elements!

The facilities on the site looked pretty decent, but were actually quite disappointing. It was very hit and miss whether you could find a shower that worked properly (either no water, no hot water, or hot enough to make a cup of tea with!) and the wash-up facilities had no water at all (hot or cold) and the sinks were full of leaves. Whether this was a result of low-season or not, it was disappointing that the £10/night charge per person couldn't be spent on ensuring everything worked as it should year-round.

In the end we washed our dishes in a bucket which we filled up from one of the thermo-nuclear showers and left to stand in the rain for 10 minutes!

The warden was friendly when he was around but most often his little cabin was closed so there was nobody to speak to about the non-functional facilities.

I can imagine that, given the size of the site, the facilities can become very busy in the summer. With only 2 washing-up sinks I would guess it can result in queues, however the excellent Clachaig Inn which is a short walk down the road looked to serve excellent food (the bolw of chips we had was spot-on), and the choice of beer and cider was also excellent. It catered for all visitors - a stone-floor 'barn' for walkers, or a posh restaurant for those who hadn't just come in off the hills. Dogs were welcome, and there was live music in the evening too.

I think the walking in the area is probably the main attraction for this site - although we only spent 1 night and weren't able to explore I would love to return some time and get up in to the hills early in the morning, returning later in the day to put my feet up and enjoy a few drinks and some decent grub in the bar for the evening.

Overall, a mixed review - I can certainly see the appeal but I just thought it was a shame it wasn't a little better managed to ensure everything on the site worked as it should, especially if they're open all year round - a decent shower after a day of walking is definitely needed!

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Arniesdad 14 reviews from this member

This is a really nice site, primarily for 'tenters' and still remains (just) in my top three Scottish sites. Pitches are scattered through a woodland next to a fast-flowing river and, particularly off season, it is a peaceful almost idyllic place. A famous pub with good food is 10min down the road and the site is one of the few open all year. Inexorably prices seem to go up every year (why? what expenses in running the place have increased over this last year?)and are now £10 pp which I suppose is average now. Here comes the grumble - the site advertises 'new showers and toilet blocks' and these are indeed excellent WHEN THEY ARE OPEN but a couple of times recently one or other of the new ladies/gents has been closed reverting back to the old, 'overflow' facilities with their showers that seem to have scald or shiver settings. This may of course just be the result of unfortunate break-downs at non-high season times but increase in price with decrease in facilities is not good news. I'll still use the site though because of it's situation. (ratings assumes 'new' facilities open)

Date of Visit: February 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Heath63 13 reviews from this member

Stayed here for the week, after years of wanting to visit. The site did not disappoint, breathtaking location, situated next to the River Coe, surrounded by mountains. Fires are allowed, Which added to the ambience of camping. (i wish more sites allow fires)

The warden was very friendly, hot showers, toilets included in the tarrif. EHU is not available, Which I'm pleased, as it would remove the essence of the site.

The pub is within walking distant, serves good food and drinks. There is a general store in the village. For a big shop, Fort William is a good place and for souvenires.

It is a great place to take the dog, as there are enjoyable walks. Mine thought he was in paradise. So did I.

Date of Visit: February 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Diwlsn 5 reviews from this member

What a fantastic campsite. I have fallen in love with the place!

Its situated alongside the river coe and the views all round are amazing! real campfires allowed. The warden is great and very helpful.

The facilities are excellent! the clachaig inn is a fab, about a 10-15 min walk from the site, lovely food and great atmosphere!

Its 2 miles from glencoe where there is a great little village shop for supplies.

Will deffo be back :)

Previous     82 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Argyll

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4018 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019