Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Scarborough West Ayton Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Scarborough > Scarborough West Ayton Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Scarborough West Ayton Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Cockrah Road
West Ayton
Scarborough
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO13 9JD
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 164
Open: 16/03 To 01/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 64 Reviews
                9/10 from 64 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

This is a club member only site - you may be able to join on site - please check direct with the site

Reviews:  64 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Vale girl 1 review from this member

 Freezing cold showers for 4 days in a row ! Site needs shower upgrades. Wardens advise boiler in lower block is broken ! Freezing cold showers and the upper block no better. Sign appeared after complaining saying water occasionally runs cold awaiting engineer.

Site FULL. 2 persons max in each block allowed. Lengthy queues. Difficult if you only need the toilet and two persons are showering. Hot water is essential whilst we have Covid 19. This is unnaceptable. Have seen small children upset because the showers were so cold. Unnaceptable. Promised upgrade for years.

This site should be closed until the showers are upgraded. Unfair for those who have booked a long awaited holiday after lockdown. And to say “use your own facilities” when you pay a premium for this site is again unacceptable. Not all have showers that are useable.

I feel genuinely sorry for the wardens having to manage this so my review is for the Caravan and Motor home club profiteering and not the wardens. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Kiwi1Adventures 13 reviews from this member

 Coming up from the south my first thoughts were 'This traffic is terrible'. Fortunately I broke the journey from Kent by staying near Rutland Water, quite frankly never again until the roads get sorted out. I have since heard tales of this journey taking 10 hours instead of the estimated 5 hours. Now you may think that this is an odd way to start a review on a campsite but other reviewers have said how nice everything is, all I am saying is that if you are thinking of visiting this area in mid to late 2018 and are travelling from the south and have a choice to go somewhere else go with plan B, try adding two hours onto a three hour drive for fun. This site is your quintessential Caravan and Motorhome site with all the rules and regulations, tarmac and hardstanding. That said it is a lovely site and gets the sun beautifully. I was going to say it was extremely relaxing having a drink in the evening when I recalled the one way system they have. Where we pitched every single vehicle entering or leaving the site had to pass us and this would be the same for a number of pitches so plan for that on your arrival, you get to choose you site. Although we were there for three nights this site is one of those to use as a base and get away from, probably why they have a one way system and probably why I noticed the volume of traffic. This site does not pretend to be anything that it is not and I would have no hesitation returning however there are a lot of other sites in the area and the grass is always greener on the other side, well, of the tarmac. Whilst the site receives almost full marks for each sub category the overall rating reflects the carpark feel the site has whilst appreciating the fact that this happens to be a necessary evil. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jaf123 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed at this site for 10 days and a great time was had by the whole family. , from the moment we arrived until we left the wardens where all extremely pleasant and helpful always smiling. The toilets are dated but kept spotless by the staff. They all work very hard at keeping all of the site pristine. Dogs and kids are provided for with a lovely big playing field for the kids and a big dog walk for the pooches. Site is on 3 levels so it doesn't feel as big as it is. Pub doing nice food in walking distance as is bus stop. Scarborough only 4 miles away lots to see and do in the area We will definitely return and will recommend to others 10/10 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Chappies43 31 reviews from this member

 We spent our main summer fortnight at West Ayton and had a truly wonderful time. We have a 8 month old cocker spaniel pup so wanted somewhere not too far away from home but where we would have lots to do for 2 weeks and this site did not disappoint. As other reviewers have mentioned, there is a massive play field, play area and dog walk on site which made our doggy-centred holiday much easier. As we have experienced several times before on other CAMC sites, we were disappointed to not get a hardstanding pitch, despite arriving just after the 12pm arrival time on Saturday, especially as we were staying for 2 weeks. However, the wardens let us know on check in that loads would be vacated on Sunday morning and they said they didn't want us on a grass pitch for 2 weeks as it would damage the grass so we didn't set up properly and moved the next morning. We do find this incredibly frustrating though as it cost us a day of our holiday and could be avoided if only the CAMC would allow customers to reserve hardstandings, even if they charged a small fee.

The site is very large but set over different areas so feels more intimate. The facilities are clean and there is a really useful dog shower on site. The wardens are friendly and always said hello when they passed but I did hear one customer complaining to them about the noise from a neighbouring caravan only to be told that they should talk to them themselves as they are members of the CAMC so it's their problem to handle too!

There's a pub within easy walking distance at the bottom of the road, Ye Old Forge Valley Inn, which serves very nice meals but take a torch for the walk back up the dark hill to the site.

We visited lots of seaside towns in the area such as Scarborough, Filey and Whitby but you do need a car as the site is quite a way out.

Hopefully we will return to this site again. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Littlemin 1 review from this member

 Lovely site and very handy for a range of attractions. It would be helpful if the wardens could be more pragmatic and sensitive to their customer needs. It is very difficult to be accurate with timing when travelling at the weekends in summer months in this region. There are inadequate facilities for late arrivals and then intransigence of the wardens, does not alleviate the problem. I have never been to a caravan site where they say you can get in to site after dark!

You have to leave the site by 12 noon, so the toilets are closed between 10:30 and 11:30, so there is no chance to send a penny before your journey home, unless you leave very early, or wait until the toilets are open, when the wardens then come to check that you will be leaving by 12. Common sense and customer service are significant, try lacking 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: RickScat 11 reviews from this member

 A very good site. Staff are friendly and helpful. They take great pride in it and ensure all the facilities and landscaping are kept spotless. Site is very quiet as it is set in an old quarry (all gren and beautiful) but access roads are good.

Site is a fair way out of Scarborough but this allows easy access to places like Bempton Cliffs, Filey, the North York Moors etc.

There are bus services at the end of the road as well as immediate access to country walks.

Would stay again. 


Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ct955 47 reviews from this member

 We spent 4 nights on this very good CC site. It is on two levels and has 2 amenity blocks. All pitches seemed flat.

Amenities were clean and warm with plenty of hot water.

The wardens were helpful and friendly. Gave us ideas for walks in the area and dog friendly pubs.

The dog walk was excellent, a fenced field for quick exercise and leading onto the forge valley with miles of lovely walks. There is a large play area, field and play room.

The village is a short walk with good facilities and we enjoyed 2 meals at The Forge Valley Inn which were good quality and reasonably priced.

Scarborough is close by as are many places in the North Yorks Moors. We would definitely return. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: MANDYH01 10 reviews from this member

 The staff are very hard working at this site. The toilets are clean, lots of things to do on site and there is a dog walk and a dog shower to clean them before you go back to your accommodation. It is a really quiet site and it is ideal for a relaxing stay. Dogs will love the dog walk as there is lots of space for them to run around. There is a tourer's explorer magazine packed with on site safety, signs to spot, things to do and colouring in. For those who love writing on holiday, there is also a Holly Day and Andy Venture story to complete. The on site play area is fun for all ages. The information room is packed with things to do near the site. There is also a treasure trail with many letters hidden around the site and there is a barrier key for security with your pitch number. 


Date of Visit: March 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Santa cruz 20 reviews from this member

 What can I say that has not been said already. We have had two previous visits to this site and have thoroughly enjoyed them all, the wardens may change but the Caravan Club standards remain. Never too far to one of the two amenity blocks, a little dated (by CC standards) but very good nevertheless, water points/waste disposal points aplenty.

The site is pretty much flat and nestled in an old quarry, protected on three sides by the old quarry faces, the highest side being the one deflecting the prevailing westerly wind 'up and over the top' yet unlike many CC sites, Scarborough (West Ayton) is not dominated by over shadowing trees, plenty of greenery yet lots of grassed areas around pitches to sit and soak up the sun (when it appears).

Short walk to the village, massive SPAR store (with fuel), post office, open 5. 5 days per week, fish and chip shop, open 5 nights per week plus some lunchtimes, Pharmacy, 5 days per week, two pubs, one long term favourite 'The Dennison', which sadly is now very run down and no longer value for money, and 'Ye Olde Forge Valley Inn' which has had a £160, 000 make over since out last visit and under new management is now serving excellent food in lovely surroundings.

Buses every hour during the day to Scarborough (15 minutes) and Pickering (30 minutes) and onto Helmsley, both lovely market towns.

Huge play area for the kids, a good dog walk, as dog walks go on sites and the one on site leads from a gate onto unlimited dog walking into Forge Valley and beyond, a most beautiful valley by the way and not to be missed.

Walking ( dogs allowed) : The 'boardwalk', which is through the field where the castle is located and along the meadow, is an absolute gem, it runs, slighty elevated, alogside the river Derwent for it's entire length, do not fail to walk it. (from the site turn left out of the entrance, 300 yards to the junction, turn left and after 100 yards turn left again into 'Castle Rise') then either up to the bridge and back or make it a loop by climbing the 'staircase' of steps which bring you to the top overlooking forge valley and the 'Yorkshire Wolds' towards the south, followed by an easy walk back to the site.  


Date of Visit: March 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: JackieAJ 21 reviews from this member

 Just had our second stay in six months at this lovely site 4 miles outside of Scarborough. Site is upto the usual Caravan Club standard with immaculate toilet/shower/washing up facilities, always plenty of hot water.

Pitches are well spaced out with grass in between, tree lined perimeters making for a sheltered spot.

Easy 10 minutes walk to a Spar shop/Garage/Pub/Tea room/Fish and Chip shop/restaurant. Regular bus to Scarborough at a cost of £4. 10 day return. Also bus to Pickering.

Last Friday evening of every month at Hackness Village Hall (4 miles away) is Live Entertainment costing £5 each, take your own drinks/food. Fantastic atmosphere, starting 8pm prompt, finished by 10. 30pm. Well worth a visit.

We will be returning to this site later in the year(maybe on a lower season tarrif), tad expensive for two people the week before easter (still in March). 


Previous     64 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Scarborough West Ayton Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Scarborough West Ayton Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Scarborough West Ayton Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Scarborough      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5829 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement