Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Herdwick Croft

Campsite Search > UK > North West England > Lake District & Cumbria > Keswick > Herdwick Croft > Reviews

Herdwick Croft
Bassenthwaite Lake
(lake District)
Keswick
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA12 4RD
Tel: 017687 76241
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/03/2022 to 31/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 43 Reviews
                8/10 from 43 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  43 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Brown4 1 review from this member

 Set in a lovely area we rode to cockermouth in around 35 minutes.

Kids loved swimming and kayaking in the river and lake

Would stay here again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Wendy Dean 5 reviews from this member

 The site is in a stunning location with great views. We felt the site was overpriced for the facilities. The EHU was broken so made one point unusable.

The toilet emptying and fresh water were directly next to each other. We saw many people use the same pipe to wash out the toilet and fill fresh water as there was no signs or direction. ( we did tell people)

The toilets were at the bottom of the site, quite a way from the top field. They were dated and certainly not cleaned often. I have no idea what the owners look like as I had to phone to find our pitches and ask people to move their cars.

We were told at least 5 big paces apart, we came back to a van less than 1 metre away from my daughters tent, but nothing was said or done about it. People who camped in front of us needed longer leads to run them across the field, lots of trip hazards. I have never been on a site where others are camped in a line in the middle of the field, leaving the farside empty!

It is definitely a 1 or 2 night stopover. We had booked for the week unfortunately. We met some lovely people while there who were as disgruntled as us.

We won't be back to the area any time soon, but when we do return we won't be using this site. Such a shame as it could be so much better. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 10 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Dannym 1 review from this member

 Great views, toilet facilities need updating as only two toilets and two showers for the whole touring site.

After paying 35 per night you have an extra 3.50 per day for wifi and then it does not take password and crashes often,

In my opinion we would not return to this site. 


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Martin Spiers 7 reviews from this member

 I would love to like this site but I can't.

The site is not on the 'shores' of the lake as described albeit it is only a short walk across the bridge. If described this way it would not be problem. The location is fabulous for the lake.

A good walk along the side of the lake and then on the road to the Pheasant Inn is good and there is a really lovely nature reserve just by the pub.

The owners were friendly and welcoming and when we ran out of milk they gave us some cartons which they use with the coffee machine in the gift shop. Thank you

Just a short walk from the site is the Lakes distillery. Worth a visit.

Why don't I like this site.

It is chiefly a static holiday home site with some touring pitches. The pitches are fine if on our visit the grass was a little long.

The toilet and washroom facilities are totally unacceptable. If this site is seriously wanting people to visit and revisit then a cold hard look at what they are offering for 25.00 + a night is needed. They are old, cold and not clean. The ladies showers were full of hair and I am sure the men's washroom was not cleaned on our two night visit. Toilet seats were split. The washing up room was also dirty and dated. I am fine with 'old' but there is a limit and I expect clean. The site was not busy so no excuses. They are horrible in my opinion. The chemical disposal point in the bin area is also dated and smelt and was old and dirty.

I wish along with some other sites that the owners/wardens advised on how to pitch. We arrived back from a walk on our first day to find a campervan with awning had parked on the adjacent pitch door to door with us. A step out of either van or awning would have put you at the door of each other. There were plenty of other pitches to choose from??????

Beautiful gift shop but bearing in mind the lack of shops anywhere near (walking) perhaps a few essentials would be helpful.

I felt insulted by the facilities as I rightly expect better. I can wild camp or choose non facility sites if I want to slum it. Not pay 25.00 per night.

We won't go back 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hobart0406 14 reviews from this member

 This site is mainly about static caravans but does also have an area for tents. As such, we were very good value (around 5 per person including electric), and with good enough toilet facilities. Showers were warm and spacious enough to keep all your clothes/towel dry as you showered. They were nearly always empty, so no queues as they are primarily for tourers or campers.

There is no kids play area here, but our boys enjoyed football on the field where we camped. But a kids area would have been good to have. Lovely views, very quiet, but make sure your food is stored away as we had a hedgehog in our cereal packed one night, and in our rubbish the previous one. That highly amused us, but you might not want him (or her) rifling through all your own food!

Lovely views, within easy driving of Keswick and Cockermouth (very friendly and helpful One-Stop there in the centre, and an Aldi a bit further out of the centre if you wanted that).

We love the northern lakes, and this site was a great location to visit various places. Though it rained quite a lot, the pitch drained fine, quite gusty winds at times, one tent near us had a broken pole and left the next day (I don't know if that was related).

We'd go back to this site again, for its good access to the Lakes, good prices, quiet situation, and good pitching area.

The site does not overtly advertise tents, so there were never more than 3 tents on our pitch. That contributed to the quiet nature of things. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Rorkie13 10 reviews from this member

 Nice site about 6 miles from Keswick.

We booked last minute before the bank holiday and was informed that we could have a pitch in the Rally Field. Didn't know what to expect. What a lovely surprise we got!

The field has electric hook ups and views are lovely of the surrounding area.

It is a few minutes walk down an incline to the toilet/shower block but that fact was made quite clear to us when we booked. The site is well run and nicely kept. We were shown to our pitch by Michelle the owner and she was really pleasant. We would return when in the area again. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Scotsbob 8 reviews from this member

 We stopped over at this site for 2 nights. It is a wee bit out of the way but its in a lovely area about 6 miles from Keswick and there hourly buses from the campsite entrance. There is campsite shop for the 'essentials'. A nice friendly welcome on arrival. The pitches are a good size and come complete with EHU/water tap/grey water disposal. The top of the field pitches also have an Elsan disposal point with 15 mts. The only drawback is the toilet/shower block is down beside the main reception at the bottom of the touring park.

We would definitelygo back to this site again - 4 0ut of 5. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Bridgefun 1 review from this member

 Superb location, very clean, no fuss campsite, refreshing to go somewhere that wasn't covered in do/don't signs everywhere! Owners could not have done any more to accommodate us, we will definitely be back. 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 9 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: ToadOfToadhall 18 reviews from this member

 This was our first visit to this site and it is brilliant. We originally booked for 7 nights, but eventually stayed for 14. The owners have sited the superpitches at the top of the site with fantastic views to Skiddaw, Ullock Pike, Lords Seat and Sale. The pitches are truly fully serviced with twin water taps and grey water waste for each pitch, although some of them have a bit of a slope. And the site is very dog friendly. I cannot understand the comments about noise, when we were there it was utterly peaceful. (If you decide to go anywhere in the Lake District on a bank holiday, you should expect it to be busy). My only comments are the toilets/showers are clean but need a update (the electrics are totally safe) and the on-site dog walk areas are a bit scrubby (a walk along the banks of Bassenthwaite Lake are close by). Otherwise this would be a 10 out of 10 review. 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Skiloony 4 reviews from this member

 Nearly perfect site !

The location is perfect just off the A66 on the shores of Bassenthwaite however there is very little in way of services in easy walking distance (no shops, pubs etc) however if you don't mind driving then Keswick & Cockermouth are just 6 miles away on the A66.

Once onto the site there are 5 normal non services pitches at the bottom of the hill.

For a little extra pay for one of the 7 serviced pitches at the top of the hill. Pitch 7, 6, 5 & 4 have the best for views of Skiddaw (in that order) with pitches 1, 2 & 3 looking towards Sale Fell on the western side of Bassenthwaite. Either way the views from the serviced pitches are SUPERB and very spacious. On the map the serviced pitches are the ones near the camping area. Remember to bring chocks and also a wheel ramp to ensure your fully level as the serviced pitches are on the top of a hill.

The toilets, showers and bins are a little walk from the serviced pitches however this isn't an issue. They could also do with a good deep clean but we were still adequate and usable.

The only thing I would say is if you are travelling from the Penrith side of the lakes with a caravan then use CA13 9SJ rather than the site postcode as most sat navs will take you the long way round Bassenthwaite.

We will definitely return to this beautiful site and would recommend it to everyone ! 


Previous     43 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Herdwick Croft child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Herdwick Croft?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Herdwick Croft dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Keswick      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3986 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement