Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Irton House Farm

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

Irton House Farm
Bassenthwaite
(lake District)
Keswick
Cumbria   (Browse area)

Tel: 017687 76380
    Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 5 Caravan Club, 4 General
Open: Easter - End Oct.

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 22 Reviews
                9/10 from 22 Reviews

Photos (12)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <10 miles   No Bar   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  22 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Govenell 1 review from this member

A group of us have just spent a week in the Paddock field here and were blown away with the quality of this site. The views are unbelievable. Each morning I had to pause and just take in the ever changing landscape from Skiddaw round to Bassenthwaite lake and then on to Grisedale Pike.

Lindsay and Nick are very good host. Aways happy to have a chat and give advice where needed. We could not of asked for more.

The facilities are basic compared to some sites, but always clean and with plenty of hot water. The pitches themselves are immaculately kept and very large in the paddock. The pitches in the CC CL site also looked fantastic.

If you want a quiet small site located in a stunning area but not to far from the main town of Keswick then Irton House Farm should be on your list to consider.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Borosteve 4 reviews from this member

Just stayed at Irton House Farm CL for the 3rd time. As usual had a terrific time. Great weather too! Two very clean toilets and showers with piping hot water. Views to die for of Bassenthwaite Lake, only 8 miles from Keswick. Close to Whinlatter Forest, Buttermere Lake too.

The owners of the site are very friendly and helpful.

Just booked again for August.

Looking forward to it already.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Gerryandliz 3 reviews from this member

I would love to say this is the worst site we have ever stayed at, that way we could keep it all to ourselves! This is by far the best site we have ever visited. From the warmest of welcomes to the view this place is perfect.

The pitches are level and well mown. All have a view of the valley down to Bassenthwaite lake. They are spacious and well separated, the upper field with well placed hedges giving a real sense of seclusion.

The facilities are well maintained and always spotless.

The site is perfectly situated for the Northern Lakes in particular but is well placed for the Lakes in general. There are many walks within a short distance, woodland or lakeside, take your pick!

We will visit again without doubt and recommend Irton House without hesitation

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Borosteve 4 reviews from this member

Our second visit to this site and again first class. Last year we had to cancel our trip at short notice and the owners very kindly carried over our booking which we were most grateful for. The toilets are immaculate and lovely and warm. The views are to die for. Bassenthwaite Lake below and Skiddaw to the left. Beautiful! We like the idea of each pitch being surrounded by trees as it gives a little privacy. We had a lake view too. The grass was cut whilst we were there and the whole place was maintained brilliantly even though it was obvious that it's a busy time on the farm with lambing and sheering. Had some lovely eggs laid by the free range hens on site. The location is perfect. Close to Bassenthwaite Lake, 15 minutes from Keswick and Whinlatter Forest is also lovely with lots to do there. Go Ape, cycling and Segway hire, or just enjoy a nice walk in the forest. Also a tea room there. The weather was even brilliant all week.

All in all a great site, in a terrific location and we will be returning sooner rather than later.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Gerryandliz 3 reviews from this member

This site is fabulous. The description is spot on, the views down to Bassenthwaite Lake are incredible, especially when the valley is full of cloud! Looks like meringue!

The welcome on arrival is warm and helpful. Lyndsey and Joan are a delight and nothing is too much trouble.

Highly recommended and we will be back!

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mason373 1 review from this member

Without doubt the best campsite we have ever stayed on. It has everything you and your children could ever ask for. It's a working farm run by the loveliest of families. Tractor rides, sheep dogs, views to die for, games room, huge trampoline. It's also peaceful and exceptionally good value for money.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mariquita1982 1 review from this member

We had a wonderful holiday at Irton House Farm. Our boys aged 3 and 4 didn't want to leave it. They especially enjoyed being taken to see the sheep in a trailer morning and evening every day. There is a trampoline and little ride-on tractors and go-karts. Table-tennis and pool table. A football pitch and lots of space to ride bikes and have fun in a quiet, safe environment. The Family are SO friendly and helpful. The views are spectacular. Picnic tables on site over looking Bassenthwaite Lake. The free, hot showers and toilets are cleaned regularly. Excellent value for money. We will definitely go back. Strongly recommended to all.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Rosie chiko 1 review from this member

We have just come back from spending a week at Irton House Farm and what a fantastic site it is. Nic met us and showed us round the site and facilities. The shower rooms are immaculate, with as much hot water as you need at no extra cost. There is even a games room with table tennis and pool tables to while away time if the weather is not too good. For us the biggest attractions at Irton House Farm are, the friendly atmosphere, the family are really helpful and kind. And, the view, amazing. You look out on to Bassenthwaite Lake and Skiddaw, it is breath-taking. There are walks from the site, and Dodds Wood is only down the road where at the right time of year you can view the ospreys nesting. Both Keswick and Cockermouth are a short drive away.

We really enjoyed our stay at Irton House Farm.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Red Mick 28 reviews from this member

A bit confused at first, one open aspect field with fantastic views had three vans, the other field with hedged enclosures, which were good for privacy and wind protection, but the views not as good. On a couple of days, there were six vans on site, but plenty of room. Good toilets and facilities as mentioned in other reviews. Keswick is about 9 miles away, but it's a 15 minute drive, not recommended in the dark! 18 is a bit high for a CL, but perhaps it's a Lakes thing. As we couldn't arrive on the pre-booked and paid due date, we were offered the chance to stay on and fulfil our allocation, which was nice.

The 'pub' down the road, Castle inn, I think it's called, is a bit AA 5 star. The next pub in Bassenthwaite is a book early to get a table, and it's quite expensive in our opinion.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bill shuter 1 review from this member

We visited Irton House Farm over the Bank Holiday last weekend ( 24th-25th May ). What a wonderful site. The owners are so friendly & helpful. Even though it was raining for much of our stay I would highly recommend it.

The pitches are nicely secluded from each other by hedges giving plenty of privacy. Views towards Lake are fantastic.

Go on take a trip there, you won't be disappointed.

Previous     22 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Sleeping Package worth over 399 Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to 175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


203 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


Play the UKCampsite.co.uk
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win a fantastic Easter prize - a TV / DVD Combo worth 399!