Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Basingstoke Canal Centre Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South East > Surrey > Site Reviews

Basingstoke Canal Centre Campsite
Mytchett Place Road
Mytchett
Surrey   (Browse area)
GU16 6DD
Tel: 01252 370073
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 38
Open: Spring - October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 38 Reviews
                8/10 from 38 Reviews

Photos (12)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   Outdoor Pool 5 miles 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports 1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Canalside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  38 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Tinytina 17 reviews from this member

Just got back home after spending a long weekend here (Friday to Monday) on the camping field, it reminds me of an old fashioned camping site like we had when we were kids, ,

The field has no marked out pitches you just pitched where you wanted to, the whole of the field had just one water tap (that I could see)

There was just one single female shower/toilet and one male shower/toilet which was a hell of a track if you was at the end of the field like we were, as there was just one of each time it right or wait in line, the toilet chemical point was even further away, there are no electric pitches so but that was not a problem, ,

This site is basic but very nice and we will in the future return,

The reason I took two points away is because A) lack of toilet shower blocks and B) on Sunday evening two family's turned up (they was not together), one family had two dogs and the other family had one dog, none of these dogs was tied up which is one of the site rules is that all dogs must be kept secured at all times, even when the wardens did the morning walk around the camping field on the Monday morning (which they did every morning) they never told the campers to secure the dogs allowing them to still run around, it is pointless having campsite rules if they are not going to be enforced.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Travellingjacks 4 reviews from this member

Spent 1 night here as an extended family.

Lovely site next to canal.

Downside, over flowing bins and generally messy areas, 1 toilet and shower and 1 disabled toilet and shower for site this big is not good, lots of queuing required!

There are rules about no music after certain time and no noise etc but nobody to enforce so we had to endure loud music past 11pm which was then only slightly reduced in volume until way past 1am when I fell asleep so donít know when it finished. Lots of noise after Midnight too, kids ringing by bicycle bells etc

I wouldnít visit again as itís not managed, people know this and take full advantage.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: CarolineanneH 1 review from this member

Arrived on a Friday and stayed until the Sunday afternoon as part of the motorcaravanner club Surrey Section Rally. A Huge grassy field which had good drainage has plenty of room for our 22 vans plus masses of space for individuaL travellers.

Situated alongside the canal with ample pathways to walk or cycle. There were rowing boats, pedalos and canoes for hire. Even a Yurt was available! We paid a modest £5. 00 each for an hours canal barge ride. Plenty of bird-life to see!

There is a cafe which serves food from 9. 30 through to 3pm daily. (Adjacent is a small but excellent playground. ) Excellent choice and service and well priced too. The showers and toilets are spotless although not enough available if the camp was full!

There is a spacious hall for hire at reasonable charges with tea/coffee urn and washing up facilities. We enjoyed two evenings there and during the saturday a wonderful children's party was in full swing there. Everyone sounded very happy!

There are plenty of dog trails and organised walks and cycling as well. Rabbits and squirrels abound. Also this site is ideal for visiting the local military museums etc

Despite having some rain the ground stayed firm and we enjoyed our stay. The elsan point was well hidden. Security was good with keypads in use for campers access to the main gate and toilets and showers. The main gate officially shut at 5pm.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ratty 190 reviews from this member

A quick one nighter here in my tent and booking was easy, a quick phone call and payment was made. They gave us the codes for the gates and toilet facilities and told us to just turn up and pitch where we wanted to in the field. I paid £10 for for me in my tent, so pretty reasonable.

Upon arrival access was easy and we found a corner away from others and pitched the tent. The field is massive, square and very flat, and a haven for rabbits. There was no hookup in the field.

The facilities are by the visitor centre, so can be quite a walk from the far corner of the field. They are accessed by a code out of hours and there are a couple of toilet cubicles and a shower for use along with disabled facilities. These were kept clean and tidy and well stocked. They are shared with day visitors to the centre during day time hours.

There is a chemical disposal point and fresh water available.

The site is right by the Basingstoke Canal meaning there are miles and miles of walks straight from the site with plenty of other things to see and do in the area, however as we were there for a quick one-nighter, we did not venture out in to the area.

Onsite there is also a cafe offering the usual, and we had a bacon butty, which was nice and well cooked and the cafe was busy for a working day.

There is also the Potter pub across the road and we had a meal in there, it is not the cheapest of pubs for food, but the grub was lovely and I would eat there again. Drinks prices were reasonable though.

This is a good site to get together with friends and family and I will definitely return.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Smith1949 1 review from this member

Had a two night stay here recently. Beautiful campsite near the canal with lovely walks. There is a very nice cafe with hot and cold food and drinks with benches outside near canal. Play area for children if you have them.

There was just one downfall which was the appalling state of the toilet facilities which have put us off staying again. Only one toilet and shower, 1 disabled shower and the grime in the tiles was very off putting. Definately in need of a new shower and toilet block.

There was also a function being held by the canal for quite a lot of people and being very short on toilet facilities, I did not envy the cleaner next day. They were left in a terrible state.

Such a shame.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Mullann 2 reviews from this member

A truly beautiful site allowing lots of space for children to play and families to have a great time. The play area was great. Really liked the on site cafe. Pub (potters) just across the road. Miles of beautiful canal walks.

Frimley park just a short walk with excellent facilities including pitch and putt, a miniature railway and lots more. Huge negative was the toilet facilities or lack of them. Not 24 hours as stated as closed between 09:00- 09:40 hours with no access to any other facilities. Can't understand why cleaning couldn't happen when the visitor centre opens at 10:30 ( or even just at a less busy time) which would allow 24 hour access to a toilet. Basic necessities! Only one toilet and 1 shower.

A great site for the self sufficient tourers or campers that have a good supply of Imodium!

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sparky55 2 reviews from this member

This is a very nice site very cheap close to the canal and visitor centre not overcrowded but te only drawback is the fact that it only has 1 ladies shower, 1 mens shower which is signed as disabled shower

There is only 1 gents toilet and 1 ladies which when there is a function on in the visitor centre are used by all

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tinmachine 6 reviews from this member

Beautiful large expanse of camping field select your own pitch. Cafe available during business hours.

Due to it being run by the council you are restricted by council hours! So if you turn up on spec say after 1630 or at the weekend then you will be out of luck. It is essential to pre-book outside of business hours.

Considering the size of the camping field and the associated canal visitor centre attraction the toilet facilities are inadequate to say the least. If the local council gave the green light to build a new toilet block this site would be a must for everyone

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rach2353 1 review from this member

We were a little dubious about this site after seeing some of the reviews on here but due to the cost not being too much (£8. 00 for the tent, £3. 50 for each adult and £2. 00 for the kids) so even if we werenít fussed then it wouldnít be so much of a problem.

We stayed in July and there was loads to do for the kids, a pirate trail that was £2. 00 per child, colouring competition 50p and pond dipping £3. 00 per child (tbh you could just pay for one and the others all join in anyway) so the on site activities were great. We didnít spend too much time on site as the campsite is halfway on the canal so we took our bikes off for the day exploring. The site doesnít have EHU but that was brilliant as we made the kids leave their ipods, DSís etc at home and they spend the time playing football or rounders.

We had BBQís most nights and as long as they are raised from the floor then that is fine. The staff are great, come round everyday to check your permits so they know no one has sneaked on and are really informative about the canal. Portaloos were hired for the field during our stay because it got busy and just to help as there are only 3 toilets in the shower block but there are more in the visitors centre which is open in the daytimes.

We loved it here and extended our stay for a week. It was fantastic weather and as it is under the flight path of the airport we will be coming back next year during the Airshow as you see most of the air displays from the field!

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Ninjaracer 2 reviews from this member

We returned after 4 years to see it almost exactly the same. Peace and quiet in a beautiful setting. It does it for me to sit in a chair and hear in the distance the m3, then watch a barge go by, then hear a train, and look up at planes taking off whilst seemingly in the middle of nowhere, so beautiful ....... until.

The dogs ! It even says dogs only on leads but of course they know everyones gone by 4. 15pm so lets use it as a dog run. If you are going to sit inside your motorhome then great otherwise avoid it, and only the people running it have ruined it! What a shame, the place is beautiful. Until after 4. 15pm.

Previous     38 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Surrey

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


206 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019