Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Stonethwaite Farm Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > North West England > Lake District & Cumbria > Keswick > Stonethwaite Farm Campsite > Reviews

Stonethwaite Farm Campsite
Borrowdale
(lake District)
Keswick
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA12 5XG
Tel: 017687 77234
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 60
Open: 01/04/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 60 Reviews
                9/10 from 60 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   No Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  60 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Rogerg 1 review from this member

 Absolutely delightful location right next to river, in an amazing valley and farmer was lovely when he came around to collect fee on the night we stayed. We'd chosen site as there was a walk & great moorland dip nearby that we'd planned to do.

Only two words of caution -

1. We were there in the height of summer and the site is one of the cheapest (due to modest facilities), so rammed with very broad range of customers who were very territorial of their areas (and adj. Areas), little consideration for others.

Rich mix of nationalities using the site and some very large families on site (many noisy kids up until midnight and beyond until little or no parental influence/control), even a couple groups playing heavy base, loudly until early hours.

Unfortunately one was our neighbour so had to move during night from our riverside location to quieter bit of site just to be able to grab a few hours sleep.

2. As per other posts, long, narrow track to site is not for the faint hearted. I think you can ask for farmer to unlock access through a number of gates in lower, flatter fields, but I didn't want to trouble them and took the risk - all ok!

Would definitely go back - to give it another chance in hope that more considerate fellow customers are likely to be there (Autumn, Spring and early Summer) for fab walks and swims nearby, but not during school holidays!

Please let me be clear - only 5-10% inconsiderate and spoiling it for everyone else when we visited. Incredible location and great owner. 


Date of Visit: August 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Johamp 1 review from this member

 Fabulous location, toilets,

Loads of walking and swimming from the campsite.

Loved it all.

Great pub too in Stonethwaite so everything you need.

Dog friendly too 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: Alemet 1 review from this member

 Had a lovely stay.

Nice campsite close to very picturesque scenery and lake.

Basic facilities however and toilets quite dirty.

No mobile phone reception. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Rachea 1 review from this member

 Brilliant location apart from the midges so be prepared which I was cos I read the reviews.

Suited me fine for one night as it really is wild camping with a toilet. No hot water. I think it could be a bit cheaper cos I have stayed at campsites recently for less which did have a very basic shower and one hot water tap for washing up.

Farmer charges 8 per adult and I stayed at places for 7-9 with hot water.

Great for walking up to Black Moss Pot for a swim which is about 7 mi there and back according to OS maps thou it seemed shorter.

There were some campers with big tents and firepits/ music but they turned the music down when I asked them. Had a great night's sleep.

Just the midges and slightly pricey for what it is thou I understand the cost of living gone up.

Friendly farmer. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: 173366 1 review from this member

 Duke of Edinburgh group of 7, it's first-come-first-serve so as long as you get there fast enough there will be enough space.

The toilet facilities are portaloos (good enough) and there is a nice river nearby to play in.

Overall a great DofE campsite! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Charli 1 review from this member

 Basic site with toilets and sinks. If you want a wash - your in the river.

Great location for walking or wild swimming.

Very busy at bank holidays.

Always friendly.

Fires allowed as long as you don't char the grass.

Midges are a nightmare at times. 


Date of Visit: May 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Andrew 1 review from this member

 Very much enjoyed our stay. Lovely site. Farmer very friendly.

We had good communication via messenger before we arrived.

Amazing setting among the fells and the river.

There are toilets and wash basins on site. Will come again. 


Date of Visit: October 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Claire 1 review from this member

 Unfortunately after we'd pitched, we realised we had wet gear (sleeping bags. We're hardy, but not that hardy!) after walking all day in the rain. So in the end, we didn't stay.

However, we really liked the campsite and were really sad to leave as we'd found an amazing pitch in a lovely level spot near the loos and tap.

We have already decided to come back here - it's near to Galleny Force and Black Moss Pot which are great wild swimming spots.

It's also within walking distance of Stake Pass and Bowfell (we walked over from Great Langdale), and it's on the Cumbria Way.

The owner is super friendly and kind too!

We will return! 


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 9 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Katytu 1 review from this member

 We had an absolutely wonderful stay here. It's a perfect cheap, basic campsite with just taps and toilets. A river runs alongside which was fantastic for washing in and the pools higher up were joyful for swimming.

The views are jaw-dropping, there are plenty of flat spaces for setting up in and there was a warden on site for most of our time there which came in handy when the large party who pitched up next to us were very noisy.

We took incredible walks directly from the site and there are many, many more just a short drive away. There's a bus route on the main road about a mile and a half down the track if you don't want to drive.

When the noisy neighbours had gone the nights were silent, the night sky awesome and the remoteness meant no invasion from the usual incessant notifications - all we could get was a radio signal and that suited us just fine!

No need to book, you just pay in cash every evening when Nick the farmer or Holly the warden come around. Only one caution - the road up to the site is narrow and rocky so take care for your suspension.

Larger campervans would find it difficult and caravans would not be able to access the site. 


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Chriss 1 review from this member

 It is the best campsite I know. Last year it was ruined by covid-denying large groups intent on partying and leaving rubbish. This year a full time warden is in place working hard alongside the farm owner, a very positive, professional and cheery man.

The warden was seen clearly being firm but fair and reinforcing the site rules. Things were back to that calm family and walking groups vibe that Stonethwaite is so good at.

Night times for sleeping were quiet, and those planning otherwise were asked to leave. Facilities are back-to-nature basic, a toilet block, taps and bins, and that is one of the attractions for me.

From the site we walked over Dock Tarn and down to Rosthwaite, and next day up mountain and stone quarry to Cat Bells and back along the riverbed.

I was too stiff to move on the third day, so a bimble in Keswick (massive traffic queues, took us an hour driving around to find somewhere a mile out of town and park) followed by a walk up the valley from the campsite for a swim in one of the many wild pools before driving home.

Brilliant place, and my favourite part of the Lakes for walking and wild swimming. Thanks so much to the farm owner for all the thought put in to making things work well this year and his kind approachable manner always.

I will be back. 


Previous     60 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Stonethwaite Farm Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Stonethwaite Farm Campsite?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Stonethwaite Farm Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Keswick      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


47028 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement