Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Brighstone Holiday Centre

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Isle Of Wight > Brighstone > Brighstone Holiday Centre Reviews

Brighstone Holiday Centre
Military Road
Brighstone
Isle Of Wight   (Browse area)
PO30 4DB
Tel: 01983 740244
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 70
Open: 01/04/2022 to 30/11/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 22 Reviews
                8/10 from 22 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <10 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach On Site   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport   Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  22 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Gi11 20 reviews from this member

 We're just back from our second visit to this lovely site, this time we went with 6 friends. 2 used a tent, the rest of us took advantage of the basic rooms - proper bed, en-suite little bathroom, tea and coffee making facilities, tv (which we didn't turn on!). The owners, Clive and Sue couldn't be more helpful or accommodating. The camp is a real time warp, chalets from years gone by, just as good as they always were. An indoor heated swimming pool, not too cold, not too warm, just perfect. Breakfasts can be provided and couldn't be bettered. It's right on the cliff edge (eroding at a foor per year!), so can be windy. They even have turned one of the cabins into a fully equipped campers' kitchen. A real bargain at the prices charged. We all had a wonderful break. The village is about a mile away with a village shop for all day to day needs, and a pub that serves nice meals, the cheapest of several we visited. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Fluteytoots 9 reviews from this member

 We had a wonderful 2 week stay at Brighstone. The owners were very friendly & relaxed. Facilities were very clean, and we liked the fact that neither of the owners wanted to 'pack people in' & make the place too commercial. When the weekend was busy they thoughtfully opened up extra showers. Pool was great as only used by campers so not overly busy. Playground small but perfectly adequate and our 5y and 3y spent many hours playing there happily.

It is on the cliff so can get windy - bring extra strong guy ropes. Beautiful views across the coast, as well as nice coastal walks.

We would definitely book again. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pentlandsl 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this site for 5 days and it is not one we would return to.

The owners are welcoming but I think are struggling with this site. It is a mixture of chalets, many of which are in a state of very poor repair, and pitches for caravans/camper vans and a tent field.

The views are fabulous from the site but it is very exposed and the wind was more or less constant. If you do come here then come prepared for windy weather and plan the erection of your tent accordingly.

From a camping point of view all you really need is clean and modern toilets and showers and this site has neither. The toilets have obviously not been touched for years. There is a single shower int he men's block that was pot luck if you got hot water or cool water each morning. The soap ran out and was not replaced and the toilet itself was dis-coloured and grim.

The on site indoor pool was good for the children but again is suffering from a lack of maintenance and cleaning.

The other 'recreation' facilities are either non-functioning or broken.

This site has potential but is in need of some proper investment in its facilities. It is ok if you are in a camper/caravan with your own shower and toilets and are looking for a very basic site but if you are camping then I would suggest looking elsewhere. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Shal9402 2 reviews from this member

 We were warmly welcomed by the owner and he showed us around the site. It was just like the reviews had said - very nostalgic- and I was very excited.

I was impressed by the kitchen -for when you don't have, or don't want to use your own camping stove. Good value use of laundry and drying facilities. The owner was replacing shower equipment while we were there, and it is easy to see that improvements are ongoing. The owners work continuously, moving seamlessly from job to job.

Loved the pool. I just kept thinking about the campsite as it would have been in it's heyday. It was magical, and as more and more of it gets refurbished I hope it will still hold that quality.

Bigger camping area than I had expected, and they offered to run an extension cable for electrical hook up to anywhere on the site! We had our small tent this year and one of our daughters came over and stayed in a basic chalet, which was really great. Camping without actually camping! We came on our own this year as we have had a lot of stress but next year we hope to include all the family again, and only hope the owners are up to it! 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kellyrichards 3 reviews from this member

 Returned here again this year after my first visit last year. I absolutely LOVE this site. The island itself is beautiful and this site really is as beautiful as the island.

The owners were again so warm, welcoming and relaxed. We could again pitch wherever we wanted (of course giving respect to other holidaymakers there). We were however battered by the wind thanks to our lovely British summer so we moved our tent to a more sheltered area after 2 days!

The site is still very well maintained, clean and tidy and in a very quiet location. The sea views are still beautiful and you'll probably see the odd cruise ship pass in the distance at night which is pretty to see.

The breakfasts were still absolutely delicious and fresh.

I don't think I could love this site more!

This will be a definite annual destination now for me.

I promise you will not be disappointed staying here.

(If in a tent, take strong tent pegs as with any cliff top site, you can be exposed to the wind, but there are plenty of sheltered areas)

Please see my previous review as well of this site. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Candicem021 1 review from this member

 We had our wedding at Brighstone Holiday Centre! We were allowed exclusive use of the site and the set up of a marquee on the lawns for a weekend in July. The owners are a great couple, who really went out of their way to help us in any way they could. No task seemed like too much hassle for them.

The location provided a beautiful backdrop for photos and despite the terrible weather (with very strong winds and heavy rain) in the days leading up to the weekend- it remained mostly calm and cool, with the odd patch of sunshine for the 2 days we were there- perfect! The rooms were all clean and spacious, with everything you need for a mini break. Some could do with a little updating- but I believe the owners are working on that a little bit each year. We never used the swimming pool area, or campers toilets- so can't comment on these.

The owners altered the breakfast times, to allow all 70+ guests the time to sit down for breakfast- which was absolutely delicious. All needs really are catered for!

There is a pub a short drive away, where some of us went for an evening meal- good food, average prices. We really had a great time and given the chance, would do it all over again- exactly as it was!

We (and I think most guests too) would definitely recommend Brighstone to anyone and will without a doubt, be back again in the future. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kellyrichards 3 reviews from this member

 I stayed here with my friend for my first ever camping holiday (at the ripe old age of 36!) at the beginning of August.

On arrival, Clive and Sue the owners, were warm and friendly and showed us around the site then said that we could pitch our tent wherever we wanted which was a pleasant surprise. Clive and Sue also provided an extension lead for the electric hookup to reach our tent and even offered to help us put it up which was very kind of them but we declined!

The site itself is tidy and well looked after and the sea view is to die for. I loved the colourful 1930's style chalets and hope they are kept like that as it gives the site great character. The indoor swimming pool was very popular with other holidaymakers and looked very clean.

For us campers there was a kitchen with cooker, microwave, fridge and sink - again very clean. There is also a pool table, dartboard, air hockey table and some amusements to keep the kids entertained as well as a play area for the youngest.

Breakfast is available cooked by Clive and Sue and was very yummy indeed. We were late one morning and they went out of their way to make us a breakfast which was lovely of them.

The toilets were clean as were the showers which were always warm. My only minor gripe was that the showers whilst warm, were sparse, dated and not very powerful. They could do with being updated

Overall, I absolutely loved this site and the location. Clive and Sue are fantastic and I will most definitely be going back.

For me I would rate this as 9 out of 10. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kingsgarden 1 review from this member

 This site is all you need for peace and quite, on arrival the owners will tell you where you can pitch. They go out of their way to make your stay relaxing and enjoyable and will do everything they can to assist you with your needs. The toilets and showers are sparse but are maintained daily and always clean. You must try Sue's breakfast while you are staying there. The only downside is the winds on this part of the coast, the winds can get very strong at times, so make sure you have your storm straps for your awnings if you are in a caravan. There are some areas that will shield tents from the winds. The chalets are well presented, clean and fully fitted with all that you will need for your holiday. The laundry room is excellent. There is a campers kitchen where you can cook and use the facility if the weather is not kind to you. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Daisy2772 3 reviews from this member

 Just returned from 10 days at this site which unfortunately was spoiled by the weather. On arrival the warden was very friendly and suggested we pitch near the swimming pool as he said it would give us more shelter from the already high winds.

We wondered if this was wise advice as we were right on the edge of the cliff but as the site was quite full then and we needed 3 pitches we thought best risk it. Big mistake! We lasted a few nights before the 70 mile an hour winds battered our tents forcing us to move the following day to a different part of the site.

The heavy wind and sometimes torrential rain was relentless and when we discovered our tent was damaged the warden moved us into one of their chalets. Very basic indeed and rather smelly but dry and windproof

The only worry we had was after we had moved from our first pitch the wardens showed two other units to the same wind battered pitch.

The facilities are very basic but we didn't have a problem with them. They were always clean and I had never had to queue for the toilet or shower. After we had moved into the chalets we had to use the kitchen provided and this was a godsend. We cooked our family meals and ate them in there and found other campers always polite and willing to share (although my brother wasn't to happy that his ham had been pinched out of the fridge on our last morning :-) and my mums breadloaf had gone walk about too)

The swimming pool did get busy but I think that was due to the shocking weather outside but was more than adequate for the amount of people there.

Sadly this was our first and probably last visit to the Isle of Wight although it had nothing to do with the campsite but make sure if the weather say windy you take extra precautions as there is very very little shelter.

One last thing, the wardens and their daughters were very helpful to us when we had to take our tent down at 10pm to escape to a chalet and I cant thank them enough. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Chocaholicmum 1 review from this member

 Have just returned from our second visit to Brighstone and had a really enjoyable stay with our 2 children. The site has everything you need for a quiet, relaxing and enjoyable holiday.

Whilst the toilet / shower facilities are a little dated and could do with a little bit of TLC, they were always clean, the water hot and FREE!

There was a kitchen / washing-up area so no standing outside in the dark at wash basins. The cooker runs on a meter and was very reasonable. If you got stuck there was a takeaway service and this was available 3 evenings (you need to check availability). The laundry room had washers and dryers, again running on a meter and a wash cost as little as 1.

The swimming pool was always warm and not over-crowded. It was only available to residents which was an added bonus. During our stay it was open 12 hours a day.

There was a safe playing area and assault course for the children and this is where they spent most of their time when we were on the site.

You will have to go a long way to find more friendly and accommodating hosts than Clive and Sue. No job is too big or too small and we found them invaluable during our stay. BIG Thank You. 


Previous     22 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Brighstone Holiday Centre child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Brighstone Holiday Centre have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Brighstone Holiday Centre?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Brighstone Holiday Centre dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Brighstone      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Isle Of Wight

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save 15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2844 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement