Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Windmills Caravan Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Site Reviews

Windmills Caravan Park
Slippery Back
Tenby
Pembrokeshire   (Browse area)
SA70 8TT
Tel: 01834 842200
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 30 Reviews
                9/10 from 30 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach 1 mile   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  30 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Szandi 2 reviews from this member

Tenby has many campsites, but we chose this one about a mile from the town and what a find. Very pleasant owners, the large slightly sloping field has great views. Each pitch has it's own electric and water tap but there is no shower or toilets, but that is OK for us. Lovely walks all around the area, there is the coastal footpath into Tenby which brings you out onto North Beach, or turn left out of the site to continue down Slippery Back, which emerges from woods onto the Tenby road then 5-10 mins walk to the town. A visit to Caldey Island makes a nice trip. Very peaceful overall, we stayed for nearly a week and wished it could have been longer.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Welsh Mel 8 reviews from this member

An excellent site for visiting Tenby particularly if you want peace and quiet. Lovely views, electric available for all pitches. No showers or toilets but as we tend to use our own it was no loss to us. Grounds were immaculate. Taxis were 5 to centre of Tenby but there is a footpath to North Beach. Nothing of interest for children and I think its more aimed towards quieter adults. Will return.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Toonfamily 2 reviews from this member

Beautiful setting, with sea views. Grounds and toilet block kept to a high standard. Pleasant surprise when we arrived was that most positions have there own water/grey water supply and disposal (super pitch). Would recommend, we will return.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Alickenkaff 3 reviews from this member

We booked for 10 days this month based on previous reviews, we were not disappointed! On arrival we were shown a great selection of spacious pitches all fairly level, we chose a pitch at the top of the lower field with electricity and water, we had a view to Caldey to our right and towards Saundersfoot to the left. I have to confirm the facilities are limited but clean and neither my wife nor I ever had to wait to use the facilities.

The walk to and from Tenby was not as bad as other reports and twenty minutes each way was about right, we are in our sixties by the way! The walk to Saundersfoot on the coastal path took us about an hour and half but that was pushing it and a bit of a slog.

I recommend a trip to Caldey.

I would recommend the site for couples

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Daniella Nudd 15 reviews from this member

Stayed for 2 nights. Beautiful site, well maintained. Does only have 1 shower. Lovely coastal views from all around the site. Quite windy when we were there so made sure our awning was tied down! Very friendly owner. She gave advice on where to walk and also lent us books to take with us. Now to the mile walk into Tenby. We are both walkers. It took us 20 mins to walk down into Tenby and even with the steep walk back up the hill it took us 20 mins. We didn't find it a chore at all However if you are not used to walking or have children with you it might be a challenge. It didn't bother us at all and was in fact a lovely way to find Tenby. Tenby itself was lovely. The coastal walking was beautiful. A lovely caravan park, pleased we stayed here and would recommend.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Craig381sara 9 reviews from this member

After much searching on the net we came across this small site and took the chance and booked a long weekend.

Wow so so glad we did right from the booking to the departure day was as smooth as a nut.

The site is easy to find and is well sign posted on the main road, once you turn in to the lane it is narrow up to main entrance with only 1 passing spot but this is easy to negotiate.

On arrive at reception we were greeted by the owners and was asked to book in. We then were told to follow to main the pitches and asked to choose one. OMG the view from the pitch we had was amazing overlooking Tenby to our front with Caldney in the distance and to our Left was the Whole of the Gower pinincula.

The site is kept to the highest standards, there is only one shower per male and female block but this was not a problem for us as we used the 1 in the caravan.

The local shops are ok but over priced we used Saundersfoot as the parking was a lot cheeper and there is an excellent butcher for the finest local meats and a Tesco Express

Overall this little site is a Gem of a Find, we will use again. The owners should be congratulated to the highest order.

Thank you

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Moselmeister 2 reviews from this member

Just come back from a fantastic 4 day camping trip with glorious weather to help. The campsite has a few pros n cons

Pros

The pitches are really spacious and flat.

Location into tenby is great hilly but we love that anyway.

Gorgeous views from the site.

Lovely and clean and cared for everywhere with hot shower.

Cons

Only one shower in each block which could be a problem when busy.

No hand drier or hairdrier in the toilets. But a plug in a separate area if you bring your own.

Advertised freezer for ice packs and a freezer and fridge but both were off and never working.

Despite the cons we would definitely return as this is a wonderful site which could be improved by sorting out the shower block and driers

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Petra8315 23 reviews from this member

Just got back from an enjoyable stay at this site, we had a fantastic pitch about 30 meteres from the showers with loads of space even had our own tap, very quiet site and very well maintained with beutifull gardens.

Showers and toilets clean and basic with free showers.

As other reviewers have said the walk into tenby is downhill and took us thirty minutes, and we don't daudle, coming back was fourty five minutes and really tiring, we did have a taxi once and from centre of tenby to the cemetery gates was three pounds, allthough some of the taxi drivers didn't seem to want to do the short trip.

I think its great base for the surrounding area good beaches probably the best site for tenby, as within walking distance

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Nordzin 3 reviews from this member

A slightly sloping site that is well maintained. Lovely views of the sea from the top of the site, but they are obscured by a large hedge at the bottom of the field. Limited electric but usually available if you book well in advance.

Water tap at every pitch which is really convenient.

Facilities are simple and basic but beautifully kept and maintained. Hot water at sinks and at the washing up area.

Nice walk into Tenby, but quite a steep climb back. Easy access to the coastal path. Other nearby camp sites offer things like a shop and a fish and chip van which can be handy.

The owners of this site clearly care about it and look after it diligently. It is small and friendly.

There are also a number of static caravans for hire which are probably as beautifully kept as the camping area.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Sundancekid2009 22 reviews from this member

Just back from 2 nights at windmills c/p. What a tidy clean place& the owner is very pleasant & helpful. Slightly sloping, used top of lower field but wedges made it almost level, walk out of site, turn left there's a lane that takes you to the top of tenby, quite steep going down but if you had a taxi to the cemetery gates it could work out cheaper for a return trip with just a short walk back. Only 1 shower, free with really hot water (adjustable) & 2 toilets but there was never any queue & they were always clean. I towed a car behind my motorhome because I was unsure of the bus situation. (stayed in other parts of tenby before where the bus service is NON existent). Having excellent weather helped the time I spent there but anyway I'd go there again.

Previous     30 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Pembrokeshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


402 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019