Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Gatton Waters Caravan Site And Fishery

Campsite Search > UK > East Anglia England > Norfolk > Hillington > Gatton Waters Caravan Site And Fishery > Reviews

Gatton Waters Caravan Site And Fishery
Lynn Road
Hillington
Norfolk   (Browse area)
PE31 6BJ
Tel: 07535 920193  or  01485 601327
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 77
Open: 22/03/2024 to 07/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 34 Reviews
                9/10 from 34 Reviews

Photos (18)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  34 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: March 2024  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Angie9 1 review from this member

 What an absolute delightful place with even more delightful family looking after us.

Peaceful adult only camp site with a bar and really great toilet shower facilities ect.

Lots of lovely places nearby to visit and sight see.

An absolute must for a stay short or long.

We will definitely return for another stay ! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: March 2024 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: G Turner 2 reviews from this member

 Such a lovely site with fishing a few steps away from your caravan.

Shower blocks were immaculate.

The owner and his team were very helpful and have a lovely little pub on site.

We will be coming back with friends 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Louise Latimer 8 reviews from this member

 We have just come back from 7 lovely, relaxing days here and have throughly loved our stay.

We needed somewhere quiet, child free & away from the rat race of life …. And this was the perfect place!

Hubby fished, very successfully, we chilled out reading, puzzling and just enjoying the down time.

The site is beautifully run, it’s spotlessly clean and maintained daily.

Our Welcome was warm & inviting. We were given a choice of a couple of pitches, shown how to use electric and then left to settle in.

We have been very lucky with the weather for the end of September and decided, as Friday was glorious sunshine that we would pay the extra £10 to stay until 3 pm.

We will definitely be coming back to this site, Thankyou for making our stay so enjoyable. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Malcri 1 review from this member

 Excellent site. Work in progress I guess but the toilet and shower facilities, albeit small, were very clean with everything in good working order.

Both Mark and James were very very helpful with any issues that arose at any time of the day. I can't praise their hard work enough to make our stay very enjoyable. They are a credit to the industry. I wish more sites staff were as good.

Given it's a new site, slight acceptance of one issue was the Elson disposal. This I'm sure will improve in time but because of the sheer hard work of the staff and because of it's new start a 10/10 from me. Highly recommended. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Swanny65 13 reviews from this member

 You don't have to be a fisherman to enjoy this delightful campsite.

Greeted on arrival by the son of the original owners who was friendly and really helpful. Were offered a choice of pitches and plumped on one with a view across the water.

Lots of water points alongside the road around the lake. Loads and loads of pitches to choose from, all with recently upgraded metered electric - which you settle up for on departure. The toilet block had recently been refurbed, spotless, and was cleaned daily.

Sandringham Estate is a short drive/cycle away. A must-visit is the cafe in castle Rising, again a short drive/cycle away. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Fmcdow 2 reviews from this member

 A warm welcome greeted us from this wonderful family run site. The toilets were pristine and very regularly checked.

We had lots of space and peace. A fabulous tree to shelter from the sun.

Only a short drive from Sandringham and sunny Hunstanton which was a pleasant surprise.

The location will be a 10/10 when they can provide food and drink which I know is their aim. Imagine if we liked fishing too.

Fantastic effort from the top team. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Bigsmudge 8 reviews from this member

 Really nice place to stay. First come first serve pitches. The majority facing the lake. Metered electricity which I liked. We use very little and its nice to know we are not subsidising the bigger units for a change.

Clean facilities and helpful lovely owners.

It was time of year for visiting geese to breed and obviously a popular place. Lovely to see but does mean lots of goose poo.

They are going to open a little bar on site soon which should benefit them as the nearest decent pub requires a car.

We tried Ffolkes (25 min walk) for food and found it limited, strange for our tastes and overpriced.

It was very hot when we were there but nice breeze off the lake. All grass pitches.

We enjoyed this site and I would recommend. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: MilesT 2 reviews from this member

 A wonderful site. Mark is very helpful and obliging, and the site, which is adult only, prides itself for peace and tranquillity.

The lake and the sunsets are stunning.

Spotless toilets and showers, all recently installed. We will return! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Diane and Ken 9 reviews from this member

 Found the site to be exactly as described,

Very clean facilities

Enjoyed the fishing on site

Also lovely walk to Sandringham house on footpaths and quiet roads.

Mark was a perfect host and look forward to returning again in the future. 


Date of Visit: April 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Hmv4u 59 reviews from this member

 As we only decided to go away for Easter at the last minute so vacancy's were in short supply, due to Gatton Waters only opening after 5 years on 31 March 23 we managed to get a pitch and glad we did.

The site is adult only and has a large lake at its centre surrounded by grass pitches.

The owners are friendly and accommodating giving you a choice of pitches and show them to you to let you choose and explain the EHU meter which is card operated and you pay for both your pitch and electric on departure, the electric card is charged with £20 and you load it into the meter, if you need extra you can get it topped up and if you have credit left you can ‘recharge’ it back to the card for a refund, the cost of electric now is a bit of an eye opener as we used about £5 per day with the heating on for a couple of hours in the morning and about 4+ hours in the evening.

The EHUs are spaced all the way round but a long lead can be required. Check in is late at 3pm onwards with 11am departure but we did see some arriving earlier than that.

The toilet blocks are to a high standard having been recently refurbished and they are scattered round this large site for for easy access, obviously with a large lake there is a lot of people going for the fishing.

The site is off a main road so access is great but the longish road from it into the site is narrow so you wouldn't want to meet another caravan/motorhome hence the staggered dept / arrival times, the main road is sufficiently far enough away that traffic noise is muted bar the odd motorbike etc.

Noise wise because its rural its quiet and comes with noises we city folks don't generally hear (Im looking at you Mr Owl and the extremely vocal geese) lol, its also dog friendly.

Speaking to Matt one of the family they intend to apply for a drinks license so hopefully next season the bar should be open.

Entry is by fob operated barrier and there are no lights round the site so a torch is handy.

Thoroughly recommended. 


Previous     34 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Gatton Waters Caravan Site And Fishery child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Gatton Waters Caravan Site And Fishery?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Gatton Waters Caravan Site And Fishery dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Hillington      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Norfolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3390 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement